Cleveland, OH - TWC - Page 783 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #23461 of 23488 Old 05-25-2014, 04:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Music View Post

I just got a call from TWC saying that some kind of digital changes are coming soon. They mentioned some kind of digital adapter is needed. I already have a tuning adapter for my Tivo S3 HD. Are they the same thing? Do they do the same thing?

Please advise,
Ben Music

http://www.timewarnercable.com/en/residential-home/support/topics/tv/digital-adapters.html
nyctveng is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23462 of 23488 Old 05-26-2014, 11:46 AM
Member
 
bgiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Ridgeville, OH
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Music View Post

I just got a call from TWC saying that some kind of digital changes are coming soon. They mentioned some kind of digital adapter is needed. I already have a tuning adapter for my Tivo S3 HD. Are they the same thing? Do they do the same thing?

Please advise,
Ben Music
They'll be scrambling many of the channels. So if you don't have a TWC box or DVR they won't work. They will provide free adapter but I'm not sure how that works and I believe it's only free for 12 or 18 months.

The letter I saw indicated some channels (probably the locals) will still be available to TVs and other devices that can decode the Clear QAM signal. However the channels and frequency may be moving so you'll need to rescan for channels after the system updates.

I'm using a "Simple TV" DVR and hope all the local channels (and sub channels) are still in the clear.
bgiese is offline  
post #23463 of 23488 Old 06-26-2014, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Just wanted to publicly thank TWC for my $12 monthly increase in my bill! If I just didn't have all these trees....

subavision212 is offline  
post #23464 of 23488 Old 07-03-2014, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Late responding here, but about the TWC DTA scrambling:

I only have analog expanded basic here right now, and sure enough, channels like WVPX/23 are only displaying the "get a DTA" static message with a white screen.

I did a clear QAM scan and all the missing channels are there digitally, including Retro TV affiliates WAOH-LP/29 and WIVM-LD/39. (Yes, last I checked, I can now get WIVM via clear QAM in Akron.)

The mess is that there's no PSIP for any of these channels. I believe WAOH is on 97.1 and WIVM is on 90.63, but that's just from memory since I haven't looked in some time.

WVPX has PSIP as usual as WVPX HD, since it always had it since they added the HD feed.

I get scattered local access channels, including for Stow, Silver Lake and Doylestown.

Again, this is all clear QAM only. The only channel I haven't been able to find in this mess is the Akron Public Schools on 15. 15 doesn't have that static message on analog, and I'm sure APS 15 is in the clear QAM scan somewhere...I just haven't gotten to most of the non-labeled channels to check yet.

It is correct that the DTA is only free for a year.
Inundated is offline  
post #23465 of 23488 Old 08-02-2014, 12:22 PM
Member
 
Goldenager62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Elyria area
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I wonder if all of you can help old man. I have "Starter Tv" package now, but I am thinking about getting "Standard TV" package.
My TV can take Cable Card. Is there any advantage of having a cable card over no card and no box. I also plan on using the TWC App for a lot of my viewing. Thanks
Goldenager62 is offline  
post #23466 of 23488 Old 08-04-2014, 07:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Rbuchina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldenager62 View Post
I wonder if all of you can help old man. I have "Starter Tv" package now, but I am thinking about getting "Standard TV" package.
My TV can take Cable Card. Is there any advantage of having a cable card over no card and no box. I also plan on using the TWC App for a lot of my viewing. Thanks
Goldenager,

I believe there are more disadvantages than advantages. You would not have any interactive features like "On Demand" or "Look Back". The one big advantage is, I belive, a Cable card is charged less than a Cable box. So you would save money.

Ray
Rbuchina is offline  
post #23467 of 23488 Old 08-04-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Goldenager62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Elyria area
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbuchina View Post
Goldenager,

I believe there are more disadvantages than advantages. You would not have any interactive features like "On Demand" or "Look Back". The one big advantage is, I belive, a Cable card is charged less than a Cable box. So you would save money.

Ray
Thanks
Goldenager62 is offline  
post #23468 of 23488 Old 08-05-2014, 01:53 PM
Member
 
bgiese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: North Ridgeville, OH
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbuchina View Post
Goldenager,

You would not have any interactive features like "On Demand" or "Look Back".

Ray
You would have "on demand" available on the TWC app. I use the app all the time to watch shows. Works great.
bgiese is offline  
post #23469 of 23488 Old 08-16-2014, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Commodore 64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the deal with Channel 8, Fox (21 UHF). I can't seem to get it. I get all of the other stations from that azimuth, but not Fox 8. Is their power weak? I picked up 45 stations with the wineguard box: http://www.amazon.com/Winegard-FL655...=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

I also have a 2-bay UHF flyswatter, that I could try as well. Anyone else having trouble picking up Channel 8?
Commodore 64 is offline  
post #23470 of 23488 Old 08-16-2014, 10:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This should be moved to the local OTA thread, but briefly... WJW Channel 8 is RF 8. VHF. Is your antenna good on VHF? What part of town?
Inundated is offline  
post #23471 of 23488 Old 08-17-2014, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Commodore 64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post
This should be moved to the local OTA thread, but briefly... WJW Channel 8 is RF 8. VHF. Is your antenna good on VHF? What part of town?
I made another post in the right area (OTA) sorry about that and thank you for responding.

Last edited by Commodore 64; 08-17-2014 at 11:10 AM.
Commodore 64 is offline  
post #23472 of 23488 Old 10-20-2014, 03:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
DVR Slow

If anyone is still on this thread, have you noticed lately that the DVR responses to the remote is very slow? Sometimes takes 2-3 seconds for a response in the guide or list. Just came back from vacation, and it wasn't like that before. Did they do an update of some kind?
scnrfrq is offline  
post #23473 of 23488 Old 10-20-2014, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Gary16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Deleted

Last edited by Gary16; 10-20-2014 at 03:48 PM.
Gary16 is offline  
post #23474 of 23488 Old 10-25-2014, 07:11 AM
Member
 
greenpjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I had an interesting experience at the Chapel Hill location yesterday. I have 2 DVRs. They are usually controlled using the remotes that came with my TVs but I occasionally use the TWC supplied remotes for certain functions. One of the TWC remotes started acting flakey a few years ago, so I switched to the other one on the DVR I usually use. Recent, that remote also started acting flakey as well. For example, pressing volume down caused zeroes to be sent. The DVR would record the zeroes and then question channel number 0000. I took both of the bad remotes to the Chapel Hill location (actually across the street from Chapel Hill). As I approached the desk, the guy saw I had two remotes in my hand, reached behind him, grabbed two new ones, and swapped the new ones for my old ones without even asking for my name or what symptoms I was experiencing. A painless but surprising experience. He didn't even ask if I tried new batteries. I assume those newer remotes (the ones with a D button in addition to A, B, C) have had lots of problems.
greenpjs is offline  
post #23475 of 23488 Old 11-11-2014, 06:14 AM
Member
 
MichaelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green, OH
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Obama's comments yesterday about making the Internet a "public utility" and empowering the FCC to force net neutrality on the telecoms sent both Time Warner and Comcast stock dropping about 5%. In other words, the market is skittish that the cost of this merger isn't worth having the Federal government controlling their services and pricing. Since Comcast never negotiated a breakup fee, they are free to walk from this deal if the government mucks up the works too much. As bad as Time Warner can be, the uncertainty of becoming a Charter Communications customer scares me more. Time will tell.
MichaelJay is offline  
post #23476 of 23488 Old 12-26-2014, 08:51 PM
Member
 
greenpjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Anyone know why Time Warner (Green) thinks the world is ending on Monday night? The guide shows no shows on any station after midnight Monday night. I have tried rebooting both DVRs but from Tuesday forward is blank.
greenpjs is offline  
post #23477 of 23488 Old 12-28-2014, 03:46 PM
Member
 
greenpjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenpjs View Post
Anyone know why Time Warner (Green) thinks the world is ending on Monday night? The guide shows no shows on any station after midnight Monday night. I have tried rebooting both DVRs but from Tuesday forward is blank.

Whatever the problem was, it has now been fixed. The guide goes forward a week again.
greenpjs is offline  
post #23478 of 23488 Old 01-17-2015, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
subavision212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Tried a search here but couldn't find an answer so I'll just ask this basic question. Just bought my first on demand movie through TWC (The Babadook) and it seems to have been only in stereo. I have a surround setup but it was display pro logic so do all on demand films not have 5.1 or does it vary from film to film. The other streaming services like Amazon had the film marked with 5.1. Just curious and thanks for the replies.

subavision212 is offline  
post #23479 of 23488 Old 04-13-2015, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
so anyone know when TWC wants to get these 3 things done

#1 . Auto HD
#2 . All Digital
#3 . Higher internet speed bump up

I am in the akron Area (Green) and REALLY want AutoHD as that is the one thing I miss from Directv. A little better PQ would be nice as well, and Higher internet speed would be icicng...or are we waiting till we get charter to have all that happen
stuart628 is online now  
post #23480 of 23488 Old 04-23-2015, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
so now what for TWC in Cleveland....I am guessing charter will buy TWC out..would be nice if Google would
stuart628 is online now  
post #23481 of 23488 Old 04-23-2015, 05:09 PM
Member
 
MichaelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green, OH
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Funny that Comcast gave up the fight so easily. Time Warner never negotiated a break-up fee from Comcast, so no skin off Comcast's back to say "see ya later."

Either Charter makes a bid on Time Warner or vice versa. We in NE Ohio would have ended up as Charter customers anyway as part of Concast deal, but now Time Warner could potentially be the acquirer instead of the acquiree.
stuart628 likes this.
MichaelJay is offline  
post #23482 of 23488 Old 04-28-2015, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelJay View Post
Funny that Comcast gave up the fight so easily. Time Warner never negotiated a break-up fee from Comcast, so no skin off Comcast's back to say "see ya later."

Either Charter makes a bid on Time Warner or vice versa. We in NE Ohio would have ended up as Charter customers anyway as part of Concast deal, but now Time Warner could potentially be the acquirer instead of the acquiree.
I see you are from Green and another poster is as well...is our cable behind everyone else because of being the OLD adelphia cable or are we all caught up now? by the way Auto HD is beginning 4/30-5/14 they are turning on areas any time in those dates....also 6 tuner coming in middle of may
stuart628 is online now  
post #23483 of 23488 Old 04-28-2015, 07:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Inundated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cleveland/Akron/Canton, OH - TV market
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I think Green is the old Marks Cablevision. (That's Marks, not a guy named Mark.)

And it does appear that Charter will go after TWC on its own now that the Comcast deal is dead...
Inundated is offline  
post #23484 of 23488 Old 04-29-2015, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inundated View Post
I think Green is the old Marks Cablevision. (That's Marks, not a guy named Mark.)

And it does appear that Charter will go after TWC on its own now that the Comcast deal is dead...

you might be right, I just know the office they had was on 619, that turned into a time warner office, which was shut down...i am guessing its the headend for the area(or am I wrong?) as it is still used by time warner and has the satellites and antenna on the property.
stuart628 is online now  
post #23485 of 23488 Old 05-01-2015, 06:31 AM
Member
 
dleising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here in Stow TW moved a bunch of clear QAM channels around a couple weeks ago. I've heard that those with Internet only service (having a filter for just Internet freq's) no longer are getting the local channels "in the clear" as they did prior.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dleising is offline  
post #23486 of 23488 Old 05-05-2015, 07:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Rbuchina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD locals remapped

This morning I noticed TWC here in Mentor has the HD locals remapped to their SD channels (2-10). The original local HDs are still their (1002-1010).

I also had a my DVR box power Reset or upgrade its software last week. The box output changed from 1080i to 480i and my picture became a small screen within my full TV screen. I needed to go into the settings Menu and reset the box output to where it should be.

Ray
Rbuchina is offline  
post #23487 of 23488 Old 05-20-2015, 07:45 AM
Member
 
MichaelJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Green, OH
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
General Time Warner stuff

I recently moved to Jackson Township in Stark County, so my TWC comments apply to that location. I know there have been a lot of negative comments about TWC's service, but from a technical perspective, I have had no problems at all for four years. (Hope I didn't just jinx myself.)


My consistent gripe is with their price increases, but those always seem to get resolved to my satisfaction. Most recently, a $10 Turbo Internet fee magically appeared on my bill, six months after I was assured my cost was fixed for a year. When I phone, I always threaten to move to satellite and UVerse if not pleased, and I always end up in the hands of the Customer Retention rep. By the time that phone call was finished, I kept Preferred TV with my current DVR and an extra set top box, added the Sports package, and increased my Internet speed from 20/2 to 30/5 at a cost a few dollars less per month than I was paying. The all-in cost, including tax, is $122/mo. I'm happy. I don't have phone service with TWC, just cell phones with Verizon.


So my recommendation is to call TWC and complain, and if you are truly not pissed, act like you are truly pissed so you can talk to the people who can make you unpissed.

Last edited by MichaelJay; 05-20-2015 at 08:13 AM.
MichaelJay is offline  
post #23488 of 23488 Unread Today, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
stuart628's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Almost Heaven West Virginia
Posts: 636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 24
6 tuner dvr is now available, take your time getting it as I have a tech call for saturday to bring mine to me and want to make sure they have plenty
stuart628 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off