Fresno, CA - HDTV - Page 24 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #691 of 1774 Old 04-13-2006, 06:41 PM
Member
 
vaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when will direct tv offer hd channels in the fresno area?
vaddie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #692 of 1774 Old 04-14-2006, 01:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
justlnluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the status on Fox-HD being added to Comcast? I've been waiting for over a year now.

Justin
justlnluck is offline  
post #693 of 1774 Old 04-14-2006, 04:29 PM
Member
 
notrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


It looks like channel 36 is now full power. I'm able to tune it in for the first time. Hopefully by the time the CW launches, it will be ready to pass HD and DD 5.1.

Yeah, 59.1 AKA channel 36 does seem to be coming in a lot better. Looking forward to some high-def Giants games, if that's a possibility.

KSEE 24 analog keeps going off the air a lot during the past week though.
notrust is offline  
post #694 of 1774 Old 04-20-2006, 03:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
justlnluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No one else wishes Fox-HD was on Comcast?

Justin
justlnluck is offline  
post #695 of 1774 Old 04-20-2006, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by justlnluck View Post

No one else wishes Fox-HD was on Comcast?

I have a built in HD tuner. :-D

They are in a Pissing match, its all about the $$.
DrewM is offline  
post #696 of 1774 Old 04-24-2006, 10:13 AM
Member
 
vaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is their any info on when direct will offer hd locals?
vaddie is offline  
post #697 of 1774 Old 04-25-2006, 12:58 PM
Member
 
Malo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Porterville,Ca.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thinking of having my SONY KDP-57WS655 HDTV calibrated this summer, any ISF techs in the local area that anybody knows of??? I've been using the AVIA and DVE discs for home set up and she looks good but after reading all the threads of people having their HDTV's cal'ed I'd like to see the TV's full potential.
Thanks John
Malo83 is offline  
post #698 of 1774 Old 04-25-2006, 01:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
John, I have all the equipment and have had most of the necessary training but I haven't completed the ISF class yet. If you are interested, I could do that. My in-laws live in Porterville so I head down there once every few weeks. I could throw in a free touch-up once I get my certification if that would make you feel better. PM me for details.
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #699 of 1774 Old 04-26-2006, 12:40 PM
Member
 
Malo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Porterville,Ca.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mr. P you have mail, what an AWESOME set up your building can't wait to see it finished, keep up the good work and keep the pix coming.
John
Malo83 is offline  
post #700 of 1774 Old 04-26-2006, 12:49 PM
Member
 
Malo83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Porterville,Ca.
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have a current list of all the OTA HD/Digital channels for the valley from Bakersfield to Fresno, i've heard there have been some changes lately.
John
Malo83 is offline  
post #701 of 1774 Old 04-29-2006, 05:23 PM
Member
 
notrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All of the local network stations have digital counterparts (18, 21, 23, 24, 26, 29, 30, 47, 49, 53, 51, 59, 61). Many multicast (18, 21, 24, 30, etc.) You probably know this already.

The only recent changes I have seen is that 47 has added a second non-HD multicast (47.2) that they seem to be testing. For the moment, it's the same programming as 47.1 only with no audio signal.

My antenna is aimed toward the Fresno stations so that's all I can talk about. There may be some new stations towards Bakersfield, but I don't keep up with them because I don't have a rotor needed to tune them in.
notrust is offline  
post #702 of 1774 Old 04-30-2006, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
justlnluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still waiting for Comcast to carry KMPH-D. Come on guys...it's only been a few years now.

Justin
justlnluck is offline  
post #703 of 1774 Old 04-30-2006, 09:51 PM
Member
 
notrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a friendly suggestion: Get an HD set top box and an antenna and ditch Comcast. There's a decent selection of free digital and HD over the air programming, and the signal is probably better than Comcast's.

It's getting so that nearly all the primetime programming and major sporting events on ABC, NBC, CBS, and FOX are broadcast in HD.
notrust is offline  
post #704 of 1774 Old 05-05-2006, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
snatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by snatch View Post

Don't know if this has been posted in this thread yet or not...

Spoke with D* tonight, and was told that our area (central valley) is scheduled to receive the MPEG4 HD-lil upgrade this May. Originally, it was thought it would be the end of this year, and being somewhat skeptical I burrowed my way deeper past CSR's to make sure, and sure enough, May!

Also, I inquired about the equipment upgrades and after once again getting through the CSR's (the first told me I would have to pay $99 to upgrade to the 5 LNB, but that my current HD-Tivo would work, the 2nd was honest and told me she had no idea) I spoke with the installation division and was told that the dish, installation, and new HD-Tivo would all be free. I'm expecting it also to require a programming commitment as well, but didn't ask about that part.

Anyway, exciting news for D* subs.

For further info, give 'em a call Vaddie. However, if at first you don't get the info, ask to speak with someone else that knows. D* has released officially that May is indeed the month for us.

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
snatch is offline  
post #705 of 1774 Old 05-06-2006, 09:36 AM
Member
 
ToadMazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Clovis, CA USA
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody else had problems with 47.1 this week? My Windows MCE box stopped receiveing the signal again!!

Adam
ToadMazter is offline  
post #706 of 1774 Old 05-06-2006, 11:41 AM
Member
 
notrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
47.1 has been fine, but 47.2 seems to be gone for the past couple of days. BTW, I'm using an over the air HDTV tuner (SIR-T451) with a roof antenna.
notrust is offline  
post #707 of 1774 Old 05-06-2006, 05:13 PM
Member
 
vaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
direct came out this morning and installed 5 lnb dish stated may 13 is turn on day for hd.
vaddie is offline  
post #708 of 1774 Old 05-06-2006, 05:43 PM
Member
 
notrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Great, let us know how it goes and whether the HD picture quality is any good.
notrust is offline  
post #709 of 1774 Old 05-09-2006, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
snatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vaddie, did they charge you for the dish/installation or the H20? (I'm assuming you are upgrading as a current D* sub.)

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
snatch is offline  
post #710 of 1774 Old 05-09-2006, 03:50 PM
Member
 
vaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it was no charge,i hope the locals come on as stated 5/13/06
vaddie is offline  
post #711 of 1774 Old 05-11-2006, 04:57 PM
Member
 
jeadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone receive American Idol in HD from KMPH on 5/10? Thanks.
jeadams is offline  
post #712 of 1774 Old 05-11-2006, 10:04 PM
Member
 
CHRBRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToadMazter View Post

Has anybody else had problems with 47.1 this week? My Windows MCE box stopped receiveing the signal again!!

Adam

47.1 has been out for me on MCE2005, looking at PSIP code it has reverted to how it used to be a few months back, missing Transport Stream ID under the PAT PID
Might need to contact Eng and Brad Strommen again.

Channel 18.1 and 18.2 also out for me, you too ?
Looks like missing PSIP data also, can't see any VCT data.
CHRBRO is offline  
post #713 of 1774 Old 05-12-2006, 06:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
!8.2 and 18.1 no longer work for me on my LG 3410a . If I change the channel numbers in the guide to 40.1 and 40.2 they work just fine.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #714 of 1774 Old 05-12-2006, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
snatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*anxiously awaits info from Vaddie*

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
snatch is offline  
post #715 of 1774 Old 05-12-2006, 04:25 PM
Member
 
notrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same experience with 18.1 and 18.2 changing to 40.1 and 40.2. I thought it was my SIR-T451 acting up, but I guess they changed something at station's end.

Also, 26.1 was being displayed as 28 by my tuner yesterday, but today it's back to 26!

Update: On Friday 5-12, in the middle of a program, 40.1 went blank then switched back to 18.1. What's going on here?
notrust is offline  
post #716 of 1774 Old 05-13-2006, 01:34 PM
Member
 
vaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
directtv did not turn on locals today.
vaddie is offline  
post #717 of 1774 Old 05-13-2006, 09:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 526
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Same here 40-1 now is back to 18-1 for me too.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #718 of 1774 Old 05-14-2006, 04:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
snatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 985
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
vaddie, would you be so kind to update us when the locals are in fact turned on for you?

Never underestimate the predictability of stupidity
snatch is offline  
post #719 of 1774 Old 05-14-2006, 06:07 PM
Member
 
vaddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i will post as soon as they come on
vaddie is offline  
post #720 of 1774 Old 05-17-2006, 10:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
giantchicken's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a former Directv customer, but I was thinking about turning it back on because I heard that the local channels were going to be offfered in HD this month. It looks like that hasn't happened yet. I have the 3 LNB dish--will that work when it starts, or will I need a 5 LNB?

I would rather just get it off air, but I have been trying to pick up local HD channels of the air and it just isn't working well. Can anybody tell me what you are using to get the signal off the air? I currently have the extra antenna that clips onto the old directv dish--that worked for a while, but the signal strength is just lousy now. I wouldn't mind picking up a new antenna but I don't know what works and what doesn't. I would sure appreciate any advice on how to get off the air HD in the Visalia area. Thanks!

PETER JACKSON: The theatrical versions are the definitive versions.
giantchicken is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off