Fresno, CA - HDTV - Page 48 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1411 of 1764 Old 05-28-2008, 10:17 PM
Member
 
loomdog32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by louie826 View Post

159.43 - CH 53.2 (7.2) KAIL Fresno RTN

This same channel is on QAM channel 104. I think it's on 104-43 but it's all infomercials right now this Sunday night.

Also, there's now a subchannel for KMPH. Right now it's scrambled. What is that subchannel going to become?

The channel numbers Ive posted are the Physical Channel as detected by the HD Homerun... its interesting to watch some of the roaming VOD stuff..

I noticed today 100.3 is labeled as KMPH-DT2 and hadnt heard anything about KMPH doing a subchannel.... looks like everyone on here hasnt either
loomdog32 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1412 of 1764 Old 05-28-2008, 11:50 PM
Member
 
xarxa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Through my Directv HR20 DVR, I recorded "Frontline/World" last night in HD on Channel 18.2 through my OTA antenna. When I watched it this evening, I noticed through my receiver that it was broadcast in full 5.1 DD audio. This is the first time I've noticed 18.2 in full 5.1 DD audio. The sound was actually rather low because it appeared to only be broadcasting through the center channel. I had to turn the volume way up so I could hear, but I'm sure KVPT is working to get this dialed in so this appears to be good things to come. Hopefully CBS HD (47.1) and CW HD (59.1) will get 5.1 DD soon as well. Did anyone else notice 5.1 DD on 18.2?
xarxa is offline  
post #1413 of 1764 Old 05-30-2008, 05:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Bakersfield on Bright House cable, KVPTHD is now in mono! The guide information was missing for about a week, but it's back today. I don't know about the audio on their OTA digital translator station, as the ATSC tv I use outdoors over the air is mono only.

Does anyone know what their plans are for 18-4? It currently has color bars with "KVPTSD3"?

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #1414 of 1764 Old 06-16-2008, 08:41 PM
Member
 
CrysDark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm getting comcast HD on Thursday, and I had a question. I see in the post history that Fresno should have Sci-Fi HD. But I checked the channel listing on the website and it says we don't get it. I guess I could just wait until Thursday, but I figured I would ask.
CrysDark is offline  
post #1415 of 1764 Old 06-16-2008, 09:00 PM
Member
 
bradleyt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrysDark View Post

I'm getting comcast HD on Thursday, and I had a question. I see in the post history that Fresno should have Sci-Fi HD. But I checked the channel listing on the website and it says we don't get it. I guess I could just wait until Thursday, but I figured I would ask.

Yes, Fresno Comcast now gets SciFi channel in HD.
bradleyt is offline  
post #1416 of 1764 Old 06-24-2008, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jwebb1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 8,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrysDark View Post

I'm getting comcast HD on Thursday, and I had a question. I see in the post history that Fresno should have Sci-Fi HD. But I checked the channel listing on the website and it says we don't get it. I guess I could just wait until Thursday, but I figured I would ask.


In my time w/ Comcast, I found that their website is the WORST source for current info.

Their phone CSRs would be 2nd worst....

For future reference, the best source for things like programming adds & changes is actually the msg function on your cable box.

Money does not buy happiness. It can, however, buy you a giant boat that you can pull up alongside happiness. - David Lee Roth

jwebb1970 is offline  
post #1417 of 1764 Old 07-03-2008, 07:21 AM
Member
 
testhomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having picture breakup problems with KGPE 47 off-air during national shows?

I was watching CSI:NY last night and it was breaking up quite frequently but I never lost audio.

Wondering if any cable, DirecTV or off-air subscribers are seeing this same thing.

Thanks
testhomer is offline  
post #1418 of 1764 Old 07-06-2008, 05:26 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by testhomer View Post

Anyone else having picture breakup problems with KGPE 47 off-air during national shows?

We regularly experience troubles like that with KGPE OTA. It was a lot worse the other night - maybe the same night you had problems.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1419 of 1764 Old 07-08-2008, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I've been having picture breakup on KGPE-DT OTA for a week or more now during network-originated programming. Usually minor glitching with no audio problems. KMPH had similar problems recently but with sound dropouts.

This sort of thing was much more common and much more severe a few years ago. Channel 30 was horrible from it's HD debut back in '01 and continued for the better part of a year--severe frequent picture scrambling and dropout with audio also cutting out and only rarely was the audio synched with the video even when the picture wasn't acting up. Channel 26 would regularly scramble every 7 minutes during the first few weeks their digital signal was up, and 47 also had a lot of teething problems.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #1420 of 1764 Old 07-10-2008, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwebb1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 8,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
No issues that I have noticed w/ HD locals via D*.

Concur w/ Steve S on what local HD used to be like. ABC 30 was horrid a couple of years ago. Via Comcast, the 5.1 audio--which lit up the respective light on the AV receiver--was really tinny mono out of the L/R spkrs and no sub/surrounds.

Money does not buy happiness. It can, however, buy you a giant boat that you can pull up alongside happiness. - David Lee Roth

jwebb1970 is offline  
post #1421 of 1764 Old 07-11-2008, 11:36 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had KGPE-DT OTA disappear entirely - not even a sniff of a signal. Analog is still there (looks like heck, as always) but digital is a no-show. Yesterday and today (Friday).

Anyone else?

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1422 of 1764 Old 07-12-2008, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocobeli View Post

I've had KGPE-DT OTA disappear entirely - not even a sniff of a signal. Analog is still there (looks like heck, as always) but digital is a no-show. Yesterday and today (Friday).

Anyone else?

Glad I'm not the only one.. had my DVR set up for recording Flashpoint at 10pm...and nada! (no BIG loss BTW).
thought I noticed problems Th night when I went to watch the 11pm news.
I can understand having technical problems (although I've read ongoing audio dropouts, etc. have typically been of network origin)....but at least inform the public the xmtr is out. Maybe they underestimate the number of HD viewers.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #1423 of 1764 Old 07-14-2008, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwebb1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 8,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Same deal, of course, for 47's HD signal on D*. Got the msg screen "No Need To Call Us...".

Found also that when attempting to tune during primetime Thurs evening, a different msg appeared from D* directing viewers to the west coast national feeds. Primetime CBS HD programming - at least Thursday night - was delivered by D* thru the LA (Ch 2) feed. Gone as soon as the 11:00 hour arrived. never checked beyond that (was watching a CSI repeat) & appeared to be back as of Sunday.

Money does not buy happiness. It can, however, buy you a giant boat that you can pull up alongside happiness. - David Lee Roth

jwebb1970 is offline  
post #1424 of 1764 Old 07-16-2008, 10:09 PM
Member
 
loomdog32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an odd thing about 47 digital via comcast.. their english soundtrack is audio channel 2.. Ive been out of town the past couple weeks for work, so I havent been around to notice if 47 has been worse than normal.. Tho, in my opinion, 24 still had the worst HD feed for national programing (quality of broadcast / not quality of content)..

After spending some time in the Bay Area, I wish the Fresno area had a channel like ch 20 SF, cable 13.. spent alot of time watching it.. looked like all syndicated content with a rebroadcast of ktvu news
loomdog32 is offline  
post #1425 of 1764 Old 07-25-2008, 05:33 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The line of static that was on top of KSEE's SD broadcast is now gone. The picture also looks a bit less squished horizontally.
louie826 is offline  
post #1426 of 1764 Old 07-28-2008, 09:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jwebb1970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 8,336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by louie826 View Post

The line of static that was on top of KSEE's SD broadcast is now gone. The picture also looks a bit less squished horizontally.


Sounds like KSEE finally fixed their SD video issues on the HD channel. About time!

Money does not buy happiness. It can, however, buy you a giant boat that you can pull up alongside happiness. - David Lee Roth

jwebb1970 is offline  
post #1427 of 1764 Old 07-31-2008, 11:38 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't done this in a while.

Comcast Clear QAM lineup as of August 1:

Subchannels may not match up on some QAM tuners.
(virtual channels in parentheses)
HD channels in bold

73-9 HSN
73-10 QVC
74-1 KTFF 41/61 Telefutura - Spanish
74-2 KGMC 43 Independent
74-3 KNXT 49 Catholic/Independent
74-4 ion
74-5 WGN America
74-6 The Weather Channel
74-7 TV Guide Channel
74-8 Comcast Community Channel
80-1 (24, 24-1) KSEE-HD 24 NBC
80-2 (47, 47-2) KGPE-HD 47 CBS

80-3 (24-3) KSEE-D2 24.2 WeatherPlus
80-4 (47-4) KGPE-SD 47.2
80-5 (24-5) KSEE-D3 24.3 LATV - Spanish/English
83 through 86, subchannels 2 through 11 on all channels - Random OnDemand streams ordered by other people. Viewer beware, streams usually stop suddenly or rewinded/fast forwarded by the original customer.
88-1 KFTV 21 Univision - Spanish
88-2 KFSN 30 ABC
88-3 KSEE 24 NBC
88-4 KFRE 59 CW
88-5 KMSG 39 Azteca America - Spanish
88-6 KGPE 47 CBS
88-7 KVPT 18 PBS
88-8 KNSO 51 Telemundo - Spanish
88-9 KAIL 53 MyTV
88-10 KMPH 26 FOX
100-1 (26, 26-1) KMPH-HD 26 FOX
100-3 (59, 59-3) KFRE-HD 59 CW

103-23 Infomercials
104-1 Mysterious channel that is just all black.
104-15 Jewelry Television
104-16 Infomercials
104-20 The Weather Channel weatherscan
104-43 KAIL 53.2 Retro Television Network
105-10 OnDemand movie lineups
105-16 "Welcome to comcast Digital Cable" logo
109-1 (18, 18-1) KVPT-HD PBS
109-2 (18-2) 18.3 V-me - Spanish
109-3 (30, 30-1) KFSN-HD 30 ABC
109-4 (30-2) KFSN-SD 30.2
109-5 (30-3) KFSN-IN 30.3 WeatherNow
110-105 KBTV-CA 8 Sacramento - Foreign programs
115-8 Picture-in-picture windows for channel 1
115-12 Infomercials
117-1 Infomercial for NBA-TV League Pass run 24/7
120-120 OnDemand movie lineups

Occasionally, one of the infomercial channels will switch to a Comcast Sports feed. I don't know which channel it is or why this happens.

If it matters, KFSN-HD and KMPH-HD are broadcast in 720p, while KVPT-HD, KSEE-HD, KGPE-HD, and KFRE-HD are broadcast in 1080i. All other channels are 480i.
louie826 is offline  
post #1428 of 1764 Old 08-13-2008, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
dgordo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is comcast the only non-dish way to get HD in Fresno(excluding OTA)?
dgordo is offline  
post #1429 of 1764 Old 08-16-2008, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Falcon_77's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: OC, CA
Posts: 2,602
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am reviewing the July Form 387 filing for KNSO and noticed that they will remain on 5 until perhaps August '09 for DTV ops., when they will move to 11. What has the experience on channel 5 been for this station?

As Fresno appears to be all UHF for analog, has this caused problems? Has noise been an issue with 5?

As this is a Spanish language channel, perhaps there isn't much info here. However, Fresno has a relatively high OTA usage rate (over 20%) and Telemundo is an important station for the Spanish language community.
Falcon_77 is offline  
post #1430 of 1764 Old 08-28-2008, 01:48 PM
K1A
Newbie
 
K1A's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgordo View Post

Is comcast the only non-dish way to get HD in Fresno(excluding OTA)?

No, AT&T recently started to roll out U-Verse here
K1A is offline  
post #1431 of 1764 Old 08-29-2008, 05:45 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KFSN now has ABC World News in HD, and KGPE has their CBS national news show in HD as well. Just like KFSN's local news and NBC Nightly News, most of the news stories are in SD with colored sidebars.

What is the screen resolution of KAIL digital 7 over-the-air?
louie826 is offline  
post #1432 of 1764 Old 08-29-2008, 05:52 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Right now, I’m seeing 720p on 7.1. 47.1 is 1080i, 30.1 is 720p, and 24.1 is 1080i.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1433 of 1764 Old 09-01-2008, 08:04 PM
Newbie
 
b16drag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to figure out which service is better? Currently have DishNetwork (non-HD) and need to upgrade to get the better potential of a 1080p LCD. Are many of you using Comcast, DirectTV, or DishNetwork HD, and why? What are your gripes?

Thanks in advance!
b16drag is offline  
post #1434 of 1764 Old 09-02-2008, 04:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Directv has Fresno locals in HD Dish Network does not.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #1435 of 1764 Old 09-02-2008, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
b16drag's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well thats kind of crappy! Worthless I tell ya!
b16drag is offline  
post #1436 of 1764 Old 09-10-2008, 01:26 PM
Member
 
Kenage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New to this thread. I have an SXRD 60" Sony HD tv with a QAM tuner. I had Comcast cable but I had to move recently and only get tv OTA. I have an external table top antenna and let the tv do a search for tv signals. I got most of the local HD feeds except for KSFN channel 30 and channel 53. What do I have to do to get them? Buy a larger antenna? I looked for channel 30 on 30.1 but it did not how up. Is it on another channel? Thanks for any help you guys can provide.
Kenage is offline  
post #1437 of 1764 Old 09-10-2008, 03:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Digital 30 is on channel 9 and digital 53 is on channel 7. You will need a vhf antenna to receive them. After the digital switch over in February digital 30 will switch from channel 9 to channel 30.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #1438 of 1764 Old 09-10-2008, 03:58 PM
Member
 
Kenage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info DiCecco. I am pretty sure the antenna I have can switch from UHF/VHF. Do I have to have it on UHF for any reason?
Kenage is offline  
post #1439 of 1764 Old 09-10-2008, 04:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 25
Posts: 14,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Everything that's not 30 and 53 is on UHF. And next year after the analogs go away, 30 will find its way back to UHF, leaving 53 and 51 as the only ones left on VHF.

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is online now  
post #1440 of 1764 Old 09-11-2008, 03:10 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Speaking of ch. 53, does anyone know if or when KAIL-HD is going to show up on Comcast cable?
louie826 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off