1Likes

post #9451 of 14359 Old 05-30-2008, 03:30 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fleury64 View Post

I just moved to the Cincy area (Florence, KY) and I'm also new to HDTV/digital TV. I'm trying to learn form other threads, but some things have me a bit confused, especially QAM. If anyone can explain that one or point to an explination "for dummies", I'd appreciate it.

I'm getting an HDTV very soon. I was planning to get satellite, but I won't be home enough the really benefit, I decided to stick with OTA and just get basic cable (no set top box). So what I'm wondering is does the basic cable also show the local channels in HD/digital, or do I need an antenna to get those as well in this area?

Just for reference in case it helps, I will soon have a Mitsubishi 65736 DLP TV, an Onkyo TX-SR606 receiver and probably a MAc Mini HTPC with EyeTV. I'm just trying to get the most out of the OTA and cable (as long as it lasts)

QAM is how digital TV is sent on cable systems. Most will send the local channels "in the clear" (unscrambled). When I do a channel scan on my hdtv, I get several hundred channels, but most are scrambled so I get no picture and usually somewhat distorted audio. But the local channels come in fine in HD.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #9452 of 14359 Old 05-30-2008, 05:11 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveA28 View Post

QAM is how digital TV is sent on cable systems. Most will send the local channels "in the clear" (unscrambled). When I do a channel scan on my hdtv, I get several hundred channels, but most are scrambled so I get no picture and usually somewhat distorted audio. But the local channels come in fine in HD.

So does that mean I don't have to bother getting and digital antenna and toggling between it and the cable to get the local HD channels? That would be great, and save me money spent on an antenna!