New York, NY - TWC - Page 888 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26611 of 26638 Old 08-30-2014, 05:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Spreadsheet updated
Nothing major since the last one.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...cGc&output=xls
Berk32 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26612 of 26638 Old 09-01-2014, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berk32 View Post
Spreadsheet updated
Nothing major since the last one.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/...cGc&output=xls
They should move the SD channels to SDV or cease them carrying them. Cablevision use the HD feed as wide screen on standard definition TV sets.
carl2680 is offline  
post #26613 of 26638 Old 09-01-2014, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl2680 View Post
They should move the SD channels to SDV or cease them carrying them. Cablevision use the HD feed as wide screen on standard definition TV sets.
They can't stop carrying the SD feeds until they have replaced every single old box in the market (and I'm sure there are still non-HD boxes out there).

They're in no rush to do so. They have plenty of QAM space, SDV seems to work well here, and the cost to replace all of the very old boxes that are still out there is very expensive.
Berk32 is online now  
post #26614 of 26638 Old 09-02-2014, 09:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl2680 View Post
They should move the SD channels to SDV or cease them carrying them. Cablevision use the HD feed as wide screen on standard definition TV sets.
In addition to Berk32's explanation, Cablevision still has SD boxes out there but they are not put back in circulation as they are returned.
nyctveng is offline  
post #26615 of 26638 Old 09-02-2014, 12:16 PM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So when is the West side of Manhattan getting Maxx. I heard early September, but I am not sure.
carl2680 is offline  
post #26616 of 26638 Old 09-02-2014, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl2680 View Post
So when is the West side of Manhattan getting Maxx. I heard early September, but I am not sure.


You have to be more specific with your location. Manhattan is divided into 2 headends and something like 7 or 8 hubs. All of Manhattan is scheduled to be complete by end of October.
nyctveng is offline  
post #26617 of 26638 Old 09-02-2014, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
You have to be more specific with your location. Manhattan is divided into 2 headends and something like 7 or 8 hubs. All of Manhattan is scheduled to be complete by end of October.

Zip code 10027.
carl2680 is offline  
post #26618 of 26638 Old 09-02-2014, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by carl2680 View Post
Zip code 10027.
You're in Northern Manhattan Headend Area G. Scheduled for completion by mid September.
nyctveng is offline  
post #26619 of 26638 Old 09-03-2014, 01:29 AM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We got a software update.
gtsgts is offline  
post #26620 of 26638 Old 09-03-2014, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsgts View Post
We got a software update.
And my internet connection reset and I ended up with a new IP for the first time in a long time.
Berk32 is online now  
post #26621 of 26638 Old 09-03-2014, 01:09 PM
Member
 
ronross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronross View Post
I received the upgrade letter last week and a phone call to make an installation appointment a few days later. Unfortunately because I am a Signature customer the csr was unable to mail the modem to me and I will need an appointment after all. I guess I should be glad TWC is erring on the side of caution "because Signature set ups in the home are often complex." I had to wait 10 days to get an appointment.
I had the appointment for a new modem that TWC insisted on today. They were very prompt. I had a one hour window from 2-3pm. I got a robocall at 2:05 asking me to reconfirm and the tech arrived ten minutes later. It took him about 20 minutes and several phone calls to get the line working again so maybe installing it myself would not have been a great idea.

When he was finished I did a speed test and found I was still at 100 mbps. I asked him "why?" and he told me the techs and the people they call cannot increase the speed. I would have to call customer service.

So I did while he was here. The first csr, presumably in the Signature group, transferred me to someone who turned out to be in "regular" customer service who couldn't help me. He got on the phone with the tech and after another few minutes yet another csr, back in the Signature group, told me 10024 (UWS Manhattan) wasn't scheduled to have Maxx turned on until 9/12.

At no point in the process (letter, two phone calls to set up modem replacement, tech visit, more phone calls) was I told that upgraded service would not be available immediately. OTOH I did finally get a working remote without having to go to the store but it was like pulling teeth to get it. The installer was very reluctant to go back to his truck to see if he had a remote (it is even possible he wouldn't?) but he came back with one and then reluctantly programmed it.

The whole process took about 45 minutes, most of which was spent on the phone trying to get my phone line and internet access back up along with an explanation of why the upgrade wasn't in effect.

I was told that the modem should spontaneously reboot on 9/12 and I would see the faster speeds without another phone call. We'll see.
ronross is offline  
post #26622 of 26638 Old 09-04-2014, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronross View Post
OTOH I did finally get a working remote without having to go to the store but it was like pulling teeth to get it. The installer was very reluctant to go back to his truck to see if he had a remote (it is even possible he wouldn't?) but he came back with one and then reluctantly programmed it.
You must understand these techs now work in 1 hour arrival windows and they are pressured to arrive to your appointment and next one on time otherwise the can get in trouble. Things outside of their control like getting the dispatcher to get your phone working can throw off their entire day. Although it's good customer service, anything not listed on their work order like a remote they are doing you a favor. As a courtesy to them, it's best if you walk with them to the truck to get it so they don't waste another 10 minutes going up the elevator and programming it.
nyctveng is offline  
post #26623 of 26638 Old 09-04-2014, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
tamanaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just noticed that last night my 8640HDC was updated to ODN version 7.3.0_29, Aloader version 7.3.0.21 and ODNExt version 7.3.0.29. I'm located on the UWS around 88th St. and Columbus Ave. The only things I have noticed, so far, are the new graphics for the progress bar, a new menu after pressing Guide twice called "Select Guide Chanenels", improved performance on the on-screen search keyboard and what I believe is a clearer font on the Guide. Does anyone know what else is new and improved in this new ODN version?

Last edited by tamanaco; 09-04-2014 at 08:23 AM.
tamanaco is offline  
post #26624 of 26638 Old 09-04-2014, 09:52 AM
Member
 
heinriph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Crooklyn, NY
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Apologies if this was previously mentioned.

Noticed a few days ago that e.g. Showtime On Demand now synchronizes the in-progress or recently watched programs across my two 8300HDC boxes. E.g. I'll watch Californication S4E7 on one, walk over to the other box and lo and behold, then I turn to SOD, the same episode is shows up as recent (or in progress, I forget the terminology). Didn't have a chance to see if it successfully resumes from where you leave off.

Sort of a Whole-House DVR Lite.
heinriph is offline  
post #26625 of 26638 Old 09-04-2014, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I got the new ODN last night.

Also noticed some of the QAM channels used by my QAM-8 modem changed (now using some that I had labeled for QAM-16 modems)

351000000 Hz 315000000 Hz 321000000 Hz 309000000 Hz 285000000 Hz 291000000 Hz 297000000 Hz 303000000 Hz

anyone want to check what they're using?
Berk32 is online now  
post #26626 of 26638 Old 09-04-2014, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My twc app no longer works anymore. It says I'm away from home. Anyone else?
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #26627 of 26638 Old 09-04-2014, 10:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
My twc app no longer works anymore. It says I'm away from home. Anyone else?
Same
Berk32 is online now  
post #26628 of 26638 Old 09-08-2014, 11:53 PM
Member
 
net_synapse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anyone know when Southern Manhattan Zip Code: 10010 is scheduled to get Maxx Upgrade?

TWC (Southern Manhattan) | 4640HDC | ODN 7.2.0_11
net_synapse is offline  
post #26629 of 26638 Old 09-09-2014, 12:07 AM
Senior Member
 
mbclev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Solon, OH
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by net_synapse View Post
Does anyone know when Southern Manhattan Zip Code: 10010 is scheduled to get Maxx Upgrade?

According to http://www.twcmdu.com/new-york.html, Southern Manhattan area A will get upgraded in late October, while area B will get it in early December. (Obviously, I don't know which ZIP codes are in either areas A or B, because I don't live in the area.)
mbclev is offline  
post #26630 of 26638 Old 09-09-2014, 05:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Berk32 is online now  
post #26631 of 26638 Old 09-09-2014, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Even though I haven't gotten a notice in the mail yet - pretty sure the physical upgrade is already in place by me.

Ever since my internet went out last week overnight for a few hours and I ended up with a new IP - I've noticed my download speed consistency much better (still stuck at the same max)

All they have to do is 'flip the switch', update my settings, and increase my max.
Berk32 is online now  
post #26632 of 26638 Old 09-09-2014, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 800
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Berk32 View Post
Even though I haven't gotten a notice in the mail yet - pretty sure the physical upgrade is already in place by me.

Ever since my internet went out last week overnight for a few hours and I ended up with a new IP - I've noticed my download speed consistency much better (still stuck at the same max)

All they have to do is 'flip the switch', update my settings, and increase my max.
It's customary that when new equipment in the hubs and headends get installed, there will be a "soak" period and internal testing to make sure it's stable. If not they can troubleshoot or revert back to old equipment without any major disruptions.

Another way users have confirmed the availability of 16 channel bonding is by going to their modem diagnostics at http://192.168.100.1 and looking at channel ID. For 8 channel bonding it will show channel ID as 1 thru 8. If 16 channels are available it may show channel ID as being any 8 consecutive channels say 2-9 or 5-12.
nyctveng is offline  
post #26633 of 26638 Old 09-09-2014, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
It's customary that when new equipment in the hubs and headends get installed, there will be a "soak" period and internal testing to make sure it's stable. If not they can troubleshoot or revert back to old equipment without any major disruptions.

Another way users have confirmed the availability of 16 channel bonding is by going to their modem diagnostics at http://192.168.100.1 and looking at channel ID. For 8 channel bonding it will show channel ID as 1 thru 8. If 16 channels are available it may show channel ID as being any 8 consecutive channels say 2-9 or 5-12.
Yes - that's what I was 'trying' to get at - for some reason I just couldn't get the words "equipment testing" in there.

And yes, my 8-channels did change.
2,3,4,6,7,8,12,13

(but we already had 16 channels available)
Berk32 is online now  
post #26634 of 26638 Old 09-09-2014, 07:15 AM
Member
 
net_synapse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbclev View Post
According to http://www.twcmdu.com/new-york.html, Southern Manhattan area A will get upgraded in late October, while area B will get it in early December. (Obviously, I don't know which ZIP codes are in either areas A or B, because I don't live in the area.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Berk32 View Post


Thanks for the prompt replies.

TWC (Southern Manhattan) | 4640HDC | ODN 7.2.0_11
net_synapse is offline  
post #26635 of 26638 Old 09-10-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
and with no notice - the switch was flipped

yay 50/5
Berk32 is online now  
post #26636 of 26638 Old 09-10-2014, 07:10 AM
Senior Member
 
carl2680's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am only getting 55/10 and I am in the turbo plan. I got the TG1672 Arris.

I spoke with the tech, and they right away want to send someone. I don't know maybe is the modern.

Last edited by carl2680; 09-12-2014 at 07:40 PM.
carl2680 is offline  
post #26637 of 26638 Old 09-12-2014, 03:08 PM
Member
 
scarface983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I finally went to Time Warner on 96th st in manhattan to get the modem for TWC MAXX, I thought I was going to be there long but i was there for maybe 20 minutes and it was quick and easy. When I plugged in the modem I got the full speeds right away. Wired I am getting speeds of 200Mbps down and 20Mbps up.
scarface983 is offline  
post #26638 of 26638 Old 09-17-2014, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
9/17/14

The previously announced launch of WNYE HD in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens will now occur on October 9, 2014.
On or about October 17, 2014 we will dual illuminate Jewelry TV on channel 99. Jewelry TV is part of our Variety Pass service offering.
The previously announced launch of ShopHQ HD in Mount Vernon will now occur on October 29, 2014. As a reminder, ShopHQ HD will require two-way capable digital cable ready equipment, such as a Time Warner Cable-provided set-top box or a CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) used in conjunction with a Tuning Adapter. Other UDCPs may not be able to access these services without additional equipment, such as a set-top box.
Also on that date in Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens we will launch ShopHQ HD on ch. 487. ShopHQ HD will require two-way capable digital cable ready equipment, such as a Time Warner Cable-provided set-top box or a CableCARD-equipped Unidirectional Digital Cable Product (UDCP) used in conjunction with a Tuning Adapter. Other UDCPs may not be able to access these services without additional equipment, such as a set-top box.
Berk32 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off