South Bend, IN - HDTV - Page 131 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 37Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3901 of 3923 Old 11-15-2016, 10:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwman1 View Post
I'm again having the same problem with 69-1 that I had earlier.
Yes unfortunately me to. It was working flawlessly. What ever they did to fix it, it didn't last long.

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3902 of 3923 Old 11-16-2016, 12:50 PM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
Yes unfortunately me to. It was working flawlessly. What ever they did to fix it, it didn't last long.

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
You're right, that didn't last long at all. Makes you wonder if it was really fixed the other day.
Timroberts is offline  
post #3903 of 3923 Old 11-17-2016, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
69.1 WMYS seems to be working correctly again. Well at least for now it's working. It wasn't working correctly a few hours ago.

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
 
post #3904 of 3923 Old 11-18-2016, 06:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Here's evidence the weird swapped field interlaced problem on CW25 isn't due to my equipment or the Uverse signal. The CW logo has the problem, but the weather overlay from ABC57 doesn't display the problem.



This follows the same pattern that it only seems to happen on CW network programming. Syndicated programming looks just fine. So something weird is happening with the network feed. I've been seeing this problem for over 2 years now. It effectively makes the image look like 540p a lot of the time.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3905 of 3923 Old 11-29-2016, 09:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Did anyone else experience signal issues while watching Gotham on Fox Michiana 22.2? Last night's episode is the first I've seen that channel just turn to crap. Unfortunately what I saw was on my DVR so I didn't see it live. I did check it a few minutes ago and I was getting about 97%. I suspect 22.2 must have had problems last night.

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3906 of 3923 Old 11-29-2016, 06:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by morphinapg View Post
Here's evidence the weird swapped field interlaced problem on CW25 isn't due to my equipment or the Uverse signal. The CW logo has the problem, but the weather overlay from ABC57 doesn't display the problem.



This follows the same pattern that it only seems to happen on CW network programming. Syndicated programming looks just fine. So something weird is happening with the network feed. I've been seeing this problem for over 2 years now. It effectively makes the image look like 540p a lot of the time.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk
It's fixed! I was still experiencing this just last night, but tonight it appears to be perfect

Finally this problem I've been having over the last two years is finally fixed. Now please stay fixed

(If you had anything to do with with this, @hvs10trk , thanks!)

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3907 of 3923 Old 12-07-2016, 05:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
I just started watching Arrow tonight and there are no voices

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3908 of 3923 Old 12-07-2016, 05:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Okay, it was fixed 13 minutes in

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3909 of 3923 Old 12-07-2016, 05:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Also, the weird interlace issue on CW25 that was fixed about a week ago seems to be back again

Edit: a weather overlay appeared, and the interlace issue was solved. I also noticed the audio is 5.1 now instead of stereo. They must be making some changes.

Sent from my OnePlus One using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits

Last edited by morphinapg; 12-07-2016 at 05:56 PM.
morphinapg is online now  
post #3910 of 3923 Old 03-12-2017, 04:21 PM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Why doesn't WNDU get rid of those annoying sidebars on antenna tv 16.2?

I thought it was for the 16 news rerun but I noticed that doesn't even look like its in HD on 16.2 anyway.
Timroberts is offline  
post #3911 of 3923 Old 03-12-2017, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Its probably in 480i widescreen which a fair amount of affiliates do.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3912 of 3923 Old 04-05-2017, 05:31 AM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I wonder if 'Trip in VA' can fill us in on the Repacking for the South Bend stations. What will happen to WBND and WMYS for example?

https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...0&owner=&sort=

Also I noticed the WSBT wiki page says that 22.3 is the new network Charge! I tried to rescan my TV and I can't get it. Does anyone know if it is really planned?

EDIT: The WSJV page says that Escape is on a subchannel on WSJV. Last I checked 28.2 was the same feed as 28.1.

Last edited by Timroberts; 04-14-2017 at 07:35 PM.
Timroberts is offline  
post #3913 of 3923 Old 04-18-2017, 01:32 PM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The fate of WBND, WCWW, and WMYS is uncertain with the upcoming repack. South Bend and most stations for the Chicago area are set for Phase 6 which is set to be completed in 2019.

South Bend channel repack plan: https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...0&owner=&sort=

Repack Schedule:
https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/fcc-in...ition-schedule
Timroberts is offline  
post #3914 of 3923 Old 04-18-2017, 02:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timroberts View Post
The fate of WBND, WCWW, and WMYS is uncertain with the upcoming repack. South Bend and most stations for the Chicago area are set for Phase 6 which is set to be completed in 2019.

South Bend channel repack plan: https://www.rabbitears.info/repackch...0&owner=&sort=

Repack Schedule:
https://www.fcc.gov/about-fcc/fcc-in...ition-schedule
I don't understand what any of that means.Can you explain?

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3915 of 3923 Old 04-18-2017, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 73
In a nutshell the FCC had an auction where full powered stations could do a few things in return for some money (a lot depending on market size)
-go off the air (sell their station license)
-move from UHF to VHF High (if they were on UHF)
-move from UHF or VHF Hi to VHF Low

or do nothing. This was to chop the upper channel to 36 now (instead of 51).

So the stations that did nothing the FCC has to move RF stations around to "make it fit". So your Full powered stations are all moving to new RF stations in Late 2019. Low powered stations are not protected and there will be a timeframe that they can apply to move to an open frequency.

Now just because a station may have sold their RF station doesnt mean they are leaving the airwaves. Some (most) will do channel sharing with another station (usually one that they already own). Some will channel share with another station in the area. As example where I live (Minneapolis, MN) there is a satellite station of the CBS (WCCO) in the west central part of the market (most of MN is the Minneapolis market according to Nielsen) that CBS sold off for about 10 million dollars. KCCO is an owned and operated station. There is only 3 full powered stations in that part of the state (and one is PBS). Since CBS has said they will channel share the obvious choice is to piggyback on the ABC there (KSAX which is owned by Hubbard Broadcasting).

Its possible Weigel may not be able to keep all 3 of their stations and will channel share (kinda like smaller markets do now where you will have 2 networks on one station.) The only difference is the stations will keep their PSIP
morphinapg likes this.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3916 of 3923 Old 04-25-2017, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,332
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1326 Post(s)
Liked: 827
Anybody else watching Fox Michiana tonight? It's been cutting out a lot tonight (not a weak signal, actual black video and muted audio in portions), and then there have been times where commercials were missing or timed wrong. Just all sorts of problems.

Sent from my A0001 using Tapatalk

Living Room: Sony XBR65X930D, Sony HTCT780, Base PS4, Philips BDP7501
Bedroom: LG OLED55C6P, Denon AVR-X1300W, PS4 Pro, Philips BDP7502, AV.io 4K
Check out my video game movie edits
morphinapg is online now  
post #3917 of 3923 Old 07-01-2017, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
COZI is gone from WHME 46.2 now. It is now ION and Light Tv. I liked Cozi and will miss it.
Timroberts is offline  
post #3918 of 3923 Old 07-02-2017, 06:20 AM
Member
 
alesch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Middlebury IN
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timroberts View Post
COZI is gone from WHME 46.2 now. It is now ION and Light Tv. I liked Cozi and will miss it.
Yeah, COZI was one of my favorites, I'm going to miss it.
alesch1 is offline  
post #3919 of 3923 Old 07-02-2017, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 73
It probably has to due with the Cozi contract being up and LeSea not renewing it. They did the same thing with their FETV station. Cozi programming is gone and they have other programming on it now.
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3920 of 3923 Old 07-02-2017, 11:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Someone needs to put a bug in the ears of management for WNDU about Cozi TV. It would be nice if they picked it up as their second sub, besides isn't Cozi an NBC owned network anyways?

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
Phoenixfury is offline  
post #3921 of 3923 Old 07-02-2017, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
unclehonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 73
While NBC owns Cozi WNDU is owned by Gray Television. Gray has agreements with other diginets. There is only one station Gray owns that has Cozi and that is in Springfield, MO and is a continuation of when Schurz owned the station (KSPR/KYCW).
unclehonkey is offline  
post #3922 of 3923 Old 07-12-2017, 10:38 PM
Member
 
Timroberts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Valparaiso
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixfury View Post
Someone needs to put a bug in the ears of management for WNDU about Cozi TV. It would be nice if they picked it up as their second sub, besides isn't Cozi an NBC owned network anyways?

Sent from my LG-V521 using Tapatalk
I agree with that. If COZI did end up on 16.3 I would hope they don’t put a bunch of writings and patterns in the sidebars on the screen like they do with 16.2. Sorry, but I can’t stand how they do that. I get both Chicago and South Bend stations and WNDU is the only station that does that. 5.2 Cozi on WMAQ does not do that, they have the sidebars blank and it is much less distracting while watching the shows on there. If WNDU adds Cozi they should do it exactly like it is on WMAQ.
Timroberts is offline  
post #3923 of 3923 Old 07-28-2017, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phoenixfury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've been trying to figure out the weird formatting of WCWW 25.2 This Michiana. The Wikipedia page for This TV says that the network is broadcast on both 16x9 and 4x3 SDTV. On my TV or more specifically on my Channelmaster DVR+, when I turn to this channel I see a black bar to the right. My DVR just stretches anything that's formatted 4x3 by default which normally fills the 16x9 screen. However in the case of This Michiana I'm seeing a black bar to the right by default. I got the screen format button to make it 4x3, I get wide side black bars that make the image appear much skinnier than it should be.

Now here's the weird thing that has me scratching my head. You would think if I leave the screen 16x9 stretched by default that round objects like the MGM logo would appear squashed and wide, but it is a perfect circle on my screen. Next time I see the MGM logo on This Michiana, I'll get a picture to show this.

I'm wondering if This TV is available in 16x9 aspect ratio, why isn't This Michiana locked to that aspect ratio like the subs on 57 and 69?

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

Last edited by Phoenixfury; 07-28-2017 at 11:36 AM.
Phoenixfury is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off