Hartford, CT - OTA - Page 233 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6961 of 7107 Old 05-03-2012, 10:42 AM
Member
 
vssman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naugatuck
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see CPTV put up Create on 24.4 with a crawl that states it's for a technical test. No audio on my Sony XBR960 but there is on my Viewsonic. Hepefully they'll fix the audio and keep the channel (or content at least)...

Still no audio on 8.2 as well

vssman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6962 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Wet1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wet1 View Post

Guys I'm down in Clinton (on the shoreline) and have had enough of paying $75/mo. for Comcast's crap service. I think I've finally desided to cut the cable and just live with OTA. I have older sets and basically know next to nothing about what I'm going to need to do the switch over.

Doing a tiny bit reading on antennas and looking at the TV Fool report for my house (http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de6531f1a1086f), I think I'm going to order one of the following RCA antennas... ANT751R, ANT3036X, or ANT3038XR (not sure what the difference is between the last two). I just want to make sure I can get WFSB (NBC), so any recommendations would be great.

Also, what else will I need? I understand I'll need some type of STB for converting the digital signal, correct? If so, what should I be looking for? Comcast just sent me some digital converter boxes for their change over, but I assume these are not the boxes I need for the OTA digital conversion, correct?

Anything else that I'll need to pick up other then the antenna, mount, wire, and some type of STB?

I'm really looking forward to telling Comcast to stick it!

Thanks!!!

Guys, any input on antenna selection???
Wet1 is offline  
post #6963 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 06:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WoW - Analog TV is still alive in Springfield, Mass

Due to last nights conditions, Last night I decided to
look at Analog TV, and I picked up
Ch.34 - WTXX
Ch.50 - WDMR

Not to forget DTV, I picked up
Ch.51 - WJAR (DTV Ch. 10) from PROVIDENCE, RI

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #6964 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 09:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
wet1,
Your signals from Hartford are moderately weak especially WFSB (CBS) so I would go with a large UHF antenna like the 91XG or the CM 4228. Since you have some very strong stations I would also suggest a low gain preamp like the HDP-269. You might need to add a small VHF high band antenna to get WTNH.
John
ctdish is online now  
post #6965 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Does any one live around mystic CT I was wondering on the reception in my area? I am looking to purchase an OTA antenna shortly. Although if I input my address into antennaweb.org they only list 3 stations. If I to to antenapoint.com.



I can see 19 stations within 60 miles. antennaPoint suggested this antenna

Name: ClearStream2
SKU: C2
Range: 1 - 50mi
Pattern: "Multi-Directional"
Location: "Indoor / Outdoor"
Channels: "UHF 14-69 "
Gain: 10.2 dBi
Dimensions: 20.0"L, 20.0"W, 20.0"H

Would it be wise to do to the clearstream4 or I am not going to receive channels to many websoite tell me different information. Some stations are VHF hwhich means I need another antenna to get the VHF.

Thanks

Dave
dave67 is offline  
post #6966 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 11:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Dave,
I live in Mystic and it is very difficult to get reliable reception here. We can get a better indication of what is at your location if you post TVFool results.
John
ctdish is online now  
post #6967 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the record I do not understand this info from TVfool need hep with this. I will see if I an past the results on here I tried a HTML link and it said i have to have 3 posts first. I will have to paste in in the four post.
dave67 is offline  
post #6968 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 01:06 PM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a prepost for a link to TVfool
dave67 is offline  
post #6969 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 01:06 PM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the link of my results

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de659006c78113

thanks dave
dave67 is offline  
post #6970 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Dave,
You could probably get the two Ion stations with a simple UHF antenna like the Clearstream. It might also get WEDN but a small VHF high antenna would get a stronger signal. A decent size VHF high antenna mounted above the roof would probably receive WTNH most of the time. To get reliable reception from the rest of the network stations from Hartford will probably require stacked UHF antennas mounted on a tall tower.
John
ctdish is online now  
post #6971 of 7107 Old 05-07-2012, 07:28 PM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what is a stack of UHF antennas really?

A stack of UHF antennas wood most likely not be allowed in my neighborhood. the HOA wood say it is a eye sore most likely. Not sure one antenna would not get attention.

Never ask them yet but I bet I know the answer. though all this for 4 channels maybe others are mostly like to weak. Well, I wanted to know for sure before I purchased one. I do not think it is work the money for 4 channels. I always live in the bad areas.

now am a little depressed it will pass.


Thanks
dave
dave67 is offline  
post #6972 of 7107 Old 05-08-2012, 09:57 AM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will see where I live in CT in the future maybe I will have better luck.
dave67 is offline  
post #6973 of 7107 Old 05-08-2012, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctdish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mystic,CT,USA
Posts: 1,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Dave,
Stacked antennas are several of the same type of antenna with the outputs combined to increase signal level. As has been said in many other posts and probably a few court cases, as long as you own the location of the antenna HOA rules are completely preempted by FCC rules that allow TV antennas.
If you want try something at your location I have a couple of antennas you could borrow.
John
ctdish is online now  
post #6974 of 7107 Old 05-08-2012, 03:57 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If it's your private home (not a common area of a condo building), HOAs can not restrict OTA antennas and can't even require a permit or permission to install one.
arxaw is offline  
post #6975 of 7107 Old 05-09-2012, 05:04 PM
Newbie
 
dave67's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Mystic CT
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did not now this the FCC law with OTA, I will look that up. But I was looking at the channels from Providence RI and maybe I could receive those and not worry about Hartford CT. I was studying the channel list and how far each station is but I am still unsure. My other half would not want me to spend to much on a system. I could not install it I am afraid of heights. my house has vary steep sloping roof.

I had a analog TV antenna with a rotator in Ohio back in 1985 ish and I got many stations with that and I just purchased it, and this house was one story. I lived I the lowest part of my small town down a hill behind the court house.

I got most of the stations from Dayton OH and a few from Richmond Ind which is not a big deal the city was 20 miles away from me but had 3 channels did I say small town. I search for antenna cost an I can pickup one for a better price on amazon than antenna direct.

I would need to get another turner card for my DVR/PC but that is easy . I use the one now for comcast and digital adapter which if it was not for the FCC would be charging $5 per month for.

I might borrow one of yours to see if i can get any stations. This may help me decided.

I have look into FTA satellite and FTA has two satellites that I like the channels on and these seems to not vanish like the other statons on FTA but this is all in research yet.

Dave
dave67 is offline  
post #6976 of 7107 Old 05-09-2012, 07:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
arxaw is offline  
post #6977 of 7107 Old 05-09-2012, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Dominic26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 428
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
We own our home although the whole sub is an HOA. I knew the law coming in and put up my antenna, tastefully. It was brought up at the HOA meeting and they wound up having to change the bylaws. The irony: The one who brought it to the board, now has a D* dish on his house. And the way his property sits, it had to be mounted on the side at the front corner. LOL

As long as it is not on common area, you can legally put it up. Just do it neatly.

BTW, that whole area is tough. John you came by my place in Westerly (near the airport) about 5 yrs ago and we tried for hours with little to show. That was tough getting reception. I always felt the whole shoreline area of Washington and New London Counties was left out in the cold for reception.
Dominic26 is offline  
post #6978 of 7107 Old 05-11-2012, 10:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Found the perfect antenna for you

http://hudsonvalley.craigslist.org/ele/3000564130.html

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #6979 of 7107 Old 05-11-2012, 12:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
arxaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 10,909
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WOW, those are gold.
arxaw is offline  
post #6980 of 7107 Old 05-23-2012, 09:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vssman View Post

Lost the audio again on 8.2 on my Sony XBR960...

Audio should be back on 8.2

I have never had audio on 8.3, but who cares
the picture quality is so poor

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #6981 of 7107 Old 05-23-2012, 10:18 AM
Member
 
vssman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naugatuck
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, audio has returned to 8.2

No, audio is still out on 24.4
vssman is offline  
post #6982 of 7107 Old 05-23-2012, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Keith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vssman View Post

Yes, audio has returned to 8.2

No, audio is still out on 24.4

Atleast 24.4 has a Crawl stating they are testing

Enjoy,
Keith
Keith is offline  
post #6983 of 7107 Old 05-29-2012, 01:23 PM
Member
 
vssman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naugatuck
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally I have sound on 24.4! It started a couple of days ago.
vssman is offline  
post #6984 of 7107 Old 06-21-2012, 11:54 AM
Member
 
JamesCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Northeast CT
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CPTV issued this statement on their Facebook page on 1 June:
Quote:
CREATE UPDATE: Due to equipment failure, CPTV has concluded its testing of 4 programming streams (CPTV-HD, CPTV4U, CPTV Sports and CPTV Create). Diminished signal quality and equipment can not support 4 quality programming streams at this time. Our programming department is currently in the process of finalizing scheduling adjustments on CPTV and CPTV4U that will accommodate some of the Create programming. These changes will be in place by the beginning of July. To receive more information about the scheduling changes once they are final, please send us a Facebook message with your email address or send an email to audiencecare@cpbn.org. Thank you for continuing to bear with us during this time of transition.

Do they actually employ engineers there who can add 1080 + 480 + 480 + 480 and see that this is more physical bandwidth than is allocated on a single channel?
JamesCT is offline  
post #6985 of 7107 Old 06-22-2012, 07:31 PM
Senior Member
 
W1KNE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: East Providence, RI
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesCT View Post

Do they actually employ engineers there who can add 1080 + 480 + 480 + 480 and see that this is more physical bandwidth than is allocated on a single channel?

How do you figure, let's crunch numbers here:

Program 3 @ 12mbps w/ 384k audio for surround, 1080i, + Program 4 @ 2mbps w/ 128k audio stereo, 480i + Program 5 @ 2mbps w/ 128k audio stereo, 480i, + Program 6 @ 2mbps w/ 128k audio stereo, 480i, + 200kbps for guide data and PSIP = 18.968mpbs w/ 422kbps of "stuffing" = 19.39mbps. Oh gosh, you're right, it doesn't add up.

(The above values are set at CBR w/ 1 day of guide data)

I hate it, with a passion, when people try to arm-chair quarter back engineering for a station, and trash the station's engineering staff. I've seen it on these forums time and time again. You can make a point without attacking a station's engineering staff.

I know some of the engineering staff at CPTV, and they do a fine job. They probably tried to stat-mux the 4 program streams , like what WGBX in Boston does, but determined that anytime you have an SD stream running below 3 mpbs, especially a sports channel, it looks lousy.

--Mike Fitzpatrick
Broadcast Engineer

Put your boots on folks, it's getting pretty deep in here!
Note: opinions and advice given here are mine and mine only.
W1KNE is offline  
post #6986 of 7107 Old 06-26-2012, 06:40 AM
Member
 
vssman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Naugatuck
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by W1KNE View Post

... but determined that anytime you have an SD stream running below 3 mpbs, especially a sports channel, it looks lousy...

Good point, That's why they should consider dropping CPTV sports and go back to Create on 24.3. I know of no one that watches CPTV sports. I now watch very, very little of CPTV's programming. Their main channel seems to only have re-runs of re-runs on 'specialty' shows several years old. There's only so many times that one can watch the Irish Tenors, Andre, Etc... Even Autrailian Pink Floyd is getting a bit old...

OK, I'll get off the soap box now...
vssman is offline  
post #6987 of 7107 Old 06-27-2012, 05:57 AM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just want to say that I have seen a great improvement in today's latest TV tuners. I have a new Panasonic TV and it replaces a 4 year old one. Same antenna, double bow tie 2 feet above gutter on a ranch, just south of Hartford, pointed at Springfield. A scan got me CH 8 off the back. I gave up on 8 but now it may be a possiblity. Also 26, 43,and a 25. Not watchable, but with aiming who knows. I'm surprised it did not find 59, but I did not work at it. Anyway much better results over the years with no antenna change. I'm impressed.
100/40 is offline  
post #6988 of 7107 Old 08-24-2012, 01:01 PM
Member
 
KEVINL71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New Britain, CT
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The problem where I am in New Britain? Even if I had a brand new roof antenna installed on the roof itself (instead of the attic where we once had one), I'd still have to deal with signals in at least 4 directions (Farmington, Avon, Hamden and Montville). I'm near the bottom of Walnut Hill and close to the hospital. I've always had problems with Avon Mountain, especially in the analog days (I used to get channel 8 in better than 3 most days). WFSB-TV on channel 33 is usually there, but WUVN-TV on channel 46 is still a bit choppy. I would guess my house is about 180' ASL. The top of Walnut Hill is about 500' maybe. frown.gif
KEVINL71 is offline  
post #6989 of 7107 Old 09-23-2012, 03:27 PM
Member
 
terminal_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colebrook, CT
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know what WFSB is doing with their subchannel that used to be a Springfield affiliate? I see listings but for the past week it's been blank for me.
terminal_man is offline  
post #6990 of 7107 Old 09-24-2012, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
tampa8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Tampa/Eastern Ct
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Lol, when I asked similar type question about WTNH awhile back reply was to go somewhere else and ask like the engineer of the station..... The answer is that 3.2 Springfield will no longer be off the WFSB transmitter. It is only on Ch21 off the tower in Wilbraham Mass. I do not know what WFSB plans to do, if anything.
Before I even realized it was gone, I thought the PQ had improved for 3.1......
tampa8 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off