New York, NY - TWC - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 26665 Old 09-19-2003, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
frankx99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw Full Metal Jacket the other night on INHD1 it was commercial free, uncut with 5.1 sound

Hopefully I will get a chance to check out a baseball game tonight and let you know how it looks.
frankx99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 26665 Old 09-19-2003, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Frank, the phillies play the reds tonight. I was really looking forward to seeing that game, but alas!, no such luck in NY, NY. Enjoy the game!

Drew
drew138 is offline  
post #93 of 26665 Old 09-19-2003, 07:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Drew, I post about diagnostic mode findings largely in hope others with expertise will add some useful tips. I'm just tinkering with it. If we had a breakdown of all channels and their frequencies we could tell how many programs TWC is MPEG-2-squeezing into each 6-MHz slot, and whether it changes. Found only one link on "PCR lock" yesterday with two search engines, and it said virtually nothing. But the fact that HD and SD numbers are similar suggests PCR lock isn't very usefull for consumer applications related to image quality. (Some DirecTV users noted this summer when their bit rates fell.)

Also, as mentioned, it appears rate-shaping and statistical-multiplexing operations, outlined in those sublinked Broadcast Engineering and Scientific Atlanta references, aren't reflected in the diagnostic data pages. Perhaps someone getting TV from both a BUD and NYC TWC could somehow compare data. (Better yet, perhaps some computer whiz out there can outline how we can add a card/software to a PC and perform spectrum analysis on HD and SD signals.) -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #94 of 26665 Old 09-19-2003, 11:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


Found only one link on "PCR lock" yesterday with two search engines, and it said virtually nothing. But the fact that HD and SD numbers are similar suggests PCR lock isn't very usefull for consumer applications related to image quality.

On further thought, the fact these diagnostic-mode PCR lock readings have numbers like 38..., 39... (10 digits total) may indicate what they really are. With cable's typical 256 QAM modulation, each 6-MHz-wide cable frequency can carry about 38 Mbps (megabits/second). That's enough for two 'full' ~19-Mbps HD channels, although you might also squeeze in three 'rate-shaped' HD channels at 12 Mbps each. (Reportedly, few stations use a full 19 Mbps anyway; so-called null bits, stripped away during rate shaping, may be added to 'fill out' 19.39 Mbps.) So, this constantly fluctuating PCR-lock readout might be the combined MPEG-2 bitrate for each 6-MHz cable slot. Over in the HD recording forum there's been discussion on how to separate MPEG TS (transport streams) for individual channels in order to record just one program. -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #95 of 26665 Old 09-25-2003, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI: My earlier disput with TWC regarding the install of the DVR w/ first month free and instal free: they researched the item and corrected my bill. I was very happy with the outcome, but it wasn't the easiest CSR dealing, quite frustrating at times.

Drew
drew138 is offline  
post #96 of 26665 Old 09-26-2003, 02:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
Man-Fai Wong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Drew,

How did you manage to get the HD DVR? And w/out the promo(?) offer, how much is the upgrade cost?

Thanks.

_Man_
Man-Fai Wong is offline  
post #97 of 26665 Old 09-27-2003, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They dropped it off at my apt and installed it. However, you can go to one of their centers in NYC and pick one up on, but you have to exchange it with your old box. It's an extra 7.00 a month (maybe 7.95). I have to tell you, it's really awesome.

Good luck.

Drew
drew138 is offline  
post #98 of 26665 Old 09-27-2003, 01:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Maurice2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 783
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by drew138
I have to tell you, it's really awesome.

Could you clarify what you mean by this? Thanks.
Maurice2 is offline  
post #99 of 26665 Old 09-27-2003, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
bigd86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are we sure we are talking about an HD DVR?
bigd86 is offline  
post #100 of 26665 Old 09-28-2003, 11:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 63
YEAH! That's what I was going to ask! Please confirm! I thought only the 8000 was shipping now in NYC (saw one at a friends), not the 8000HD...

TM

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #101 of 26665 Old 09-28-2003, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, not the HD DVR.

I have the 8000 on my SDTV in the bedroom. But it is still awesome. :-)

I hear that the HD verion is due to be released in the 4th Quarter. Don't know if NYC will be getting them though.

Drew.
drew138 is offline  
post #102 of 26665 Old 09-29-2003, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Bummer. And what happened to our additional channels?!?

TM

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #103 of 26665 Old 09-30-2003, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the lack of postings reflects everyone's attitude on TWCNYC. Glad to have the new Pio box, but where are InHDs, WPIX, and Discovery.

Waiting to learn more about the Rainbow HD service from Cablevision (Voom).

Drew
drew138 is offline  
post #104 of 26665 Old 09-30-2003, 05:06 PM
Newbie
 
ivid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After a very long wait, I finally got my plasma TV and Pio HD box from Time Warner, hooked it all up and realized how much I was missing... Then, I looked around at what other TWC affiliates are offering (not to mention RCN and the dish systems) and realized how much we (those on TWC-NYC) are STILL missing... There's been a number of rumors floating around about TWC-NYC plan's to add ESPN/Discovery/InHD sometime this fall, but so far those are just rumors. I figured, why not go to the source, and at the same time let them know our discontent. Here's the letter I emailed them:

What is the status of adding more HDTV channels to TWC's linup in NYC. It seems that other TWC affiliates (such as Kansas City and Austin) are offering a full gammut of Hi Def Channels (including ESPN-HD, Discovery-HD. INHD & INHD2, etc) while TWC-NYC has not made any indications of any future plans ( or at least none have been communicated to the public). It greatly suprises me that TWC would neglect a very rapidly growing group of subscribers (especially since most of the HDTV users are among the top revenue generating customers of TWC). Currently, all of the dish networks are offering a much broader range of HDTV channels and seem to be a lot quicker at adding new ones. The same goes for RCN-a direct competitor of TWC. Can we expect future expansions of HDTV services in NYC and if yes - when and which channels?

And a prompt reply I got:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your recent message to Time Warner Cable.

Currently HBO-HD can be found on Channel 701, WCBS-HD on Channel 702, Showtime-HD on Channel 703, NBC-HD on Channel 704, FOX-HD on Channel 705 ABC-HD on channel 707 PBS-HD on Channel 713,and Kids Thirteen -HD on channel 714.

Regrettably, at this time we have no additional information and apologize for any inconvenience.

We want to assure you that suggestions such as yours are not going unnoticed.

Please refer to our website @ www.twcnyc.com for any future plans, services and news updates.

If you have any further questions please contact us at support@twcnyc.com or call our 24 hour Customer Support XPRESSLINE at 212-674-9100 or 718-358-0900.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So, they suck... we all knew that. what I think more people need to start doing is letting TWC know we need more HDTV. NOW!!! drop them a line at support@twcnyc.com. Squeaky wheels get heard (look at the California recall
ivid is offline  
post #105 of 26665 Old 09-30-2003, 06:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Also, besides e-mail to Support, might try at note to the VP programming, Bob Watson, at: rwatson0405@aol.com (reached him a few months back). -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #106 of 26665 Old 10-03-2003, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Well, I had a nice email exchange with Bob. That's the good news. The bad news is that the answer was disappointing. Bandwidth crunch now, and a scramble to get more channels (both free and tiered) coming, but not in the 'hold your breath' timeframe... I was reading b/t the lines, and maybe they're underpromising, but still, it was disappointing. I truly appreciate all Bob's done at TWC here in NYC to get HD going, but unfortunately they're falling behind.

TM

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #107 of 26665 Old 10-03-2003, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
pciav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: College Point, NY
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What about Voom? If this actually launches, this could push TWC. Anthony, did you you ask Bob why other TWC systems around the country are eclipsing what we have here in NYC?

Phil C.
"Where does he get all those wonderful toys"
Jack Nicholson as the Joker in Batman
pciav is offline  
post #108 of 26665 Old 10-06-2003, 08:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 5,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I asked that in my original question, and he said they were bandwidth constrained. Not sure why they would be versus other TWC systems (perhaps the backbone size they're using?) but he didn't give details. I didn't really press him on it I guess.

TM

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #109 of 26665 Old 10-06-2003, 12:17 PM
Member
 
blackbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
judging by the plethora of duplicate channels on TWC, bandwidth seems hardly the problem.
blackbody is offline  
post #110 of 26665 Old 10-06-2003, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
DjPiLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah... TWC is really dropping the ball on this. I could have went with RCN... yet I wanted to stay with Time Warner.

If RCN offered HBO/Showtime/Cinemax/TMC on Demand... as well as CBS-HD... i'd switch tomorrow.
DjPiLL is offline  
post #111 of 26665 Old 10-06-2003, 05:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


I could have went with RCN... yet I wanted to stay with Time Warner.

If RCN offered HBO/Showtime/Cinemax/TMC on Demand... as well as CBS-HD... i'd switch tomorrow.

I signed up for RCN (this Thursday) along with my long-running TWC subscription. That'll add RCN's 4-HD tier (Discovery, ESPN-HD, HDNet, HDNet Movies) to TWC's 6-HD lineup. Drastic solution costwise, but expect changes in both services will accelerate. RCN's sales guy hadn't heard of INHD (I urged him to check their site). He said they'd worked hard this summer upgrading NYC buildings for HD. -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #112 of 26665 Old 10-07-2003, 08:41 AM
Member
 
BelB64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The NY Post reported yesterday(pg 32 in the hd tv article) that TWC of NYC will be adding both INHD channels "sometime in the next two months". I'm giving TWC until the end of the year to add more HD stations or I too will do what John did and add RCN to my TWC subscription despite the cost. I have two HD boxes, so if I cancell one. maybe that will show TWC that we hd owners are serious about going to the hd provider that has the most hd programming.
BelB64 is offline  
post #113 of 26665 Old 10-07-2003, 11:37 AM
Member
 
O and A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey I'm in NYC and was wondering what SA or PIO boxes TW is using for HD. And what kind of outputs do they have. I'm getting a Sanyo PLV-70 LCD projector and I want to make sure everything is compatible.

I think i'm going to get 1HD box and 2 8000 DVR boxes.

"You can say I'm a dreamer
But I'm not the only one."
--- John Lennon
O and A is offline  
post #114 of 26665 Old 10-08-2003, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
gmmck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: staten island, ny
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to reiterate for u guys, i get INHD1 on ch.708 here in staten island.....

signed
I WANT MY RANGER HOCKEY IN HD!!! MSGHD!!! (even though they suck.;-)
gmmck is offline  
post #115 of 26665 Old 10-09-2003, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
John, my god man, drastic measures for 4 addt'l HD channels. We all admire your courage and convicition. What will the addt'l monthly cost be for the basic services + HD Tier at RCN so others who might be considering this option have the details.

I have to imagine that the RCN installer will tell this story to more than a few people. Plus you will have to run the RCN box through separate inputs to switch them out (unless you are using an AV switcher).

I can't wait for an update, as well as HD channel PQ comparisons between TWC/RCN where they have the same channels.

Thanks,

Drew

PS: Is anyone else baffled that Fox 5 isn't broadcasting ALCS/NLCS games in their crummy widescreen format view?
drew138 is offline  
post #116 of 26665 Old 10-09-2003, 10:52 AM
Member
 
blackbody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RCN is charging $12.99 for 4 additional HDTV channel. Sounds like a rip-off to me.
blackbody is offline  
post #117 of 26665 Old 10-09-2003, 06:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


Originally posted by drew138
John, my god man, drastic measures for 4 addt'l HD channels. We all admire your courage and convicition. What will the addt'l monthly cost be for the basic services + HD Tier at RCN so others who might be considering this option have the details.

I have to imagine that the RCN installer will tell this story to more than a few people. Plus you will have to run the RCN box through separate inputs to switch them out (unless you are using an AV switcher).

I can't wait for an update, as well as HD channel PQ comparisons between TWC/RCN where they have the same channels.

It'll be about $60, I guess, since RCN's 'basic' is ~$40 and there are tier/converter charges. Stretching it, of course, but just the HDNet movie channel, considering all their 1080i flicks, might be called economical on a monthly basis. If TWC coughs up more one of these months, essentially duplicating RCN, I'll just cancel. Besides the 4 special-tier channels mentioned above, there's ABC, PBS, and NBC at no charge,(no CBS yet), duplicating my TWC. Didn't subscribe to RCN premiums since, buying in 'bulk', I've subscribed to all of them in TWC's It's All Here package.

Just hooked up RCN's Motorola 5100 YPbPr up to my Zektor switch today to ensure 1080i was coming in. Need more time for comparison, but HDNet's Army/Navy game rerun this PM was fantastic! I see what all the HDNet raves have been about. Not sure, but it appears the 5100's output, avoiding my 3100HD's slight detail-spoiling 'fog', has significant video advantages. -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #118 of 26665 Old 10-11-2003, 08:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
John Mason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 10,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


I can't wait for an update, as well as HD channel PQ comparisons between TWC/RCN where they have the same channels.

Here's one I made Friday, but outlined it today in a RCN NYC thread. Awaiting the SA8000HD converter from TWC rather than trying the Pioneer unit as a 'fog' cure. -- John
John Mason is offline  
post #119 of 26665 Old 10-11-2003, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
frankx99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No more INHD in Staten Island for me
frankx99 is offline  
post #120 of 26665 Old 10-11-2003, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
gmmck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: staten island, ny
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes,

Gone for me as well... anyone know why ???
gmmck is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off