Cincinnati, OH - HDTV - Page 478 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14311 of 14395 Old 01-24-2014, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
psm0110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not to resurrect an old topic, but why is WKRC the only VHF channel in town? I've been aerial-only for over a decade, but still, having to make special plans just for one station drives me crazy. Sorry, it's a grumpy Friday for me.
psm0110 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14312 of 14395 Old 01-24-2014, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
ADTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St Louis
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by psm0110 View Post

Not to resurrect an old topic, but why is WKRC the only VHF channel in town? I've been aerial-only for over a decade, but still, having to make special plans just for one station drives me crazy. Sorry, it's a grumpy Friday for me.

Ha! You think YOU are grumpy..... wink.gif

There's at least one major VHF station in most cities. I did a back-of-the envelope list a while back and came up with around 90% of the top 100 markets fall into this category.

Tech support for Antennas Direct
ADTech is offline  
post #14313 of 14395 Old 01-24-2014, 02:21 PM
Senior Member
 
cokebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown/ I-75,SR122 interchange.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah it is a little crazy having only that one channel on VHF. With all this snow we've been having I dropped below the threshold for my TV's tuner and I'm getting long dropouts on 12.rolleyes.gif

Shawn
GT - CokeBear
cokebear is offline  
post #14314 of 14395 Old 02-27-2014, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I heard that the fcc was going take away more of the tv spectrum in june 2015 (eliminating current uhf broadcast channels 37-52) is that correct. If that is correct ch 25 would be gone and most of the dayton stations will have to move channels again. I feel sorry for the engineers who have to do this all over again.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14315 of 14395 Old 03-06-2014, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Nitewatchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Middletown, Ohio
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Incentive auction has been delayed until 2015. If enough stations don't participate in that, (sell off/relinquish their spectrum), the whole deal might not even happen .... although, I think you can probably count on a likely future reduction of the broadcast TV spectrum ...

I don't think The rules are set in stone yet regarding the repacking process,(what "channels" exactly will be removed from broadcast TV use/how stations will be repacked into what's left), although I think the FCC has said an R&O on it should be coming soon ....

In any case, the repacking - and what might end up happening along with it - and there are a lot of possibilities -- won't happen in 2015 .... It would likely be several (or more) years after that ... Only the incentive auction part of it is "supposed" to happen in 2015 ...

More info can be found in following thread :

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1216722/avs-official-topic-the-fcc-broadcast-spectrum

Jeff
Nitewatchman is offline  
post #14316 of 14395 Old 03-09-2014, 07:58 AM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balloonfanatic View Post

I heard that the fcc was going take away more of the tv spectrum in june 2015 (eliminating current uhf broadcast channels 37-52) is that correct. If that is correct ch 25 would be gone and most of the dayton stations will have to move channels again. I feel sorry for the engineers who have to do this all over again.

If this scenario plays out then look for stations in the upper end of the UHF band to move to the lower UHF band or even into the lower VHF band. I don't think very many stations will simply go dark if they have to relinquish their frequency. That was not the case when Channels 52 to 69 vanished.
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14317 of 14395 Old 03-09-2014, 03:10 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I think the plan is to use MPEG4 which is in the new ATSC2.0 standard they are working on and is supposed to be backwards compatible with existing equipment and Television sets. ATSC 3.0 is not and would require new digital tuners . Sinclair, owners of WKRC and WSTR has its own transmission method they are developing as well. I'm not sure how this will play out either.


Here is more info on ATSC 2.0

http://www.tvtechnology.com/article/tv-tomorrow-atsc--advances/221069

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14318 of 14395 Old 03-10-2014, 11:00 AM
Member
 
eherberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think the compatibility of ATSC 2.0 with existing sets is only assumed to be for Smart TV's, correct? And even then -- only those that could take a firmware update for decoding of OTA signals?
eherberg is online now  
post #14319 of 14395 Old 03-10-2014, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would think TV's made in the last year or two could be upgraded via firmware regardless if it is smart capable or not.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14320 of 14395 Old 03-10-2014, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,421
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 400 Post(s)
Liked: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by microbob View Post

I would think TV's made in the last year or two could be upgraded via firmware regardless if it is smart capable or not.
Youre right. At the least nearly all new tvs have a USB port that can be used to update them.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #14321 of 14395 Old 03-14-2014, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Bubster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond 007 View Post

Youre right. At the least nearly all new tvs have a USB port that can be used to update them.
Simply because it has the port doesn't mean it can update. My USB ports are for playing video files.
Bubster is offline  
post #14322 of 14395 Old 03-16-2014, 03:14 PM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here have any experience using a Chimney mount for their TV antennas? If so, I'd like to hear how they work, what Brand of mount you are using and the kind of antennas it is holding?
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14323 of 14395 Old 03-17-2014, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WILWRadio View Post

Anyone here have any experience using a Chimney mount for their TV antennas? If so, I'd like to hear how they work, what Brand of mount you are using and the kind of antennas it is holding?

Yes, I've been using a chimney mount since about 2003. I actually bought two mounting kits. They use two straps per kit. I wanted to be sure it wasn't going anywhere so I used 1 1/2 kits, so I'm using a total of three straps. I was just rooting through the garage to find the model but the box seems to be hiding somewhere. I believe it is this kit. It is holding a ChannelMaster 3671 deep fringe UHF/VHF/FM antenna and rotor. I have two 5' masts; the first comes out of the chimney mount and holds the rotor. The second comes out of the rotor and holds the antenna. I'm not using any guy wires. The whole setup has been rock solid for the past 10 years now and we've had some pretty serious wind events during that time. I keep an eye on it, thinking it's gonna move but it hasn't budged.

Paul

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #14324 of 14395 Old 03-18-2014, 06:29 AM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the into Paul. I am going to look into this then. My antenna will be smaller than the 3671 at least to start.
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14325 of 14395 Old 03-18-2014, 06:30 AM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul210 View Post

Yes, I've been using a chimney mount since about 2003. I actually bought two mounting kits. They use two straps per kit. I wanted to be sure it wasn't going anywhere so I used 1 1/2 kits, so I'm using a total of three straps. I was just rooting through the garage to find the model but the box seems to be hiding somewhere. I believe it is this kit. It is holding a ChannelMaster 3671 deep fringe UHF/VHF/FM antenna and rotor. I have two 5' masts; the first comes out of the chimney mount and holds the rotor. The second comes out of the rotor and holds the antenna. I'm not using any guy wires. The whole setup has been rock solid for the past 10 years now and we've had some pretty serious wind events during that time. I keep an eye on it, thinking it's gonna move but it hasn't budged.

Paul

Forgot to ask. How tall is your chimney and how far apart do you have these three straps spaced?
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14326 of 14395 Old 03-19-2014, 03:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WILWRadio View Post

Forgot to ask. How tall is your chimney and how far apart do you have these three straps spaced?

It extends approx. 4 feet above the roof line. The straps are about 1 foot apart.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #14327 of 14395 Old 03-19-2014, 07:06 AM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for posting the photo. This gives me an idea of what I can do on my roof.

My chimney is smaller though I think it is probably about 3 feet tall. I am not living in the house yet and have not had a chance to get measurements on the roof. Only eyeballed the thing from the ground. Since I am using a smaller, lighter antenna I figure (after seeing your photo) I can still get by with 10 feet of mast even if the strapped part of the mast to the chimney is only 2 to 3 feet high. Will plan to use at least 3 or 4 of these straps then. I already have one of the same CM straps you mentioned and will go out and get another.
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14328 of 14395 Old 03-19-2014, 09:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WILWRadio View Post

Thanks for posting the photo. This gives me an idea of what I can do on my roof.

My chimney is smaller though I think it is probably about 3 feet tall. I am not living in the house yet and have not had a chance to get measurements on the roof. Only eyeballed the thing from the ground. Since I am using a smaller, lighter antenna I figure (after seeing your photo) I can still get by with 10 feet of mast even if the strapped part of the mast to the chimney is only 2 to 3 feet high. Will plan to use at least 3 or 4 of these straps then. I already have one of the same CM straps you mentioned and will go out and get another.

There really was no method to my madness for buying two mounting kits at the time other than they were cheap, so why not. I'm far from an engineering type. It just seemed that with an antenna so big, it should be held up there by more than two straps.

That antenna is a total waste of space and weight anymore since they aren't using low VHF. But it seems counter-productive to replace it for no reason other than its size. It receives very well, even if it is only using the front half.

By the way, those straps are probably more than a foot apart, but you can kinda figure it out from the picture. The lower mast is 5'.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #14329 of 14395 Old 03-19-2014, 08:14 PM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Paul. Only a few VHF low stations still exist. But my guess is if the UHF band is gutted again, we'll see more stations move back down to the VHF band including VHF low.
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14330 of 14395 Old 03-25-2014, 07:57 PM
Member
 
WILWRadio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Paul. What Rotor are you using with that Channel Master antenna?

Also, I see you are in Dayton. What markets do you receive on a daily basis? Cindy and Dayton? Columbus?
WILWRadio is offline  
post #14331 of 14395 Old 03-26-2014, 07:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 675
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by WILWRadio View Post

Paul. What Rotor are you using with that Channel Master antenna?

Also, I see you are in Dayton. What markets do you receive on a daily basis? Cindy and Dayton? Columbus?

The ChannelMaster CM9521A, although I don't know if I can recommend it. I burned up my first motor and ended up having to buy a replacement. http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=CM9521A&ss=78478

I'm northwest of Dayton (near Englewood) and I can get all the Dayton/Cincy normal broadcast stations from one heading. Columbus stations are intermittent and usually fade during the day.

Panny Plasma Junkie: TC-P50VT20, TC-P50G15, TH-42PX60U
Paul210 is offline  
post #14332 of 14395 Old 03-31-2014, 03:09 PM
Member
 
ScottA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mason, Ohio
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All,

I am moving from Mason to Maineville soon and would like to know the options of TV and Internet providers. What I've found so far is:
  1. Satellite TV or OTA (no internet)
  2. TW Cable for TV and internet
  3. CenturyLink for internet

Does anyone know of other options for TV and/or internet? We just got Fioptics in Mason so I hate to return to TW but it looks like the best option right now.

Any and all advice welcome.

// Scott A
ScottA is offline  
post #14333 of 14395 Old 03-31-2014, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jim tressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Depending on where in Maineville - Fioptics is out here. I have Fioptics 20mb internet and it is great. I tried TV and it wasn't quite ready for prime time. We are FTTN (Fiber to the Node). With TV we cap out at 60mb. The biggest problem was the picture would glitch every few minutes - most likley a problem with their delivery and the ZTE boxes. Hopefully it will improve down the road.
jim tressler is offline  
post #14334 of 14395 Old 06-10-2014, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Live Well shutting down on 9.3 WCPO. I hope we get Antenna TV as a replacement.

http://www.tvnewscheck.com/article/76896/no-life-left-in-live-well-network#.U5YumHynb5E.facebook


ABC-owned digital subchannel Live Well Network is shutting down in January 2015 after nearly six years in operation, according to an email sent to staffers this morning by Rebecca Campbell, president of ABC Owned Television Stations, and Live Well Network Vice President Peggy Allen. They are shifting their over-the-air strategy to local programming, likely a news channel.

“We are announcing today that, after careful consideration, we are going to discontinue operating the Live Well Network, effective mid-January 2015,” they wrote.

Live Well Network is cleared in 64% of television homes, including 23% of homes on ABC Owned TV Stations in markets including New York, Los Angeles and Chicago.

It has set itself apart from other subchannels by airing original content such as travel show Sweet Retreats with Rene Slyer, rather than local weather or classic TV shows or movies as many other digital over-the-air channels do.

“Despite Live Well’s tremendous accomplishments in distribution and original programming, we made a strategic decision that our priority must be local content, and we want to maximize our investment in our core local news brands in the digital space,” Campbell and Allen wrote.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14335 of 14395 Old 06-10-2014, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its probably going to be a local 24 hr. headline news channel similar to ( WRTV ch.6-2 in Indianapolis - their subchannel is called HTSN - Hometown Sports and News Network). If this is their plan I hope ch.9 does a better job than they have done updating the maps on the weather tracker channel 9.2 because sometimes their computer locks up (especially on the weekends) and the national maps and the temps can be days old before they realize it and reboot the computer.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14336 of 14395 Old 06-10-2014, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You might be right about that since WRTV is owned by the same company Scripps. I would think they could dump 9.2 weather and replace it with News Traffic and weather on the same channel. 9.3 could be used for another service as what their GM stated today. They are also adding a 4PM newscast to replace Ellen who moves to WLWT this fall.



http://www.cincinnati.com/story/tvandmediablog/2014/06/10/ellen-degeneres-wcpo-tv-wlwt-tv-scripps/10294269/

Brogan also is looking for a new digital multicast network to replace ABC's Live Well Network on Channel 9.3.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14337 of 14395 Old 06-23-2014, 11:46 PM
Member
 
dtv_junkie87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Well, we all know what network WCPO WILL NOT choose for a replacement, per below:

WSTR to get getTV on a subchannel soon:

http://www.tvtechnology.com/news/008...tations/271009

Ironically, my hometown has getTV on KSTR 49-2! So, that makes getTV a "superstar" network!

dtv_junkie87
dtv_junkie87 is offline  
post #14338 of 14395 Old 06-26-2014, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
cokebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown/ I-75,SR122 interchange.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WLWT? Suddenly lost channel lock. Are they down for anyone else?

Shawn
GT - CokeBear
cokebear is offline  
post #14339 of 14395 Old 06-26-2014, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Greater Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokebear View Post
WLWT? Suddenly lost channel lock. Are they down for anyone else?
I lost wlwt signal as well. I tried resetting he channel but still received no signal
Dumb TV is offline  
post #14340 of 14395 Old 06-26-2014, 07:48 PM
ATM
Member
 
ATM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea on why WLWT isn't on the air?
ATM is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off