New York, NY - TWC - Page 889 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #26641 of 26665 Old 09-29-2014, 05:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know when maxx will be available in 11415? I activated my sb6183 and just waiting for twc to flip the switch. I also got the email to upgrade modem 2 weeks ago.
najeem27 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #26642 of 26665 Old 09-29-2014, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by najeem27 View Post
Does anyone know when maxx will be available in 11415? I activated my sb6183 and just waiting for twc to flip the switch. I also got the email to upgrade modem 2 weeks ago.
This was linked on the previous page of the thread.

http://www.twcmdu.com/new-york.html

I assume you're part of zone J (it's the only queens zone left) - so "late october"
Berk32 is offline  
post #26643 of 26665 Old 10-13-2014, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got the upgrade in Brooklyn 11238. On Extreme and getting 120 down, 20 up pretty reliably.

The literature said it would be 200 down but hey.
colmcolmcolm is offline  
post #26644 of 26665 Old 10-14-2014, 10:18 AM
Member
 
net_synapse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Fired up the computer this morning and was surprised to see the following:

Before:



After:

TWC (Southern Manhattan) | 4640HDC | ODN 7.3.0_29

Last edited by net_synapse; 10-14-2014 at 12:38 PM.
net_synapse is offline  
post #26645 of 26665 Old 10-15-2014, 10:33 AM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable and satellite companies can't be pleased with this. HBO is finally going to let you watch its shows without cable
gtsgts is offline  
post #26646 of 26665 Old 10-15-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by colmcolmcolm View Post
Just got the upgrade in Brooklyn 11238. On Extreme and getting 120 down, 20 up pretty reliably.

The literature said it would be 200 down but hey.
I'm in Brooklyn haven't gotten a letter yet, but I just checked and my upload speed says 10.83. I'm assuming this means that the upgrade went through and I have to change my modem.
gtsgts is offline  
post #26647 of 26665 Old 10-16-2014, 04:50 PM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just changed my modem. Got a Arris TG1672G. I didn't realize how big it would be. I'm not using this modem for telephone. The telephone light is continuously blinking. Is that normal?
gtsgts is offline  
post #26648 of 26665 Old 10-16-2014, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AndyHDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Arris TG1672G

Yeah i just swapped my modem today as well and got a Arris TG1672G.
im not using the wifi it has packed with it. not sure why 2 wifi lights are on.
just happy my standard internet is now at 50mbps.

Email Melinda Witmer at TWC Corporate, the SENIOR VICE PRESIDENT & CHIEF PROGRAMMING OFFICER if you want more HD Channels!!!
Melinda.Witmer@twcable.com
AndyHDTV is offline  
post #26649 of 26665 Old 10-16-2014, 06:27 PM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyHDTV View Post
Yeah i just swapped my modem today as well and got a Arris TG1672G.
im not using the wifi it has packed with it. not sure why 2 wifi lights are on.
just happy my standard internet is now at 50mbps.
One for 2.4 GHz and one for 5 GHz. I realize that when I tried to set my ps4 to the wifi but couldn't.
gtsgts is offline  
post #26650 of 26665 Old 10-17-2014, 12:00 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just flipped the switch in jamaica, queens 11415. I'm currently getting 124 up and 22 down. Should increase to 300 slowly
najeem27 is offline  
post #26651 of 26665 Old 10-17-2014, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by najeem27 View Post
Just flipped the switch in jamaica, queens 11415. I'm currently getting 124 up and 22 down. Should increase to 300 slowly
It won't increase beyond your current speed unless you get their latest 16 channel modems. All docsis 3 modems with 8 channel bonding are capped at 100 plus some overhead.
nyctveng is offline  
post #26652 of 26665 Old 10-17-2014, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
It won't increase beyond your current speed unless you get their latest 16 channel modems. All docsis 3 modems with 8 channel bonding are capped at 100 plus some overhead.
I had already upgraded to sb6183 and was just waitin for it go live. Its now 324 down and 24 up.
najeem27 is offline  
post #26653 of 26665 Old 10-19-2014, 07:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blue Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,561
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Have TWC in Brooklyn.

I have the Preferred package with a DVR set top box. I use Verizon for DSL and POTS line.

Anyway..been thinking of cutting cord or at least bring the price down. Already got rid of premium channels several years ago.

Break ups or channels missing and constant rebooting,I don't even bother to call them anymore.

I pay my bill online all the time and noticed today that the box rental is $12.95. Ok that's fine being if it breaks they give you a new one. Still on the high side .

Then I noticed a fee for $11.64 for Variety Pass.

Can someone tell me what this is and what channels are included?

I checked the channel line up and nothing for Variety Pass. Only a listing for Variety Light Spanish.

Plus can I cancel this Variety Pass ?

Thanks

See My AVS Classified Ad .
Blue Rain is online now  
post #26654 of 26665 Old 10-27-2014, 10:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Red face TWC Maxx - Manhattan 10014 active

Guys, I've been lurking on AVS forum for a couple months eagerly waiting for news about TWC Maxx in NYC, this thread has been the best source of information, so I wanted to contribute. I got the fabled letter titled "we're moving you to a better internet plan..." I checked the modem compatibility guide at twc.com/bettertwc which was included with the letter and I noticed that there is a new approved modem on the TWC 300Mbps list, it is the Netgear C6300, which has an integrated router and 802.11AC wifi. Bestbuy has them in stock at the union square location, so does Amazon. If you own your own modem, This is the only alternative to the backordered Motorola/Arris SBG6183 which nobody seems to have in stock.

In turning it up I noticed that 2 of my upbound channels are unbonded, the other two have been struggling between TDMA and ATDMA, at first I could only get 10mbps upload, but now I am able to get 20. TWC level 3 support says all 4 channels should be bonded, so they are deploying a cable tech to repair cable wiring tomorrow.

Upstream Bonded Channels
Channel Lock Status US Channel Type Channel ID Symbol Rate Frequency Power
1 Locked ATDMA 3 5120 Ksym/sec 30600000 Hz 54.0 dBmV
2 Locked ATDMA 4 5120 Ksym/sec 37000000 Hz 53.5 dBmV
3 Not Locked N/A Unknown 0 Ksym/sec 0 Hz 0.0 dBmV
4 Not Locked N/A Unknown 0 Ksym/sec 0 Hz 0.0 dBmV

Regardless, im a happy camper, looks good, 324 down/ 20.5 up on ookla.

I am in Manhattan West Village 10014
jwh001 is offline  
post #26655 of 26665 Old 10-30-2014, 08:10 PM
Member
 
gtsgts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I asked chat if there would be an increase for enhanced dvr and they said yes, there would be a 12.95 per month increase.
gtsgts is offline  
post #26656 of 26665 Old 11-05-2014, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
November 5, 2014

On or about December 9, 2014 we will launch Nuvo HD on ch. 900. Nuvo HD will be part of our Variety Pass service offering.
On or about December 16, 2014 La Familia will be rebranded as Atres Series
Berk32 is offline  
post #26657 of 26665 Old 11-06-2014, 08:18 AM
Senior Member
 
walkman666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have the same 324/20 download and upload speeds as what jwh001 reported on the UES of Manhattan. I got the maxx modem 2-3 months ago. Not sure about the bonding of channels though.

Anyone get the enhanced DVR yet? I called Signature Home just now and they said it was still in the testing phase in NYC, so it is not yet available to the public. I knew nothing about this until I saw a commercial for the enhanced DVR from TWC yesterday, so I natch assumed it was available if they were advertising it. Oh well. I will wait.
walkman666 is offline  
post #26658 of 26665 Old 11-06-2014, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
walkman666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Manhattan, NYC
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Zip = 10028, yorkville section of Manhattan.
walkman666 is offline  
post #26659 of 26665 Old 11-14-2014, 03:46 PM
Member
 
leitweight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Enhanced DVR

I picked up the Enhanced DVR on Monday at the 23rd St. Manhattan location. That was after I tried to order it on the online chat and have it delivered last week but they mistakenly sent a new regular DVR so I had to go and swap it out. Easy swap - no hassles to connect but it did take a REALLY long time to boot. It seemed that it was downloading data to the cable card first. Plus the obligatory call to activate it, even though I was told at the store that it wouldn't be necessary. Functionally the same as the SA or Sammy though it seems quicker getting around menus to me. It also seems like the DVR compensation time seems different (still set to Normal) - could be my imagination or my finger getting slower! (Except that it is CLOSER to the stopping point so doesn't that mean my finger would be getting faster?) And the clock display is BRIGHT!!!! Doesn't seem to be a way to dim it except for turning it off. For some reason the PIP functionality is not currently working. You would think it had enough tuners to pull this off! I suspect it's only a temporary software glitch. Otherwise so far so good.

Misc. tech notes: Still has analog audio connections (convenient for part of my setup), also component and composite video, though I can't vouch for their operation. Also sports 2 USB jacks on the back (nothing on the front) which I use for charging my PS3 controllers as they have power even when the box is off - better than leaving the noisy PS3 on just to charge controllers) and an eSATA jack. Can't say if that's working either, but it might. I'll let you know if I have the motivation to dig out the eSATA drive I used to use with the SA box since it didn't work with the Sammy. With a TB of drive space not sure I'll have the incentive to bother!
heinriph likes this.
leitweight is offline  
post #26660 of 26665 Old 11-19-2014, 10:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So today, the closed captioning has voice narration that described scenes. In one part, it actually said "you're hearing this because you have secondary audio enabled" But I didn't enable SAP. I checked.

Has anyone experienced this?

Thank you,

Hansang

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #26661 of 26665 Old 11-22-2014, 10:02 PM
Member
 
JR_in_NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by leitweight View Post
I picked up the Enhanced DVR on Monday at the 23rd St. Manhattan location. That was after I tried to order it on the online chat and have it delivered last week but they mistakenly sent a new regular DVR so I had to go and swap it out. Easy swap - no hassles to connect but it did take a REALLY long time to boot. It seemed that it was downloading data to the cable card first. Plus the obligatory call to activate it, even though I was told at the store that it wouldn't be necessary. Functionally the same as the SA or Sammy though it seems quicker getting around menus to me. It also seems like the DVR compensation time seems different (still set to Normal) - could be my imagination or my finger getting slower! (Except that it is CLOSER to the stopping point so doesn't that mean my finger would be getting faster?) And the clock display is BRIGHT!!!! Doesn't seem to be a way to dim it except for turning it off. For some reason the PIP functionality is not currently working. You would think it had enough tuners to pull this off! I suspect it's only a temporary software glitch. Otherwise so far so good.

Misc. tech notes: Still has analog audio connections (convenient for part of my setup), also component and composite video, though I can't vouch for their operation. Also sports 2 USB jacks on the back (nothing on the front) which I use for charging my PS3 controllers as they have power even when the box is off - better than leaving the noisy PS3 on just to charge controllers) and an eSATA jack. Can't say if that's working either, but it might. I'll let you know if I have the motivation to dig out the eSATA drive I used to use with the SA box since it didn't work with the Sammy. With a TB of drive space not sure I'll have the incentive to bother!
Are they charging extra for E-DVR, if so how much more?
JR_in_NYC is offline  
post #26662 of 26665 Old 11-23-2014, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansangb View Post
So today, the closed captioning has voice narration that described scenes. In one part, it actually said "you're hearing this because you have secondary audio enabled" But I didn't enable SAP. I checked.

Has anyone experienced this?

Thank you,

Hansang
which channel?
nyctveng is offline  
post #26663 of 26665 Old 11-23-2014, 10:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hansangb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
which channel?
All that I could tell. Few recorded shows, few live ones (Modern family, About a boy, Seinfeld too, I believe. And Discovery - Alaska last frontier). Then it all just stopped. it was like that for one day, then it all stopped and went back to normal subtitling. Oh well. It was interesting if nothing else.

Thanks,
Hansang
hansangb is offline  
post #26664 of 26665 Old 11-24-2014, 07:28 AM
Member
 
leitweight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR_in_NYC View Post
Are they charging extra for E-DVR, if so how much more?
Before I got the E-DVR I was quoted by TWC as $7.10 more per month but my bill doesn't reflect that as the charge went from $5 to $11.25. I'm given so much misinformation by the reps, and you get a new story every time you talk to a different person.

For example, in the recent internet speed upgrade, the info I received in the mailing stated that my Extreme service would be upgraded from 30/5 to 100/10. Now that it's happened, it seems that TWC has eliminated Extreme service but the Turbo ($10/month) has been upgraded to 100/10. However my bill shows that I am now on Ultimate which is 200/15! The price is still $20/month but in an effort to save money I asked to be downgraded to Turbo and was told that I can't do that without changing my entire Triple Play package (to which they have added Starz without any notification) even though it is listed on the bill as an "upgrade." I just swapped out my cable modem less than 9 months ago to get the 30/5 speed but after the upgrade my speed tests were only showing 100/10. I was informed that I would need to swap out the cable modem again! When I went to the store to swap it, the rep said I COULD downgrade to Turbo and save $10/month!

I know this is a bunch of info you didn't ask for, but it's mostly to show I have no idea what the charge will be when I get a full month's bill, but I know it will be more.
leitweight is offline  
post #26665 of 26665 Old 11-25-2014, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Berk32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UWS NYC
Posts: 4,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
December 3, 2014 (I know...)

On or about December 9, 2014 we will launch Nuvo HD on ch. 900. Nuvo HD will be part of our Variety Pass service offering.

On or about December 16, 2014 La Familia will be rebranded as Atres Series.

WGN America may be repositioned from Starter to Standard on or about January 1, 2015.

On or about January 6, 2015 we will launch Baby First TV on ch 256. Baby First TV will be part of our Variety Pass service offering.

Last edited by Berk32; 11-27-2014 at 10:47 AM.
Berk32 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off