Nashville, TN - Comcast - Page 128 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Nashville, TN - Comcast

Local HDTV Info and Reception

clordatl's Avatar clordatl
01:31 PM Liked: 10
post #3811 of 3822
09-08-2014 | Posts: 7
Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hearncl View Post
A couple of years ago, Comcast mailed me a two-sided card with a Channel Lineup (a compact listing of station IDs with channel number for each station). That reference card is out of date. I thought that an up-to-date reference card might be available on the Xfinity site for printing, but have been unable to find such. If anyone knows of such a channel lineup listing, I would appreciate a link.
I grabbed this a few months ago, can't remember where I got it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2B...it?usp=sharing
Wryker's Avatar Wryker
10:38 AM Liked: 32
post #3812 of 3822
09-09-2014 | Posts: 2,432
Joined: Aug 2006
Has anyone noticed that the volume level for FOXHD had dropped dramatically (or is it just my house)? I live in East Nashville and FOXHD's volume is significantly lower than any other channel. I have to turn it up quite a bit (watching the NFL) to equate the same 'sound' as any other station. Last year I noticed the opposite with CWHD - that volume crushes my center channel speakers I have (in 3 different rooms w/3 different AVRs).

I haven't watched anything on the CWHD since then so I don't know if that audio is still 'crushing'.
hearncl's Avatar hearncl
03:59 PM Liked: 10
post #3813 of 3822
09-09-2014 | Posts: 113
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by clordatl View Post
I grabbed this a few months ago, can't remember where I got it.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2B...it?usp=sharing
Thanks--I was able to save as a pdf, then copy and paste the relevant columns (for me) to fit on a single page Word document. I wish I could find a more up-to-date listing (with SEC network channels, for example).
jmontyb's Avatar jmontyb
10:51 PM Liked: 10
post #3814 of 3822
09-22-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2009
Does anyone know if HD DTA boxes are available in Nashville?


Also, can we ever expect to get FXX in HD? It's obviously not a bandwidth issue since they were able to add the 2 SEC Network alternate channels in HD. Other than that, how long has it been since the HD offerings were expanded?


Honestly, I can't wait until Dish gets their IPTV offering going. If it's anywhere close to acceptable, I'll be ditching Comcast as fast as I can.
dstoffa's Avatar dstoffa
06:37 AM Liked: 21
post #3815 of 3822
09-23-2014 | Posts: 1,161
Joined: Oct 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmontyb View Post
Honestly, I can't wait until Dish gets their IPTV offering going. If it's anywhere close to acceptable, I'll be ditching Comcast as fast as I can.
Wouldn't you still need Comcrap for broadband in order to receive IPTV? And what about capping and fees?
Wryker's Avatar Wryker
12:56 PM Liked: 32
post #3816 of 3822
09-23-2014 | Posts: 2,432
Joined: Aug 2006
I just wish FIOS would come here but it never will so I'm holding out hope on Google!!!
jmontyb's Avatar jmontyb
04:11 PM Liked: 10
post #3817 of 3822
09-23-2014 | Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2009
At that point I'd switch to a business class line (no caps). With my work it'd be partially tax deductible.


Then I'd just be waiting until Google fiber gets to my neighborhood.
wvvolfan's Avatar wvvolfan
07:50 PM Liked: 19
post #3818 of 3822
09-23-2014 | Posts: 189
Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wryker View Post
I just wish FIOS would come here but it never will so I'm holding out hope on Google!!!
Verizon won't built FiOS in the state since the RBOC is AT&T (formerly BellSouth). The best you can hope for in Nashville is Google Fiber and/or AT&T U-Verse GigaPower that they have rolled out very limited in Austin & Dallas, TX. Both companies have stated they have plans for rolling out in some capacity in the Nashville area.

GigaPower:
Confirmed Communities
Nashville

Possible Communities
Clarksville, Franklin, Murfreesboro, Smyrna, Spring Hill

http://www.att.com/att/gigapowercities/
Wryker's Avatar Wryker
10:28 AM Liked: 32
post #3819 of 3822
09-24-2014 | Posts: 2,432
Joined: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by wvvolfan View Post
Verizon won't built FiOS in the state since the RBOC is AT&T (formerly BellSouth). The best you can hope for in Nashville is Google Fiber and/or AT&T U-Verse GigaPower that they have rolled out very limited in Austin & Dallas, TX. Both companies have stated they have plans for rolling out in some capacity in the Nashville area.

GigaPower:
Confirmed Communities
Nashville

Possible Communities
Clarksville, Franklin, Murfreesboro, Smyrna, Spring Hill

http://www.att.com/att/gigapowercities/
Yesss - I stated I "wish" FIOS would come but I already know it would never happen - thus I said I'm rooting for Google (not an AT&T fan). Thanks!
Wryker's Avatar Wryker
12:03 PM Liked: 32
post #3820 of 3822
10-01-2014 | Posts: 2,432
Joined: Aug 2006
Can anyone confirm or deny that the X1 platform boxes can NOT be used in conjunction/addition if you have a TiVo? I was told that by the rep inside the local office but they don't always "know" things.
Brian-L's Avatar Brian-L
12:34 PM Liked: 10
post #3821 of 3822
11-07-2014 | Posts: 6
Joined: Oct 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post
So I got a 360 to use as an MCE extender and had my mom return the HD cable box to the brentwood office. She told me that they said they'd take the the 10 dollar HD technology fee off our account since we dont have anymore cable boxes, but I just checked this month's statement and its still there.

My friend, for whom I set up the exact same hd homerun set up that we use, has no HD technology fee on his account. So is this just some 'fight with comcast till they take it off your account' type nonsense or is there a policy now for it?

We're also on a promotion for free hbo/starz for 3 months, which i think comes with those extended digital channels like NatGEO and foxbusiness (none of which we watch), maybe is that why they're still charging us this fee? are any of you on the XF triple play paying the HD fee without any cable boxes?
I can understand them not charging for an HD cable box anymore, but why would they remove the HD access fee?
Will a CableCard do this too?
Brian-L's Avatar Brian-L
10:01 AM Liked: 10
post #3822 of 3822
Yesterday | Posts: 6
Joined: Oct 2006
Does anyone know when the Nashville area will get HD DTA's?

Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3