Hartford, CT - OTA - Page 229 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6841 of 7107 Old 06-04-2011, 09:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by terminal_man View Post

Any chance WFSB will show Craig Ferguson in HD anytime soon?

I doubt it. They told me the reason he is in sd is because of having other programs in hd and not having the capacity to record them all in hd. IOW, they don't really care about his show.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6842 of 7107 Old 06-08-2011, 03:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just notice this ... RTV - Retro TV is back on WSAH !!!

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #6843 of 7107 Old 06-10-2011, 04:14 AM
Member
 
dvwtwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Woodbury, CT
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like WTNH's HD feed finally went from super-mushy to near-pristine this week - noticed it on Monday (Charter Cable). Better late than never - it now looks much, much better. Still plenty of fine artifacting, especially around type, but that type is now nice and sharp. However, audio is still stereo-only. Hope that final modernization is ready to go soon.
dvwtwo is offline  
post #6844 of 7107 Old 06-10-2011, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CKNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 4,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvwtwo View Post

Looks like WTNH's HD feed finally went from super-mushy to near-pristine this week - noticed it on Monday (Charter Cable). Better late than never - it now looks much, much better. Still plenty of fine artifacting, especially around type, but that type is now nice and sharp. However, audio is still stereo-only. Hope that final modernization is ready to go soon.

I noticed that too last night. Video is much sharper. It almost looks as good as WABC from New York. Looks like they also killed one subchannel which was useless WTNH in SD. Hope they fix mushy picture on WCTX now.
CKNA is offline  
post #6845 of 7107 Old 06-16-2011, 04:32 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know if wedw ctv ch49 is off the air, I use get their signal at 90% I only get a slight move on meter now, I'm referring to over the air, not cable, maybe their signal is offline. I can get wsah pretty good here, and further out than wedw. this being the case the last couple of days.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #6846 of 7107 Old 06-20-2011, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
jcr1709's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having problems receiving FOX 61 and Antenna TV 61.1 and 61.2 (Digital 31) lately?

Have always had a signal reading of high sixties to 70's and now no matter where I turn the antenna 0 signal.
jcr1709 is offline  
post #6847 of 7107 Old 06-20-2011, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
RPMcCormick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Springfield MA
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcr1709 View Post

Anyone else having problems receiving FOX 61 and Antenna TV 61.1 and 61.2 (Digital 31) lately? Have always had a signal reading of high sixties to 70's and now no matter where I turn the antenna 0 signal.

Sometimes when this kind of problem is experienced a rescan with your box or receiver may help.
RPMcCormick is offline  
post #6848 of 7107 Old 06-20-2011, 11:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
raoul5788's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cheshire CT
Posts: 686
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcr1709 View Post

Anyone else having problems receiving FOX 61 and Antenna TV 61.1 and 61.2 (Digital 31) lately?

Have always had a signal reading of high sixties to 70's and now no matter where I turn the antenna 0 signal.

I couldn't get either of them or 20.1 last night.

Chip
raoul5788 is offline  
post #6849 of 7107 Old 06-20-2011, 04:31 PM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found out my zenith dtt900 stb was a having a hard time decoding wedw, even with a strong signal. I just plugged my other stb a zenith dtt901, and is decoding fine. it seem that the dtt900 tuner has difficulty with 1 edge or refratcted signals.
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #6850 of 7107 Old 07-20-2011, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
JEM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Samsung SIR451 connected to an RCA 3036 antenna mounted 30' above ground on the back of a detached 2 car garage. I have RG6 running into the house and I am able to point the antenna toward the station via my rotor, but I cannot get a lock on the ABC station at all nor can I get any Springfield stations with the exception of 3.3 which is a rebroadcast of CBS in Springfield from WFSB. What outside antenna's do all of you use and what HDTV OTA set top boxes do you use to get 1080i output via Component not composite video and not HDMI? I know I have to upgrade, but I want to get what works for me. I don't want to purchase a new TV either.
JEM3 is offline  
post #6851 of 7107 Old 07-30-2011, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Keep in mind that WTNH's transmitter location is near New Haven so it will come in from a different direction than the Hartford stations. We could tell more about the signals at your location if you post your TVFool results. I find WTNH much easier to get here in Mystic than any of the UHF stations but you may have a hill blocking the New Haven direction. Probably not too many people are using set top boxes since all TVs made in the last few years include ATSC tuners. You have what looks like a good antenna. Depending on your actual signal strengths you might benefit from a preamp.
John
ctdish is offline  
post #6852 of 7107 Old 07-30-2011, 10:40 AM
 
nycdigital09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new jersey
Posts: 770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctdish View Post

Keep in mind that WTNH's transmitter location is near New Haven so it will come in from a different direction than the Hartford stations. We could tell more about the signals at your location if you post your TVFool results. I find WTNH much easier to get here in Mystic than any of the UHF stations but you may have a hill blocking the New Haven direction. Probably not too many people are using set top boxes since all TVs made in the last few years include ATSC tuners. You have what looks like a good antenna. Depending on your actual signal strengths you might benefit from a preamp.
John

I can receive wvit and wcct in the evening most of time. i find that tnh is pretty easy to receive and wedw is my strongest station even better that nyc stations.

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...3e47a47eff306a
nycdigital09 is offline  
post #6853 of 7107 Old 08-24-2011, 06:27 PM
Member
 
Light-O-Matic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else noticed that Channel 59.3, the WTNH weather radar channel, has vanished? Argh! Don't they realize there's a hurricane coming? How will I know when it gets here?

I hope this is temporary.
Light-O-Matic is offline  
post #6854 of 7107 Old 08-24-2011, 07:09 PM
Senior Member
 
KML-224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you get WVIT-TV 30-2 at your place? It constantly loops the satellite and radar imagery.
KML-224 is offline  
post #6855 of 7107 Old 08-24-2011, 08:19 PM
Member
 
Light-O-Matic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but I liked 59-3 for some reason. It was simple and straightforward.
Light-O-Matic is offline  
post #6856 of 7107 Old 08-26-2011, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did WTNH-DT drop its subchannels?

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #6857 of 7107 Old 08-26-2011, 06:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
It would seem that way. (I got a TSReader update today.) Probably in preparation to add Bounce TV next month.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #6858 of 7107 Old 08-27-2011, 01:34 PM
Member
 
cutthecable's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Longmeadow, MA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yip. Just as we get a hurricane coming our way 59.3 weather channel is dropped. Also noted the WTNH 8.x subchannels are blank.

Bounce TV.... interesting to say the least.

Trip do you know if we have any other subs coming to the Hartford CT DMA
? Retro TV etc. I heard that NBC is pushing there own subs to their affiliates in LA and other metro areas. Looks like some major networks see a market opportunity to use the sub channels.

Cutthecable
http://www.tvictory.com
cutthecable is offline  
post #6859 of 7107 Old 08-27-2011, 02:01 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
If WVIT hasn't already replaced NBC Plus with Nonstop, then Nonstop is coming. Otherwise, I haven't heard of anything else on the way.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #6860 of 7107 Old 08-28-2011, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
KML-224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's still their weather thingy on WVIT-TV 30-2 and Universal Sports on 30-3.
KML-224 is offline  
post #6861 of 7107 Old 09-08-2011, 11:48 AM
Member
 
terminal_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colebrook, CT
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed WFSB is finally showing Craig Ferguson in HD.
terminal_man is offline  
post #6862 of 7107 Old 09-23-2011, 08:08 AM
Member
 
sisson_dog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: West Haven, CT
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's been a while since I've checked out this forum and I'm wondering if the tech from CPTV is still posting here? My question is whether CPTV is still contracted to broadcast TV Guide On Screen program data or if they are having any technical difficulties transmitting it. I have several TVGOS devices that have not received data for a few days now. I originally thought this was the fault of Comcast , but after checking the OTA feed I don't find the data stream there either. Any insight would be appreciated.
-Doug

UPDATE: My mistake. I was looking at the wrong service menu. There is guide info on the OTA channel. This is a Comcast issue.
sisson_dog is offline  
post #6863 of 7107 Old 09-23-2011, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
cheneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sisson_dog View Post

It's been a while since I've checked out this forum and I'm wondering if the tech from CPTV is still posting here? My question is whether CPTV is still contracted to broadcast TV Guide On Screen program data or if they are having any technical difficulties transmitting it. I have several TVGOS devices that have not received data for a few days now. I originally thought this was the fault of Comcast , but after checking the OTA feed I don't find the data stream there either. Any insight would be appreciated.
-Doug

UPDATE: My mistake. I was looking at the wrong service menu. There is guide info on the OTA channel. This is a Comcast issue.

I just posted this question on the Comcast thread. I'm having the same problem on my 3 Sony DVRs. One of them acquired digital 45-1 (Ch. 24), another I had to force to do find VBI data from the same channel but the third does not have an antenna connected so I may be out of luck if Comcast has decided to kill this analog retransmission....
cheneyp is offline  
post #6864 of 7107 Old 09-28-2011, 05:02 AM
Member
 
MrBruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norwich, CT. USA
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to see WJAR 10.1 RF 51.1 from Providence R.I. has replaced RTV on 10.2 with a better choice, they now carry MeTV on 10.2 RF 51.2.

Much better programming line up!

http://metvnetwork.com/

Bruce.

DTV DX Fanatic
MrBruce is offline  
post #6865 of 7107 Old 09-28-2011, 08:29 AM
Senior Member
 
KML-224's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now if I could pick that up here in New Britain? The only station from that market I've ever received is WPXQ-TV (ION) channel 69. That's only because of their transmitter being near the Connecticut line!
KML-224 is offline  
post #6866 of 7107 Old 09-29-2011, 08:00 AM
Newbie
 
FiveForm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to this forum and thankful that I found it, as I'm new to broadcast TV after getting disgusted with cable TV rip-off tactics and "bundles."

Here's my problem: I'm installed a chimney mounted Antennacraft® HD850 Heavy-Duty VHF/UHF/FM Antenna from Radio Shack. My cable run is about 35 feet from antenna to TV and I'm using a direct cable connection to two TV sets.

One set is a new Sony 40" LCD Bravia and the other is a Viewsonic 24" LCD. All channels (I get around 20) come in great on both sets, EXCEPT WVIT Channel 30.1 NBC. The Sony receives this channel great with no issues, BUT the Viewsonic refuses to see the channel (and only this channel).

Initially, I thought the issue was with the cable run to the Viewsonic either being too long or that electrical interference, etc., was to blame. Not the case, since when I move it to the cable feed for the Sony it still doesn't pick up Ch 30, even after numerous attempts to scan and re-scan channels.

I suspecting that this is a tuner issue with the Viewsonic, but it is receiving 3.1, 8.1, 40.1, 57.1 very clearly, so it is not a UHF issue. Hope someone has insights which can help me.

Thanks!!!
FiveForm is offline  
post #6867 of 7107 Old 09-29-2011, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
You should provide your location. It's hard to know the cause of your problem without knowing the signal strength you are getting. Possibilities are I could think of is the Viewsonic might less sensitive on just channel 35 due to internal noise on that channel or more likely it just can't handle multipath as well as as the Sony. For the multipath try reaming the antenna some and see if you can find a better pointing angle. Moving it up or down may also help. If none of your channels are too strong a preamp might also help.
John
ctdish is offline  
post #6868 of 7107 Old 09-29-2011, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 47
After Irene, I was home and my parents didn't have cable, so I rigged up my little indoor amplified antenna to the TV's internal tuner, and from Madison I somehow was able to pick up WVIT, WTIC, whatever our CW channel is, WEDH, and a couple of others, which was rather shocking! I also managed to get WTNH, but it was a lot harder than I thought, and involved wedging the rabbit ears against something to get it to not block out on me. Somehow the concept of the signals being bit-for-bit the same as Comcast's were lost on them until they saw the picture and were amazed.
BiggAW is offline  
post #6869 of 7107 Old 09-29-2011, 12:50 PM
Newbie
 
FiveForm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks ctdish! Some additional details:

I'm located in Newington, about 10 miles from the WVIT transmitter. The signal strength on the Sony Bravia is very good. The antenna beam plane is about 30 feet up with no immediate obstacles between it and the signal path.

Also, I'm using an RCA signal amplifier/splitter indoors, ahead of both sets. Gain is 10db. I don't currently use a rotator, but am thinking of adding one into the system down the line. Currently I am pointing towards New Haven so I can pull in WTNH Ch8, but I may turn the beam 180 degrees to point more to the north, as 40.1 is also ABC and is in the Springfield area. This will give me a better general direction for WFSB, Fox 61, and WVIT Ch 30.
FiveForm is offline  
post #6870 of 7107 Old 09-29-2011, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
First thing to try is to replacing the amplified splitter with a passive splitter. Most cheap splitters introduce distortion and cause more harm than good to the signal.
John
ctdish is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off