Denver, CO - Comcast - Page 22 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Denver, CO - Comcast

Local HDTV Info and Reception

kkelley's Avatar kkelley
12:57 PM Liked: 11
post #631 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 186
Joined: Oct 2002
That could be true regarding the 6408. I recall reading on another thread that that model is starting to appear in some of the eastern markets now.

Hopefully it won't be tool long. I finally dropped E* which I was using soley for DVR. The VCR is going to get old in a hurry!!!
entrager's Avatar entrager
01:19 PM Liked: 10
post #632 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 2003
I just noticed last night that VOD was finally lauched in my area (Wheat Ridge). Last night I was able to watch one program (George Carlin special on HBO) before VOD stopped working. Anything else that I picked after that gave an error requesting that I "try again momentarily." Of course, it still didn't work several hours later.

Anyone else having similar issues with VOD?
mayest's Avatar mayest
05:15 PM Liked: 11
post #633 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 538
Joined: Aug 2003
Just channel surfing and I found that channel 663 is Discovery HD Theater. This is great news. There is one thing that is confusing though: Right now a show about African elephants is on, but its not a 16:9 ratio. Its more like the 14:9 (or whatever) that Fox uses. Anybody know if this is a screwup, or is does Discovery not always broadcast at 16:9? Other than the aspect ratio, the PQ definitely looks like very sharp HD to my eyes.

edit: They just went to a commercial and it is 16:9. On returning, I can see that the show is some other ratio. The Discovery logo extends into the black bars on the side in the lower right corner.
nu2this's Avatar nu2this
05:41 PM Liked: 10
post #634 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 71
Joined: Jan 2003
Mayest,
I was in the middle of writing an identical post as yours until the commercial came on. I do have another question though, is discovery hd is being sent in 720p or 1080i?
dr_mal's Avatar dr_mal
06:00 PM Liked: 10
post #635 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Mar 2001
Discovery HD is natively 16:9 1080i. Not sure what's happening with the odd aspect ratio you guys are seeing. Now that it's 6:00 and presumably another show is on, what are you seeing in terms of aspect artio?
Jeremy Tebo's Avatar Jeremy Tebo
06:23 PM Liked: 10
post #636 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 517
Joined: May 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by entrager
I just noticed last night that VOD was finally lauched in my area (Wheat Ridge). Last night I was able to watch one program (George Carlin special on HBO) before VOD stopped working. Anything else that I picked after that gave an error requesting that I "try again momentarily." Of course, it still didn't work several hours later.

Anyone else having similar issues with VOD?

When we (Denver) got VOD a few weeks ago I got that error a few times in the first day or two it was active. I think it should work itself out.

As for DHD, that was fast! I had it before with D*, and yes, there are a few shows that were shot in other aspect ratios. Almost everything is 16:9 though. I've got to say I'm thoroughly impressed with Comcast cable so far, I've only had it for 2 months and they've added VOD and DHD. That gives me hope that HDNet and the HD recorder could happen some time.
mayest's Avatar mayest
06:59 PM Liked: 11
post #637 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 538
Joined: Aug 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by dr_mal
Discovery HD is natively 16:9 1080i. Not sure what's happening with the odd aspect ratio you guys are seeing. Now that it's 6:00 and presumably another show is on, what are you seeing in terms of aspect artio?

I just watched a show about Thailand and it was 16:9. Must have been just that one show. Anyway, I'm very pleased to finally have this channel. The PQ is as good or better than InHD.
Jeremy Tebo's Avatar Jeremy Tebo
07:22 PM Liked: 10
post #638 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 517
Joined: May 2003
I just tried to play Curb Your Enthusiasm on VOD and got the error. I seem to have jinxed it.
nu2this's Avatar nu2this
07:43 PM Liked: 10
post #639 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 71
Joined: Jan 2003
Sometimes I have to try 2 or 3 times before I can get it to work without the error message. I havn't called the phone number yet. It seems to be working better today.
Cheyenne's Avatar Cheyenne
07:51 PM Liked: 10
post #640 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2004
Discovery HD is here (Boulder) -- Channel 663
Benzyl's Avatar Benzyl
08:57 PM Liked: 10
post #641 of 4033
06-22-2004 | Posts: 28
Joined: Sep 2003
Discovery Channel HD is on here in Littleton also. I haven't seen VOD yet, but a CSR told me Highlands Ranch is scheduled for tomorrow, but I don't know if they are still on schedule, or if that will cover me in Littleton.

Benzyl
gakon's Avatar gakon
07:55 AM Liked: 10
post #642 of 4033
06-24-2004 | Posts: 1,375
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by Benzyl
I haven't seen VOD yet, but a CSR told me Highlands Ranch is scheduled for tomorrow, but I don't know if they are still on schedule, or if that will cover me in Littleton.

No VOD in the Ranch as of this morning. Must not be on schedule any more.
Jeremy Tebo's Avatar Jeremy Tebo
08:27 AM Liked: 10
post #643 of 4033
06-28-2004 | Posts: 517
Joined: May 2003
Anyone else been having problems with HBO-HD? I tried watching T3 a few nights ago and there were breakups every few minutes, very annoying. It was even worse when I checked it last night. That seems to be the only channel that is having that problem.
mayest's Avatar mayest
11:20 AM Liked: 11
post #644 of 4033
06-28-2004 | Posts: 538
Joined: Aug 2003
You're not alone with the breakups. I watched "The Recruit" on Starz the other night and it was nearly unwatchable. I've seen occasional breakups before, but this was really bad and continued throughout the movie. I also notice some, less severe, breakups last night on several channels.

I wonder if we are starting to run into bandwidth constraints with the new VOD and the addition of Discovery HD? Maybe its time to lose a bunch of those PPV channels.
still75's Avatar still75
01:10 PM Liked: 10
post #645 of 4033
06-28-2004 | Posts: 12
Joined: May 2004
Same problems again here in Westminster.
Had VOOM installed a few days ago no problems on
any of the 38 HD channels and they have 20 more slots open
for more HD content.
Watched Cirque Des Solei(pardon the spelling) on the BRAVOHD+
last night -Spectacular in HD with no commercials.
Best HD picture I have ever seen.
Benzyl's Avatar Benzyl
03:06 PM Liked: 10
post #646 of 4033
06-28-2004 | Posts: 28
Joined: Sep 2003
OK talked to a CSR about VOD in the south and she didn't know anything, but she transfered me to a tech. He told me that Highlands Ranch is scheduled for June 30th and Littleton should be covered by that upgrade. He warned that it probably won't work well until after the weekend since it takes 4 or 5 days to work the problems out, but it looks like our area is getting it soon.

Benzyl
Benzyl's Avatar Benzyl
07:15 AM Liked: 10
post #647 of 4033
06-30-2004 | Posts: 28
Joined: Sep 2003
Woohoo the Tech was right. The VOD menu is on my system today, it doesn't actually work yet, but anyone in Southern Denver Metro should check to see if they were upgraded.

Benzyl
gakon's Avatar gakon
02:09 PM Liked: 10
post #648 of 4033
06-30-2004 | Posts: 1,375
Joined: Jul 2003
You know, I saw that the VOD menu existed, but didn't actually try it all the way. I went in to find something for my kids to watch, saw how limited the content was, and went back to live TV. I should have tried just to see if it worked. I did notice that the "Main Menu" selection didn't seem to work.
GEBrown's Avatar GEBrown
11:57 AM Liked: 10
post #649 of 4033
07-01-2004 | Posts: 1,228
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by Benzyl
Woohoo the Tech was right. The VOD menu is on my system today, it doesn't actually work yet, but anyone in Southern Denver Metro should check to see if they were upgraded.

Benzyl

I just checked mine (I'm in HR as well) and not only do I have VOD on the menu, but it WORKS!!! I pulled up an HBO movie, watched it a while, fast forwarded, etc. Then I did the same with a CineMax movie.

Surprisingly cool - but no HD of course - boo hoo.

Anyway, it actually is better than I expected.

My 2 cents
zeff's Avatar zeff
02:22 PM Liked: 10
post #650 of 4033
07-01-2004 | Posts: 35
Joined: May 2003
Watched Gothika wide screen last night on VOD, and the picture was terrible. I have a 100" front projection theater so bandwidth artifacts are more noticeable, but this was ridiculous. I would rather drive back and forth to BB and rent a DVD than watch that crap for the convenience of not having to return it . Man it makes me mad when these companies show us how good HD or true digital looks and then have junk for SD. Well that was my rant, hopefully with more people buying larger better quality tv's enough complaints of pic quality will force Comcast to do something.
Jeremy Tebo's Avatar Jeremy Tebo
04:25 PM Liked: 10
post #651 of 4033
07-01-2004 | Posts: 517
Joined: May 2003
Yeah, I've noticed that the quality isn't the best even on my lil 36" CRT. Good enough to watch a few episodes of Curb or Golf Academy, but I'll pass on the movies. HD has spoiled us.
Your User Name:'s Avatar Your User Name:
01:57 PM Liked: 10
post #652 of 4033
07-05-2004 | Posts: 245
Joined: Nov 2003
Why isn't the widescreen version anamorphic. Kind of defeats the purpose of having a widescreen HDTV when you have to watch black bars on all four sides.
LaVike's Avatar LaVike
09:23 AM Liked: 10
post #653 of 4033
07-06-2004 | Posts: 67
Joined: May 2003
Just so folks know or I missed it in the thread somewhere, I checked my box configuration and I've now got Firmware 7.10 here in Boulder. I'm getting a firewire cable and will start trying to record HD via firewire! Yahoo!! (or at least until I figure out I don't have enough Horse Power to play it back).
Jeremy Tebo's Avatar Jeremy Tebo
11:21 AM Liked: 10
post #654 of 4033
07-09-2004 | Posts: 517
Joined: May 2003
Well I figure I should post this. I got a quick response to my whiny email to KMGH this morning, sounds promising. (On the HD front at least)

From me:

Could you change the time slot you play Jeopardy? At 3:30 people who
are employed with day jobs (the kind who like to watch shows like
Jeopardy) can't watch it. In Colorado Springs they played it at 6:30,
which was perfect. You have Wheel of Fortune at that time, which is
not nearly as good. I'd imagine your ratings would be much better with
Jeopardy. Some dude is tearing it up right now and I have to miss the
whole thing. Just a suggestion.

By the way, you are still the ONLY area network without HD on Comcast.
We're all waiting for you to catch up with technology.

His response:

Unfortunately for some viewers, Jeopardy will remain at 3:30pm.
Perhaps you can record it? We are currently in negotiations with Comcast for our HD signal and hope to have a resolution very soon. Thank you for writing.

So, it sounds like their HD should be up soon, which is good news. I'm probably the only one who cares about Jeopardy.
gakon's Avatar gakon
01:07 PM Liked: 10
post #655 of 4033
07-09-2004 | Posts: 1,375
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:


Originally posted by Jeremy Tebo
We are currently in negotiations with Comcast for our HD signal and hope to have a resolution very soon.

It would be great if this were true, but I'd love to know the definition of the word "soon". I don't know if their use of the word "very" means anything, since this was their response to me last October:

KMGH HDTV broadcasts will be available to Comcast as soon as the corporate discussions regarding retransmission consent are concluded, which we hope will be soon!

If nothing else, our letters to them will let them know we're still waiting for them to move on this. Thanks.
Jeremy Tebo's Avatar Jeremy Tebo
08:18 AM Liked: 10
post #656 of 4033
07-12-2004 | Posts: 517
Joined: May 2003
Most of their programming is awful anyway, I just want it by football time.
gakon's Avatar gakon
09:39 AM Liked: 10
post #657 of 4033
07-12-2004 | Posts: 1,375
Joined: Jul 2003
Me, too. We probably wouldn't get much from KMGH if we said "we never watch you anyway, but if you don't get your HD signal to Comcast, we won't even watch MNF". Oh, well.
dr_mal's Avatar dr_mal
11:08 PM Liked: 10
post #658 of 4033
07-12-2004 | Posts: 1,719
Joined: Mar 2001
Quote:
Originally posted by gakon
It would be great if this were true, but I'd love to know the definition of the word "soon". I don't know if their use of the word "very" means anything, since this was their response to me last October:

KMGH HDTV broadcasts will be available to Comcast as soon as the corporate discussions regarding retransmission consent are concluded, which we hope will be soon!

If nothing else, our letters to them will let them know we're still waiting for them to move on this. Thanks.

Don't forget their lawyers promised the FCC, in response to a letter writing campaign by local viewers, that they'd have full power OTA soon. For anyone not following the OTA saga, there's another hearing scheduled for later this month. Once that hearing is done, it'll be at least another 12-18 months before that's up and running.

Their definition of "soon" must be in geological terms.
JimD03's Avatar JimD03
09:14 PM Liked: 10
post #659 of 4033
07-14-2004 | Posts: 36
Joined: Nov 2003
VOD appeared in my area today. They have an HBO/Showtime/Starz section that is free. Is it only because I subscribe? The regular Movie section is PPV. Since I am now spoiled by HDTV, I am not sure I'll be using it much except to catch things I missed.
gakon's Avatar gakon
11:22 AM Liked: 10
post #660 of 4033
07-15-2004 | Posts: 1,375
Joined: Jul 2003
Yes, you get the HBO/Showtime/Starz VOD because you subscribe. Those of us who don't subscribe don't have that option (it's there, but we can't use it).

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3