Los Angeles, CA - TWC - Page 300 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 95Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8971 of 9182 Old 07-01-2014, 05:09 PM
Senior Member
 
henhowc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 90025
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
nevermind...

Last edited by henhowc; 07-01-2014 at 05:57 PM.
henhowc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8972 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 07:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Mod's edit: Personal advertising removed.

Arvy

Last edited by Bob Sorel; 07-04-2014 at 09:29 AM.
Arvy is offline  
post #8973 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 10:43 AM
Member
 
fastsvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Which modem should I be looking to buy in order to accommodate the next generation of technology for TWC?
phildaant likes this.
fastsvo is online now  
post #8974 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 10:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastsvo View Post
Which modem should I be looking to buy in order to accommodate the next generation of technology for TWC?
You should ask this in http://forums.timewarnercable.com/t5...p/twc_internet and http://www.dslreports.com/forum/twc ...
phildaant is online now  
post #8975 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 10:57 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastsvo View Post
Which modem should I be looking to buy in order to accommodate the next generation of technology for TWC?
Check out the TWC "acceptable equipment" page, for the ethernet speed service plan you have.

Note that it seems they still have not rolled out the new TWC MAXX speeds citywide, although they are available now in just a few selected areas. However the new DOCSIS 3.0 modems shown on that page are compatible with current service speeds as well, so getting one now for the eventual MAXX speed you will have is fine.

There's another TWC document that also shows the acceptable equipment for the new TWC MAXX environment. Slightly different presentation, but the same info.
phildaant likes this.
DSperber is online now  
post #8976 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 12:39 PM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Part of the upgrade appears to have started here (system 0196--Northridge, West Hills, et al) on Tuesday. I had a signal problem starting after midnight that killed many of the lower frequency channels and went through several phone calls (and they scheduled a service call for July 8th) but by the afternoon my SNR of 21db when back up to 37db and decrypting and tuning returned on those channel. Later that evening I tried tuning KCET on a clearQAM HD Homerun and not "No Video" it was recording on another machine with a Ceton and I checked the logs and it was showing as CA with no CCI.
I also noticed in scanning around that I was getting the same widescreen feed on 444 and 209 so it appears they have started consolidating HD on channels that used to carry down converted trimmed content. I noticed that the 503 HBO channel that used to be 3x4 is now widescreen as well.
I would imagine that they want to get these conversions made so they can service people that "cant tune anymore" with DTAs before they do the line-up switch.
I don't know if they have started the MAXX services yet, but it looks like they have cleared a lot of bandwidth necessary for it.
johnw248 is online now  
post #8977 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastsvo View Post
Which modem should I be looking to buy in order to accommodate the next generation of technology for TWC?
None. Just rent the latest and greatest for $5.99/month. SB6183 which is the only retail modem TWC authorizes over 100mbps is selling for $150 or more on ebay. At that price it will take almost 2 years to recoup your money and by the Docsis 3.1 will be out making your modem obsolete with little resale value.
phildaant likes this.
nyctveng is online now  
post #8978 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
None. Just rent the latest and greatest for $5.99/month. SB6183 which is the only retail modem TWC authorizes over 100mbps is selling for $150 or more on ebay. At that price it will take almost 2 years to recoup your money and by the Docsis 3.1 will be out making your modem obsolete with little resale value.
Does TWC stores even let you pick which cable modems to get? I thought they just give you whatever they have in stocks.
phildaant is online now  
post #8979 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 02:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Does TWC stores even let you pick which cable modems to get? I thought they just give you whatever they have in stocks.
They give the appropriate modem for your level of service. For those on tiers 100mbps or lower do not get the newest 16 channel bonding modems.
phildaant likes this.
nyctveng is online now  
post #8980 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 02:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
They give the appropriate modem for your level of service. For those on tiers 100mbps or lower do not get the newest 16 channel bonding modems.
Right, but do they let you pick which exact model to get like SB6183 if you have that Internet package.
phildaant is online now  
post #8981 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 02:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnw248 View Post
I don't know if they have started the MAXX services yet, but it looks like they have cleared a lot of bandwidth necessary for it.
I noticed that TitanTV has already applied the channel lineup change (as if it were scheduled to have been completed by now) for TWC. So I can't conveniently make any further adjustments to my own "Favorites" lineup (which is based on TWC's complete set of available channels) for TitanTV.

I also don't understand why the Netgear CMD31T modem (which I own) is not acceptable for speeds up to 100 or so. It's rated at 150Mbps by Netgear, and it's "approved" by Comcast in Chicago for their own 105 speed tier. So why it should be shown as only good up to 50 by TWC is unclear. I still haven't opened the Motorola SB6141 I rushed to buy to replace my CMD31T when told it would not be usable for the Ultimate 200, but if the CMD31T is actually usable up to 100 then I'd go forward with my plan to drop back one service level (to Ultimate 100) and save $10/month, plus return the SB6141 if the CMD31T will work at 100 speeds as the manufacturer says it should.

Anyway... none of this is happening now anyway, and if you call to ask "when will it happen" the answer is always TBD, TBA, or 2015-2016. None of this makes sense. It would be a good follow-up article for the LA Times to write after all the hype and bally-hoo that TWC put out about NYC and LA being first in the nation, and the fantastic Internet speed upgrades which were going to be made available with TWC MAXX, not to mention the multiple physical paper mailings that went out providing what appeared to be a date-certain for the national channel lineup change.

Oh well. Back to work.
phildaant likes this.
DSperber is online now  
post #8982 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Right, but do they let you pick which exact model to get like SB6183 if you have that Internet package.
SB6183 is the only retail model for 16 channels and I don't think TWC has those. TWC has 2 different Arris models: 1 with MTA (phone) http://www.arrisi.com/products/product.asp?id=687
and 1 without http://www.arrisi.com/products/product.asp?id=684
phildaant likes this.

Last edited by nyctveng; 07-03-2014 at 02:46 PM.
nyctveng is online now  
post #8983 of 9182 Old 07-03-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
... Anyway... none of this is happening now anyway, and if you call to ask "when will it happen" the answer is always TBD, TBA, or 2015-2016...
Same on http://www.timewarnercable.com/en/tv/my-channels.html ... Still no new dates. Argh!
phildaant is online now  
post #8984 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
I also don't understand why the Netgear CMD31T modem (which I own) is not acceptable for speeds up to 100 or so. It's rated at 150Mbps by Netgear, and it's "approved" by Comcast in Chicago for their own 105 speed tier. So why it should be shown as only good up to 50 by TWC is unclear. I still haven't opened the Motorola SB6141 I rushed to buy to replace my CMD31T when told it would not be usable for the Ultimate 200, but if the CMD31T is actually usable up to 100 then I'd go forward with my plan to drop back one service level (to Ultimate 100) and save $10/month, plus return the SB6141 if the CMD31T will work at 100 speeds as the manufacturer says it should.
150Mbps is based on the theoretical maximum of ~39Mbps that each channel of the modem can receive. If you go 150/39, it's a 4 channel downstream modem and probably 1 channel upstream. TWC is capping each channel at 20Mbps to avoid bottlenecks so the CMD31T's limit will be 80Mbps which is not quite 100. TWC then limits the modem's allocation to 50. This is all exactly like my Arris/Motorola 6121 which I bought about a year ago to avoid the rental fee increase hoping to break even in under a year. As it turns out, I'm screwed because I got a promo deal for TV/Internet/Phone including Turbo speeds which translated to 100/10Mbps and is currently active. In other words, my connectivity is 100/10 but the modem I own can only receive 50/5 (for another 10-11 months). My options are to stay put with a user owned modem on a promo deal and not get full service or rent a 100/10 8X4 modem and eat the cost of the SB6121 or sell the 6121 then rent or buy (which I'm finding hard to do) an 8X4.
DSperber likes this.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
post #8985 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arvy View Post
TWC is capping each channel at 20Mbps to avoid bottlenecks
no they are not. You may have read this on another website or even be the one spreading this false information.
nyctveng is online now  
post #8986 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Why then does this SB6121 not receive the 100/10 my connection is allotted and instead stays at 50/5? or should i even care?
phildaant likes this.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
post #8987 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 10:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arvy View Post
Why then does this SB6121 not receive the 100/10 my connection is allotted and instead stays at 50/5? or should i even care?
TWC proactively manages bandwith by capping modems, not their QAMs. Your modem is a 4 channel model. If they allowed that model to go to 100, you alone would easily eat up almost 3 38meg QAM channels. By capping you at 50, you would only use 1.5QAM worth of bandwith. Same theory for 8 channel models like the SB6141, they allow up to 100 meg even though in a lab the modem can do over 300. They have been doing this type of "capping" for some time even before MAXX. Docsis 2 modems can do single channel bonding up to 38meg but TWC never allowed D2 modems for tiers above 20.
nyctveng is online now  
post #8988 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 06:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Can anyone on Time Warner Cable in the San Fernando Valley point me to where to find out what channels are on SDV. I've been searching TWC's site and not having a lot of luck. I thinking about using cable cards with Tivo's but I need to know if what I want still needs tuning adaptors.
Gracias.

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #8989 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 08:03 PM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenthplanet View Post
Can anyone on Time Warner Cable in the San Fernando Valley point me to where to find out what channels are on SDV. I've been searching TWC's site and not having a lot of luck. I thinking about using cable cards with Tivo's but I need to know if what I want still needs tuning adaptors.
Gracias.
I can't find a list of SDV channels on the TWC website anymore. There used to be a page with channels unavailable to cableCARD and it's "gone" for Southern California as best I can tell.


Here is the status as of today:
CLIENT
Authorized: Yes
Service Gp: 21621
RF Ip Addr: 10.200.149.79
SDV Channels: 489
SERVER
Status: Ready


TUNING ADAPTER
Authorized: Yes
OpStatus: Ready
ChanTblLoadTime: 07/04@03:01:17
HmacKeyGenTime: 07/04@06:08:07
TA CONFIG FILE
LoadTime: 07/04@03:01:13
Version: 06/30@22:39:45
Size: 10KB
NumChan/Split/Desc: 846/0/3


So there are a total of 846 channels and 489 are switched which means you'd get 357 channels without a TA right now. But remember they are in the midst of a change with total encryption and until it's complete there is no way to know what the final score card will be. Any you should be aware that they do move channels from broadcast to switched so something could just go away or just come on. So a listing today isn't really set in cement.
johnw248 is online now  
post #8990 of 9182 Old 07-04-2014, 11:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kevin120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnw248 View Post
I can't find a list of SDV channels on the TWC website anymore. There used to be a page with channels unavailable to cableCARD and it's "gone" for Southern California as best I can tell.


Here is the status as of today:
CLIENT
Authorized: Yes
Service Gp: 21621
RF Ip Addr: 10.200.149.79
SDV Channels: 489
SERVER
Status: Ready


TUNING ADAPTER
Authorized: Yes
OpStatus: Ready
ChanTblLoadTime: 07/04@03:01:17
HmacKeyGenTime: 07/04@06:08:07
TA CONFIG FILE
LoadTime: 07/04@03:01:13
Version: 06/30@22:39:45
Size: 10KB
NumChan/Split/Desc: 846/0/3


So there are a total of 846 channels and 489 are switched which means you'd get 357 channels without a TA right now. But remember they are in the midst of a change with total encryption and until it's complete there is no way to know what the final score card will be. Any you should be aware that they do move channels from broadcast to switched so something could just go away or just come on. So a listing today isn't really set in cement.
encryption should have no effect on which channels are SDV only thing that changes is that clear QAM tuners no longer can tune channels.
kevin120 is offline  
post #8991 of 9182 Old 07-05-2014, 10:22 AM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin120 View Post
encryption should have no effect on which channels are SDV only thing that changes is that clear QAM tuners no longer can tune channels.
True, the point being once TWC goes to full encryption nothing will be received by a clearQAM tuner. Non-switched channels will be received with a cableCARD only OCUR but for full reception a TA will be required. Still two-way interactive will not work and such as video on demand are not available with cableCARD and TA set-ups.


Things to consider for someone that is looking to go away from the TWC STB and into Tivo or Media Center.
phildaant likes this.
johnw248 is online now  
post #8992 of 9182 Old 07-05-2014, 04:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tenthplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North of Mexico, South of Oregon, Not as far east as Vegas
Posts: 1,417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnw248 View Post
I can't find a list of SDV channels on the TWC website anymore. There used to be a page with channels unavailable to cableCARD and it's "gone" for Southern California as best I can tell.


Here is the status as of today:
CLIENT
Authorized: Yes
Service Gp: 21621
RF Ip Addr: 10.200.149.79
SDV Channels: 489
SERVER
Status: Ready


TUNING ADAPTER
Authorized: Yes
OpStatus: Ready
ChanTblLoadTime: 07/04@03:01:17
HmacKeyGenTime: 07/04@06:08:07
TA CONFIG FILE
LoadTime: 07/04@03:01:13
Version: 06/30@22:39:45
Size: 10KB
NumChan/Split/Desc: 846/0/3


So there are a total of 846 channels and 489 are switched which means you'd get 357 channels without a TA right now. But remember they are in the midst of a change with total encryption and until it's complete there is no way to know what the final score card will be. Any you should be aware that they do move channels from broadcast to switched so something could just go away or just come on. So a listing today isn't really set in cement.
That missing page is what I was looking for. Thanks for the info

"Bring out yer dead!".."Wait I'm not dead yet!"..(Sound Austrian here) "WRONG !!" (You know what happens next..)
tenthplanet is offline  
post #8993 of 9182 Old 07-08-2014, 10:39 PM
Member
 
Mastaclocksetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, in 90024, analog doomsday has arrived (at least for Standard TV). Only Starter TV is still available in analog. Digital Starter TV (e.g. HD versions of local channels, digital SD versions of shopping channels) has not been encrypted as of now. Where else did analog Standard TV go bye-bye today? Any word on when our clearQAM tuners will become useless?
phildaant likes this.
Mastaclocksetta is offline  
post #8994 of 9182 Old 07-08-2014, 11:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastaclocksetta View Post
Well, in 90024, analog doomsday has arrived (at least for Standard TV). Only Starter TV is still available in analog. Digital Starter TV (e.g. HD versions of local channels, digital SD versions of shopping channels) has not been encrypted as of now. Where else did analog Standard TV go bye-bye today? Any word on when our clearQAM tuners will become useless?
Received a letter from TWC yesterday seemingly announcing August 26 as the start of all-digital, and advising about getting an adapter if needed, and that it would be free through Jan 1 2016 after which it would be $1.50/month. 90292.

I don't know how this ties into the postponed channel lineup changes, or the TWC MAXX internet speed upgrades.
DSperber is online now  
post #8995 of 9182 Old 07-09-2014, 07:14 AM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mastaclocksetta View Post
Well, in 90024, analog doomsday has arrived (at least for Standard TV). Only Starter TV is still available in analog. Digital Starter TV (e.g. HD versions of local channels, digital SD versions of shopping channels) has not been encrypted as of now. Where else did analog Standard TV go bye-bye today? Any word on when our clearQAM tuners will become useless?
Last Tuesday, July 1 2014 they started pulling some clearQAM in 91324 (Northridge) which I discovered when I tried to watch Death In Paradise on KCET via a HD HomeRun. I had to change MC to only use cableCARD for KCET and KOCE. I think KCBS, KNBC, and KABC were still available but I started trimming out clearQAM from various machines then.


No letter as yet, but hopefully they're well underway in getting the head end in line for the change.


Nothing has changed so far on the page I marked for the upgrade notices. http://www.timewarnercable.com/en/tv/my-channels.html
still all "coming soon"
johnw248 is online now  
post #8996 of 9182 Old 07-09-2014, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Received a letter from TWC yesterday seemingly announcing August 26 as the start of all-digital, and advising about getting an adapter if needed, and that it would be free through Jan 1 2016 after which it would be $1.50/month. 90292.

I don't know how this ties into the postponed channel lineup changes, or the TWC MAXX internet speed upgrades.
The lineup changes can be done at anytime with no impact to MAXX rollout or analog removal/DTA rollout. It can be done before or after or not at all. It's all back office stuff and call centers having to handle tons of calls.

The MAXX upgrades require 8 additional channels adjacent to their current 8 downstream channels. Analog channel removal and DTA rollout will need to be completed so that the headend/hubs can rework the RF combining.
nyctveng is online now  
post #8997 of 9182 Old 07-09-2014, 10:24 PM
Member
 
Drewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm in Anaheim 92806 and I get the following NTSC channels with the "Get your TV picture back" screen.

2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 25, 26, 27, 29, 30, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 38, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 53, 55, 56, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77

Channels 3, 97 & 98 have a black screen but there are channels there.

I get TV from OTA and shows from the net. I'm hoping they turn these analog channels to digital so my Standard 15/1 goes up. I don't know who's watching these analog "title card" channels but I'm sure they got the message by now.
Drewdawg is offline  
post #8998 of 9182 Old 07-10-2014, 06:39 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Received a letter from TWC yesterday seemingly announcing August 26 as the start of all-digital, and advising about getting an adapter if needed, and that it would be free through Jan 1 2016 after which it would be $1.50/month. 90292.
My mother-in-law and also a friend in Mar Vista (90066) just got the same letter with the same August 26 date, but what's funny is that their neighborhood doesn't get cable straight from the wall in the first place and never has. I've tried scanning channels on a number of flat panel TVs there over the years and i get nothing. My mother lived in the same neighborhood/zip and also couldn't get cable from the wall. Same thing at my sister-in-law's house nearby in Palms (90034). They've all had to use boxes there.

At my house in El Segundo (90245) and all my friends in town, we have always gotten cable straight from the wall as have some friends in Torrance, but i have not yet gotten a letter that we're going all-digital, just the ones about the channel lineup change (that's been delayed twice here now). Not looking forward to having to use a digital adapter on my bedroom TV from the wall since the tuning adapter on my Tivo in the man-room is so unreliable. Maybe i'll just switch that bedroom TV to antenna when digital arrives.....

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Gallery -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RandyWalters is offline  
post #8999 of 9182 Old 07-10-2014, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Just set up with the new TW modem. Will report my findings and thoughts in a few days.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Blasst; 07-10-2014 at 11:53 AM.
Blasst is offline  
post #9000 of 9182 Old 07-10-2014, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holl_ands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I would be curious as to what the Down/Up-Load Speeds are to Servers at different locations in the U.S. [e.g. NYC, Silicon Valley, Portland, Seattle & where are Netflix, et.al. Servers????] as well as overseas, such as various countries in Europe and same distance as Electronics Support sites in Japan, Taiwan and Hong Kong.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

holl_ands is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off