Hartford, CT - OTA - Page 238 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 7117 Old 08-14-2014, 05:53 PM
Member
 
lucasland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasland View Post
according to the amazon page it is a VHF/UHF antenna. http://www.amazon.com/Esky-Controlle...dp/B00D74GRGM/

I think next time I would like to try a omni/multi directional antenna. know a top of the line one to get or what company makes good ones? I wasn't too impressed with this Esky antenna
i'm interested in the following 2 antennas. anyone have any experience with them?

Winegard MS-2002 HDTV Antenna
http://www.amazon.com/Winegard-MS-20.../ref=pd_cp_e_3

LAVA OmniPro HD-8008 omni-directional HDTV Antenna
http://www.amazon.com/LAVA-OmniPro-H.../dp/B00EPP5ZSS
lucasland is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 7117 Old 08-15-2014, 06:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasland View Post
according to the amazon page it is a VHF/UHF antenna. http://www.amazon.com/Esky-Controlle...dp/B00D74GRGM/

I think next time I would like to try a omni/multi directional antenna. know a top of the line one to get or what company makes good ones? I wasn't too impressed with this Esky antenna

You should plug your location into TV fool and have a look at what that shows in terms of pulling in CH8 from your exact location. As for the antenna, sadly a lot of that is trial and error, but if you have no amp on it, this might be worth a try (buy at Rat Shack and don't make a mess of the package, keep your slip etc.). It may well be you need to spend $90 or so like I did for a deep fringe UHF/VHF and an $20 amp. Also be aware terrain can play a role. From the shoreline, most if not all of us can not pull in Ch3 Hartford because of some hilly terrain in the way and that could be a killer for you on Ch8 also. Unless and until they bulldose that (ha-ha), no antenna available will help unless it is on a 300 ft tower. Do be sure you have your antenna oriented also, as a few degrees can matter. Rotator is of course the ideal on that.
sgbroimp is offline  
post #7113 of 7117 Old 08-15-2014, 08:12 AM
Member
 
lucasland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgbroimp View Post
You should plug your location into TV fool and have a look at what that shows in terms of pulling in CH8 from your exact location. As for the antenna, sadly a lot of that is trial and error, but if you have no amp on it, this might be worth a try (buy at Rat Shack and don't make a mess of the package, keep your slip etc.). It may well be you need to spend $90 or so like I did for a deep fringe UHF/VHF and an $20 amp. Also be aware terrain can play a role. From the shoreline, most if not all of us can not pull in Ch3 Hartford because of some hilly terrain in the way and that could be a killer for you on Ch8 also. Unless and until they bulldose that (ha-ha), no antenna available will help unless it is on a 300 ft tower. Do be sure you have your antenna oriented also, as a few degrees can matter. Rotator is of course the ideal on that.
can you link the antenna and amp you're talking about?
lucasland is offline  
post #7114 of 7117 Old 08-15-2014, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
sgbroimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: CT Shore
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasland View Post
can you link the antenna and amp you're talking about?
Boy, it was quite a while back, but I know the brand was Antennacraft for the antenna. Not sure about the amp, but I think it was something like a 20 db gain. It is powered so one end gets hooked into the coax at the TV and right there needs to get AC also. Other part goes on the antenna. The RS dealer ought to be able to show you all this and, again, if you don't mess up the packing too bad and keep your slips, you can test and take back if NG. I did not buy the deepest fringe antenna and in fact it is installed in the attic of my garage as we do not like the look outdoors and only use it as emergency back up to cable. Can you perhaps walk your neighborhood and see if someone has an antenna up and ask if they pull CH8? A little gutsy, but might help.
sgbroimp is offline  
post #7115 of 7117 Old 08-15-2014, 05:21 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here's where I'm at. My son lives in Stratford. No Cable. This is on the house with amp.
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...ce=google_base
Came with the house and they don't want cable. NYC stations with CH 8 coming in from the back, probably due to location.Well it quit. Probably the amp. On the peak of a colonial. Son says I'm too old, perhaps true, and he doesn't like heights. I ordered this
http://www.amazon.com/RCA-ANT751-Dur...ds=rca+antenna
Tried it a home, south Wethersfield, replacing a double bow tie. The bow tie gave me locals plus Springfield, no CH 8. The RCA picked up CH 8 from the side (VHF) which I never got before. No CH 59 which I suspect is on the same tower. My antenna location about 1.5 feet above gutter on a ranch. So off to Stratford. Mounted on an old satellite mount on the chimney. Height about second floor level. Fair reception. 8 OK off the back, probably due to location. Picked up CH 7 (ABC) since this antenna has VHF. Most other channels OK but CH 4 (NBC) in and out. Found out they are on Empire State building as is CH 2, but with less power. Will try to get CH4 solid with this.
http://www.amazon.com/RCA-TVPRAMP1R-...rca+amplifrier


Ordered today.
So you see it's not too cut and dried. If this works out at my son's I plan on getting the RCA antenna for myself. I have cable but use the antenna for emergencies and CH 57 Springfield, which cable does not have in HD, and I like to fool around with this stuff. Good luck.
100/40 is offline  
post #7116 of 7117 Old Yesterday, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
100/40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can someone explain. In my above post about antennas/amplifiers I had posted links to where I got the antenna and amp. The links have changed addresses, both products were from Amazon. WHAT'S UP. Any ideas ? When I look at the post here as I reply, from the posts that are shown, links are as posted, looking on my tablet the links have been replaced. Very weird. This http://www.amazon.com/RCA-ANT751-Dur...ds=rca+antenna became this


http://rd.bizrate.com/rd?t=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.wayfair.com%2FVoxx-Intl-Audiovox-Outdoor-Optimized-Digital-Antenna-ANT751R-L996-K~VOXI1002.html%3Frefid%3DBR49-VOXI1002&mid=175917&cat_id=11510905&prod_id=567210 5509&pos=0&rf=af1&b_id=17&bamt=a5fedf14fd8fec0d&pp r


Help
Just checked the second link change. My link to an amplifier on Amazon is now a link to a memory module at Serversupply.com

Last edited by 100/40; Yesterday at 05:30 PM.
100/40 is offline  
post #7117 of 7117 Old Yesterday, 06:59 PM
Newbie
 
TheWave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My Setup

I live in Trumbull, CT.

I have this antenna installed inside my attic.
http://www.amazon.com/Antennas-Direc...rds=HD+Antenna

I have this amp installed.
http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Amplif...r+Internet+AMP

Pick up CBS, NBC, FOX out of NY with strong signal and comes in crystal clear.

Pick up ABC out of New York and signal is moderate, good picture most of the time with occasional hiccup.

Pick up ABC (WTNH) out of New Haven with strong signal and comes in crystal clear.

I don't get the CW (PIX 11) which is VHF (low power too).

In total, I get 25 channels which I would consider viewable (English and quality picture) but the major networks is all I'm really interested in. The amp made a big difference for me.

I have the antenna coax cable line (out of the amp) feeding into this.
(link not working - search Amazon for "SiliconDust HDHomeRun PLUS 2-Tuner ATSC DLNA/UPnP HD Compatible Streaming Media Player, HDTC-2US")

That connects with CAT5E Ethernet cable to an older PC running Windows Vista (believe it or not) and Microsoft Media Center. HDMI out of the PC to my Home Theatre receiver which outputs to my TV. Media Center acts as my DVR, TV Guide listing, and gives me the ability to pause live TV.

I use this as a Windows Media Center remote control (I actually only use the IR receiver from this because of the Logitech 650).
http://www.amazon.com/Ortek-Windows-...ortek+vrc-1100

I have my TV, Home Theatre receiver, Windows Media Center remote, and Roku all setup in a Logitech 650 remote control
http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmo...s=logitech+650

I have the TV mounted on a wall in the Family room. The home theater receiver, Roku, and HD Homerun are in my basement. PC is in the family room but it could live in the basement as well. All my components are out of sight (I like clean looks). I use this device to transmit the IR signal from the Logitech 650 to the components in my basement.'
(link not working - search Amazon for "X10 Powermid PM5900 Remote Control Extender Kit - Includes a Transmitter and Receiver")

For any type of cabling, keystones, connectors use this place. Quality and price are hard to beat.
http://www.monoprice.com

Last edited by TheWave; Yesterday at 07:50 PM.
TheWave is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off