New York, NY - TWC - Page 664 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19891 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 05:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lee7n View Post

Unless you unplug it, it will be on anyway. Just leave it alone, if you keep unplugging it you are going to risk damage to the hard drive since there really is no shut down with these cable boxes.

To repeat, I've put a meter on it and it draws the same amount of electricity whether on or off (and nothing one can DO on the box seems to cause it to draw more a/c)... still I DO turn it off, if only to display the time (while I'm using it, I want the channel number on all the time).

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19892 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 10:29 AM
Member
 
The Waco Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Queens, my two 8300HDC boxes decided to reset themselves at least a half an hour ago. They both got stuck on L-13 and have restarted twice more that I've noticed.

If it's one box, I figure it's the box - if it's two in sync with each other, I figure something must be going on, but haven't heard/read a thing.
The Waco Kid is offline  
post #19893 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 11:07 AM
Member
 
Kold Kuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bayside, NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Waco Kid View Post

In Queens, my two 8300HDC boxes decided to reset themselves at least a half an hour ago. They both got stuck on L-13 and have restarted twice more that I've noticed.

If it's one box, I figure it's the box - if it's two in sync with each other, I figure something must be going on, but haven't heard/read a thing.

I'm in Bayside - same thing happening to me. Must be a software update. Patience, patience.

One has to wonder if they fix the dolby digital audio problem on the HDC.

TWCNYC - Samsung 3090
Kold Kuts is offline  
post #19894 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 11:07 AM
Newbie
 
ilikepie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My box has been doing the same thing for over an hour. It just keeps restarting and showing L-13.
ilikepie is offline  
post #19895 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
smithtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im by flushing/forest hills border. Same issue happening here...

However its only affecting my HD DVR Box. My other two standard boxes are not affected.
smithtec is offline  
post #19896 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 11:35 AM
Senior Member
 
MacAlert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem seems to be with Navigator. My passport boxes are working great.
MacAlert is offline  
post #19897 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 11:50 AM
Member
 
FNPonderous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Little Neck, Queens. Same problem. I have a 8300HDC DVR with Nav and a 8300 HD DVR with Pass. The HDC has been getting stuck and rebooting from L-13 for at least 20 min that I have noticed.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
FNPonderous is offline  
post #19898 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
NYPokerface's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally WPXN is in HD. TW, please stop giving us these crappy channels in HD and start getting us some good ones.
NYPokerface is online now  
post #19899 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Kold Kuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bayside, NY
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Many folks on dslreports having the same issue. Someone reported calling TWC and getting busy signal. Others reporting automated message notifying of outages in Queens.

TWCNYC - Samsung 3090
Kold Kuts is offline  
post #19900 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 12:41 PM
Member
 
The Waco Kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went out for a bit, came back, and my two boxes are stable again. My non-8300HDC boxes never had a blip.
The Waco Kid is offline  
post #19901 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 02:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sure sounds like an poorly managed ODN update... did y'all get 3.1.1_3 (which I think is the latest deployed version... and beyond what I thought I read is in NYC)?

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #19902 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
lee7n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverside_Guy View Post

Sure sounds like an poorly managed ODN update... did y'all get 3.1.1_3 (which I think is the latest deployed version... and beyond what I thought I read is in NYC)?

didn't get it in manhattan yet. My last boot was May 10 so all you HDC haters that is over a month and no need to reboot.
lee7n is offline  
post #19903 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
lee7n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYPokerface View Post

Finally WPXN is in HD. TW, please stop giving us these crappy channels in HD and start getting us some good ones.

Whatever they are showing now the picture looks like utter crap, some dirty harry movie i think.
lee7n is offline  
post #19904 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
question
is the new Sammy 3090 DVR encode TWC MPEG 2 to MPEG4? Does this box show improved picture quality over its predecessor?
carl2680 is offline  
post #19905 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
kwitel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why no UFC in HD??????
Arrrrrr
kwitel is offline  
post #19906 of 26642 Old 06-13-2009, 08:02 PM
Member
 
HRAMOS1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW YORK CITY LOWER EAST SIDE
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sammy 3090 DVR so far good faster than 8300hdc
HRAMOS1965 is offline  
post #19907 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 04:36 AM
Member
 
HRAMOS1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW YORK CITY LOWER EAST SIDE
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a phone number for 23rd to find out if they have more 3090
HRAMOS1965 is offline  
post #19908 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A friend out of man South just got phone service and went to 23rd to get a new box so he can do caller id on screen (he doesn't follow AVS or all the issues we love to kvetch about).

They gave him a 8300HDC. The most interesting thing is he said the overall PQ is a lot better with the "new box." he's a photographer with a better than average eye so I know if he says better, I'd see/say the exact same thing.

Still sticking to my plan of living with MDN for a few months when it gets to me... then deciding what to do.

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #19909 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 07:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HRAMOS1965 View Post

Is there a phone number for 23rd to find out if they have more 3090

Speak to a regular CSR, they can make notes in your record that they can see at 23rd street. I don't think you can call 23rd directly...

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #19910 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would say ask for the 3090 box at the 23rd street location. If you dont ask I am sure they will probably give the 8300 hdc since the samsung box is brand new to them. When I went earlier in the week they were all stacked on the left hand side in samsung cardboard boxes so if you dont see them then they may be out,
slumpey326 is offline  
post #19911 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 10:17 AM
Member
 
HRAMOS1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NEW YORK CITY LOWER EAST SIDE
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there away to keep the aspect ratio on the samsung 3090 to stay on 4x3 instead of it changing when i change channels from HD to regular channel
HRAMOS1965 is offline  
post #19912 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Satch Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Metro-Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Posts: 2,732
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 32
A Samsung question about the new boxes: The models are 3070 and 3090 for DVR's right?

How do you know if you are getting the 160 GB hard drive or the 320 GB hard drive? I have heard conflicting reports from division to division.

As for bug issues, Do you go with a new Samsung which is so new that it may have bugs or SA-8300HDC which finally has the bugs out of it?

I think in six months, the Sammy's will be the one to get.

Still holding on to my working great MDN box. But I wanted to know your thoughts on the issue above. Thanks.

Jack

SA-8300HDC DVR with TWC Navigator Guide
Guide Version -ODN 7.2.11
Metro-Milwaukee Wisconsin
Satch Man is offline  
post #19913 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 03:00 PM
Member
 
johnnyhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Does anyone know where TNTHD in clear QAM went? I used to see it on 93-2, but it is not there anymore.

Thanks,
John
johnnyhd is offline  
post #19914 of 26642 Old 06-14-2009, 11:34 PM
Member
 
disafan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyhd View Post

Hello,

Does anyone know where TNTHD in clear QAM went? I used to see it on 93-2, but it is not there anymore.

Thanks,
John

Time Warner giveth, Time Warner taketh away...

They encrypted it again.
disafan is offline  
post #19915 of 26642 Old 06-15-2009, 06:24 AM
Member
 
coreynyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone gotten a Samsung box from the Queens Center Mall yet or knows if they have them?
coreynyc is offline  
post #19916 of 26642 Old 06-15-2009, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slumpey326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the new samsung fixed the dobly digital setting problem via HDMI that alot of people were having, includng myself. It was so annoying having to switch the setting to dolby digital everytime I turned on the tv/cable box.
slumpey326 is offline  
post #19917 of 26642 Old 06-15-2009, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Riverside_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 5,449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New TWC Indignity!

Get this... looks like their DNS servers have failed, I can't get to any web address except those I just visited (i.e in cache). Called three or four times so far... main number and all I get is a BUSY signal!

Time Warner NYC (Man North Head End) - 8742HD DVR ODN 5.2.0_9

Riverside_Guy is offline  
post #19918 of 26642 Old 06-15-2009, 08:19 AM
Member
 
coreynyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Forest Hills, NY
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riverside_Guy View Post

New TWC Indignity!

Get this... looks like their DNS servers have failed, I can't get to any web address except those I just visited (i.e in cache). Called three or four times so far... main number and all I get is a BUSY signal!

I just had the same issue and then could get thorough on the 718-358-9000 # but 212-674-9100 worked. After talking to local help desk and then national, somehow the problem was as simple as going to (Windows XP) Control Panel/Network Connections/Right Click on Local Area Connection and select "Repair"
coreynyc is offline  
post #19919 of 26642 Old 06-15-2009, 08:35 AM
Member
 
johnosolis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else annoyed by lack of program info in the guide for WPXN-DH (731)? They may be solid infomercials all day long, but during prime time they do have some decent shows. Yes, you can go to 31 to see what's on 731, but it's annoying.
johnosolis is offline  
post #19920 of 26642 Old 06-15-2009, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnosolis View Post

Anyone else annoyed by lack of program info in the guide for WPXN-DH (731)? They may be solid infomercials all day long, but during prime time they do have some decent shows. Yes, you can go to 31 to see what's on 731, but it's annoying.

happens with newly channels sometimes.

give it a few days.
Berk32 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off