Fresno, CA - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1764 Old 05-07-2005, 10:07 PM
Member
 
Klin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kingsburg, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Mr.Poindexter
I watched a little NASCAR on 26 and it wasn't HD. Wasn't it supposed to be?

It wasn't when it was first on. I stopped watching. I turned it on just to catch the last few minutes of the broadcast and it was in HD.
Klin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1764 Old 05-09-2005, 08:46 PM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nanny 911 not in HD although it started out HD (I think). Hoping 24 comes through. Also a couple of minutes of audio silence.

mgh
mgh is offline  
post #543 of 1764 Old 05-09-2005, 09:04 PM
mgh
Member
 
mgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
.
Weird!?!

24 is not widescreen but off to the right off the frame, the FOX bug is partially visible at the bottom.

mgh
mgh is offline  
post #544 of 1764 Old 05-12-2005, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
stickyfingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else watching the Giants / Astros in HD on FSNBA right now (920)?

All the transport controls are locked out while watching on this channel.

Other channels (including HD) work fine, I even went ahead and recorded it, but the transport controls still don't work.

Just my box?

Brian

the sticky is about my crappy blues pickin'...
stickyfingers is offline  
post #545 of 1764 Old 05-15-2005, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by stickyfingers
Anybody else watching the Giants / Astros in HD on FSNBA right now (920)?

All the transport controls are locked out while watching on this channel.

Other channels (including HD) work fine, I even went ahead and recorded it, but the transport controls still don't work.

Just my box?

Brian

At least the game was actually HD. The Yankees/A's game is 4:3 inside the 16:9 window.

Doh!!!
David Ortiz is offline  
post #546 of 1764 Old 05-15-2005, 01:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #547 of 1764 Old 05-15-2005, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's fixed now... whew!

HD Yankees @ A's on 920
David Ortiz is offline  
post #548 of 1764 Old 05-17-2005, 01:44 PM
Member
 
mad62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody else having trouble with KMPH esp. during their primetime programming?

I'm getting a strong signal, but it was completely breaking up so much during "24" last nite that I had to switch to viewing a fuzzy analog picture.
mad62 is offline  
post #549 of 1764 Old 05-17-2005, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any more word when some locals like 47, will pumping out more 5.1 audio?
videoaddikt is offline  
post #550 of 1764 Old 05-17-2005, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Klin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kingsburg, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mad62
Anybody else having trouble with KMPH esp. during their primetime programming?

I'm getting a strong signal, but it was completely breaking up so much during "24" last nite that I had to switch to viewing a fuzzy analog picture.

Man I am so glad someone else is having this problem. I was about ready to go out and buy a new HDTV tuner. I've got anywhere from 3-5 bars on my SIR-T151 and it's been breaking up really bad the past week or so. None of the other channels are doing this.
Klin is offline  
post #551 of 1764 Old 05-17-2005, 09:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
American Idol became unwatchable in HD. House is looking much better, and with 5.1.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #552 of 1764 Old 05-18-2005, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
KMPH has had lots of encoder problems in the past. It was unwatchable for weeks at a time prior to their going HD, back when they were digital but only 480i.

In the 50's when a station had problems (which was not all that infrequent) they'd put up a "technical difficulties, do not adjust your set" card. I wish they could do that now with the digital feeds as I too always wonder if it's my equipment or the station when all these glitches occur.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #553 of 1764 Old 05-19-2005, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Steve S


I wish they could do that now with the digital feeds as I too always wonder if it's my equipment or the station when all these glitches occur.

Same here, especially with regards to my Silver Sensor indoor antenna. But when I receive the other local HD's without moving it, I know KMPH has got problems.
The only other one I sometimes have problems with is KSEE. It is generally stable once locked-in, but the signal strength seems to vary more.
And KGPE has something against broadcasting 5.1.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #554 of 1764 Old 05-20-2005, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
KFSN (30.1) has been 100% 5.1 since spring of '01, but only in the last year or so have they been able to do so without frequent audio dropouts and audio synch problems. I had a station engineer once note that doing 5.1 is very difficult for the encoding and when it screws up it can also ruin picture reception. KFSN seems to have handled it well of late, but KTLA in LA still has the occasional audio glitch.

None of the other locals are doing 5.1 at all, probably can't afford the equipment or are leary of the complexity.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #555 of 1764 Old 05-20-2005, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Steve S
KFSN (30.1) has been 100% 5.1 since spring of '01, but only in the last year or so have they been able to do so without frequent audio dropouts and audio synch problems. I had a station engineer once note that doing 5.1 is very difficult for the encoding and when it screws up it can also ruin picture reception. KFSN seems to have handled it well of late, but KTLA in LA still has the occasional audio glitch.

None of the other locals are doing 5.1 at all, probably can't afford the equipment or are leary of the complexity.

I was sure KMPH was doing it regularly on some programming (not any worse than their video has been recently), and even KSEE. I will have to pay closer attention next time.
It would sure add more impact to CSI, I usually resort to PLII for some semblance of surround.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #556 of 1764 Old 05-22-2005, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
My bad, KMPH for sure does do 5.1, don't recall seeing any on KSEE but don't watch that channel often enough to know if they do or not.

I've also had halfway decent results with PLIIx or Logic 7 Cinema for some 2 channel shows, depends on whether the 2 channel has Pro Logic encoding or not. My receiver detects whether or not there's pro logic decoding on 2 channel sources and those that have it definitely get better surround in the PLIIx and Logic 7 Cinema modes than those without.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #557 of 1764 Old 05-22-2005, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Klin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kingsburg, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Star Wars EPII just came on and it's already breaking up. How very annoying
Klin is offline  
post #558 of 1764 Old 05-22-2005, 07:06 PM
Member
 
mad62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klin View Post

Star Wars EPII just came on and it's already breaking up. How very annoying

Same here!!!

We need to all email or phone KMPH cuz I'm not watching the Season Finales of "24" or "House" in SD.
mad62 is offline  
post #559 of 1764 Old 05-24-2005, 06:05 PM
Member
 
jeadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I e-mailed KMPH last week at: "viewercomments@kmph.com" I received a very nice reply and an explanation. I would post the e-mail but their was a legal cannot disclose warning attached. I would urge all KMPH listeners to express their concerns. I live in Bakersfield and put up an antenna specifically for KMPH and last February's superbowl. Hopefully the issue can be resolved soon.
jeadams is offline  
post #560 of 1764 Old 05-24-2005, 08:49 PM
Member
 
mad62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is KMPH working for anyone? Can't get it to work on my Sylvania SRZ3000 DTV tuner, but its coming up using a Sasem Onair USB HDTV device (much like the last time KMPH was "off the air".)
mad62 is offline  
post #561 of 1764 Old 05-25-2005, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Was it just me, or did a some of the locals have an agreement not to do digital last night?
I totally lost 47.1, 26.1, and 24.1. I received analogs fine. I am using an indoor ant. but losing 3 at the same time was most unusual. KMPH was the least surprise....
videoaddikt is offline  
post #562 of 1764 Old 05-29-2005, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Klin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Kingsburg, CA
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KMPH-DT is still breaking up quite a bit. This nascar race is barely watchable. I sent them an email but didn't get a response. Typical
Klin is offline  
post #563 of 1764 Old 05-30-2005, 08:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
KMPH use to be very stable but now it is like you said almost unwatchable with all the breakups. Signal quality is very good. I wonder what the problem is.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #564 of 1764 Old 06-13-2005, 03:19 PM
Member
 
meltedcheez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone! This my first post in this thread. What would you guys say is the best HD channel you receive and see the most difference on. I have to say is KVPT 40-2. PBS's True HD channel looks great. I don't watch PBS very often but I have to say sometimes the picture just pulls me in no matter what the programming is. Anyways, I think KFRE and UPN need to get in gear and start broadcasting in something better than 480i. UPN's sound is awful!
meltedcheez is offline  
post #565 of 1764 Old 06-19-2005, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I haven't been able to get KVPT 40.1 or 40.2 over the air since last Thursday or Friday, anyone else?

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #566 of 1764 Old 06-20-2005, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
PBS is has got their P-SIP(?) working they are now mapped to 18-1 & 18-2.

Whats up with KMPH I wanted to watch NASCAR yesterday and found out that their HD was down.
DrewM is offline  
post #567 of 1764 Old 06-22-2005, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Mach1_8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hanford
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Hey all. Been watching this thread for a while. Anyone have word on Comcast's latest plans to go digital with their analog channels? Any word on Fox? I know patience is a virtue but I guess I'm all out...

Dyin' ain't much of a living, boy...
Mach1_8 is offline  
post #568 of 1764 Old 06-22-2005, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Thanks Drew, found 18.1 and 18.2 this morning. oddly the program info is still on 40.1 and 40.2, the remapped listing just shows "regular programming" so I guess they didn't really master the psip after all.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #569 of 1764 Old 07-03-2005, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I recorded sounstage in HD on my LSt-3410a and it was perfect. Any word when kvpt might add 5.1 sound? KMPH appears to be stable again for me I recorded The Inside with no problems. Now that nascar is over on fox they got there signal stable.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #570 of 1764 Old 07-30-2005, 09:57 PM
Member
 
mad62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Anybody else here still experiencing trouble with the KMPH digital signal?

Using my Sylvania SRZ3000 STB, I'm getting a 95% signal, but it's often breaking up during the FOX network programming, resulting in out of sync A/V or the STB locking up.

It is only KMPH I am having difficulties with.
mad62 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off