Los Angeles, CA - TWC - Page 326 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 422Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9751 of 9765 Old 07-21-2016, 06:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
HowardV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post
You should pay the $750 HowardV.
Oh I will be...one way or another.

Oppo BDP-105 Blu-Ray
Spectron Premiere MKII 7 Channel Class D Amp (500w x 7)
2 Anthony Gallo Reference SA Amps
5 Anthony Gallo Reference 3.5 Speakers
Sunfire Super JR Subwoofer
Sony Z2 Series laptop as dedicated HTPC
HowardV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9752 of 9765 Old 07-22-2016, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Found out something interesting last night concerning the TWC TV streaming app. I'm using a Roku 4 to stream to a PJ setup where I have no cable box, and subscribe to HBO and Starz right now, and when using the TWC streaming app on it, most of the "premium" channels such as HBO,Starz, are ALL in HD! Meaning all of the HBO channels in the lineup are in HD, and even say so on the channel guide. On the cable box, usually there are only 1 or 2 HD channels for HBO, Starz, while the rest are SD, and window boxed. Not sure why it is that way, even called TWC this morning to ask why, and the rep really did not know. Anyone else know about this? and why? I'm in Orange County.

Last edited by Blasst; 07-22-2016 at 09:34 AM.
Blasst is offline  
post #9753 of 9765 Old 07-25-2016, 08:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
nyctveng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location:
Posts: 907
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post
Found out something interesting last night concerning the TWC TV streaming app. I'm using a Roku 4 to stream to a PJ setup where I have no cable box, and subscribe to HBO and Starz right now, and when using the TWC streaming app on it, most of the "premium" channels such as HBO,Starz, are ALL in HD! Meaning all of the HBO channels in the lineup are in HD, and even say so on the channel guide. On the cable box, usually there are only 1 or 2 HD channels for HBO, Starz, while the rest are SD, and window boxed. Not sure why it is that way, even called TWC this morning to ask why, and the rep really did not know. Anyone else know about this? and why? I'm in Orange County.
Streaming content comes from a central location that feeds TWC customers using Roku nationally. On the cable box, it is broadcast from a regional headend and the amount of channel is dictated by your local headend and plant. The amount of channels via Roku app can theoretically be limitless while via cable box there are limitations.
nyctveng is offline  
post #9754 of 9765 Old 07-30-2016, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,629
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyctveng View Post
Streaming content comes from a central location that feeds TWC customers using Roku nationally. On the cable box, it is broadcast from a regional headend and the amount of channel is dictated by your local headend and plant. The amount of channels via Roku app can theoretically be limitless while via cable box there are limitations.
Talked to another rep yesterday and was told that HBO decides which of its channels is shown in HD on cable. I asked why would they allow all of their channels via streaming to be in HD and not on the cable box....was told to ask them. Turned off the premium channels due to the crop factor on HBO, and Game of Thrones is done for the year anyway.
Blasst is offline  
post #9755 of 9765 Old 07-30-2016, 09:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post
Talked to another rep yesterday and was told that HBO decides which of its channels is shown in HD on cable. I asked why would they allow all of their channels via streaming to be in HD and not on the cable box....was told to ask them. Turned off the premium channels due to the crop factor on HBO, and Game of Thrones is done for the year anyway.
The reality is somewhere in between. It is a contractual agreement. TWC (now Charter) and HBO negotiate a contractual agreement. A price and service level is negotiated, based on what space TWC has, what price they are willing to pay, and what price HBO is willing to accept. The contract covers everything--channels carried, HD or SD status, what markets the channels will appear in. The service reps just read scripts--they can't/won't really tell you anything about the company or the carriage contract.
phildaant likes this.
sted is offline  
post #9756 of 9765 Old 08-04-2016, 08:26 AM
Member
 
Mastaclocksetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Just found the legal notice in the classifieds on the L.A. Times website. Tons more HD could be coming soon to a TWC-connected TV near you! Details here: http://classifieds.latimes.com/class...announcement-7
phildaant likes this.

Last edited by Mastaclocksetta; 08-04-2016 at 10:24 AM.
Mastaclocksetta is offline  
post #9757 of 9765 Old 08-08-2016, 10:34 AM
otk
AVS Special Member
 
otk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post
Talked to another rep yesterday and was told that HBO decides which of its channels is shown in HD on cable. I asked why would they allow all of their channels via streaming to be in HD and not on the cable box....was told to ask them. Turned off the premium channels due to the crop factor on HBO, and Game of Thrones is done for the year anyway.
companies that "stream" use a LOT of compression. on a cable box "HD" takes up a lot of bandwidth. cable companies use compression also but nowhere near as much as any company that "streams" does

i doubt you're getting "true HD" from anywhere but a blu ray
phildaant likes this.

All this noise about noise.
♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫
Finding the acoustic sweet spot.
otk is online now  
post #9758 of 9765 Old 08-08-2016, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by otk View Post
companies that "stream" use a LOT of compression. on a cable box "HD" takes up a lot of bandwidth. cable companies use compression also but nowhere near as much as any company that "streams" does

i doubt you're getting "true HD" from anywhere but a blu ray
Even OTA HD have compressions.
phildaant is offline  
post #9759 of 9765 Old 08-09-2016, 05:15 PM
otk
AVS Special Member
 
otk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Even OTA HD have compressions.
why would they do that ?
phildaant likes this.

All this noise about noise.
♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫
Finding the acoustic sweet spot.
otk is online now  
post #9760 of 9765 Old 08-09-2016, 05:16 PM
otk
AVS Special Member
 
otk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7,579
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 20
i can remember for years, even before HD or digital cable came out, OTA looked so much better than cable
phildaant likes this.

All this noise about noise.
♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫♪♫
Finding the acoustic sweet spot.
otk is online now  
post #9761 of 9765 Old 08-09-2016, 07:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by otk View Post
why would they do that ?
Limited bandwidth OTA? OTA has the best quality.
phildaant is offline  
post #9762 of 9765 Old Today, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by otk View Post
why would they do that ?
Because many broadcast stations not only send out a HD signal for their primary feed, they also compress that feed to provide one or more sub-channels.
phildaant likes this.
StevieD1 is online now  
post #9763 of 9765 Old Today, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Marc Alexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 6,343
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Limited bandwidth OTA? OTA has the best quality.
I find the native AVC video on DirecTV superior to OTA these days. I had to leave TWC 3 years ago because the MPEG-2 compression was so bad. Blu-ray is the only place to perfect PQ here in SoCal IME.

I hope TWC's network upgrades have improved video. I may jump back for just a basic package as we are streaming our content more and more. OTA is just a failsafe for us.
phildaant likes this.
Marc Alexander is online now  
post #9764 of 9765 Old Today, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc Alexander View Post

I hope TWC's network upgrades have improved video.
Its been rock solid on my 65" Visio 4K set using a TiVo Premier 4. Only bad HD video comes from awful sources, like some on the Asian language channels I don't spend much time watching.

Waiting for more HD conversions on some of my favorite channels, in the meantime I can watch them in HD on my Roku TWC TV app.
phildaant likes this.
StevieD1 is online now  
post #9765 of 9765 Old Today, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,739
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
Its been rock solid on my 65" Visio 4K set using a TiVo Premier 4. Only bad HD video comes from awful sources, like some on the Asian language channels I don't spend much time watching.

Waiting for more HD conversions on some of my favorite channels, in the meantime I can watch them in HD on my Roku TWC TV app.
I wonder if future Charter's TV will improve services.
phildaant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off