Los Angeles, CA - TWC - Page 323 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 390Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9661 of 9671 Old 03-27-2015, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDICKEY View Post
After losing many channels in the 200 and 300 range, all on SDV service the night of March 26. I called up local TWC support yesterday and today who said they were getting many calls from the WLA area about the problem and referred me to CableCard support.

After talking to a rep the morning of March 27, and a after a couple of reboots of the TA unplugging the power and USB, we found my tuning adapter, connected to a TiVo Premier, was not locking onto the proper downstream channel viewing the TA settings pages.

He also knows of several in the WLA area who are having the same problem. A couple of TWC departments are working on it. Most likely ones who manage the downstream frequencies, and another who works with the channel mapping data stream. They said they might call me back later today for some more trouble shooting.
I had a conversation with someone from the engineering dept. who told me that LA is a Motorola area, while SPas/SanMarino is a Scientific Atlanta area. What difference technically does that make between the two systems? I recently had some trouble with my tuning adapter and Tivo box, but after unplugging both and plugging them back in, the problem seemed to clear up.
sted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9662 of 9671 Old 03-28-2015, 08:28 PM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
I had a conversation with someone from the engineering dept. who told me that LA is a Motorola area, while SPas/SanMarino is a Scientific Atlanta area. What difference technically does that make between the two systems? I recently had some trouble with my tuning adapter and Tivo box, but after unplugging both and plugging them back in, the problem seemed to clear up.
The difference between Moto an Cisco is like the difference between BMW and Mercedes. They use different methods of encryption and the OOB is on a different frequency and the TAs are totally different beasts. West Valley is Cisco. Most of the Moto areas were Moto when they were purchased/merged with TWC but the costs and the requirement to replace all the headend digital control network equipment and all the boxes makes a change largely impractical. FiOS does operate both systems on a single feed which I think is called dualcrypt, but they don't have SDV to deal with.

The Cisco TA can operation in three different modes. The way TWC does it, the TA locks onto DAVIC and gets authorized and then scans for a frequency with the necessary channel map information...there are several.
Right now I have one on Freq: 597.000 MHz, another on Freq: 591.000 MHz and a third on Freq: 567.000 MHz and they will change at times during the day.


The other thing to check is the tuning adapter page on the diagnotics which will show the authorization and a few other pieces of information (This unit on a SD Prime is on 555.000 MHz)
TUNING ADAPTER
Authorized: Yes
OpStatus: Ready
ChanTblLoadTime: 03/28@03:01:08
HmacKeyGenTime: 03/28@04:15:03
TA CONFIG FILE
LoadTime: 03/28@03:01:05
Version: 03/24@01:28:46
Size: 7KB
NumChan/Split/Desc: 614/0/3
LastLoadErr: NoErr
LastErrTime: n/a
APDU STATISTICS
Total Tx/Rx: 37908/37752
Status Tx/Rx: 37658/5



Bottom line is that the cableCARD and TA must match the equipment at the headend.

Last edited by johnw248; 03-28-2015 at 08:32 PM.
johnw248 is offline  
post #9663 of 9671 Old 03-30-2015, 07:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
The latest programming alerts said March 30 "may" be the day that WGN becomes available. I just checked. It's not. Somehow I already knew that it wouldn't be. I understand that TWC keeps saying "may" and not "shall," yet somehow I still feel that they are not being straight about WGN. Why, I don't know. But this is a station that is not particularly hard to carry and routinely negotiates deals with cable companies. Something doesn't feel right here--it doesn't pass the smell test.
phildaant likes this.
sted is offline  
post #9664 of 9671 Old 03-30-2015, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
I understand that TWC keeps saying "may" and not "shall," yet somehow I still feel that they are not being straight about WGN. Why, I don't know. But this is a station that is not particularly hard to carry and routinely negotiates deals with cable companies. Something doesn't feel right here--it doesn't pass the smell test.
Sorry you feel so betrayed by TWC. I think you may (rather than shall) be a bit more "noisy" than some others about your olfactory prowess. It may not (not shall not) be a negotiation glitch with TWC and Tribune, rather it may (not shall) be purely technical in nature. Especially since Tribune and TWC reached a redistribution agreement renewal around the end of 2013. http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/new...redirect=false
SPDICKEY is online now  
post #9665 of 9671 Old 03-30-2015, 12:47 PM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Generally I've noticed that changes to line-up or addition/subtraction of channels rarely happens on Monday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday. Partly to help the call-in TSR center with complaints. The last change was made last Tuesday, March 24th and I have no idea what was changed at that point.


TUNING ADAPTER
Authorized: Yes
OpStatus: Ready
ChanTblLoadTime: 03/30@03:01:01
HmacKeyGenTime: 03/29@04:15:03
TA CONFIG FILE
LoadTime: 03/30@03:00:58
Version: 03/24@01:28:46

Size: 7KB
NumChan/Split/Desc: 614/0/3
johnw248 is offline  
post #9666 of 9671 Old Yesterday, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
It is just tv, and WGN isn't even a great station. But it does seem unprofessional for TWC to handle the carriage in this manner. And WGN'S website says the station is available on 126 in SPAS/San Marino. So something is not right.
sted is offline  
post #9667 of 9671 Old Today, 06:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 38
WGN is now gone from the programming alerts page. It looks like it's not coming. Yet TWC managed to increase my bill from $103 per month in December to $119 now, with no changes in service by me. And I rent no equipment from them. I just buy cable and internet service, cable with no premiums. They added the sports fee and the programming fees to pay for their lousy deal with the Dodgers and their sports channel that no one else will purchase. Some will be TWC apologists on this blog, I am sure, but I am of the mind that this company is greedy, deceptive, and dishonest.
sted is offline  
post #9668 of 9671 Old Today, 08:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
WGN is now gone from the programming alerts page. It looks like it's not coming. Yet TWC managed to increase my bill from $103 per month in December to $119 now, with no changes in service by me. And I rent no equipment from them. I just buy cable and internet service, cable with no premiums. They added the sports fee and the programming fees to pay for their lousy deal with the Dodgers and their sports channel that no one else will purchase. Some will be TWC apologists on this blog, I am sure, but I am of the mind that this company is greedy, deceptive, and dishonest.
Agreed, but not much worse than Comcast, Charter, or any of the Dow components. Does Microsoft have an upgrade price for Windows, Office, etc. or do we need to buy a full version every time? Sadly, not even the U.S. government is transparent enough.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
post #9669 of 9671 Old Today, 02:16 PM
Member
 
johnw248's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
WGN is now gone from the programming alerts page. It looks like it's not coming. Yet TWC managed to increase my bill from $103 per month in December to $119 now, with no changes in service by me. And I rent no equipment from them. I just buy cable and internet service, cable with no premiums. They added the sports fee and the programming fees to pay for their lousy deal with the Dodgers and their sports channel that no one else will purchase. Some will be TWC apologists on this blog, I am sure, but I am of the mind that this company is greedy, deceptive, and dishonest.
WGN America still comes up in the TWC Channel finder and What's On for my area (West Valley). Maybe its off the legal notices because they're close to activating it.
johnw248 is offline  
post #9670 of 9671 Unread Today, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
WGN is now gone from the programming alerts page. It looks like it's not coming. Yet TWC managed to increase my bill from $103 per month in December to $119 now, with no changes in service by me. And I rent no equipment from them. I just buy cable and internet service, cable with no premiums. They added the sports fee and the programming fees to pay for their lousy deal with the Dodgers and their sports channel that no one else will purchase. Some will be TWC apologists on this blog, I am sure, but I am of the mind that this company is greedy, deceptive, and dishonest.
Looks like its time for you to switch to someone who you might think treats you better, like Dish Network or DirecTV. Too bad the satellite provider's internet service sucks though.
SPDICKEY is online now  
post #9671 of 9671 Unread Today, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arvy View Post
Does Microsoft have an upgrade price for Windows, Office, etc. or do we need to buy a full version every time? .
Windows 10 will be free to all (including pirates) who are running Windows 7 and above. http://www.pcworld.com/article/28732...d-8-users.html
SPDICKEY is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off