South Bend, IN - HDTV - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 3757 Old 04-25-2007, 10:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
justalurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michiana, South of the Border
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cable subs not eligible to win.

Hmmm ... I wonder how long I can leave my tuner set on channel 49 waiting for a signal (although I'm really looking for 27). It will be interesting to see how well WBND-LD works on the channel next to WHME-DT. Digital adjacent to analog seems to work well ... analog adjacents not so well.

Foxbat, you're nominated to stalk (er "watch") the site for activity, since you are closer.
(Mike Lang and I are further away, in opposite directions.)
justalurker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 3757 Old 04-26-2007, 01:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by justalurker View Post

Foxbat, you're nominated to stalk (er "watch") the site for activity, since you are closer.
(Mike Lang and I are further away, in opposite directions.)

LOL

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #903 of 3757 Old 04-26-2007, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Dakanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC in HD hmm dont know if i can handle all those college football games in HD i may have to pace myself ....
Dakanez is offline  
post #904 of 3757 Old 04-26-2007, 01:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakanez View Post

ABC in HD hmm dont know if i can handle all those college football games in HD i may have to pace myself ....

Breathe Dakanez, breathe.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #905 of 3757 Old 05-11-2007, 06:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
Foxbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Michiana
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't suppose there is any chance that WBND-DT will be on the air for the Indianapolis 500, is there? http://www.indy500.com/news/story.php?story_id=8798

Didn't think so...

--Roland
Foxbat is offline  
post #906 of 3757 Old 05-11-2007, 07:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
justalurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michiana, South of the Border
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not unless the race is rain delayed until August.
justalurker is offline  
post #907 of 3757 Old 05-13-2007, 07:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat View Post

I don't suppose there is any chance that WBND-DT will be on the air for the Indianapolis 500, is there? http://www.indy500.com/news/story.php?story_id=8798

Didn't think so...

Nope. Sorry.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #908 of 3757 Old 05-14-2007, 06:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
lmacmil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I typically watch WSBT OTA because my Moto cable box will freeze randomly on ch 189. Lately, the signal quality seems very poor. I'm watching the last King of Queens and the audio is choppy and sometimes the picture freezes. As I type this the screen went completely black for a second. Anyone else having these kinds of problems?
lmacmil is offline  
post #909 of 3757 Old 05-14-2007, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kirby Baker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: White Pigeon, MI
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had OTA issues with WSBT for about 2-3 days now. Wasnt sure if it was my antenna or not, but it would seem not. It appears as if my signal strength is about 20 points lower as well.
Kirby Baker is offline  
post #910 of 3757 Old 05-16-2007, 07:10 AM
Member
 
thedamaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've also seen drop outs on WSBT over the last couple days. I have three separate tuners in the house and all are acting the same. If my antenna needs a tweak I can still usually watch on my Samsung box as it seems to be more sensitive than the Dish OTA tuners.
thedamaja is offline  
post #911 of 3757 Old 05-19-2007, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Tool2Die4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can anyone recap in layman's terms what new channels are coming late summer? ABC in hi-def, and some others in lo-def?
Tool2Die4 is offline  
post #912 of 3757 Old 05-19-2007, 05:33 PM
Member
 
hedgehog77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the story with WNDU's zoom/crop on the 4:3 stuff? Is that a local call or does NBC do that everywhere?
hedgehog77 is offline  
post #913 of 3757 Old 05-19-2007, 06:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
justalurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michiana, South of the Border
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool2Die4 View Post

can anyone recap in layman's terms what new channels are coming late summer? ABC in hi-def, and some others in lo-def?

Coming to what? If you are talking about over the air reception (an antenna) we expect The CW 25 and ABC 57 to be in high definition (same feeds Comcast HD subscribers see) by August and MyTV 69 to be in high definition about a month later. The standard analog versions of these channels will remain on the air - this will give the HD versions to any viewer with an antenna and a digital tuner.
justalurker is offline  
post #914 of 3757 Old 05-19-2007, 06:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
justalurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michiana, South of the Border
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hedgehog77 View Post

What's the story with WNDU's zoom/crop on the 4:3 stuff? Is that a local call or does NBC do that everywhere?

It is a local call. Someone at WNDU thinks that HD viewers expect the screen to be filled with picture so instead of using their channel for one high quality digital feed and allowing the viewer to decide how to stretch it, they reduce the quality of the HD feed to make room for a lower quality SD feed. When I complained a couple of years back I was told that if I wanted an unstretched picture I should view the SD feed.

No one else in the SB market is doing this stretch. CBS (WSBT) and FOX (WSJV) both do a straight upconvert of all their SD programs when HD is not available (with WSBT managing to run two subchannels without the problems seen on WNDU). PBS (WNIT) runs an independent HD/SD service (all HD on the HD channel, local SD on the SD channel - again without WNDU's problems). Independent WHME (Lesea Broadcasting) has only an SD feed on their digital broadcast.

As noted in my post above, the other three networks are going to have HD only feeds ... no wierd stretches ... in a couple of months.

Perhaps the new ownership of WNDU will reconsider the actions of the old and stop this practice.
justalurker is offline  
post #915 of 3757 Old 05-20-2007, 08:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Foxbat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Michiana
Posts: 625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justalurker View Post

It is a local call. Someone at WNDU thinks that HD viewers expect the screen to be filled with picture so instead of using their channel for one high quality digital feed and allowing the viewer to decide how to stretch it, they reduce the quality of the HD feed to make room for a lower quality SD feed. When I complained a couple of years back I was told that if I wanted an unstretched picture I should view the SD feed.

JL, I, too, asked about this years ago and pretty much got the same answer. At the time, though, 4:3 sets were the norm, and WNDU indicated that the 16.2 was to provide them (4:3 set owners) with the SD feed, but with "digital quality". In other words, bit-starved and affected by MPEG compression artifacts...

I think 16.1 would be greatly improved if WNDU's owners would pony up the $$$ for a new HD encoder. I believe they have been running with the same encoder since WNDU-DT went on the air. I think it is also time to cut 16.2 and devote the full ATSC bitstream to 16.1.

Last Thursday night was ridiculous. WNDU was asleep at the HD switch and the whole evening's HD lineup was presented in 14:9 Stretch-o-rama.

--Roland
Foxbat is offline  
post #916 of 3757 Old 05-20-2007, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
justalurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Michiana, South of the Border
Posts: 1,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat View Post

Last Thursday night was ridiculous. WNDU was asleep at the HD switch and the whole evening's HD lineup was presented in 14:9 Stretch-o-rama.

It wasn't just last Thursday ... I wonder if stretchvision is confusing the master control operators?

Personally I consider stretchvision a fraud on the viewer and appreciate stations that do not participate in the fraud. Knowing that there are non-decision makers reading these threads that may consider that an insult I'll stop there. I know what it is like to be the guy that has to do something that is against my judgement but is the decision of someone above me.
justalurker is offline  
post #917 of 3757 Old 05-20-2007, 04:05 PM
Member
 
hedgehog77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justalurker View Post

Perhaps the new ownership of WNDU will reconsider the actions of the old and stop this practice.

I think we all need to chip in and buy WNDU a VP50.
hedgehog77 is offline  
post #918 of 3757 Old 05-21-2007, 08:58 AM
Member
 
thedamaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by justalurker View Post

It wasn't just last Thursday ... I wonder if stretchvision is confusing the master control operators?

Personally I consider stretchvision a fraud on the viewer and appreciate stations that do not participate in the fraud. Knowing that there are non-decision makers reading these threads that may consider that an insult I'll stop there. I know what it is like to be the guy that has to do something that is against my judgement but is the decision of someone above me.

Not to mention that the 14:9 aspect they are using not only gives you a stretched picture but the black bars are still present.

I just don't see the point.
thedamaja is offline  
post #919 of 3757 Old 05-21-2007, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
morphinapg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedamaja View Post

Not to mention that the 14:9 aspect they are using not only gives you a stretched picture but the black bars are still present.

I just don't see the point.

Actually if you have an older HDTV that has more overscan than newer tv's (like older CRT HDTVs) then the black bars don't show up. I used to have an old 1080i CRT and there were no black bars.

Although I don't like their decision to do the 14:9 aspect, I think they're trying to minimalize overburn on some TVs.
morphinapg is offline  
post #920 of 3757 Old 05-30-2007, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
We're still shooting for 8/1 for WCWW/WBND-DT. (Pending weather and delivery delays). We've gotten some new equipment for our transmission path to the transmitter site so far.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #921 of 3757 Old 05-31-2007, 08:20 PM
Administrator
 
Mike Lang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 11,717
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Thanks for the update.

Mike Lang
Administrator
Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.
Join the
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and help support the site. Help Support
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Mike Lang is offline  
post #922 of 3757 Old 06-01-2007, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Tool2Die4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone hooked up an HDTV tuner in their PC and gotten the QAM channels via comcast? if so, what's the trick? my card/program won't tune to them.
Tool2Die4 is offline  
post #923 of 3757 Old 06-03-2007, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tool2Die4 View Post

has anyone hooked up an HDTV tuner in their PC and gotten the QAM channels via comcast? if so, what's the trick? my card/program won't tune to them.

Well your computer card has to have a QAM tuner. I'd look up the specs on the card. If it has a QAM tuner then you should be able to get in the clear channels from Comcast.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #924 of 3757 Old 06-04-2007, 11:22 AM
Member
 
AuAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CW HD & ABC HD are gone from Comcast?

Used to be 80.3 , 80.4 in my TV, but now I got nothing, still be able to get the other basic HD channels from Comcast though.
AuAu is offline  
post #925 of 3757 Old 06-04-2007, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuAu View Post

CW HD & ABC HD are gone from Comcast?

Used to be 80.3 , 80.4 in my TV, but now I got nothing, still be able to get the other basic HD channels from Comcast though.

You're not going crazy. It's in the process of being fixed.

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #926 of 3757 Old 06-04-2007, 03:15 PM
Member
 
AuAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvs10trk View Post

You're not going crazy. It's in the process of being fixed.


Thanks for let me know. Seems this problem (or the fixing) has been there for at least a week or two, hopefully it will finish soon. NBA final won't be as good if it is only on ABC SD.
AuAu is offline  
post #927 of 3757 Old 06-04-2007, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Brian E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone.
I live in Granger and have Comcast.
I have a couple TVs hooked up with the 3416 HD cable boxs.
I have a 3rd tv in a bedroom that I dont have a HD box hooked up to, but have it hooked up via coax to regular cable. It is a HD tv.
What HD channels can I expect to get without a HD box? Is there a list of HD channels anywhere?
Thanks for the help.
Brian E is offline  
post #928 of 3757 Old 06-04-2007, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuAu View Post

Thanks for let me know. Seems this problem (or the fixing) has been there for at least a week or two, hopefully it will finish soon. NBA final won't be as good if it is only on ABC SD.

Fixed. It's been that way since thursday. (at least that we knew about)

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
post #929 of 3757 Old 06-05-2007, 12:42 PM
Member
 
AuAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvs10trk View Post

Fixed. It's been that way since thursday. (at least that we knew about)


Checked 80.4 last night, still no signal.
So.... I will live without ABC HD and CW HD in the near future?
AuAu is offline  
post #930 of 3757 Old 06-06-2007, 03:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hvs10trk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 1,680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by AuAu View Post

Checked 80.4 last night, still no signal.
So.... I will live without ABC HD and CW HD in the near future?

Well as far as Comcast tells us, it's fixed. Try a re-scan. Maybe the channel mappings changed??

"Celebrating 15 years of searching for new and inovative ways to completely screw up television"

Disclaimer: My opinions are mine and do not represent those of my employer
hvs10trk is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off