Cincinnati, OH - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 14426 Old 10-02-2003, 12:48 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
One of my co-workers is reporting that, as predicted, Insight Cable of Northern KY has added to their HD roster beginning this month. He can confirm KET, CET, WCPO-DT and BravoHD. He says some other channel positions have shown up on his STB and that he thinks that's where ESPN-HD is going to turn up, but it's not there, yet. Since I'm on D* for my HD and not Insight (right now, anyway), I can't give you any more than that.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 14426 Old 10-03-2003, 04:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Troy LaMont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 1,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Insight Cable of Northern KY has added to their HD roster beginning this month.

That's good to hear. I have a friend who I inducted into home theater that has a nice 42" HD set and has never seen HD in his home!!!!!

It's all in the budget really, I've even considered taking my DTC-100 over his house but he doesn't have a VGA or RGBHV input and without those or the RCA or Audio Authority transcoder we're SOL.

So I told him about TWC here in Cincy and the HD offerings they have. I had him check with Insight and at the time he checked they didn't have HD to offer. I'll have to let him know.

I guess it should be time to upgrade antennas. I actually have the mounting already on my roof from the previous owner and the copper ground wire is already run from the mount. I really only use the DTC-100 for comparison. I actually watch all of my HD through TW, it's more convenient and with my rabbit ears I get frequent dropouts. I guess after my lil review, I should opt more for the DTC because it offers a better picture overall.

I think if I did upgrade to a roof mount, I'd get just about everything offered in the Cincy area. I'm in Springdale, near Tri-County mall and I have a nice clearing pretty much all around.

Anybody here doing 720p front projection?

Troy

"Now that's how you supposed to drive!"
Onkyo TX-NR807, Polk LSi15, Polk LSiC, Polk LSiF/X
Troy LaMont is offline  
post #33 of 14426 Old 10-03-2003, 06:39 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Troy..
You might get Cincy AND Dayton. If I can do it from my attic in N. Ky, Springdale ought to be a piece of a cake.. if you're not in a valley.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #34 of 14426 Old 10-03-2003, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
MarcW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Troy LaMont
[b]Hey guys,

I like the way this one is starting off already! I've done some comparison between OTA via the DTC-100 and my newly acquired Pioneer HD box.

Troy,

Since when is TWC using a Pioneer box ? What's the model number on the box ? I'm still using a Scientific Atlanta 3100HD. I was hoping that TWC would eventually upgrade to the Pace DC-550 because it is worlds ahead of the Scientific Atlanta piece of junk.

-MarcW
MarcW is offline  
post #35 of 14426 Old 10-04-2003, 08:44 PM
cmf
Senior Member
 
cmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For a while now. It's a Pioneer Voyager 3510HD (TWC in LA says it's a Voyager 3500HD for some reason). Folks have been having problems hooking up the 3510's DVI port out to some HD sets, including Samsung DLP sets -- see this thread for more info: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=279674
cmf is offline  
post #36 of 14426 Old 10-05-2003, 08:47 PM
Senior Member
 
MarcW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Craig.

I picked up a Pioneer box over the weekend. The picture seems to be a tad on the dark side but so far this box has been much better than the 3100. No more audio breakups, ratio control and the ability to use the guide on HD channels. I'm happy for now =)

-MarcW
MarcW is offline  
post #37 of 14426 Old 10-06-2003, 06:06 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Insight cable update: WCPO-DT has disappeared from the lineup. My subscribing co-worker called and they told him there was a bugaboo with the carriage contract. So, still no MNF in HD for northern KY for the moment (except, of course, for those of us with ATSC receivers .

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #38 of 14426 Old 10-08-2003, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Tell me it ain't so! WLWT-DT has another sub with radar.

Paul

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #39 of 14426 Old 10-08-2003, 06:36 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Oh, NO. There goes the only "pure" HDTV signal in town. On the plus side, they don't HAVE any HD sports for it to ruin.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #40 of 14426 Old 10-08-2003, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Oh, no. My thoughts are :

Might be pretty low-bitrate, though. We'll see what happens during HD Leno/etc. I'll send them a note after I can take a good look at it during some "demanding HD" ...

2002 HD Winter Olympics and 2002 Triple Crown did Look awfully good on WLWT-DT ... Olympics didn't really look much different(if any) on WKEF-DT though -- 51.2 SD sub seemed to be very low bitrate at that time, however.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #41 of 14426 Old 10-09-2003, 01:18 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Say, maybe this is just so there'll be a radar feed to Tall Stacks. I'll see what I can find out unless someone beats me to it.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #42 of 14426 Old 10-13-2003, 03:55 PM
Member
 
who1zep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kentucky Wildcats!
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
INSIGHT LINE-UP ON THE HD CONVERTER BOX

012 - C-SPAN (why is this here?)
750 - HBO HD
751 - Showtime HD
760 - WKRC (CBS)
761 - WLWT (NBC)
762 - WCPO (ABC)
763 - *
764 - KET1
765 - KET2
766 - KET3
767 - KET4 (Annenburg)
768 - CET
769 - CET (HD) (only on occasionally)
770 - CET (PBS kids)
771 - CET (PBS you)
772 - CET Plus
774 - Bravo HD+
775 - ESPN HD
776 - Discovery HD Theater
777 - HD Net
778 - HD Net Movies

COST
Currrent subscribers can get all this (except HBO and Showtime) for an additional $17.90 per month [UPDATE]: digital box ($7.95), HD box ($2.00) and HD Pack (channels 774-778 for $7.95). To get the HBO HD and ShowtimeHD version you need to subscribe to the respective non-HD channel packs at ~$10 each (and pay for the digital box). Insight claims that you only get Bravo HD if you have the normal Bravo channel, but the HD channel comes through regardless.

If you are not a subscriber, basic service is 26 channels at $13.50 + taxes. I subscribe to their classic service (69 channels at $39/mo. + taxes). Taxes are ~$3.

Don't forget the one-time HD installation fee ~$40.

CONVERTER BOXES
They make you take the digital box ($7.95/mo.), but all it gives you is the channel guide, digital music channels 500-534 and their interactive services. The digital box has nothing to do with HD. The incoming cable signal gets split to each box (digital and HD), and each has its separate output to your TV. They refuse to let you have just the HD box ($2.00), citing that their plan is to go to a unified box that will cost $9.95, so you have to take and pay for both boxes [UPDATE].

CABLE AMP
If your signal is split too many times, you may need a cable amp. Insight uses the Electroline models because they can also send a return signal needed for HD. They charge $40 + installation fee. I bought an Electroline EDA 2400 (4 outputs) on ebay and installed it myself.
who1zep is offline  
post #43 of 14426 Old 10-13-2003, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
WhoZep,

FYI, KET4 Has PBS HD/Widescreen per following schedule, Rest of the time it's CPB/Anneburg SD:

http://www.ket.org/dtv/programs.htm

Program Schedule For the other KET program services can be found under the "Watch" section of KET Website.

CET-HD Schedule(As well as schedule for the other WCET/WCET-DT programming services- PBSKids/"CET"/etc) Can be found under "print a schedule" on their website here - Monthly/weekly/etc. :

http://www.cetconnect.org/television/print.asp

Daily CET-HD HD/Widescreen Schedule(When they have it) can be found here:

http://www.cetconnect.org/television....asp?channel=2

WCET-DT HD schedule does show "PBS HD" Scheduled for 9pm tonight, If that's true, It might be HD Demo loop, as that is what is scheduled via nat'l PBS DT2A feed, although WCET-DT has HD timeshifting capability.

-----------------------

All,

Noticed that WXIX-DT is currently off Air -- Funny thing, after sending WKRC-DT a thank you for the HD-one Movie(Fatal Atrraction) Friday Night, I had also sent WXIX-DT a thank you note last night for being such a reliable source of (properly formatted) Fox Widescreen the last couple of weeks! Jinx alert!

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #44 of 14426 Old 10-14-2003, 08:05 PM
Member
 
who1zep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kentucky Wildcats!
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff/Nightwatchman,

If you want a consolidated HD schedule, you should definitely check out Excite

It is customizable to your ZIP code and they have added many of the HD channels added to Insight. See the screenshot below. I have Excite as my home page, and I also get news, favorite sports teams, local weather, TV listings, and a list of my upcoming favorite TV shows (they are the ones colored red, and there is an episode synopsis at the top of my page). It's awesome!!!! By the way, I did not ask Excite to display all the available HD channels (too many public TV subs). I had to use a pretty small Internet Explorer window because the forum only allows a 600x600 image (if it shows up at all - I can't see it in preview).
LL
who1zep is offline  
post #45 of 14426 Old 10-14-2003, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I Think the best one out there is this one, which is what I use :

http://www.titantv.com

Still, sometimes wrong for HD listings, and Especially so where the HD/PBS Widescreen listings from WCET-DT/WCVN-DT/WPTD-DT are concerned. They usually don't follow the national PBS DT2A HD feed which is usually listed via these sites.

Also, WKRC-DT has NEVER listed their Paramount's HDOne Movie Package HD Showings Anywhere that I've seen. When they show them, It's been first or 2nd Friday of month(usually) at 8pm.

This one is wrong sometimes too, but I think it's pretty good as a "one place listing" for HD :

http://www.hdtvgalaxy.com/broad.html

Update: Hmm, interesting .. Took going to TWC Middletown's Digital cable lineup, but Noticed that Excite does have WCET-DT's HD scheudle properly listed tonight, as well as the SD program services from WCET-DT/WCVN-DT. This is the first "listing site" like this I've seen that has! Cool! If only TV guide would put the correct listings for HD In, I wouldn't need to mess with any of this stuff, though.

When I get some time, this might be useful as long as I can add all the HD/DTV channels/Subchannels I can get via my antenna from Dayton and Cincinnati to the "antenna" line up.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #46 of 14426 Old 10-14-2003, 09:01 PM
cmf
Senior Member
 
cmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just blogged about this the other day.

http://www.gearbits.com/archives/000261.html

I've found HDTV Galaxy to be pretty accurate.
cmf is offline  
post #47 of 14426 Old 10-15-2003, 11:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
All..
For what it's worth, I've heard through the 'vine that the HD-One movies on WKRC-DT may be moving to Saturdays. With so much more HD programming on CBS on Friday nights this year than last, I can see that. If they follow the usual schedule, that would make November 8th the next HD One movie.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #48 of 14426 Old 10-15-2003, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks for the info, Doc. I hope Saturday night works for them, since I think "Hack" and "The District" are also usually in CBS HD on Saturday nights. Of course, if I wanted to watch CBS HD if it is happening when WKRC-DT has a HDone movie, I could just flip to WHIO-DT Dayton for the CBS HD ....

Anyhow, according to AVS programming sypnosis(which has allways been accurate before, and is also an excellent place to go for HD programming info) the Nov. HD-one Movie is "Black Rain", And December is "Scrooged"(Bill Murray) :

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=164671

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #49 of 14426 Old 10-15-2003, 03:10 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
WXIX-DT is back up as of 5:10pm 10/15 (that's when I checked. They came up sometime within the last hour) ...although the sound went away during the 5:12 break.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #50 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 05:05 AM
Jon
Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I lost channel 19 (DT-29) over the weekend or early in the week I can't remember but I was wondering is the station NOT broadcasting as I pickup other Cincinnati stations with NO problems?

Thanks for you reply
John
Jon is offline  
post #51 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Jon_E_R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm bumping this back on top so I can get an answer from my fellow Cincy HD users!

Is there a problem with channel 19 (DT)? I can no longer receive any signal whatsoever from this station. Are they off air or do I have a problem?

Thanks,
John
Jon_E_R is offline  
post #52 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 12:40 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Jon..

Sorry, I didn't get the usual e-mail when someone tacks a message onto this thread. But I got your second one.

WXIX reports "problems" with the digital transmitter and they expect to have repairs made by sometime on Friday. It ran for a while, yesterday, and is up, again, right now (although stretched). It only came up a few minutes ago.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #53 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I've got them too at 3pm, signal seems to be strong and solid as "usual". With our luck, they'll probably be back down again though by the time Jon gets to check again. They were down last time I looked 30 minutes or so ago..

It's still stretched, but that's fine with me if they leave it like that so it will be "correct"(I hope at least!) for the Fox programming! Funny thing, I can actaually squeeze it to proper ratio on the Zenith when output at 480p, but can't stretch it if they don't stretch the Fox Programming right without recording, and playing back on my "main HD display" where I can stretch 480i.

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #54 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 01:28 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
It's up, then down, then up.. and I'm seeing a lot of what I take to be "exciter only" operation or just really low power, too.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #55 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 01:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I would think if Jon were reading the rest of the thread, he'd see all the talk about WXIX-DT being down for several days. Even the post prior to his question addressed it.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #56 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Yes --- For a while there they were solid, but with lower readings off receiver's meter than I've ever seen it, with less "DT snow" on 28 with my magic analog TV with wondering AFT. Then, the signal seemed as strong as usual, but the meter was still showing lower readings(perhaps just higher error rate), then they were gone completely. Presently, at 4:50pm, they seem to be putting in their normal, strong signal and "pegging the meter" readings.

Didn't they have problems around this time of year last year as well? Except then, if I remember right it would slowly go downhill over a matter of a week or two, and it looked like what could happen if they were using a weak tube, which if I remember right was replaced ....

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #57 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 03:07 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Probably bought a rebuilt

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #58 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 03:13 PM
Jon
Member
 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Xenia, OH
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for everyone's support!

Paul210....I did read the thread and I did notice DrDon's comment that WXIX was 'UP' but I do NOT see a signal on my rigg so that is why I asked again.

Thanks to the rest of the AVS members for their great support as usual!

John
Jon is offline  
post #59 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 03:39 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,861
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Jeff..

Channel 5 is letting visitors to their booth "try out" doing the weather in front of a green screen. The video? The radar. Explains the subchannel. That's how they're getting it to the booth. Here's hoping it goes away when the boats do.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is online now  
post #60 of 14426 Old 10-16-2003, 05:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Doc,

Thanks again for the info! I certianly wish stations had more bandwidth to work with, or that demanding HD source material really could fit in 14~15mb/s or so without perceivable effects ... Some say it will, even now with the "right encoders" and settings, But as compared to stations giving it everything possible, I certianly haven't seen it yet, and as they say, "seeing is believing"....

Anyhow, Along with the Billy Graham thing on a WKRC-DT Sub last summer, and the WCPO weather channel/etc it does Just goes to show you the "innovative" uses they can find for DTV ... On the one hand, I suppose it's a good thing they are experimenting around with this stuff/etc, I just hope that in the "long run" giving HD everything it really needs will prevail ...

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off