Anchorage, AK - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 549 Old 03-29-2011, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC and NBC in HD on DirectTV!!!! Just in time for NBA and NHL playoffs

Sweet

Ok Edit what am I missing. Icons say HD but black bars on top and bottom on both channels. I am confused. PQ is definitely not SD
mhdiab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 549 Old 04-30-2011, 04:45 PM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone know why the GCI Network KTVA feed has been really bad SD on the HD channel the last couple of nights?

Kevin
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #543 of 549 Old 04-30-2011, 11:48 PM
Member
 
geoWorm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoKevin View Post
Anyone know why the GCI Network KTVA feed has been really bad SD on the HD channel the last couple of nights?

Kevin
KTUU also... had to download LOLA plus the CSI's in HD... thanks goodness for nzbmatrix.com! Too bad for the local advertisers...

Two weeks ago KTBY broadcasted the NASCAR race only in SD and then switched to HD during the post race interviews.

I don't think the local stations care about HD.
geoWorm is offline  
post #544 of 549 Old 05-01-2011, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
PhotoKevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I did send KTVA an email asking what the problem was. I don't expect anything back until next week. The signal they were feeding to GCI was even bad for SD. It had little black bars down the side between the picture and the normal black bar. This signal was hard to watch on my projection system.

Glad to see that someone else from Anchorage frequents this board. There was the old Anchorage HD board but it seems to have died.

K
PhotoKevin is offline  
post #545 of 549 Old 07-28-2011, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I got a question that maybe someone will know the answer to. Since this isn't very active I doubt it but lets try.

Went to this link
http://www.lyngsat.com/hd/119west.html

Hit search for anchorage

and way down there is 12239 L tp 2 -- KTUU-TV (NBC-Anchorage) in green which means HD. Then in the field over it states MPEG-4/HD.........

So why is it not in HD on my TV? Does anyone know? I just emailed KTUU and asked them will email Direct TV next

EDIT: oh it also says echostar so I guess that is the Dish designation for KTUU in HD.......aaargh
mhdiab is offline  
post #546 of 549 Old 12-27-2011, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
samwe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone using MTA's IPTV product? I am wondering if there is anyway to view it via a PC as I have no TV's.
I won't be able to get GCI until spring at my new house, so my month old Ceton InfiniTV will be idle now...
samwe is offline  
post #547 of 549 Old 02-23-2012, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Left directtv for Gci - lasted for 2 months lol. Now back with directtv an happy to see they have NBC in HD. Only abc "to go". Guide and setup of channels is so much better than on GCI and love the rf function for the remotes
mhdiab is offline  
post #548 of 549 Old 06-02-2012, 04:44 PM
Member
 
yank2451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what is wrong with the HD broadcast on the local FOX affiliate?
yank2451 is offline  
post #549 of 549 Old 04-17-2013, 10:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mhdiab's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 2,366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK this time it is for real. Finally all four major networks in HD!!! Just in time for NBA playoffs. I expected this once abc came back from the blackout and happy to see it
mhdiab is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off