Los Angeles, CA - TWC - Page 328 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 440Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9811 of 9839 Old 09-24-2016, 09:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Cough, cough... Windows Media Center with Ceton/Hauppauge tuner cards
I had that setup a few years ago. Didn't make it past the wife acceptance test. "What do you mean I have to reboot the TV?".

Switched to TiVo, never looked back. Especially with TiVo Mini for multi-room support and Stream for out of home viewing. And Microsoft has stopped supporting Windows Media Center. Should tell you something.
StevieD1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9812 of 9839 Old 09-24-2016, 09:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arvy View Post
Do you have the Triple Play rates in L.A. too? One would be more my speed if I go with Charter now.
Go to TimeWarnerCable.com. Log in and then hit UPGRADE up top. Then look for the Charter Packages on the lower right. I'm being offered a Triple Gold, since I all ready have a double play TWC package. Its cheaper than what I have now. But when I sign up for the package, I get an email asking me to call in, the reps can't see what i ordered and start offering me the same package at about $20 more per month. So I'm waiting for Charter marketing to get off their asses and get the current subscriber upgrade packages populated into the CSR's system.
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9813 of 9839 Old 09-24-2016, 09:58 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Final note... apparently the channel lineup for Charter/Spectrum is different from that of TWC/LA. So if you are (like me) and you use a 3rd-party Guide data (i.e. Schedules Direct for my Windows Media Center setup), there will be one (or two for my 90292 zipcode which has two different infrastructures and corresponding channel lineups) new channel lineup ID. If you use rented DVR/STB boxes you'll just be given the new Charter/Spectrum channel lineup (and you'll have to re-set your series recordings, favorite channel lists, etc.) at some upcoming point in time. No doubt Schedules Direct and Rovi (for MWC) will be given the new set of channel lineups for the zip code, in order to support grandfathered setups that will still be using the current TWC channel lineup and new account setups which will be using the Charter/Spectrum channel lineup.
I have a TiVo currently on the TWC CLU for Los Angeles. The Charter CLU isn't different, all the channel numbers are the same, its just that you won't get some channels if you stay on a TWC package. For example new channel 299 now appears on my TiVo, but its not authorized. Just like all the foreign language channels I don't subscribe to. They show up, I just can't get them. Rovi hasn't sent any updates yet to my TiVo. I'd be surprised if they published two different lineups for the same system.
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9814 of 9839 Old 09-24-2016, 10:31 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
I have a TiVo currently on the TWC CLU for Los Angeles. The Charter CLU isn't different, all the channel numbers are the same, its just that you won't get some channels if you stay on a TWC package. For example new channel 299 now appears on my TiVo, but its not authorized. Just like all the foreign language channels I don't subscribe to. They show up, I just can't get them. Rovi hasn't sent any updates yet to my TiVo. I'd be surprised if they published two different lineups for the same system.
Hmm... to be honest, I didn't double-check what the CSR told me on the phone earlier. I simply trusted him when he told me "they're slightly different", and I didn't inquire further. In fact he even agreed with me when I said I would then expect a new set of Charter/Spectrum lineup id's to make their way to Schedules Direct for my zip code, in order to support the unique TWC and Charter lineups (with whatever their small differences) in the same zip code.

But if as you say the channel numbers are the same (although the availability might be different based on tier or service level), then maybe the CSR misspoke or I just should have pressed him. So if my earlier post is incorrect in this regard, I stand corrected now.

For sure, I'm still planning on doing NOTHING. I'm going forward exactly as I currently am configured, both on price and services. So I expect (perhaps naively?) to see no change at all, at least for the forseeable future.
DSperber is offline  
post #9815 of 9839 Old 09-24-2016, 11:01 PM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
The only change I saw on my TiVo channel lineup when I switched to a Spectrum bundle was that MGM Movies went away, and HDNET MOVIES appeared on channel 640.

No guide data for that yet, but I have submitted a ticket to TiVo that it needs to be added.

Last edited by DougDingle; 09-25-2016 at 10:05 AM.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9816 of 9839 Old 09-24-2016, 11:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
The only change I saw on my TiVo channel lineup when I switched to a Spectrum bundle was that MGM Movies went away, and HDNET MOVIES appeared on channel 640.

No guide data for that yet, but I have submitted a ticket to TiVo that is needs to be added.

What Spectrum bundle do you have?
sted is offline  
post #9817 of 9839 Old 09-25-2016, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
What Spectrum bundle do you have?
I got the Gold bundle with 100/10 Internet. The agent said around $160/month all in, but I haven't gotten the first bill yet, so we'll see. More premium movie channels than I can possibly eat, and almost all of them in HD.

By the time I got all the channels I wanted 'a la carte' by picking a lesser bundle plus some digital tiers and HBO, the price was within ten dollars of the 'everything in the universe' Gold package, so I went with that.

What I did discover is that going to the actual store front (as opposed to doing it on the phone) got me a better deal - the CSRs seemed much more amenable to keep looking until they found me something I liked. I would have done it on the phone as I always have, but I had to return the phone modem after cancelling phone with them, and I'm glad I took the time.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9818 of 9839 Old 09-25-2016, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
I got the Gold bundle with 100/10 Internet. The agent said around $160/month all in, but I haven't gotten the first bill yet, so we'll see. More premium movie channels than I can possibly eat, and almost all of them in HD.

By the time I got all the channels I wanted 'a la carte' by picking a lesser bundle plus some digital tiers and HBO, the price was within ten dollars of the 'everything in the universe' Gold package, so I went with that.

What I did discover is that going to the actual store front (as opposed to doing it on the phone) got me a better deal - the CSRs seemed much more amenable to keep looking until they found me something I liked. I would have done it on the phone as I always have, but I had to return the phone modem after cancelling phone with them, and I'm glad I took the time.


I have a question for you: I also have Tivo. I have spoken to different csr's. One told me that I can change to Spectrum services without changing my cable card, another told me that I need a new cable card. Which is correct?
sted is offline  
post #9819 of 9839 Old 09-25-2016, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
I have a question for you: I also have Tivo. I have spoken to different csr's. One told me that I can change to Spectrum services without changing my cable card, another told me that I need a new cable card. Which is correct?
I have the same multi cable card I've had for about two years, from when I first got my Roamio. They were able to authorize it for the new Gold package without issue. So I think the CSR who told you that you needed a new one is misinformed. There is a LOT of bad info floating around inside Spectrum right now with the transition still fresh, from what I can tell.

That's not to say, of course, that they can't just disable it this week and insist I get a new one, but for now (it's been a few days) so far so good.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9820 of 9839 Old 09-25-2016, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Final note... apparently the channel lineup for Charter/Spectrum is different from that of TWC/LA.
The channel lineups are the same as of this writing. Charter has all ready added/changed some channels to its system and are reflected in the TWC lineups.

Its the tier levels and what is included that's different. For example 299 is on the wire to everyone, but only those who subscribe to the Charter package will get it. Expect name changes by external providers of CLU like Rovi (TiVo), and channel additions/changes to that lineup. I just got some changes yesterday that renamed English League Premier Soccer overflow channels to the TWC lineups.
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9821 of 9839 Old 09-26-2016, 04:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
The only change I saw on my TiVo channel lineup when I switched to a Spectrum bundle was that MGM Movies went away, and HDNET MOVIES appeared on channel 640.

No guide data for that yet, but I have submitted a ticket to TiVo that it needs to be added.

What package includes HDNET Movies? Does anyone know where a channel guide that defines the channels in each tier can be found?
sted is offline  
post #9822 of 9839 Old 09-26-2016, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Arvy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
Go to TimeWarnerCable.com. Log in and then hit UPGRADE up top. Then look for the Charter Packages on the lower right. I'm being offered a Triple Gold, since I all ready have a double play TWC package. Its cheaper than what I have now. But when I sign up for the package, I get an email asking me to call in, the reps can't see what i ordered and start offering me the same package at about $20 more per month. So I'm waiting for Charter marketing to get off their asses and get the current subscriber upgrade packages populated into the CSR's system.
Switching to Charter isn't an option for me at this time at least through the website. TWC did cut me a promo deal which lasts until about April. The cost isn't too much but only a little high so I'll stick it out then change plans to something similar (probably Silver Triple Play). There isn't much I'm missing now... maybe HBO, Showtime, etc. instead of Epix is better. That depends on what is airing when anyway. I do enjoy HBO's and Showtimes's comedy specials. Or I can call/visit an office to get a better comparison. The chat agent was pretty much held to her script and became useless. At this point, there seems to be as much to "UGH" about with Charter as there is with TWC.

Arvy
Arvy is offline  
post #9823 of 9839 Old 09-26-2016, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by sted View Post
What package includes HDNET Movies? Does anyone know where a channel guide that defines the channels in each tier can be found?
The Gold package, and Digi Tier 2 do. I've attached a PDF of the channel lineup brochure I picked up at the Spectrum store.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf spectrum channels and tiers.pdf (39.4 KB, 185 views)
Marc Alexander and phildaant like this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9824 of 9839 Old 09-26-2016, 10:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
The Gold package, and Digi Tier 2 do. I've attached a PDF of the channel lineup brochure I picked up at the Spectrum store.

Thank you!
sted is offline  
post #9825 of 9839 Old 09-27-2016, 06:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
I have a TiVo currently on the TWC CLU for Los Angeles. The Charter CLU isn't different, all the channel numbers are the same, its just that you won't get some channels if you stay on a TWC package. For example new channel 299 now appears on my TiVo, but its not authorized. Just like all the foreign language channels I don't subscribe to. They show up, I just can't get them. Rovi hasn't sent any updates yet to my TiVo. I'd be surprised if they published two different lineups for the same system.


I have a Tivo Roamio and was a TWC subscriber with variety and variety plus, but no premiums and I did not order any extras beyond what I have described--no sports pack, no hd pack, no HBO, Showtime, etc. The hd pack for TWC was a package of three channels for $9, which was the most overpriced package in history.


Anyway, I went to Spectrum Select plus Digital Tiers 1 and 2, which would lower my rates by a few dollars and give me all the channels I had, plus 25 new ones. The change was made, but the 25 new channels (primarily channels from the TWC hd pack and sports pack, plus a few others) show up as unauthorized. I won't bore everyone with a list of channels, but the ones showing up as unauthorized include 408 the Outdoor Channel, 377-381 the Pac 12 channels, 640 HD Net, 634 Universal HD, 623 Flix, 137 Crime, and 141 Military. I spent some time with a CSR and she kept sending activation signals, then finally gave up and scheduled a truck roll. She said the technician will not leave until the problem is corrected.


On another note, I spoke to the cable card desk. The representative was knowledgeable and told me that the CSR's have it wrong when they say a cable card must be replaced to change to a Spectrum package. As I already suspected, he said the existing cable card will work with all Spectrum packages.
sted is offline  
post #9826 of 9839 Old 09-27-2016, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
If the added channels are tuned by the Tuning Adapter, you may have to reboot it to have it pick up the new information. I've had the same sort of thing happen here, and a TA reboot fixed it.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9827 of 9839 Old 09-30-2016, 11:03 AM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
It seems that MGM Movies has reappeared in my guide (it was supposed to be replaced by HDNET MOVIES, according to the CSR), but I get a "not authorized" screen prompt when I tune to it, which is weird because the Gold package should have ALL the movie channels.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9828 of 9839 Old 10-04-2016, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 104
DVR Icon in guide disappeared after reboot

Last night my DVR rebooted and the DVR Icon for searching (looking at) future recordings, see series recordings, etc, disappeared.

I did a hard boot (powered down, unplugged AC cord, plugged back in, etc.) and went to bed hoping it would be fine in the morning, but it is still missing.

My scheduled recordings are still being recorded---it recorded 2 shows at 5am fine, but the menu guide is missing the DVR menu.

Did TWC eliminate this with a firmware update? That would seem inane, but I suppose anything is possible.

??
Moto DCX3400
fleaman is offline  
post #9829 of 9839 Old 10-04-2016, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Hardware rates?

Has anyone seen the Spectrum hardware (cable box, extra outlet, cable card, modem, wireless, etc.) rental rates?

My mom just got her bill, and the modem at $8 and wireless at $4 were on there. I was under the assumption they were going to stop charging for that.

This was the first time I've seen her bill, and was pretty surprised to find that two non-DVR cable boxes with remotes (THEY CHARGE FOR THE REMOTES????) plus the 'extra outlet' charge are about $25/moth. That is outright thievery. No wonder the cablecos are screaming bloody murder that the FCC wants the boxes eliminated - what an amazing cash cow those are (I've always been on TiVo, so have no experience with cableco boxes).
DougDingle is offline  
post #9830 of 9839 Old 10-04-2016, 01:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougDingle View Post
Has anyone seen the Spectrum hardware (cable box, extra outlet, cable card, modem, wireless, etc.) rental rates?

My mom just got her bill, and the modem at $8 and wireless at $4 were on there. I was under the assumption they were going to stop charging for that.

This was the first time I've seen her bill, and was pretty surprised to find that two non-DVR cable boxes with remotes (THEY CHARGE FOR THE REMOTES????) plus the 'extra outlet' charge are about $25/moth. That is outright thievery. No wonder the cablecos are screaming bloody murder that the FCC wants the boxes eliminated - what an amazing cash cow those are (I've always been on TiVo, so have no experience with cableco boxes).


Here it is:


https://www.timewarnercable.com/cont...-RC-SPP-LA.pdf

The answer is that they still charge for the hardware (modem). I own my own modem, and they discounted the rate that they charge for internet service by $6 a month. Hence, they really do charge for the modem, even though they say that it is included in the flat rate.
DougDingle likes this.
sted is offline  
post #9831 of 9839 Old 10-04-2016, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleaman View Post
Last night my DVR rebooted and the DVR Icon for searching (looking at) future recordings, see series recordings, etc, disappeared.

I did a hard boot (powered down, unplugged AC cord, plugged back in, etc.) and went to bed hoping it would be fine in the morning, but it is still missing.

My scheduled recordings are still being recorded---it recorded 2 shows at 5am fine, but the menu guide is missing the DVR menu.

Did TWC eliminate this with a firmware update? That would seem inane, but I suppose anything is possible.

??
Moto DCX3400
Update> So I called CS and the automated system sent a re-authorization signal and said to wait 5 minutes and check again. After 10 minutes I checked and the 'DVR' button was still missing form the guide. Called back CS and after 10 minutes on hold got a live person---explained problem and as I was explaining I checked the guide again and the DVR button had reappeared! So perhaps the reauthorization might of worked, but needed 20 minutes---or it was just a coincidence.
fleaman is offline  
post #9832 of 9839 Old 10-04-2016, 01:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 104
And I also now noticed that there were more buttons missing from the guide that came back (I never use these buttons so didn't remember them)>
ON -- On demand
The Look Back button
HD
And of course the all importance DVR button.
fleaman is offline  
post #9833 of 9839 Old 11-02-2016, 07:51 AM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 18,836
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 755
My Arris 6 Tuner DVR was off when i got up this morning, and was showing the wrong time on the front display. I turned it on but it was in basic TV mode (no DVR functions) so i rebooted and after several minutes of downloading the DVR came back online and i now have a picture. The menus and DVR list etc now look different.

A little blue window also popped up at the bottom of the TV's screen (this is new) and says CDL progress 1% then climbed for several minutes until it reached 99% then hung there for about 10 mins, then it finally switched to Flashing 1% and climbed for a few minutes then the screen went black again, then the DVR self-rebooted and came back online again.

My older Cisco 2-tuner DVR got the same update but it was ready to go with no need to reboot like on my Enhanced DVR.

Now when i turn on the DVR power, a menu pops up on the left side with options such as Watch TV, Guide, DVR, Search, Settings, and Feature Tour. I selected that Feature Tour and it showed some of the new features, with more info at TWC.com/newguide


--------------------------------
phildaant likes this.

Randy
Sony 55W800B, Panasonic TC-P55ST60, TiVo 2-Tuner Premiere, TWC Arris DCX3600-M 6-Tuner DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333 AVR, URC MX-890, MX-780, MX-450, MX-500 Remotes.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #9834 of 9839 Old 11-02-2016, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 303
Hmm, still no updates on this Arris/Motorola DCX3510M DVR so far in LA county area (borderline with and local office is in OC).
phildaant is offline  
post #9835 of 9839 Old 11-11-2016, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Mastaclocksetta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I wonder if/when the new guide will come to non-DVR boxes, such as the Motorola DCX 3200M.
Mastaclocksetta is offline  
post #9836 of 9839 Old Yesterday, 10:05 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Is it true that Spectrum no longer carries National Geographic Pacific HD on channel 129 (or whatever channel number it is in your particular area)??

I just called Spectrum to see about changing my service to get NGC as it used to be in a non-standard tier with TWC. The arrangement of services with Spectrum is different than it was with TWC but I was told that the grandfathered "preferred" Spectrum package I'm now in should have had TWC on 129... but it doesn't.

He researched further and discovered that channel 129 is no longer available, but that Nat Geo Wild is on 130 and I can, in fact, get that, although it is a different channel with different content from the primary National Geographic which is what I wanted.

So, can somebody tell me what their story is? Is National Geographic actually not carried by Charter/Spectrum/former-TWC? If so, what is your zip code and what is your channel number?

If not, does everyone else have the same anger as I do to not have National Geographic??? Their web site channel lineup for my 90292/Westside still shows it as channel 75/129 and the guy on the phone "apologized", because it is simply not true.
DSperber is offline  
post #9837 of 9839 Old Yesterday, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 825 Post(s)
Liked: 303
I have never seen and heard of National Geographic Pacific on mine. I did just record Mars on National Geographic Channel. I am in LA area.
phildaant is offline  
post #9838 of 9839 Old Yesterday, 02:50 PM
Senior Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
Is it true that Spectrum no longer carries National Geographic Pacific HD on channel 129 (or whatever channel number it is in your particular area)??

So, can somebody tell me what their story is? Is National Geographic actually not carried by Charter/Spectrum/former-TWC? If so, what is your zip code and what is your channel number?
I am in Los Angeles 90068, have the "everything" package, and I just watched a few minutes of NatGeo on channel 129. It hasn't gone anywhere for me as of this posting.

If you have a Tuning Adapter, it sometimes needs rebooting to get the new channel mappings or else channels just start to disappear.
phildaant likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9839 of 9839 Old Yesterday, 10:25 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,664
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 223 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Decided to try a second phone call to "bulk services" tonight. My situation might be somewhat unique in that I live in a condo building that has a "bulk services contract" between the HOA and TWC, now assumed by Charter/Spectrum.

Turns out that NGC (Pacific HD, channel 75/129) is part of the old Variety Plus tier of TWC. I had the Variety tier, so of course that's why I was missing NGC and that's what I wanted to address this afternoon when I first called. I wanted to find out how I could get NGC post-transition to Charter/Spectrum, along with the gray issues of exactly what gets grandfathered in with TWC customers making no changes to a Spectrum lineup, and further complicated by the "bulk services" contract and exactly what that might entitle me to do or not do or get or not get.

Anyway, the second "bulk services" guy tonight pointed out that the Channel Lineup page for my 90292/Westside location actually has two tabs... one for Spectrum lineups (TV Select 125+ channels, TV Silver 175+ channels, TV Gold 200+ channels) and the second for Existing TWC lineups (Starter TV 2-+ channels, Standard TV 70+ channels, Preferred TV 200+ channels). I had been unwittingly been looking at the Spectrum tab lineups where 75/129 NGC is checked, whereas I really should have been looking at the Existing TWC lineups, where 75/129 NGC is not checked.

As I mentioned earlier, NGC is actually in the old Variety Plus tier. So while looking at the Existing TWC lineups tab if you click on the "premiums and tiers" dropdown arrow, and then scroll down to the bottom of the dropdown list, you will see "Variety Plus". If you check that box you see the subset of channels which are in that tier, which includes NGC as 75/129, but still unchecked. Not clear why this is, but it is.

So, instead of passing me off to the Spectrum marketing team to get me transferred over (at increased cost, no doubt) to transition into a Spectrum lineup package, he researched the situation with HOA bulk services contracts and determined that because of the bulk services contract he still had the ability to deal with my account as if I were still an old TWC customer. In other words he could actually add the old TWC Variety Plus tier for $8/month to my account without invalidating anything else or voiding any of my grandfathered services or pricing. Instantly, I now had the added Variety Plus tier channels (for $8/month) and was thus now able to get 75/129!!

This really is what I expected to do this afternoon, if I could. But the first guy just wasn't resourceful enough to double-check how to deal with these types of situations, even though he worked in the bulk services department. Tonight, the second guy did.

So, case closed. I expected to pay more for NGC (I wish that Variety Plus tier had more than this one channel to make it worthwhile at that price) and have now emerged victorious in that I can now watch 75/129.
phildaant likes this.
DSperber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off