Cleveland, OH - TWC - Page 322 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9631 of 23471 Old 09-12-2007, 06:17 PM
dj9
Advanced Member
 
dj9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All TWC digital services are out here in my area, from the Green office. It appears to be localized to my neighborhood. Of course, this includes the QAM HD signals...

Unless I missed something, I'd be hard pressed to get a decent signal for some of the Cleveland channels, right?
dj9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9632 of 23471 Old 09-13-2007, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 16
to update, and give a answer to dj9, I live on mayfair Road in Green, and I put up an antenna yesterday (I had a indoor one and got fox abc out of the big 4) well I climbed up on the roof and put a antenna up and now get everything at about 76% ACROSS the board, i am going to tweak it a little and try and get an extra foot or two on my pole as that way it will clear the roof peak, and I think I should be good to go! so putting up an antenna on the roof is not as hard as I thought it was going to be!
stuart628 is offline  
post #9633 of 23471 Old 09-14-2007, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lyndhurst, Ohio
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tonight the Tribe kicks off their last home-stand of the season for a 9 game stretch. Each and every game is available in glorious HD on either STO-HD or WKYC-HD. See this post for schedule, times and channel info.

Also, here is a great article by critically acclaimed and recently added columnist to the Plain Dealer, Terry Pluto. If you haven't checked out his column yet today, it is an excellent read. Enjoy.......

http://www.cleveland.com/pluto/index...l=2&thispage=1
HD MM is offline  
post #9634 of 23471 Old 09-14-2007, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
HD MM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Lyndhurst, Ohio
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No love again for the Browns. Week 4's CBS-HD Schedule is out and reveals that yet again the Browns will not be shown in HD for the 3rd consecutive week (Week 1: HD, Weeks 2-4: no HD). Good news for HD Browns fans though is that week 5 they play the Patriots, so most likely they will receive HD treatment then.

http://www.sportsline.com/cbssports/schedules/page/nfl
HD MM is offline  
post #9635 of 23471 Old 09-14-2007, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bainbridge, OH
Posts: 6,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD MM View Post

No love again for the Browns. Week 4's CBS-HD Schedule is out and reveals that yet again the Browns will not be shown in HD for the 3rd consecutive week (Week 1: HD, Weeks 2-4: no HD). Good news for HD Browns fans though is that week 5 they play the Patriots, so most likely they will receive HD treatment then.

http://www.sportsline.com/cbssports/schedules/page/nfl

Although CBS is giving more HD this year when it comes to Cleveland and the Browns it's like bottom of the barrel. They want to use their available HD for what they consider "important" games.

Personally I'm looking forward to Sundays game with the Bengals. Does anybody think that idiot that plays for the Bengals will actually jump into the dog pound if he scores down there? He doesn't have enough armour to handel those guys.

MY NAME IS NOT BILL (but you can call me hook)
 

hookbill is offline  
post #9636 of 23471 Old 09-14-2007, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
paule123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by salemtubes View Post

It looks like WKBN-DT is using 60% of its available bandwidth, and WOIO-DT is using about 70% of its available bandwidth.

You know what's killing WKBN there is the null packets (0x1FFF on that screen shot) that the Fox network sends down to the local stations. My understanding is if the local station is multicasting as WKBN is, they should be stripping the null packet stream off in-house and not passing that OTA to the viewers. If I read that right, WKBN is pissing away a good 3.5Mbps of bandwidth and causing both channels to suffer in PQ.

Re the Tribe in the playoffs - time to tell your providers to get TBS-HD by October 3 ! I have yet to hear back from WOW cable on this ! It's too bad we won't see any playoffs in glorious 1080i on STO. If TBS-HD baseball is similar to TNT-HD's basketball, there will most likely be PQ issues.
paule123 is offline  
post #9637 of 23471 Old 09-15-2007, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike_Stuewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Avon, Ohio (Cleveland West Side)
Posts: 720
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hookbill View Post

Does anybody think that idiot that plays for the Bengals will actually jump into the dog pound if he scores down there? He doesn't have enough armour to handel those guys.

Depends what the score is and how empty the dawg pound is at that time of the game.
Mike_Stuewe is offline  
post #9638 of 23471 Old 09-15-2007, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by paule123 View Post

You know what's killing WKBN there is the null packets (0x1FFF on that screen shot) that the Fox network sends down to the local stations. My understanding is if the local station is multicasting as WKBN is, they should be stripping the null packet stream off in-house and not passing that OTA to the viewers. If I read that right, WKBN is pissing away a good 3.5Mbps of bandwidth and causing both channels to suffer in PQ.

Perhaps Mr. Zocolo is still lurking here, and share some information on this!
Inundated is online now  
post #9639 of 23471 Old 09-15-2007, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
Neruda7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is my first post, so I apologize if this problem has come up already and I didn't realize it.

I have Dish Network and a VIP622 box. I live in Strongsville and have an RCA Model 1250 amplified antenna. I have always been able to get the 'Big Four' local channels in HD (as well as several others). Three days ago all of my OTA HD stations suddenly showed a zero signal strength. The SD stations still come in. So, I still receive 003-0 (WKYC) in SD, but I cannot receive 003-1 or 003-2 (WKYC in HD and their weather station ).

Does anyone know what happened? I tried resetting the entire system, unplugging the antenna and then resetting it, but to no avail. Every time I perform a local channel scan in the System Setup area it finds no local digital channels.

Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks and have a good evening...

Regards,
Scott
Neruda7 is offline  
post #9640 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,030
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hi Scott,
I would suspect that the RCA amplified antenna died. You are so close the the broadcast antennas that the analog signals could make it through the dead antenna amplifier. A second possibility is that your TV's digital OTA tuner died.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #9641 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Grab a cheap pair of rabbit ears and see if you're getting anything. You should be able to get most of the local digitals with that, if you're that close to Parma (the Cleveland market's so-called "antenna farm", with all those tall towers up in the air).

If you get NOTHING out of that, maybe there's a tuner problem.
Inundated is online now  
post #9642 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 09:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.antennaweb.org/

Go there and plug in your address, and you can find how close you are to the antenna farm.

All the local TV stations are camped out on large towers in the general vicinity of Parma and nearby. Nearly all of them are near, or a very short drive, from Parmatown Mall. A couple of 'em are a bit further south (i.e. WVIZ/25's analog tower is in North Royalton - and no, you probably won't get WVIZ-DT...their digital setup, due to a long-time legal and technical dispute with CBS Radio and its predecessors, is a small stick atop their former Brookpark Road studio site).
Inundated is online now  
post #9643 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
Neruda7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kevin and Inundated. I'll try out your suggestions and let you know what happened. Have a good one...

Regards,
Scott
Neruda7 is offline  
post #9644 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 09:44 AM
Member
 
GLuis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never had this until today. Got my TERK pointed right at the farm from Brunswick at a pretty high elevation.

All other channels aokay ... even WKYC 3 DT

Anyone else?
GLuis is offline  
post #9645 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 11:08 AM
Member
 
GLuis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well they fixed it by going to SD. Thanks for the quality WOIO
GLuis is offline  
post #9646 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLuis View Post

Well they fixed it by going to SD. Thanks for the quality WOIO

WOIO didn't go to SD, CBS did. The Browns/Bengals game was not in HD today. (And it turned out to be a game you'd WANT to see in HD!)
Inundated is online now  
post #9647 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
geocab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
geocab is offline  
post #9648 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bainbridge, OH
Posts: 6,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by geocab View Post

At this point, I want to see EVERY game broadcast in HD already.

Well, we all would but if you read this thread at all you would have seen that HD MM has been keeping us updated on Browns scheduled telecast and this one, nor next week will be in HD. Week 5 against Pats is the next scheduled HD telecast.

And while I agree it must have been an exciting game with the high scoring at all, The Tribe was on in HD at 1:00. And while the outcome was not as exciting as the Browns, that was the game to watch. YMMV

MY NAME IS NOT BILL (but you can call me hook)
 

hookbill is offline  
post #9649 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by geocab View Post

At this point, I want to see EVERY game broadcast in HD already.

I believe the NFL contract requires all games in HD next season.

CBS is doing much more this year than last year, and when more Sunday games get peeled off the schedule later this year (i.e. NFL Network, etc.), very few games won't be in HD on CBS.
Inundated is online now  
post #9650 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtscherne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Euclid OH
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that someone forgot to flip the switch at Channel 19. The late game is in HD on Sunday Ticket, but not on Channel 19.
jtscherne is offline  
post #9651 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bainbridge, OH
Posts: 6,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtscherne View Post

I see that someone forgot to flip the switch at Channel 19. The late game is in HD on Sunday Ticket, but not on Channel 19.

I just checked to see if it was suppose to be in HD. Zap2it.com says HD.

See geocab, you're correct. WOIO is screwing up after all!

MY NAME IS NOT BILL (but you can call me hook)
 

hookbill is offline  
post #9652 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 03:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtscherne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Euclid OH
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Of course, it's supposed to be in HD. I'm watching it on Sunday Ticket in HD...


Quote:
Originally Posted by hookbill View Post

I just checked to see if it was suppose to be in HD. Zap2it.com says HD.

See geocab, you're correct. WOIO is screwing up after all!

jtscherne is offline  
post #9653 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 04:33 PM
Member
 
GLuis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hookbill View Post

I just checked to see if it was suppose to be in HD. Zap2it.com says HD.

See geocab, you're correct. WOIO is screwing up after all!

I guess "if we would read this thread at all" the answer is buried in here somewhere. Right?
GLuis is offline  
post #9654 of 23471 Old 09-16-2007, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
salemtubes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Salem, Ohio
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtscherne View Post

I see that someone forgot to flip the switch at Channel 19. The late game is in HD on Sunday Ticket, but not on Channel 19.

Yep, someone's asleep at the switch at WOIO. It was in HD on WKBN.
salemtubes is offline  
post #9655 of 23471 Old 09-17-2007, 03:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtscherne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: South Euclid OH
Posts: 521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did WKBN show the Browns game? I think I remember the problem. Since the Browns game ran way long, there's a problem switching to HD after the second game starts. At least I THINK this was a problem in the past.
jtscherne is offline  
post #9656 of 23471 Old 09-17-2007, 05:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bainbridge, OH
Posts: 6,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by GLuis View Post

I guess "if we would read this thread at all" the answer is buried in here somewhere. Right?

It's on this page. Real tough to find. (sarcasam)

MY NAME IS NOT BILL (but you can call me hook)
 

hookbill is offline  
post #9657 of 23471 Old 09-17-2007, 09:18 AM
Member
 
KennedyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post

WOIO didn't go to SD, CBS did. The Browns/Bengals game was not in HD today. (And it turned out to be a game you'd WANT to see in HD!)

Big time Bengal fan here. I for one am thrilled that the game wasn't broadcast in HD! It was more than I could stomach in SD.

I didn't see this one coming. I would have bet my HDTV that the Bengals would have won that game.

Congrats to all you Browns fans on the win. It was fun to watch.
KennedyJ is offline  
post #9658 of 23471 Old 09-17-2007, 09:30 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 16,158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennedyJ View Post

I would have bet my HDTV that the Bengals would have won that game.

When do you want me to come pick it up?

~Dave

...Theater Room Setup...
JVC DLA-RS40-U... Oppo BDP-105D... Toshiba HD-XA2... Uverse VIP-2250... Roku Streaming Stick... Emotiva XPA-3... Onkyo TX-SR805
JBL LC2 (x3) ... JBL L820 (x6) ... SVS PB10-ISD (x2) ... SVS 20-39-PCI
Smarty-pants is offline  
post #9659 of 23471 Old 09-17-2007, 11:27 AM
Member
 
KennedyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smarty-pants View Post

When do you want me to come pick it up?

I said, "I WOULD have bet my HDTV." Lucky for me I'm not that big of a fool. Although I do feel like a real sucker sometimes for following these BUngals...
KennedyJ is offline  
post #9660 of 23471 Old 09-17-2007, 11:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hookbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bainbridge, OH
Posts: 6,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The "D" on those two teams must be awesome.

I will come out right now and will tell you that the Raiders will win next week in Oakland. Too bad it won't be in HD. (I threw that in there to stay on topic. )

MY NAME IS NOT BILL (but you can call me hook)
 

hookbill is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off