Cleveland, OH - TWC - Page 785 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #23521 of 23545 Old 02-17-2016, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
TomGen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Today, my TV found and added TV channel 8.5 WJW-DT5 in Cleveland. The channel is black with no programming being transmitted. Does anyone know what they are planning to add on that subchannel?
TomGen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #23522 of 23545 Old 02-18-2016, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
JJkizak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: TWINSBURG, OHIO
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't even have 8.3 or .4 yet.
JJK
JJkizak is online now  
post #23523 of 23545 Old 02-18-2016, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In an Amish Paradox
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJkizak View Post
I don't even have 8.3 or .4 yet.
JJK
Same here, but my channels don't scan the same on all devices - e.g. my recorders find mostly scrambled channels on 118.x except a few like WGN on 118.55. My TV only finds a bunch of music channels there. (Neither finds 8.3, 4 or 5)...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
 
post #23524 of 23545 Old 02-24-2016, 06:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In an Amish Paradox
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 528
What was the problem last night - Both 5.1 and 19.1 were constantly breaking up?

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #23525 of 23545 Old 10-28-2016, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In an Amish Paradox
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Anyone else getting "BBCA currently unavailable"? I couldn't record The Living and the Dead last night...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #23526 of 23545 Old 01-14-2017, 10:54 AM
 
milehighou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,763
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 876 Post(s)
Liked: 208
For those with Samsung TVs, are you guys using Digital Clean View when watching so-called HD cable? I've found that the PQ is pretty awful with it turned off, especially in darker scenes. The two biggest issues seem to be mosquito noise that is constantly moving around in the background, and also on people's faces. The other thing is the block-type artifacts. I'm sure my 65" TV just magnifies the effect, as I don't remember it being nearly as offensive on a smaller screen.

Anyway, bottom line (unless there is something wrong with my equipment) most of the channels look like crap. If I turn on DCV, it makes a significant difference, but at the expense of a little blur. I'm still wondering about the best setting—low, auto or something else?
milehighou is offline  
post #23527 of 23545 Old 01-19-2017, 05:55 AM
Member
 
GregF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So, I think TW officially becomes Spectrum today. It looks like the channel packages have changed too. The channels I currently get look like they are part of the gold package now, which forces you to get the movie channels. Not sure if I like the change yet and how the pricing will be different, when my current offers expire next month.

When will the Internet speeds increase in the Cleveland area?
GregF2 is offline  
post #23528 of 23545 Old 01-19-2017, 06:17 AM
Member
 
dleising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregF2 View Post
So, I think TW officially becomes Spectrum today. It looks like the channel packages have changed too. The channels I currently get look like they are part of the gold package now, which forces you to get the movie channels. Not sure if I like the change yet and how the pricing will be different, when my current offers expire next month.



When will the Internet speeds increase in the Cleveland area?


It does seem they are transitioning or just have. I rebooted my modem and connected to 16x4 channels (from 12x4). I'm getting about 70 megs down now when I was getting a little over 60 on the legacy 50/5 internet plan. Upload speeds are unchanged if not a bit slower. It would seem that the 100mbps and 300mbps plans (if they will even exist in NEO) should be available however I'm not seeing anything on their website. I may call however I don't really want to pay more than my promo plan now...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dleising is online now  
post #23529 of 23545 Old 01-19-2017, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In an Amish Paradox
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Still getting unscrambled analog and local digitals thankfully...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #23530 of 23545 Old 01-19-2017, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc_in_oh View Post
Still getting unscrambled analog and local digitals thankfully...
That will change in the not too distant future. One of the changes Spectrum will surely make is going all encrypted digital, as they have in other markets. OH is one of the few untouched markets left at this time as TWC was rolling through their upgrades before the Charter purchase.
oriolesmagic is offline  
post #23531 of 23545 Old 01-27-2017, 06:11 AM
Member
 
GregF2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyone have an update on Spectrum?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregF2 View Post
So, I think TW officially becomes Spectrum today. It looks like the channel packages have changed too. The channels I currently get look like they are part of the gold package now, which forces you to get the movie channels. Not sure if I like the change yet and how the pricing will be different, when my current offers expire next month.

When will the Internet speeds increase in the Cleveland area?
GregF2 is offline  
post #23532 of 23545 Old 01-27-2017, 08:06 AM
Member
 
dleising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregF2 View Post
Anyone have an update on Spectrum?


Seems like all markets have been converted. You should be able to call in and get Spectrum promos and/or 60mb internet. I've heard 100 meg is not available yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dleising is online now  
post #23533 of 23545 Old 01-27-2017, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
oriolesmagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleising View Post
Seems like all markets have been converted. You should be able to call in and get Spectrum promos and/or 60mb internet. I've heard 100 meg is not available yet.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
All of OH has been converted. Within the former TWC footprint, I don't think some portions out west (ID), the Carolinas, Upstate NY and New England have been converted yet to Spectrum. Neither has Oceanic in Hawaii.
oriolesmagic is offline  
post #23534 of 23545 Old 02-12-2017, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Spectrum - Be Careful What You Wish For

I live in the Erie, PA area and have been talking to Spectrum about converting to their packages. Problem is I keep getting different stories on the phone and on chat. Of course I'd like to double my internet speed to 60, which would require a new modem, but they'd send it to me and have no monthly charge. That part sounds OK. But things got confusing when it came to DVR's and channels available.

First they said I couldn't keep my enhanced DVR's (which I really like), then they said I could, then I couldn't. Also, they only offer one model DVR, which only stores 35 hours of programs, and can only record 2 shows at once!! It's like going back in time 10 years with Time Warner. Also, one station I have to have is only listed in the Miscellaneous section of their channels lineup (https://www.timewarnercable.com/cont...s-lineup.html/). I asked about it, and first they said if you get the Gold package you get all channels, the later they said none of the Misc. channels are available in my zip code????

After all that discussion, they would only lower my bill by $17, so its not worth it to me to take chances. They also said all current TW customers are grandfathered, and wouldn't be made to change to Spectrum's plans. So I'm stayin as is for now. 30 Mbps is fast enough for me, and we have a fiber optic company installing cable here to offer 150 Mbps as its slowest speed.
Bad_penny likes this.
scnrfrq is offline  
post #23535 of 23545 Old 02-12-2017, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In an Amish Paradox
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post
I live in the Erie, PA area and have been talking to Spectrum about converting to their packages. Problem is I keep getting different stories on the phone and on chat. Of course I'd like to double my internet speed to 60, which would require a new modem, but they'd send it to me and have no monthly charge. That part sounds OK. But things got confusing when it came to DVR's and channels available.

First they said I couldn't keep my enhanced DVR's (which I really like), then they said I could, then I couldn't. Also, they only offer one model DVR, which only stores 35 hours of programs, and can only record 2 shows at once!! It's like going back in time 10 years with Time Warner. Also, one station I have to have is only listed in the Miscellaneous section of their channels lineup (https://www.timewarnercable.com/cont...s-lineup.html/). I asked about it, and first they said if you get the Gold package you get all channels, the later they said none of the Misc. channels are available in my zip code????

After all that discussion, they would only lower my bill by $17, so its not worth it to me to take chances. They also said all current TW customers are grandfathered, and wouldn't be made to change to Spectrum's plans. So I'm stayin as is for now. 30 Mbps is fast enough for me, and we have a fiber optic company installing cable here to offer 150 Mbps as its slowest speed.
I'm skipping their offers for now - IIRC the fine print indicated an undisclosed bump in year 2. I'm also guessing taxes and fees would soak up the few dollars of nominal savings, and switching might trigger immediate loss of unscrambled channels.

I am hoping that eventually Spectrum credentials will access more streaming sources - TWC excluded TNT, SYFY, AMC and others. I think BBCA, FX and HIST were the only ones I was ever able to get any use out of...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #23536 of 23545 Old 02-15-2017, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
snowdog 88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Aurora, OH
Posts: 1,052
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighou View Post
For those with Samsung TVs, are you guys using Digital Clean View when watching so-called HD cable? I've found that the PQ is pretty awful with it turned off, especially in darker scenes. The two biggest issues seem to be mosquito noise that is constantly moving around in the background, and also on people's faces. The other thing is the block-type artifacts. I'm sure my 65" TV just magnifies the effect, as I don't remember it being nearly as offensive on a smaller screen.

Anyway, bottom line (unless there is something wrong with my equipment) most of the channels look like crap. If I turn on DCV, it makes a significant difference, but at the expense of a little blur. I'm still wondering about the best setting—low, auto or something else?
I watch with an antenna, and with the digital clean view turned on, the picture does get a little cleaner on the 480i channels. MPEG artifacting is also less noticeable as well as composite artifacts. However, as you mentioned, there is motion blur with it turned on. For this reason, I keep the digital clean view setting off. Even with it off, the artifacting on my Samsung (46" 1080p) isn't too bad. In fact, compression artifacts are less noticeable compared to my old HDTV, which has a 37" 720p display. As you stated, larger screens will increase the uglyness of the MPEG compression artifacts. If your TV is 4K, lower resolution channels will look very soft and smudgy.

Check your connections going between your cable box and TV. Make sure you are using a HDMI cable as this will give you the best picture possible. If you are using an HDMI cable, make sure your cable box is outputting a 1080p signal, then set the zoom setting on your TV to screen fit as this can slightly help improve sharpness by not over-scanning the picture.

Newer is not always better.
snowdog 88 is online now  
post #23537 of 23545 Old 02-20-2017, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post
I live in the Erie, PA area and have been talking to Spectrum about converting to their packages. Problem is I keep getting different stories on the phone and on chat. Of course I'd like to double my internet speed to 60, which would require a new modem, but they'd send it to me and have no monthly charge. That part sounds OK. But things got confusing when it came to DVR's and channels available.

First they said I couldn't keep my enhanced DVR's (which I really like), then they said I could, then I couldn't. Also, they only offer one model DVR, which only stores 35 hours of programs, and can only record 2 shows at once!! It's like going back in time 10 years with Time Warner. Also, one station I have to have is only listed in the Miscellaneous section of their channels lineup (https://www.timewarnercable.com/cont...s-lineup.html/). I asked about it, and first they said if you get the Gold package you get all channels, the later they said none of the Misc. channels are available in my zip code????

After all that discussion, they would only lower my bill by $17, so its not worth it to me to take chances. They also said all current TW customers are grandfathered, and wouldn't be made to change to Spectrum's plans. So I'm stayin as is for now. 30 Mbps is fast enough for me, and we have a fiber optic company installing cable here to offer 150 Mbps as its slowest speed.
Update: Just got off the phone with Spectrum again. My bill just went up $20/month and I asked them why and what they could do about the promotion that went up. The answer - NOTHING! They said they won't be recognizing any of Time Warner's promotions/sales. I then asked what they could offer me. Again - NOTHING! They won't be offering any promotions of their own, now or in the future. They only offer "standardized" pricing. Basically, take it or leave it. Also today I got an email from our new fiber optic company, who will offer internet up to 1000 mbps, TV with DVR's that can record 8 shows at once, and cheap phone service. This is sounding better all the time!
scnrfrq is offline  
post #23538 of 23545 Old 02-20-2017, 01:50 PM
Member
 
dleising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post
Update: Just got off the phone with Spectrum again. My bill just went up $20/month and I asked them why and what they could do about the promotion that went up. The answer - NOTHING! They said they won't be recognizing any of Time Warner's promotions/sales. I then asked what they could offer me. Again - NOTHING! They won't be offering any promotions of their own, now or in the future. They only offer "standardized" pricing. Basically, take it or leave it. Also today I got an email from our new fiber optic company, who will offer internet up to 1000 mbps, TV with DVR's that can record 8 shows at once, and cheap phone service. This is sounding better all the time!


Who is this "new fiberoptic company"?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dleising is online now  
post #23539 of 23545 Old 02-20-2017, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dleising View Post
Who is this "new fiberoptic company"?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It is VNET Fiber in Erie, PA. Their website: https://www.vnetfiber.com/
scnrfrq is offline  
post #23540 of 23545 Old 02-20-2017, 01:57 PM
Member
 
dleising's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by scnrfrq View Post
It is VNET Fiber in Erie, PA. Their website: https://www.vnetfiber.com/


Lucky you!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dleising is online now  
post #23541 of 23545 Old Yesterday, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
dealer6871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brunswick Hills, Ohio
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
My Time Warner bill went up $15.00 this month. Called Spectrum and they said that I had a Time Warner promotional discount that had expired. Asked if they had something better to offer, since WOW was wiring our area. Response was yes, but I had to convert from Time Warner to Spectrum. That was confusing, since I thought they were now one and the same. Yes and no. Apparently they still operate as individual companies as far as packages are concerned and that the customer has to request a transfer over to Spectrum. I did and saved about $15.00 a month at a non promotional rate. Also received more channels. Bundled my phone and dropped Frontier, which saved me another $40.00 per month. Was told to call back in 30-60 days and I might be able to get some additional promotional discounts. So far I like the change and have no complaints.


FYI. The tech that was out told me that analog will be going away in July. You will no longer be able to plug the cable directly into the outlet or use the adapter box. You will have to go with a DVR, although Spectrum's prices are lower than Time Warner.
dealer6871 is online now  
post #23542 of 23545 Old Yesterday, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
scnrfrq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dealer6871 View Post
My Time Warner bill went up $15.00 this month. Called Spectrum and they said that I had a Time Warner promotional discount that had expired. Asked if they had something better to offer, since WOW was wiring our area. Response was yes, but I had to convert from Time Warner to Spectrum. That was confusing, since I thought they were now one and the same. Yes and no. Apparently they still operate as individual companies as far as packages are concerned and that the customer has to request a transfer over to Spectrum. I did and saved about $15.00 a month at a non promotional rate. Also received more channels. Bundled my phone and dropped Frontier, which saved me another $40.00 per month. Was told to call back in 30-60 days and I might be able to get some additional promotional discounts. So far I like the change and have no complaints.


FYI. The tech that was out told me that analog will be going away in July. You will no longer be able to plug the cable directly into the outlet or use the adapter box. You will have to go with a DVR, although Spectrum's prices are lower than Time Warner.
Hmm...they told me no promotions. I get different stories from different people there. What adapter box do you mean? I would think you could still use a cable box that wasn't a DVR?
scnrfrq is offline  
post #23543 of 23545 Old Today, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
dealer6871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brunswick Hills, Ohio
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The adapter box allowed those individuals with no cable box to view analog channels. Apparently in some areas you could no longer run the cable directly into the wall jack Think it was free. In my case I had the cable into the jack in a spare bedroom. Now I'll have to get a regular box if I want to continue to view Spectrum.

There were no promotions on the conversion/upgrade from Time Warner, but I still saved money. CS said to call back in a month or two and they might have something they could offer to further lower the cost.


QUOTE=scnrfrq;50949297]Hmm...they told me no promotions. I get different stories from different people there. What adapter box do you mean? I would think you could still use a cable box that wasn't a DVR?[/QUOTE]
dealer6871 is online now  
post #23544 of 23545 Old Today, 09:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cc_in_oh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: In an Amish Paradox
Posts: 2,142
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 528
Quote:
Originally Posted by dealer6871 View Post
The adapter box allowed those individuals with no cable box to view analog channels. Apparently in some areas you could no longer run the cable directly into the wall jack Think it was free. In my case I had the cable into the jack in a spare bedroom. Now I'll have to get a regular box if I want to continue to view Spectrum.

There were no promotions on the conversion/upgrade from Time Warner, but I still saved money. CS said to call back in a month or two and they might have something they could offer to further lower the cost.


QUOTE=scnrfrq;50949297]Hmm...they told me no promotions. I get different stories from different people there. What adapter box do you mean? I would think you could still use a cable box that wasn't a DVR?
[/QUOTE]

That's the first I've heard of that too - I assumed all subscribers got the unscrambled analog and local digital channels directly from the cable...

CC

Who knew "flammable" and "inflammable" mean the same thing???
cc_in_oh is online now  
post #23545 of 23545 Unread Today, 11:09 AM
Senior Member
 
dealer6871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brunswick Hills, Ohio
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This is the explanation. Like I said however, you'll now be forced to get a cable box for every room as the adapter box is now being phased out.

"A Digital Adapter is a small converter that allows viewing of digital TV services on your television. An adapter is about the size of a deck of cards.
If you connect your TV set directly from the wall with a cable wire, you will need equipment, such as a Digital Adapter, for every TV in your home."
dealer6871 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off