Burlington, VT - HDTV - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2005, 11:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheRedknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by yipikyer View Post

TQS got an extension until late 2006!!!!

ahh damn no softporn in HD
TheRedknight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2005, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
vtradioman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamikazi View Post

I've finally gotten an HD capture card (PCHDtv HD-3000) running in a Linux box I have set up. (This box also runs Mythtv, an opensource Tivo alternative, it's very cool).

Much to my surprise, Adelphia seems to be pushing quite a few digital channels over the line as well as regular cable. I'm not sure if that has to do with the broadband that's coming down as well, but I'll find out fairly soon when I shut that off ($45 a month for BB? come on.) Note: I don't subscribe to the digital package, just basic cable (up to ch. 77)

Anyway, I've mapped out the frequencies & PIDs for most of these channels, including WCAX, NBC (from somewhere, but not sure where). If people are interested, I'll be glad to post them. A straight scan came up with 307 hits, with about 60 of them being valid streams, including some 40-odd music choice channels. In the meantime, I'm trying to get the silly computer to play HDTV at a reasonable framerate, and will have more info as I have time to work with it.

I would be interested in the frequency and PID info that you have. I am presently working on the same setup that you have.
vtradioman is offline  
Old 12-26-2005, 07:26 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxfan View Post

You'll be able to challege it when the new digital white area law goes into effect in 2007. Of course, the Burlington stations will finally be on the air by then, so it's just going to be useless!

I thought digital signal testing would go into effect for Vt this Spring (first 100 dmas).
As for a specific digital white area, I think the FCC just recently stated that "it wasn't necessary" and the existing L/R method was "just fine", so the only thing that will change, is being able to appeal any determination via a signal test.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 09:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
vttom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Essex, VT
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltinvt View Post

I thought digital signal testing would go into effect for Vt this Spring (first 100 dmas).

They can't test until they have towers up. That's not gonna happen until the end of the 2006 summer construction season, not the beginning.
vttom is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 09:15 AM
Member
 
barnie05482's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Shelburne
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To all the folks in the burlington areas
I was playing around over the holidays with my HDTV TV and my old antenna in the attic (I live in a condo) and was able to pull in WCFE 57.1 in HDTV. It is not the same programming as the analog 57 but a beautiful picture. It's a start.
barnie05482 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vttom View Post

They can't test until they have towers up. That's not gonna happen until the end of the 2006 summer construction season, not the beginning.

Of course you can test before the towers go up - you just wouldn't get a very good signal

Seriously though, your sat company schedules a test; it obviously doesn't show a grade "B" (or any other) signal; the television station has to pay for the test and you get HD DNS without needing a waiver.

The affiliate would be further $$ ahead granting the waiver because they're guarenteed the sat company has to drop your national feed once the afilliate can provide a decent digital signal to your antenna.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 01-05-2006, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
yipikyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnief@adelphia View Post

To all the folks in the burlington areas
I was playing around over the holidays with my HDTV TV and my old antenna in the attic (I live in a condo) and was able to pull in WCFE 57.1 in HDTV. It is not the same programming as the analog 57 but a beautiful picture. It's a start.


The digital version of the analog feed of channel 57 is at 57.2 (remap 38)
yipikyer is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 12:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheRedknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For programming info on PBS-HD 57.1 or 38-3 use http://www.mountainlake.org/prog/sched.shtm
TheRedknight is offline  
Old 01-07-2006, 12:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheRedknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just noticed that if I select Audio 2 on CBC HD the sound during commercial breaks is muted
TheRedknight is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:05 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Received this from WNNE-DT:

Hi Walt,
Olympics and daytona will be HD not upconverted. We now have the NBC HD IRD
in and running.
Should be 5.1 surround also.
I massaged the PAT in PSIP so was wondering if you saw any changes , hoping
it will take care of some of the STB and dish ird issues.

Roger



The reference to the PSIP is in regards to our conversation about not being able to get any EPG data for their channel on my Dish 942.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Coach Gibbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How does the EPG guide data work? I assume it's not the same for Dish, D*, etc. So I guess I'm just wondering if whatever they did will also work for D*, BEV or any other receivers that can pick up OTA.
Coach Gibbs is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:40 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Gibbs View Post

How does the EPG guide data work? I assume it's not the same for Dish, D*, etc. So I guess I'm just wondering if whatever they did will also work for D*, BEV or any other receivers that can pick up OTA.

EPG info is embedded in the PSIP data stream so tuners, among other things, can display program guide information. The FCC mandates rules that govern how stations transmit the PSIP data.

Dish network chooses to make it so that guide information DOES NOT get to the OTA tuner on their 942 receivers.

They will however mirror the afilliate's guide information to those OTA channels ONLY IF you subscribe to Dish's locals package, which IMHO is nothing short of extortion.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 01-31-2006, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
kamikazi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been busy for a while and haven't been paying attention, but attached is the channels.conf file I have so far.

I'm scanning using a PCHDtv-3000, and viewing using an ATI card. I'm looking into an NVidia, which should solve my viewing problems.

I haven't gone through the MC channels.. If you get a chance, update the file as you can scan.

Too bad I couldn't find ABC on the Hi-Def... Would be nice to have that for the big game.

 

channels.conf.txt 3.9794921875k . file
Attached Files
File Type: txt channels.conf.txt (4.0 KB, 1 views)
kamikazi is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:56 AM
Member
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bedford, NY
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You couldn't find it because there is no ABC-HD here yet
bohbot16 is offline  
Old 02-02-2006, 11:11 AM
Juc
Member
 
Juc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey all, hailing from Northfield, VT and am just getting into this HD thing. Anyway, I have Directv and do get the local networks with them--SD of course. But--i was on their site and checked the DNS availability and I qualify for all HD networks except CBS which shows a grade B. So, does that mean I don't need a waiver (other than CBS which i won't get) and will be able to get these locals in HD?? I find it wierd because I can get them from the regular service so based on this am i automatically excluded from the DNS offerrings? And if so, why would it show that I am elligible. Also, from my location there is no way I am ever going to get OTA signals. Thanks
JUC
Juc is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 09:39 AM
Member
 
vermonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It should mean that you can get the Directv national feeds except for CBS...if you have the HD box of course and pay the small monthly fee...with no waiver. There are presently no HD local BTV feeds...except on cable.

While you are probably correct in stating you cannot get the OTA CBS SD signal their mapping excludes you from getting HD..even though there is presently no HD OTA off mansfield. If you do put an antenna up you might get HD NBC and PBS off asctutney however.
vermonter is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
WorcesterRange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi There Juc,

I lurked here for awhile in the fall while I was getting my own setup together. Thought I'd post since I can concur with vermonter.

I live dead north of you in Middlesex. I'm currently getting the NY feeds from directv for ABC, NBC and FOX. Like you, I supposedly get a grade A or B signal from WCAX, so no luck on CBS. I would like to pick up a digital antena and see if I can get PBS digital from Ascutney - PBS junkie that I am.

A bit off topic - I came back to the board after watching the Olympics in HD from my WNBC-NY feed. Picture was great, when they actually showed content. The commercial saturation of the games was so absurd that I have been considering the HD DVR. However, with the MPEG4 software changover I've just read about, it seems like I should wait on that one. I'll just wait until later to time shift (pun intended)

Walt (not WaltinVT...but a different Walt in VT)
WorcesterRange is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 04:41 PM
Newbie
 
nathbru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Monkton, VT
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I have just moved to Vermont (Monkton) and would like to know what I can expect in OTA HDTV. I moved from Minneapolis where I had 10 OTA channels. From reading the posts above it appears that it will be 2007 before the VT stations will be in OTA HD. Is this still on schedule?
nathbru is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
foxfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The towers are still set to go up this spring/summer so the transmitters could be operational this fall. They've been apparently working on the broadcast center's interior during the winter.

I'm just praying this damn winter will finish soon so they can begin their work ASAP. I would be so mad if we have to wait yet ANOTHER year for the work to be completed.

Hey, I just got an idea, when the transmitters are scheduled to be lit up, how about we all arrange a get together on Mt. Mansfield with the station engineers to celebrate!
foxfan is offline  
Old 03-03-2006, 08:59 AM
Member
 
vermonter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Monkton is pretty. I myself got fed up with the high cost of satellite/cable. My plan is to "Tivo" the OTA feeds off Mansfield using a MyHD computer card on an old computer. That way I pay nothing to the cable or satellite companies and still can timeshift anything.

For now I get one HD OTA channel; its Mountain Lake PBS from northern NY. I too eagerly await the tower competion on Mansfield.
vermonter is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
Pigfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have been lurking here for awhile and found it quite informative-thanks to all. Am waiting until Dish and/or DTV have more HD content (or there is more OTA HD) to purchase an HD set. In that regard,I recently visited George at the Superstore in Williston (who I regard as the most competent authority locally)to inquire about local programming and some other issues. Specifically,I am in quite a "black hole"here in Hinesburg as far as local reception. He contends that the new Mansfield antennas due to be completed in the fall will have greater strength and coverage due to height and ,therefore,POSSIBLY allow me to receive local OTA HD. Any comments would be appreciated.
Pigfarmer is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
foxfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Welcome Pig Farmer.

Can you comment on how your reception currently is for analog channels 3, 22, and 33? These are the three currently coming from Mansfield and should predetermine whether you will be able to receive the digitals.
foxfan is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 09:59 AM
Newbie
 
Pigfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Virtually non existant via my OTA antenna on rooftop. WPTZ in PLB,however,is very strong. I am a current Dish subscriber and I suspect they will be rather slow to offer HD locals despite their new MPEG4 satellite capacity. Once again,George says he would suspect sometime in early 2007 for Dish and/or DTV local HD broadcasts as we are their #60 market.
Pigfarmer is offline  
Old 03-04-2006, 10:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
foxfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well if you can't get 22, you may be SOL.

Probably the best option for you would be to "move" to NY.
foxfan is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:17 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by foxfan View Post

Welcome Pig Farmer.

Can you comment on how your reception currently is for analog channels 3, 22, and 33? These are the three currently coming from Mansfield and should predetermine whether you will be able to receive the digitals.

There is supposed to be digital signal testing available by the end of next month (APril 30th) for the top 100 DMAs, so even though qualification for being "served" or "unserved" for digital will still be based on analog reception, using the same prediction model (Longley-Rice method), at least there should be an "appeal" process in place to dispute erroneous predictions.

As to whether DBS companies will embrace digital signal testing - who knows.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigfarmer View Post

Virtually non existant via my OTA antenna on rooftop. WPTZ in PLB,however,is very strong. I am a current Dish subscriber and I suspect they will be rather slow to offer HD locals despite their new MPEG4 satellite capacity. Once again,George says he would suspect sometime in early 2007 for Dish and/or DTV local HD broadcasts as we are their #60 market.

The order that Dish is launching HD LiLs is NOT by DMA size. In fact Burlington IS in the list of 50 that Dish announced might be available sometime this year. I think Dish currently has HD LiLs in 12 cities and plans on doing 5 or 6 more every month.

A senior official at Dish told me that which dmas get HD LiLs first will depend a lot on negoiations between Dish and the respective afilliates plus Echostar 10.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 07:54 AM
Newbie
 
Pigfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
waltinvt- All very interesting-thanks for the info. If local HD via Dish will depend to ANY extent upon negotiations between affiliates and Echostar,I suspect it'll be a long time before we see it. Although I must say that yesterday's press release from Echostar concerning new HD Lils at least gives the appearance that they are using DMA size as their criteria for determining launch dates.
Pigfarmer is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
waltinvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bradford, Vermont 05033
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigfarmer View Post

waltinvt- All very interesting-thanks for the info. If local HD via Dish will depend to ANY extent upon negotiations between affiliates and Echostar,I suspect it'll be a long time before we see it. Although I must say that yesterday's press release from Echostar concerning new HD Lils at least gives the appearance that they are using DMA size as their criteria for determining launch dates.

I would think it's in the best interest of the Vermont afilliates to be included in Dish's HD LiLs and the sooner the better.

Since they are not and will not be transmitting digital OTA for quite a while and even when they do, their signal will probably not be available to many throughout the dma, having that signal available by satellite gives them FAR more exposure than they might otherwise get. Plus they potentially gain back viewers that were previously allowed to get distant signals.

As for DMA size being the criteria, I don't think that's as much a factor as one would think. It's more how much $$ Dish will "net" with a particular DMA and I think that's why Dish's list of 50 doesn't follow DMA size.

Keep in mind, that Dish doesn't directly pick up any additional $$ for launching HD locals. If you're an HD sub, have the regular locals package and a MPEG4 capable receiver, they will add HD LiLs to the package with no price increase. Where they do pick up the money is getting new subscribers to the locals and HD packages plus upgrading to the new MPEG4 receivers.

Each DMA has a certain amount of cost associated with both aquiring the afilliates and making satellite space available for the respective stations. That's weighed against the potential revenue that might be gained in that DMA to determine if it's worth it.

I'm guessing that if Vt afilliates can provide Dish with the uplinks and they're fairly reasonable to get contracts with, they'll show up on Dish sooner rather than later.

A moral wrong is not a civil right
waltinvt is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 10:42 AM
Newbie
 
Pigfarmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
certainly hope you are correct. BTW-there is a critique of the new DISH MPEG4 receiver/"TIVO" unit on CNET as of today.
Pigfarmer is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 09:06 AM
ddy
Newbie
 
ddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
Been lurking for a while and decided to join, I just got an HDTV so I guess I make up the 9th vermonter that has it.

My TV found 3, OTA broadcasts in Burlington, I'm currently debating if I should go with Adelphia, DirectTV or Dish for the most/best HD channels. Any suggestions ?
ddy is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off