Cincinnati, OH - HDTV - Page 479 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14341 of 14363 Old 06-26-2014, 06:53 PM
ATM
Member
 
ATM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
transmitter down: http://www.wlwt.com/news/wlwt-overth...6672274#!4zadN
ATM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14342 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 04:58 AM
Senior Member
 
pjpjpjpj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wife's gonna be angry.... missed her recording of "Last Comic Standing"....
pjpjpjpj is offline  
post #14343 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 08:02 AM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You'd think they would've had a backup transmitter ready to go on standby.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14344 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 11:11 AM
Member
 
dtv insider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Germantown ohio
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by microbob View Post
You'd think they would've had a backup transmitter ready to go on standby.
The problem is not the transmitter, but the transmission line from the transmitter to the antenna.
dtv insider is offline  
post #14345 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dtv insider View Post
The problem is not the transmitter, but the transmission line from the transmitter to the antenna.

I can understand the down time then. Hopefully the weather will not cause further delays.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14346 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called ch5 today. Problem not going to be fixed till Monday. They are trying to get ch48 to allow them to use a sub
channel to get them thru the weekend.

Last edited by Balloonfanatic; 06-27-2014 at 12:25 PM.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14347 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 07:34 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balloonfanatic View Post
Called ch5 today. Problem not going to be fixed till Monday. They are trying to get ch48 to allow them to use a sub
channel to get them thru the weekend.


They are on 9.3 WCPO as of this evening. Picture is in SD 480i but better than nothing for those who do not have cable or satellite.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14348 of 14363 Old 06-27-2014, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by microbob View Post
They are on 9.3 WCPO as of this evening. Picture is in SD 480i but better than nothing for those who do not have cable or satellite.
Thank you Tom tally and channel 9. Timmy
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14349 of 14363 Old 06-29-2014, 06:14 AM
Member
 
Bearcathalfk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Miami Heights, OH
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not sure that this has been mentioned but it looks like some of the Sinclair stations may finally be getting a replacement for the departed CoolTV from the subchannels. This link specifically mentions that Dayton's WKEF will have getTV by the end of September.


http://www.examiner.com/article/clas...roadcast-group
Bearcathalfk is offline  
post #14350 of 14363 Old 06-30-2014, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearcathalfk View Post
Not sure that this has been mentioned but it looks like some of the Sinclair stations may finally be getting a replacement for the departed CoolTV from the subchannels. This link specifically mentions that Dayton's WKEF will have getTV by the end of September.


http://www.examiner.com/article/clas...roadcast-group


GET TV is on as of this evening on WSTR 64.2 in Cincinnati.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14351 of 14363 Old 06-30-2014, 02:54 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATM View Post



They are back on as of 5:30PM this evening. Signal is a little lower than what is was previously in my area so they may be at a lower power level for a bit.
Nice that The Scripps station, sister of WCPO in Cleveland, WEWS had the 200 feet of cable they needed to get back on the air.


http://www.cincinnati.com/story/tvan...sion/11790471/

-----------
Robert

Last edited by microbob; 06-30-2014 at 03:24 PM.
microbob is offline  
post #14352 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
cokebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown/ I-75,SR122 interchange.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question Weird GetTV glitch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by microbob View Post
GET TV is on as of this evening on WSTR 64.2 in Cincinnati.
Ok I have a weird problem with 64.2 GetTV. I have a Vizio SV470XVT1A and when I tune in to Get if I hit the guide button or the volume button my tv sort of locks up. The guide or volume overlay won't go away and I can't even change the channel any more unless I turn off the tv. If all I do is tune to 64.2 I can keep changing channels as long as I don't do any thing else. It is very strange.

Shawn
GT - CokeBear
cokebear is offline  
post #14353 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 12:42 PM
Member
 
Balloonfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokebear View Post
Ok I have a weird problem with 64.2 GetTV. I have a Vizio SV470XVT1A and when I tune in to Get if I hit the guide button or the volume button my tv sort of locks up. The guide or volume overlay won't go away and I can't even change the channel any more unless I turn off the tv. If all I do is tune to 64.2 I can keep changing channels as long as I don't do any thing else. It is very strange.
This happened to my neighbor also. I had him unplug the tv for 15 minutes to reset the computer.
Balloonfanatic is offline  
post #14354 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
cokebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown/ I-75,SR122 interchange.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balloonfanatic View Post
This happened to my neighbor also. I had him unplug the tv for 15 minutes to reset the computer.
This fixed the problem? What kind of tv does your neighbor have?

Shawn
GT - CokeBear
cokebear is offline  
post #14355 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
ThoraX695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cincinnati (Madisonville), OH
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thumbs up WOTH finally going digital?

From John Kiesewetter's blog: Tower repairs to interrupt WGUC-FM, WVXU-FM, WMUB-FM

Quote:
Elliott Block, WKRP CEO and general manager, says a crew will replace the old WOTH-TV antenna as part of the switch from analog Channel 38 to digital Channel 20. Channel 25 will reduce power for its Retro TV, CoziTV, ThisTV, JewelryTV and America One broadcasts, but remain on the air, he said.
microbob likes this.
ThoraX695 is offline  
post #14356 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 04:08 PM
Senior Member
 
cokebear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Middletown/ I-75,SR122 interchange.
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balloonfanatic View Post
This happened to my neighbor also. I had him unplug the tv for 15 minutes to reset the computer.
I gave it a shot but no dice.

Shawn
GT - CokeBear
cokebear is offline  
post #14357 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThoraX695 View Post



I haven't seen a analog signal on CH 38 in several years. Sounds like they will be moving their digital signal on CH 47 to CH 20.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14358 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 05:49 PM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokebear View Post
I gave it a shot but no dice.

I would check with Vizio and see if there is a firmware update for your model

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14359 of 14363 Old 07-03-2014, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
ThoraX695's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cincinnati (Madisonville), OH
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by microbob View Post
I haven't seen a analog signal on CH 38 in several years. Sounds like they will be moving their digital signal on CH 47 to CH 20.
WBQC is already on RF 47/virtual 25. WOTH still needs to convert from analog to digital on RF 20/virtual 38.
ThoraX695 is offline  
post #14360 of 14363 Old 07-22-2014, 01:18 PM
Newbie
 
mspalacios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Symmes Township, Cincinnati.
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Need recco for OTA antenna alignment/maintenance contractor here in town. I used to use my antenna 8 years ago before going to DirecTV, which I'm now considering dumping. I can't get a few channels after a quick reconnect of the coax and scan, I guess it needs a bit of alignment/adjustment. I'd like to have someone help me troubleshoot and get this back up and running again. I'm in the Symmes/Loveland area. Please PM if you have any reccos or suggestions on who can help me with this. Thanks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
mspalacios is offline  
post #14361 of 14363 Old 07-24-2014, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
William Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Lexington,Kentucky,USA
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a quick note:

I'm retiring from KET effective August 1st, 2014 due to family health issues.

William
William Smith is offline  
post #14362 of 14363 Old 07-24-2014, 10:43 AM
Senior Member
 
microbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Northern KY Greater Cincinnati (DryRidge)
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Best of luck William. I've enjoyed reading your posts on here.

-----------
Robert
microbob is offline  
post #14363 of 14363 Old 07-24-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 11,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Smith View Post
Just a quick note:

I'm retiring from KET effective August 1st, 2014 due to family health issues.

William
Sorry to hear that. Best Wishes.
Bond 007 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off