Cincinnati, OH - HDTV - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I found an excellent map at radio shack on fields ertle road that showed all of hamilton / butler / warren counties with the type of antenna needed. I would imagine a radio shack on the west side would have the same thing. - This map took into account topo and other features.

jim


Quote:


Originally posted by 0ctane
New to the lists, and relatively new to Cincinnati. I am thinking about getting a HDTV setup (haven't decided if I want it through my PC yet or not). I live on the west side of town, pretty close to the BestBuy in Westernhills, and I was wondering if anyone else was in this area of town. OTA NTSC reception is pretty poor at my house (using a RCA ANT1250 amplified indoor antenna on SDTV). Before I commit to a big chunk of cash I would like to know how good the ATSC reception is in the hills. Antennaweb says I am yellow (if I say there are no big trees) or red (some big trees). Anyone live out this way?

jim tressler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
hopefully it will also take care of the damn jitter too!

jim

Quote:


Originally posted by rcweiss
Latest from WXIX engineering :

Fox network has installed the splicer system at WXIX and the new satellite antenna is scheduled to be installed this week. If everything goes as planned we will be able to pass through the FOX 720p programming, begining sometime in September.

Seems to be moving.

jim tressler is offline  
post #993 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 01:50 PM
Member
 
hpm123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by DrDon
Weasel..

Head and shoulders above last year in PQ. I'm seeing breakups, but so is everybody, so that's obviously not you. But the PQ is considerably better. No pixelation during the spinning NFL logo like last year. GOOD JOB!


Let's me add my SINCEREST of thanks for the vastly improved PQ of the local CBS feed for this past weekends football game...absolutely downright gorgeous picture compared to last years... me so hoppy ....thanks Weasel!!
hpm123 is offline  
post #994 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 05:25 PM
Newbie
 
PrivatePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cincinnati(Clifton,near U.C.)
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCPO HD.....Monday Night Football......the world is good!!

Sorry,this is my first HD set and football season just rolled around...getting a great signal.Now it's time for some popcorn....
PrivatePixel is offline  
post #995 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Still no 5.1 audio though, but the video is fantastic.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #996 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
PrivatePixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Cincinnati(Clifton,near U.C.)
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm forcing 5.1 with my reciever,sounds great.
PrivatePixel is offline  
post #997 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 06:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i think wcpo-dt looks a little jaggy tonight - not near as good as two weeks ago
jim tressler is offline  
post #998 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 06:47 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They could still be adjusting things since there move to the new facility which would explain the missing 5.1 audio. Comparing WKRC-DT over WCPO-DT in picture quality I'd say WKRC-DT is better.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #999 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i hope so - last weeks cbs game was fricken fantastic!
jim tressler is offline  
post #1000 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 07:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Microbob..

WCPO-DT hasn't had DD 5.1. It's on the after-the-move "to do" list, but I don't have any idea when it'll happen. I will try to find out.

WDTN-DT DOES have 5.1, however they haven't had 2-1 operating for a couple of days. One has to wonder if some gear got pulled out in anticipation of the network swap in a week.

Doc

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #1001 of 14359 Old 08-23-2004, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok Don thanks...I was able to watch WTDN -DT tonight and the audio sounded like it was out of phase, although the video looked a little sharper and brighter than WCPO-DT.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #1002 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 05:24 AM
Senior Member
 
1450kHz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Beavercreek, OH (heh heh, you said Beaver)
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WDTN was up for MNF last night but for some reason the local commercials didn't show up on 2-1. It's likely if you watch during non-network programming times that all you'll get is a black screen.

I'm not sure what the deal is but probably something odd going on due to the network switch.
1450kHz is offline  
post #1003 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 06:27 AM
Member
 
chrisdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OH
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WCPO-DT looked good when the picture wasn't jumping/bending in & out...anyone else have that problem?
chrisdow is offline  
post #1004 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 06:55 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 218
The only "bending" I noticed was coming from the heat rising off of the field. One of those things HD tends to expose better than SD.

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #1005 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
chris - I noticed it too with the hughes htl-hd - my friend that was watching it as well said the picture looked "digital"

jim
jim tressler is offline  
post #1006 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 07:44 AM
Member
 
chrisdow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OH
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The PQ for the most part was awesome & am really looking forward to the NFL in HD this year!

Any word on DD 5.1 for any of the Cinti-locals OTA yet?

If anyone wants to give an opinion on "best reciever setting" for listening to locals now (stereo only), I'd be interested. I've found using the "pro-logic" setting (3.1?) seems to sound best...i.e. a step below or older than Pro Logic II, true DD 5.1.

BTW, I've seen a few broadcasts (Olympics? -or 24) where the networks say, "available in Surround Sound" --is that just 3.1? R we even getting that passed through? This is the 21st century, isn't it? ^-^
chrisdow is offline  
post #1007 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
directv passes on 5.1 for the olympics (channel 84) - as far as the locals - they are all in dd 2.0 which on my onkyo 600 sounds good in Pro-Logic 2 - not as good as 5.1 - but a lot better than analog DrDon knows more about the 5.1 stuff - supposedly wcpo-dt plans on adding 5.1 later this year - and I would imagine wxix-dt will go 5.1 when the switch is flipped

jim
jim tressler is offline  
post #1008 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Dixon4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Monroe, OH
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

Currently, I am having a friendly disagreement with my father-in-law who states that it won't make a difference if I install an antenna in my attic as opposed to outside. Basically, he thinks it too much to install the antenna outside and believes that I will get the same results if I put it in the attic.

I am located on top of a hill that is actually Butler County's second highest elevation. Nitewatchman believes that a small/medium directional would be sufficient for me. My desire is to receive HD broadcasts from both Cincy and Dayton so I think a rotor is a must if I choose to only install one antenna.

Here are my thoughts:

I think outside would work best but it does get pretty windy up there. Plus, the wife isn't thrilled with the ideas of "putting that thing" up on the roof. However, I want the best reception possible. I suppose a compromise would be to put the atenna in the attic and mount it so that I can put a rotor on it to move it as needed yet not have to worry about it in the weather, wind, etc.

Has anyone done anything like this? How much sigal loss do you think it would cause having it in the attic? (standard shingled roof, vinyl siding)

Thanks for the help!
Dixon4UK is offline  
post #1009 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
based on my limited testing with the sensar 1000 - I lost about 1/2 of the signal when it was in the attic. I based this on the signal meter on the hughes htl-hd box - not that the hughes meter is an accurate portrayal of the true signal strength - but it was 1/2 what it was when it was outside.

jim
jim tressler is offline  
post #1010 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 05:22 PM
Senior Member
 
psm0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
you'd get so much signal bounce in an attic the rotor may not buy you anything. my attic antenna is suspended by ropes & pulleys so I can swing it around from the opening without climbing in
psm0110 is offline  
post #1011 of 14359 Old 08-24-2004, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Studies have shown that placing the antenna indoors reduces signal strength by about 15-20db on average(That is a lot, more than the gain of most "hi-gain" antennas). Oftentimes, a spot near a window facing the towers can be your best bet from indoors. Also, everything within a few feet or so is, in effect "connected" to the antenna and becomes a part of it, changing its characteristics(VSWR for example), and increasing multipath(seen as ghosts on NTSC signals == i.e. "signal bounce" as psm mentioned). The materials your house is constructed of can also be a big factor, but asphalt shingles/Vinyl siding would be about the best you could hope for ... But, for instance -- Stucco contains a metal mesh which as you might guess, is NOT good for reception .. Some types of insulated Glass can also have an effect ... Electrical wiring/etc/etc is likely to have an effect as well ...

For a better explanation, Go here ( http://www.kyes.com/antenna/antennadex.html ) and see the "Attic Antennas - Why not? Section (under #4). Lots of other great antenna info at that link as well.

Now -- Again -- NOT to say an attic/indoor antenna wouldn't work for you -- It might work quite well (we have several folks in Dayton+Cincinnati that are much farther from the towers than you are receiving BOTH Dayton and Cincy from the attic or indoors), But, I wouldn't count on it ... And -- I'd guess Chances are very good you'll have to do a awful lot of "fiddling about" with the antenna -- Especially for Dayton .. Although, if you actually have enough space that the antenna can be rotated around in the attic, I'd think a rotor would make it somewhat easier ---But, still finding a "sweet spot"(moving antenna left or right, back or forth, up or down a few feet can make a BIG difference) where the antenna might work well may still be difficult, and one spot may work good for Cincy, and a different spot for Dayton .. Good idea to carry a small TV (or even better your STB) into the attic with you to see the effect of your adjustments ... ... although, keep in mind YOU are going to be a factor(multipath/etc) if your anywhere near the antenna as well ...

Oh -- If you do go outside -- DEFINITELY make sure you use a sturdy mount, as well as properly ground antenna(per NEC code mast+Coax must be grounded, rotor+control cable doesn't have to be grounded - Also per NEC The Antenna Ground must be bonded(properly - To your main A/C service ground). Under the "How I did it" section of link above is info on how one fellow installed his antenna in a "high wind" area ....

All in all .. If you want -- I'd say try it in the attic/indoors see what you get .. if it doesn't work well enough for you, then move the setup outside ..

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #1012 of 14359 Old 08-25-2004, 08:16 AM
Member
 
upgrade-itis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
any word on Bengals games in HD on CBS? I will be at the Sunday night and Monday night games and of course will tivo them in HD, but I can't wait to see an away game in HD. I think I read somewhere the Jets game opening week is not going to be in HD. Any links would be appreciated.
upgrade-itis is offline  
post #1013 of 14359 Old 08-25-2004, 08:28 AM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 12,503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 218
We only know the first two week's worth of CBS HD games. Doubt that CBS will work much farther forward than that. But a great place to go is the NFL Sunday Ticket schedule at directv.com. They're showing 2 CBS HD games each of the first two Sundays. There's nothing anywhere that indicates, for certain, that CBS will do 3 games the first two weeks.

However, ALL of ESPN's NFL should be in HD, and that includes the Bengals hosting Miami on week 2 (assuming a sellout). Then there's the Monday night game against Denver on October 25th. Again, we'd need a sellout. Dallas on November 7th and Giants on December 26th are FOX games, which would likely be in HD but would also require a sellout. Guess we'd better hope they get off to a great start, huh?

Edit: You might want to look at this post: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...23#post4252023

Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #1014 of 14359 Old 08-25-2004, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Dimitriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last Bengals game on TWC was not in HD
I was disapointed since I had to wait until 11:30pm to watch it.
At least the game itself was worth watching....
Dimitriz is offline  
post #1015 of 14359 Old 08-25-2004, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
CincySaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Loveland, Ohio
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Dimitriz
Last Bengals game on TWC was not in HD
I was disapointed since I had to wait until 11:30pm to watch it.
At least the game itself was worth watching....

That's becuase it was a local origination not a CBS broadcast.
CincySaint is offline  
post #1016 of 14359 Old 08-25-2004, 12:15 PM
Newbie
 
deanhuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this question has already been answered.

I'm in Independence KY (just south of Covington). I live in a single story home that is on top of a large hill. I can receive the local CBS (WKRC) & ABC (WCPO) in HD via my indoor amplified antenna. My goal is to be able to also receive NBC (WLWT) & FOX (WXIX) in HD.

Antennaweb.org reccomends that I get a medium sized directional antenna. My wife is less then thrilled over the idea of an antenna going up outside the house. My current indoor antenna yeilds no signal for WLWT & WXIX. I am contemplating installing an attic mounted antenna (similar to this: hxxp://dubadubaduba.fota.net/antenna/ (sorry but i can't post urls because i'm so new) ) Does anyone on this thread think I will get better results for WLWT & WXIX via the attic install? Is there anyone in my area that currently get WLWT & WXIX? If so, what antenna setup do you have?

thanks in advance
-Dean
deanhuff is offline  
post #1017 of 14359 Old 08-25-2004, 01:39 PM
Member
 
6speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Erlanger,Ky
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm at Rt17 and Rt3035 in south Covington,also on top of a hill,and I use a CM3010 roof mounted.I used a Silver Sensor indoor for a while but I could not pick up WXIX.The 3010 might work for your application,it's listed as large md antenna.You should check their web site http://www.channelmaster.com/ it doesn't look like most antennas so maybe the wife wouldn't mind it.Good luck
6speed is offline  
post #1018 of 14359 Old 08-26-2004, 02:46 AM
Member
 
ClarkeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boone County, KY 2 miles South of CVG North/South Runway
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Keep in mind that that if you are only interested in receiving DTV and not analog, you can use a UHF only antenna. Most good UHF antennas should pick up 10-1 without any problems, even though it is in the VHF band. This allows you to use an antenna with greater gain in less space than a VHF/UHF combo antenna. A channel Master 4228, or the smaller 3021/4221 bowties or the 3023/4028 Yagi would be good choices. You need to look at the size of you attic & attic access. Do you have enough space inside the attic to rotate the antenna to the proper direction? Outside is always better. You will loose at least 50% of you signal inside an attic. It will also increase the probability of ghosts which current STBs have a hard time handling.

Clarke
ClarkeR is offline  
post #1019 of 14359 Old 08-26-2004, 04:40 AM
Newbie
 
deanhuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Independence, KY
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
6speed & ClarkeR, thanks for the responses.

6speed, it sounds like we are in the same subdivision (i'm in fowler ridge also @ 17 & 3035) I'll keep an eye out for your antenna on my way up the hill tonight

anyway, I got a free oldschool directional antenna off a buddies house last night. I guess one person's garbage really is another's gold It's probably about 20 years old. I'd have to assume it qualifies at least as a medium sized antenna. At it's widest point its span is almost 9 feet.

I hooked my newly acquired oldschool antenna up in the basement last night, it yeilds a little bit better reception than my amplified indoor (and that's through 8 inch thick concrete walls) but still no NBC (WLWT) or FOX (WXIX)

My next test will be to put it up in the back yard to see if I can at least get these channels on this antenna outside. Assuming success there, I plan on going into the attic with it. If I'm unsuccessful w/ the outdoor test, I assume my freebie antenna is useless and I will go buy the CM3010 that 6speed mentioned.

thanks
-Dean
deanhuff is offline  
post #1020 of 14359 Old 08-26-2004, 06:55 AM
Member
 
6speed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Erlanger,Ky
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dean, I'm on Gribble about 5 houses from the top,but you can't see the antenna from the road(big part of the WAF!!)the 3010 or Stealthtenna is about 55"-60" at it's widest point,so I'd say at 9' across that antenna is a LD/LM,keep us posted.
6speed is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off