New York, NY - TWC - Page 887 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26581 of 26607 Old 07-15-2014, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
Yes i saw that list. Thanks for that list. My zipcode is 10031.
All of Northern Manhattan is scheduled to be completed by end of July

Edit:
North of 153 St - End of July
West 79 St - 153 St - End of September

Last edited by nyctveng; 07-15-2014 at 05:52 PM.
nyctveng is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26582 of 26607 Old 07-15-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
All of Northern Manhattan is scheduled to be completed by end of July
o ok good. Im paying TOO much already so i might as well get faster speeds.

o ok, well I guess I will be lowering my package to the turbo.

Last edited by scarface983; 07-15-2014 at 06:00 PM. Reason: blah
scarface983 is offline  
post #26583 of 26607 Old 07-16-2014, 07:52 AM
Member
 
BTGRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
where is your area? NYC? im also waiting for the upgrades... they did it on the east side of where i'm at but not around my area.
Check your upload speed. When it goes up to over 20mbps it means you have been upgraded and your modem is holding you back
BTGRE is online now  
post #26584 of 26607 Old 07-16-2014, 08:24 AM
Member
 
TravKoolBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Harlem, NY
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post
Time Warner MAXX availability by zip code

Astoria NY 11102, 11103
Long Island City,NY 11106, 11101
Woodside, NY 11377
Sunnyside 11104
New York, NY 10030, 10128, 10028, 10035, 10022, 10021
Flushing, NY 11355
Elmhurst, NY 11373
Jackson Heights, NY 11372
E. Elmhurst, NY 11370
I know this is late but parts of 10026 were already upgraded. I have the updated speed and reside in 26. I assume it is just like the analog shutdown where 26 was split between two dates
TravKoolBreeze is offline  
post #26585 of 26607 Old 07-16-2014, 03:45 PM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by BTGRE View Post
Check your upload speed. When it goes up to over 20mbps it means you have been upgraded and your modem is holding you back
nope. I just get 5mbps up.. I get like 105mpbs down though.
scarface983 is offline  
post #26586 of 26607 Old 07-21-2014, 03:32 AM
Newbie
 
jonwan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hey folks...a little update from my end...got tired of waiting for sb6183 to arrive so I decided to rent TWC's latest modem. I live on UES (10021) of NYC. I am in the TWC MAXX zone I guess. I went from 50/5 to 320/20 and I only have The a Ultimate plan (supposed to be 100/10). Needless to say I ain't complaining.
jonwan is offline  
post #26587 of 26607 Old 07-21-2014, 07:05 AM
Member
 
BTGRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have Signature home and they advertise 10GB of storage for emails, rep confirmed this. I'm only getting 2GB. Talked to customer service and they can't fix it. Is anyone else with Signature home getting 10GB of storage?
BTGRE is online now  
post #26588 of 26607 Old 07-23-2014, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Got the upgrade letter for 10040. The end of the Dark Ages.
Darkmoone is offline  
post #26589 of 26607 Old 07-25-2014, 10:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
10040 NYC - SB6141 Modem

Darkmoone is offline  
post #26590 of 26607 Old 07-26-2014, 10:50 AM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
wow, I called yesterday to lower my plan and they really want you to have the premium channels. the rep was telling me that the extreme package has 2 premium channels, Showtime and Epix. Its so annoying because I really dont need those channels.

Last edited by scarface983; 07-31-2014 at 04:56 AM. Reason: ga
scarface983 is offline  
post #26591 of 26607 Old 07-31-2014, 08:32 AM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
wow, I called yesterday to lower my plan and they really want you to have the premium channels. the rep was telling me that the extreme package has 2 premium channels, Showtime and Epix. Its so annoying because I really dont need those channels.
Wouldn't they give you a choice of what premium channels you want? Now that they are increasing internet speeds, I'm thinking of downgrading from signature home. It's too much $ On the Time Warner site it says

The Double comes with
Choice of HBO and SHOWTIME or HBO and STARZ

Best Triple with Extreme comes with 5 Premium Channels

Did they change the option to only Showtime and Epix now?

When you called to lower your plan they didn't try to keep you at your current plan by negotiating a lower price?
gtsgts is offline  
post #26592 of 26607 Old 07-31-2014, 03:51 PM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsgts View Post
Wouldn't they give you a choice of what premium channels you want? Now that they are increasing internet speeds, I'm thinking of downgrading from signature home. It's too much $ On the Time Warner site it says

The Double comes with
Choice of HBO and SHOWTIME or HBO and STARZ

Best Triple with Extreme comes with 5 Premium Channels

Did they change the option to only Showtime and Epix now?

When you called to lower your plan they didn't try to keep you at your current plan by negotiating a lower price?
Yea you should Downgrade from Signature Home, I got the Extreme and when I get TWC MAXX around my area I will have 200 MBps.

I was on hold for like 1 hour and i kept getting the run around about how I have to be connected to the Signature home Retention team. The rep did not try to lower the price. She did offer basically the same package with all 6 premium channels and only 1 dvr box for 171 i think it was. Which is good but id only be saving a couple of bux a month.

I will call back and tell them I want HBO and Showtime instead of Epix.
scarface983 is offline  
post #26593 of 26607 Old 08-02-2014, 06:46 AM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They are giving showtime and epix for 4.99 each for 12 months. All you have to do is go to my twc account. two months ago I asked them to downgrade my service, and they gave me the turbo triple play for 129.99 which include HBO in the package.
carl2680 is offline  
post #26594 of 26607 Old 08-02-2014, 10:00 AM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
really? 129.99? she told me the turbo was going to be $147, $7 dollars less than the extreme triple play. I think they give us different prices... I dont even want Showtime and Epix.. if im paying $5 bux for those I will take them off.
scarface983 is offline  
post #26595 of 26607 Old 08-04-2014, 05:42 PM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
really? 129.99? she told me the turbo was going to be $147, $7 dollars less than the extreme triple play. I think they give us different prices... I dont even want Showtime and Epix.. if im paying $5 bux for those I will take them off.
I don't have time to watch TV, and quite frankly twc video quality sucks. Every channel is compressed at twc head end. I keep the service for the Internet package. My package is triple play turbo which include, HBO, one Dvr, and one regular Box all 151 dollars after taxes.


My turbo triple play is 119.99 BTW.

Last edited by carl2680; 08-04-2014 at 05:46 PM.
carl2680 is offline  
post #26596 of 26607 Old 08-07-2014, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
August 6, 2014

On or about August 14, 2014 we will launch SEC Network on ch. 384 and SEC Network Alternate 1 on ch. 385. These services will be part of our Variety Pass offering and will require two-way capable digital cable ready equipment, such as a Time Warner Cable-provided set-top box or a CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) used in conjunction with a Tuning Adapter. Other UDCPs may not be able to access these services without additional equipment, such as a set-top box.
On or about September 9, 2014 we will launch Swagat TV on ch. 1540. Swagat TV will be part of our Hindi Passport package and will require two-way capable digital cable ready equipment, such as a Time Warner Cable-provided set-top box or a CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) used in conjunction with a Tuning Adapter. Other UDCPs may not be able to access these services without additional equipment, such as a set-top box.
Also on that date in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens we will launch WNYE HD on ch. 1231. WNYE HD will be part of our Starter TV service offering.
Starting September 10, 2014 and ending September 14, 2014 EPIX will offer a free preview. This service will be available to all digital subscribers and may contain PG, PG-13, TV-14, TVMA and R Rated programs. To find out how to block this preview, and for more parental control information, visit TWC.com or call 800-892-2253
Berk32 is offline  
post #26597 of 26607 Old 08-07-2014, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
pac-12

did the pac-12 channels ever launch?

Email Melinda Witmer at TWC Corporate, the SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT & CHIEF PROGRAMMING OFFICER if you want more HD Channels!!!
Melinda.Witmer@twcable.com
AndyHDTV is offline  
post #26598 of 26607 Old 08-07-2014, 07:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyHDTV View Post
did the pac-12 channels ever launch?
LOL - That's funny
Berk32 is offline  
post #26599 of 26607 Old 08-12-2014, 07:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berk32 View Post
LOL - That's funny
well will you look at that. TWC just added them. lol 376-381

Email Melinda Witmer at TWC Corporate, the SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT & CHIEF PROGRAMMING OFFICER if you want more HD Channels!!!
Melinda.Witmer@twcable.com
AndyHDTV is offline  
post #26600 of 26607 Old 08-18-2014, 03:08 PM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just got the letter for the faster speeds... Lets see how long it takes for it to kick in. My zip code is 10031
scarface983 is offline  
post #26601 of 26607 Old 08-19-2014, 11:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
I just got the letter for the faster speeds... Lets see how long it takes for it to kick in. My zip code is 10031

Just make sure your modem doesn't need to be upgraded.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #26602 of 26607 Old 08-20-2014, 08:17 AM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
Just make sure your modem doesn't need to be upgraded.
may i ask why? I had the ultimate internet before, does that one work?
scarface983 is offline  
post #26603 of 26607 Old 08-20-2014, 08:49 AM
Member
 
ronross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
may i ask why? I had the ultimate internet before, does that one work?
I, too, have "ultimate" via Signature Home and I've been told that my modem, installed less than a year ago, needs the upgrade (Ubee MTA DVW3201B).

Although they are willing to send an installer at no charge, the device is easy to connect. Simply remove the existing wires, plug them into the new new modem, and wait for the device to boot.

I was also pleased impressed that they are willing to send the modem Fedex at their expense with a prepaid return label. Self install wouldn't be a convenience if you had to go to the TW store to return their old modem. So kudos to TW for using common sense.
ronross is offline  
post #26604 of 26607 Old 08-20-2014, 10:11 AM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronross View Post
I, too, have "ultimate" via Signature Home and I've been told that my modem, installed less than a year ago, needs the upgrade (Ubee MTA DVW3201B).

Although they are willing to send an installer at no charge, the device is easy to connect. Simply remove the existing wires, plug them into the new new modem, and wait for the device to boot.

I was also pleased impressed that they are willing to send the modem Fedex at their expense with a prepaid return label. Self install wouldn't be a convenience if you had to go to the TW store to return their old modem. So kudos to TW for using common sense.
O ok, so when they call me I will tell them to send me the Modem, because then I'd have to take a day off work if they were to send a Tech to my house.
scarface983 is offline  
post #26605 of 26607 Old 08-23-2014, 05:41 PM
ILW
Member
 
ILW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by scarface983 View Post
I just got the letter for the faster speeds... Lets see how long it takes for it to kick in. My zip code is 10031
I'm in zip code 11217 and I also got the letter for the faster speeds. Then, a few days after I ordered the new modem, they sent me an e-mail that read in its entirety: "Replace this line with your e-mail text. Thank you for choosing Time Warner Cable!"

I called today to find out what was going on with this messed-up e-mail. They told me that the internet upgrade is not yet happening, so my modem order was canceled.

While calling TWC, I also discovered that my autopay service didn't work this month, since they never asked me to update the expiration date on my credit card. If I hadn't found this out by accident today, I wonder how long my account would have become delinquent before they would have informed me!

The customer service person who explained the problems with the internet upgrade and my billing was as helpful as possible, and waived the fee for making a one-time payment over the phone.
ILW is offline  
post #26606 of 26607 Old 08-25-2014, 08:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 20
August 20, 2014

The previously announced launch of SEC Network and SEC Network Alternate will now occur as part of Standard TV in digital format. As a reminder, these services will require two-way capable digital cable ready equipment, such as a Time Warner Cable-provided set-top box or a CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) used in conjunction with a Tuning Adapter. Other UDCPs may not be able to access these services without additional equipment, such as a set-top box.
On or about September 23, 2014 we will cease carriage of the duplicate illumination of ESPN Full Court and ESPN Game Plan.

Also on that date in Mount Vernon, we will launch ShopHQ HD on ch. 487. ShopHQ HD will require two-way capable digital cable ready equipment, such as a Time Warner Cable-provided set-top box or a CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) used in conjunction with a Tuning Adapter. Other UDCPs may not be able to access these services without additional equipment, such as a set-top box.
Berk32 is offline  
post #26607 of 26607 Old Yesterday, 09:38 AM
Member
 
ronross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronross View Post
I, too, have "ultimate" via Signature Home and I've been told that my modem, installed less than a year ago, needs the upgrade (Ubee MTA DVW3201B).

Although they are willing to send an installer at no charge, the device is easy to connect. Simply remove the existing wires, plug them into the new new modem, and wait for the device to boot.

I was also pleased impressed that they are willing to send the modem Fedex at their expense with a prepaid return label. Self install wouldn't be a convenience if you had to go to the TW store to return their old modem. So kudos to TW for using common sense.
I received the upgrade letter last week and a phone call to make an installation appointment a few days later. Unfortunately because I am a Signature customer the csr was unable to mail the modem to me and I will need an appointment after all. I guess I should be glad TWC is erring on the side of caution "because Signature set ups in the home are often complex." I had to wait 10 days to get an appointment.
ronross is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off