Cincinnati, OH - HDTV - Page 477 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14281 of 14404 Old 10-17-2013, 12:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
They do have a app from late 2012 to move the digital from 47 to 19, but the Analog WBQC 25 CP to move to 19 expired some time ago ..

I don't think WBQC-LD on 47 is displaced/don't think they "have" to move for any reason --- 47 is their digital companion channel, they can stay there if they want and give up the channel 25 allocation ... they just might want to move back, using the analog channel 25 for their future digital channel , but of course since that was displaced per below, hence the newer app to move the digital to 19 ....

having WBQC on 19 and WOTH on 20 could also have other benefits, such as allowing them to more easily share a transmit antenna .... also, co-located(or nearly so) 1st adjacent channel operation works very well with digital(impossible with analog), as we know with stations like WSTR/WCET/WLWT, etc.

Anyway According to info in their latest(2012) application(not Granted at this point) to move WBQC DIGITAL(now on 47) to channel 19, What the previous permit(now expired) to move Analog WBQC from 25 to 19 was about was WBQC analog(actually WOTH-LP before the callsign change - ) - was displaced by WBDT dayton on 1st adjacent channel 26 when they moved their digital from 18 to 26 post transition ..

Note: Edited to improve clarity/to shorten post ...

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14282 of 14404 Old 10-22-2013, 01:44 PM
Newbie
 
ajalogan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I could really use some help. I recently cut out cable TV and I'm trying to use mixture of streaming and OTA solutions to serve our TV needs. I have a Windows 7 PC with a Hauppauge 2250 dual tuner card installed to record clearQAM and ATSC signals. I plugged the Time Warner Cable coax cable in to see if I could receive any TV signals and was able to receive channel 9 and 12 and some PBS stations. But when I plug my rabbit ears in, my signal strength is terrible. My frustration is compounded by the fact that when I plug those same rabbit ears directly into my HDTV, I get all locals and even some Dayton stations. I wouldn't have thought getting reception here in Colerain would be that hard. Something happens when I plug my antenna into my computer and my signal weakens significantly. Does anyone have a similar setup our any suggestions on how I can get all my locals? It would be so much nicer not having to stream our shows with commercials and the delays the networks make you go through to stream from them...
ajalogan is offline  
post #14283 of 14404 Old 10-22-2013, 02:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
gerhard911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You said you "cut out cable TV" but you are still using TWC for clear QAM TV? Do you still subscribe to Lifeline or Basic TV through TWC? If not and you only subscribe to Roadrunner, chances are TWC will eventually put a trap on your line to block the TV frequencies.

Regardless, I believe Media Center can only be configured for a single TV service. In your case I assume it found TWC cable and configured your tuner(s) and channel guide for TWC QAM. I would remove the TWC input and put your antenna input on the tuner card (use a splitter and feed both tuners if you want to watch/record two shows at once).

Rerun Media Center's TV Signal Setup and it should configure the tuner inputs and guide for local OTA (ATSC) reception.

edit - Just looked at the specs for your tuner card and it has an internal splitter so both tuners should work with only a single antenna connection.
gerhard911 is offline  
post #14284 of 14404 Old 11-02-2013, 01:47 PM
Newbie
 
ukwes21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

For some reason I have lost my over the air Fox 19 signal. It's no longer there. Are they having issues?

ukwes21 is offline  
post #14285 of 14404 Old 11-02-2013, 01:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,427
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukwes21 View Post

For some reason I have lost my over the air Fox 19 signal. It's no longer there. Are they having issues?
Im getting it at 58% signal strength which is weaker than normal.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #14286 of 14404 Old 11-02-2013, 01:59 PM
Newbie
 
ukwes21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I live just south of Dayton and usually get 75% so if you are in Cincinnati and are getting 58% something must be going on.

Thanks!

ukwes21 is offline  
post #14287 of 14404 Old 11-02-2013, 02:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,427
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukwes21 View Post

I live just south of Dayton and usually get 75% so if you are in Cincinnati and are getting 58% something must be going on.
Thanks!
yw Im about a mile from the stadiums.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #14288 of 14404 Old 11-10-2013, 04:34 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
watching Beverly Hillbillies on ch. 25-1 the other night and saw a commercial saying retro tv was moving to 25-3 around nov. 26? . Is cozy tv going to 25-1 or something else.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14289 of 14404 Old 11-19-2013, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sea Ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since TWC cut out a few channels from their analog setup, I've found most all of them with my QAM tuner except for the Weather Channel. Anyone know if that channel can be reached on a digital channel and if so which one? WGN was particularly tricky. It was on 9.4

Thanks
Sea Ray is offline  
post #14290 of 14404 Old 11-20-2013, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ThoraX695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cincinnati (Madisonville), OH
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balloonfanatic View Post

watching Beverly Hillbillies on ch. 25-1 the other night and saw a commercial saying retro tv was moving to 25-3 around nov. 26? . Is cozy tv going to 25-1 or something else.

Perhaps this is tied into this contest on their Facebook page. They're giving away (it sounds like at least one) ClearSteam 2V antenna in the next few weeks.
ThoraX695 is offline  
post #14291 of 14404 Old 11-22-2013, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
COZI Tv and RETRO TV are switching channel positions Monday 11/25. This was posted on WKRP Tv Facebook page.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14292 of 14404 Old 11-27-2013, 03:39 PM
Member
 
wkrp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are giving away 25 antennas, good number 25. We will be picking the winners on 12/2/13. We have had some good responses to the question "why would you be thankful for a new Clearstrem 2V antenna" The people at Antenna's direct are helping pick the winners. They were very happy with the give-a-way. We are working on doing something neat for a Christmas give-a-way of antennas also. The reason for the channel switch, one Cozi is adding a lot of new shows in the next couple of months, and two, we added 100,000 more cable subs for Cozi . They carry our 25.1 on channel 189 in Northern KY.
Have a happy and safe Thanksgiving from us at WKRP-TV.

Elliott
wkrp is offline  
post #14293 of 14404 Old 11-27-2013, 11:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mphfrom77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: northern KY
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 222
I'm in for my mother in laws sake. How do I get her a free antenna...lol?
mphfrom77 is offline  
post #14294 of 14404 Old 12-30-2013, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Star 64 WSTR is now in full HD. I noticed that they are showing all of their syndicated show lineup in HD not just MyNetworkTV programming. Have they moved their operations/master control into the local 12 building now?

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14295 of 14404 Old 12-30-2013, 03:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,427
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 404 Post(s)
Liked: 871
Its only 720p but at least its HD. Big improvement.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #14296 of 14404 Old 12-30-2013, 05:16 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It beats what they were doing before, 4:3 with bars on both top and bottom of the screen. 720p is fine for most talk shows and sports programming.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14297 of 14404 Old 12-31-2013, 11:52 AM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Channel 12 10pm news on the cw (12-2) is moving to channel 64.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14298 of 14404 Old 12-31-2013, 12:22 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
They were still showing Law and order last night at 10pm. Probably starts next week. I think Seinfeld from 12.2 is moving over to 64 as well.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14299 of 14404 Old 12-31-2013, 10:57 PM
Senior Member
 
ThoraX695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cincinnati (Madisonville), OH
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by microbob View Post

Star 64 WSTR is now in full HD.

Woo hoo! It's a late Christmas present for the Tri-State! smile.gif
ThoraX695 is offline  
post #14300 of 14404 Old 01-01-2014, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ProjectSHO89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Its only 720p but at least its HD. Big improvement.

720P is adequate for anything HD, about half the stations in the country use it as their HD format.
ProjectSHO89 is offline  
post #14301 of 14404 Old 01-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by ProjectSHO89 View Post
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Its only 720p but at least its HD. Big improvement.

720P is adequate for anything HD, about half the stations in the country use it as their HD format.

 

I usually cannot see any difference between 720p and 1080i.

I guess a person would have to have very sharp vision and sit fairly close to the screen to notice a difference.

microbob likes this.
veedon is offline  
post #14302 of 14404 Old 01-01-2014, 07:56 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now. if WSTR could just add Antenna TV to 64.2. I'd like to see that channel in Cincinnati.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14303 of 14404 Old 01-13-2014, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
bigjon1805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to ask for some help from you guys. I've moved into a new home and am trying to figure out the best configuration for my OTA reception. My old house was easy and I could use rabbit ears and get all of the channels. Those are not performing at an acceptable level now and I need to figure out what to use. The whole house is wired for cable and I can take the existing cable service off of the amplified splitter in the basement and use the coax and splitter for TV distribution. Here is my tvfool.com information: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d5b941f56633ddb I would appreciate antenna recommendations that would be best for my set up. Thanks!
bigjon1805 is offline  
post #14304 of 14404 Old 01-13-2014, 06:35 PM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you want to watch the channels in Yellow on your report? If so, I'd recommend the Antennacraft HBU 33 mounted on a rotor. That will easily obtain every channel in Green and Yellow on your report.
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14305 of 14404 Old 01-14-2014, 09:46 AM
Newbie
 
bigjon1805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think I'm really just interested in the green channels.
bigjon1805 is offline  
post #14306 of 14404 Old 01-14-2014, 02:14 PM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjon1805 View Post

I think I'm really just interested in the green channels.

I use an HBU 22 for a similar situation. Most of my channels are in one direction with a few off by 45 to 90 degrees. All are in Green. You could aim that thing at around 225 degrees and likely catch every Green signal that you have including those in different directions. Won't need a rotor either.
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14307 of 14404 Old 01-14-2014, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ThoraX695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cincinnati (Madisonville), OH
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I don't live too far away from you and my TV Fool report is pretty similar. (Except I have a hill blocking me from receiving any of the Dayton stations reliably!)

I would recommend a ClearStream 2V (the dual loops with the dipole on the back to pick up VHF) or ClearStream 4.
ThoraX695 is offline  
post #14308 of 14404 Old 01-15-2014, 06:12 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Antennacraft u4000 ($32.99) from solidsignal.com works very well also. Here in Sharonville I point the antenna towards dayton and pull in the cincinnati stations on the backside. It even pulls in channel 12 which is a vhf station. http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=U4000&ss=9222 Another antenna I've heard good reviews about is an antenna from mcm electronics in springboro, oh. You point 1 antenna towards cincinnati and 1 towards dayton and you get them all with 1 antenna. I also heard (from mr. antenna who has been installing these antennas recently) that it also receives ch. 12 (vhf station) on the installs that he has been doing.. (http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/30-2430
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14309 of 14404 Old 01-18-2014, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Bubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://blog.aereo.com/2014/01/aereo-announces-launch-date-cincinnati/

Been using it for a week or so now, seems like this may prove useful if they survive the onslaught of lawyers lining up to sue them. I get OTA Dayton stations fine here in Fairfield but have a terrain issue and only get Channel 64 from Cincy.

Anyhow, I find the Windows interface slightly clunky and the Roku gui isn't much better. The showstopper for now is you can't simply turn on a station and watch it, at some point the show ends and you need to acknowledge that, then start the next show manually. This is bad for semi-conscious couch potatoes but they claim this will be addressed sooner rather than later. The DVR functionality works OK but I think the price is a bit much for basically the equivalent of 1 tuner at a time. They nag you to upgrade to 2 tuners and 60 hours of storage ($12/month) instead of the default $8/month 1 tuner and 20 hours of storage.

I think if you hunt around on their site you can get your first month free but you have to setup the payment info. I got 3 months free for "beta testing" (whatever that means) so I'll see what use it is to me when it comes time to pay.
Bubster is offline  
post #14310 of 14404 Old 01-18-2014, 08:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 844
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 54

There is also an Aereo discussion thread over in the HDTV Programming forum.

It's called "Official Aero Discussion Thread", but it does not deal specifically with Cincinnati.

veedon is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off