Los Angeles, CA - TWC - Page 328 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 431Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #9811 of 9818 Unread Yesterday, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Cough, cough... Windows Media Center with Ceton/Hauppauge tuner cards
I had that setup a few years ago. Didn't make it past the wife acceptance test. "What do you mean I have to reboot the TV?".

Switched to TiVo, never looked back. Especially with TiVo Mini for multi-room support and Stream for out of home viewing. And Microsoft has stopped supporting Windows Media Center. Should tell you something.
StevieD1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9812 of 9818 Unread Yesterday, 08:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arvy View Post
Do you have the Triple Play rates in L.A. too? One would be more my speed if I go with Charter now.
Go to TimeWarnerCable.com. Log in and then hit UPGRADE up top. Then look for the Charter Packages on the lower right. I'm being offered a Triple Gold, since I all ready have a double play TWC package. Its cheaper than what I have now. But when I sign up for the package, I get an email asking me to call in, the reps can't see what i ordered and start offering me the same package at about $20 more per month. So I'm waiting for Charter marketing to get off their asses and get the current subscriber upgrade packages populated into the CSR's system.
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9813 of 9818 Unread Yesterday, 08:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Final note... apparently the channel lineup for Charter/Spectrum is different from that of TWC/LA. So if you are (like me) and you use a 3rd-party Guide data (i.e. Schedules Direct for my Windows Media Center setup), there will be one (or two for my 90292 zipcode which has two different infrastructures and corresponding channel lineups) new channel lineup ID. If you use rented DVR/STB boxes you'll just be given the new Charter/Spectrum channel lineup (and you'll have to re-set your series recordings, favorite channel lists, etc.) at some upcoming point in time. No doubt Schedules Direct and Rovi (for MWC) will be given the new set of channel lineups for the zip code, in order to support grandfathered setups that will still be using the current TWC channel lineup and new account setups which will be using the Charter/Spectrum channel lineup.
I have a TiVo currently on the TWC CLU for Los Angeles. The Charter CLU isn't different, all the channel numbers are the same, its just that you won't get some channels if you stay on a TWC package. For example new channel 299 now appears on my TiVo, but its not authorized. Just like all the foreign language channels I don't subscribe to. They show up, I just can't get them. Rovi hasn't sent any updates yet to my TiVo. I'd be surprised if they published two different lineups for the same system.
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9814 of 9818 Unread Yesterday, 09:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,648
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
I have a TiVo currently on the TWC CLU for Los Angeles. The Charter CLU isn't different, all the channel numbers are the same, its just that you won't get some channels if you stay on a TWC package. For example new channel 299 now appears on my TiVo, but its not authorized. Just like all the foreign language channels I don't subscribe to. They show up, I just can't get them. Rovi hasn't sent any updates yet to my TiVo. I'd be surprised if they published two different lineups for the same system.
Hmm... to be honest, I didn't double-check what the CSR told me on the phone earlier. I simply trusted him when he told me "they're slightly different", and I didn't inquire further. In fact he even agreed with me when I said I would then expect a new set of Charter/Spectrum lineup id's to make their way to Schedules Direct for my zip code, in order to support the unique TWC and Charter lineups (with whatever their small differences) in the same zip code.

But if as you say the channel numbers are the same (although the availability might be different based on tier or service level), then maybe the CSR misspoke or I just should have pressed him. So if my earlier post is incorrect in this regard, I stand corrected now.

For sure, I'm still planning on doing NOTHING. I'm going forward exactly as I currently am configured, both on price and services. So I expect (perhaps naively?) to see no change at all, at least for the forseeable future.
DSperber is online now  
post #9815 of 9818 Unread Yesterday, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 67
The only change I saw on my TiVo channel lineup when I switched to a Spectrum bundle was that MGM Movies went away, and HDNET MOVIES appeared on channel 640.

No guide data for that yet, but I have submitted a ticket to TiVo that it needs to be added.

Last edited by DougDingle; Today at 09:05 AM.
DougDingle is online now  
post #9816 of 9818 Unread Yesterday, 10:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
The only change I saw on my TiVo channel lineup when I switched to a Spectrum bundle was that MGM Movies went away, and HDNET MOVIES appeared on channel 640.

No guide data for that yet, but I have submitted a ticket to TiVo that is needs to be added.

What Spectrum bundle do you have?
sted is online now  
post #9817 of 9818 Unread Today, 09:04 AM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
What Spectrum bundle do you have?
I got the Gold bundle with 100/10 Internet. The agent said around $160/month all in, but I haven't gotten the first bill yet, so we'll see. More premium movie channels than I can possibly eat, and almost all of them in HD.

By the time I got all the channels I wanted 'a la carte' by picking a lesser bundle plus some digital tiers and HBO, the price was within ten dollars of the 'everything in the universe' Gold package, so I went with that.

What I did discover is that going to the actual store front (as opposed to doing it on the phone) got me a better deal - the CSRs seemed much more amenable to keep looking until they found me something I liked. I would have done it on the phone as I always have, but I had to return the phone modem after cancelling phone with them, and I'm glad I took the time.
DougDingle is online now  
post #9818 of 9818 Unread Today, 10:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I got the Gold bundle with 100/10 Internet. The agent said around $160/month all in, but I haven't gotten the first bill yet, so we'll see. More premium movie channels than I can possibly eat, and almost all of them in HD.

By the time I got all the channels I wanted 'a la carte' by picking a lesser bundle plus some digital tiers and HBO, the price was within ten dollars of the 'everything in the universe' Gold package, so I went with that.

What I did discover is that going to the actual store front (as opposed to doing it on the phone) got me a better deal - the CSRs seemed much more amenable to keep looking until they found me something I liked. I would have done it on the phone as I always have, but I had to return the phone modem after cancelling phone with them, and I'm glad I took the time.


I have a question for you: I also have Tivo. I have spoken to different csr's. One told me that I can change to Spectrum services without changing my cable card, another told me that I need a new cable card. Which is correct?
sted is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off