Los Angeles, CA - TWC - Page 331 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 461Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9901 of 9916 Old 03-09-2017, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 3,987
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 912 Post(s)
Liked: 332
For OTA TV stuff, use http://tvfool.com like to see what the addresses can get. Just note it is not always accurate like where I live since trees, giant hills, etc. block many channels for me to force to get cable TV.
sted and prosgal73 like this.
phildaant is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9902 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 6
At the Spectrum Store in Santa Monica. I just switched from an old TWC Extreme Double with no premiums, Ultimate 100 Upgrade, and a customer owned modem and TWC Movie Pass after my promo discounts went away. I moved to a Spectrum Silver triple play with HBO, SHO and MAX. Yes a triple including home phone and received a new Technicolor Telephony Modem that I won't hook up.

I kept my 100 Mbps internet and a cable card/TA on my TiVo.

The monthly has gone down from $147.27 to $121.11 (all taxes/fees in). I am getting a $30 promo credit monthly which will last for one year, then up to just $10 in 12 months.

So I saved over $25 per month and picked up several premium services. Only glitch was the store clerk turned off my internet modem in favor of the new Technicolor. A quick phone call switched it back. I'll keep the new Technicolor in the closet as long as Google Voice and my two-line Obihai works for home phone. Perhaps I can use it for a third line?
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9903 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 05:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
The monthly has gone down from $147.27 to $121.11 (all taxes/fees in). I am getting a $30 promo credit monthly which will last for one year, then up to just $10 in 12 months.
Is there another fee hike at year 2? A lot of times there is....
fleaman is offline  
 
post #9904 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
The monthly has gone down from $147.27 to $121.11 (all taxes/fees in). I am getting a $30 promo credit monthly which will last for one year, then up to just $10 in 12 months.

Wait, is the $121 including the $30 monthly credit or before credit?
fleaman is offline  
post #9905 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 05:08 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleaman View Post
Wait, is the $121 including the $30 monthly credit or before credit?
All prices are all in taxes, fees and credits.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
SPDICKEY is offline  
post #9906 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
The monthly has gone down from $147.27 to $121.11 (all taxes/fees in). I am getting a $30 promo credit monthly which will last for one year, then up to just $10 in 12 months.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPDICKEY View Post
All prices are all in taxes, fees and credits.
So if you lose your $30 monthly credit after a year, how does it only go up $10 "in 12 months"?

Maybe you meant $30 + $10 = $40 increase after 1 year?
fleaman is offline  
post #9907 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
SPDICKEY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 102
No $30 to $10 off after 12 months. $10 to zero off year 3.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
SPDICKEY is offline  
post #9908 of 9916 Old 03-11-2017, 07:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fleaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Ah.
fleaman is offline  
post #9909 of 9916 Old 03-15-2017, 06:04 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
At the Spectrum Store in Santa Monica. I just switched from an old TWC Extreme Double with no premiums, Ultimate 100 Upgrade, and a customer owned modem and TWC Movie Pass after my promo discounts went away. I moved to a Spectrum Silver triple play with HBO, SHO and MAX. Yes a triple including home phone and received a new Technicolor Telephony Modem that I won't hook up.

I kept my 100 Mbps internet and a cable card/TA on my TiVo.

The monthly has gone down from $147.27 to $121.11 (all taxes/fees in). I am getting a $30 promo credit monthly which will last for one year, then up to just $10 in 12 months.

So I saved over $25 per month and picked up several premium services. Only glitch was the store clerk turned off my internet modem in favor of the new Technicolor. A quick phone call switched it back. I'll keep the new Technicolor in the closet as long as Google Voice and my two-line Obihai works for home phone. Perhaps I can use it for a third line?
Did you have to switch out your old modem to switch to a Spectrum plan? Can you update us when you get your bill? Heard some people getting promised a promo but when the bill came they were surprised. Did they give you any kind of proof that they gave you that deal?
phildaant likes this.

Last edited by prosgal73; 03-15-2017 at 06:33 PM.
prosgal73 is offline  
post #9910 of 9916 Old 03-15-2017, 08:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by prosgal73 View Post
Did you have to switch out your old modem to switch to a Spectrum plan?
From what I gather, the modem needs to be changed if it can't deal with the lowest speed plan Spectrum offers in terms of Internet speeds.

My mom had the absolute lowest speed available - I think it was like 10/1 - and when I switched her to Spectrum and she got (I think) 50/5, it needed a new modem.

Not unreasonable.
phildaant and prosgal73 like this.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9911 of 9916 Old 03-17-2017, 05:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by prosgal73 View Post
Did you have to switch out your old modem to switch to a Spectrum plan? Can you update us when you get your bill? Heard some people getting promised a promo but when the bill came they were surprised. Did they give you any kind of proof that they gave you that deal?
No modem switch. I kept my 100/10 speed. I'm still using my Arris SB6183. I got a Technicolor modem, not using it, its in my closet.

I got billed the day after I switched. I went from Extreme Double (TV/HSD) with Movie Tier to Spectrum Silver Triple. Adding HBO, SHO, MAX. Losing the Encores and a few others.

Seems the CSR at the counter didn't add in the phone when I switched, so it will up as an partial charge on the following month's bill.


03/10/2017 UNLIMITED LONG DISTANCE $26.65
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	00002.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	2033033  
StevieD1 is offline  
post #9912 of 9916 Old 03-17-2017, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevieD1 View Post
No modem switch. I kept my 100/10 speed. I'm still using my Arris SB6183. I got a Technicolor modem, not using it, its in my closet.

I got billed the day after I switched. I went from Extreme Double (TV/HSD) with Movie Tier to Spectrum Silver Triple. Adding HBO, SHO, MAX. Losing the Encores and a few others.

Seems the CSR at the counter didn't add in the phone when I switched, so it will up as an partial charge on the following month's bill.


03/10/2017 UNLIMITED LONG DISTANCE $26.65
Thanks for sharing your experience and bill. Maybe going to the store is worth a try, the phone experiences sound frustrating.

Last edited by prosgal73; 03-17-2017 at 07:13 PM.
prosgal73 is offline  
post #9913 of 9916 Old 07-30-2017, 02:42 PM
Member
 
glenburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone else noticed that some channels are now in h264 as opposed to mpeg2. i use mythtv with both firewire and hdpvr and i noticed that on firewire (on rare station with cci bit off) it is now in h264. i'd prefer the mpeg2, but i was curious if someone knows if this is across the whole lineup or just specific stations. and does anyone know if charter has done anything different on the cci to where it would pay to get a cablecard device (hdhomerun). i am not talking about tivo, myth is no drm at all. thanks if anyone knows.
phildaant likes this.
glenburg is offline  
post #9914 of 9916 Old 07-30-2017, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by glenburg View Post
Has anyone else noticed that some channels are now in h264 as opposed to mpeg2. i use mythtv with both firewire and hdpvr and i noticed that on firewire (on rare station with cci bit off) it is now in h264. i'd prefer the mpeg2, but i was curious if someone knows if this is across the whole lineup or just specific stations. and does anyone know if charter has done anything different on the cci to where it would pay to get a cablecard device (hdhomerun). i am not talking about tivo, myth is no drm at all. thanks if anyone knows.
Can you post which ones, or at least a few? Thanks.
DougDingle is offline  
post #9915 of 9916 Old 07-30-2017, 06:27 PM
Member
 
glenburg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
are you asking what i noticed in h264 ? .. i recorded a tmc (the movie channel) film over firewire used to be mpeg2 now h264. same for channel 629, i think one of the hallmarks. i suspect it is most of stuff but not local channels, i don't record those off box but i use firewire test program and can tell by number of packets nothing has changed.

in terms of filesize something like movie channel used to run 5gigs/hour, then they compressed more and it was 2.5 gig/hour, and now in h264 it is less than 2gig/hour. the bitrate on the h264 is about 5000 down from 9000 from what limited stuff i can look at through firewire capture
phildaant likes this.
glenburg is offline  
post #9916 of 9916 Old 07-30-2017, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
DougDingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 987
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Yeah, that's what I wanted to know. Thanks.
phildaant likes this.
DougDingle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off