Fresno, CA - HDTV - Page 56 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1651 of 1764 Old 08-14-2010, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Directv HR20-700 cannot receive KAIL-dt 7.1 but receives 7.2 just fine. My tv tuner receives 7.1 . This started last night and today I am still having the problem. Anyone out there with Directv post if you are receiving 7.1 with your Directv receiver.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1652 of 1764 Old 08-15-2010, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Today I did a reset to my Hr20-700 and now I am able to receive 7.1 KAIL-DT. I wonder why my HR20-700 forgot how to receive 7.1.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is online now  
post #1653 of 1764 Old 08-31-2010, 08:02 PM
Newbie
 
mikejphi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pins (tower locations) seem to be wrong on this map (patjensen's map of San Joaquin Valley Stations), at least in the case of Bear Mt. Bear Mt. is north of Hwy. 180, many, many miles to the north of the location on this map. Are the others off too. I just want to know, that's all.
mikejphi is offline  
post #1654 of 1764 Old 09-05-2010, 11:14 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The local newscast of KSEE24 is now in HD. Some graphics looked like zoomed-in SD, similar to some graphics on the local newscast of KFSN30.
louie826 is offline  
post #1655 of 1764 Old 09-06-2010, 10:23 AM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm glad I'm not the only one to notice that at KSEE; I was disappointed they didn't do a better job of it.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1656 of 1764 Old 09-07-2010, 06:06 AM
Member
 
Johnnycanal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the update. I switched over briefly this morning and noted the poor picture quality of the studio shot. It appeared to be a SD image, not a HD one...
Johnnycanal is offline  
post #1657 of 1764 Old 10-04-2010, 01:59 PM
Member
 
styxfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may be moving to Fresno soon. Can anybody tell me what pro teams are available on CSNCA and CSNBA with Dish Network? Warriors?? Kings?? Giants?? A's?? Sharks??

Are all of these sport teams consider local? I don't want the NBA LP.

Thanks.
styxfix is offline  
post #1658 of 1764 Old 10-06-2010, 12:14 AM
Member
 
richeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fres(YES)no, CA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by styxfix View Post

I may be moving to Fresno soon. Can anybody tell me what pro teams are available on CSNCA and CSNBA with Dish Network? Warriors?? Kings?? Giants?? A's?? Sharks??

Are all of these sport teams consider local? I don't want the NBA LP.

Thanks.

I live in Fresno and have Dish. Just added CSNBA/CSNCA a couple of weeks ago. I've been watching the Giants/A's, and according to this link they also show Sharks and Warriors.

Edit: It appears that the Kings are included as well. http://www.dishnetwork.com/packages/...?channel=51629
richeydog is offline  
post #1659 of 1764 Old 10-06-2010, 07:54 PM
Member
 
styxfix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richeydog View Post

I live in Fresno and have Dish. Just added CSNBA/CSNCA a couple of weeks ago. I've been watching the Giants/A's, and according to this link they also show Sharks and Warriors.

Edit: It appears that the Kings are included as well. http://www.dishnetwork.com/packages/...?channel=51629

Most areas get both CSN channels but usually it's either Kings OR Warriors not both. One team is always blacked out. Perhaps some areas get both NBA teams.
styxfix is offline  
post #1660 of 1764 Old 10-07-2010, 03:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have Directv and I am in Exeter about 45 miles south of Fresno. Here I get Prime Ticket, Fox Sports West from LA and CSNCA but I do not get CSNBA. So I get all the LA teams and the A's and Kings .

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is online now  
post #1661 of 1764 Old 10-10-2010, 05:28 PM
Newbie
 
Tangels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone else having issues with KSEE 24 on Directv? I'd like to watch the
Sunday night football game in HD, but the picture keeps getting pixelated.
Tangels is offline  
post #1662 of 1764 Old 10-10-2010, 09:46 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was either NBC's feed, or the station at fault. The same thing happened OTA before they switched to standard definition. Everything went back to normal an hour later.

Unless you're talking about the screen filling up with squares during scenes of fast motion. That happens all the time on NBC NFL games.
louie826 is offline  
post #1663 of 1764 Old 10-14-2010, 11:39 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by louie826 View Post

The local newscast of KSEE24 is now in HD. Some graphics looked like zoomed-in SD, similar to some graphics on the local newscast of KFSN30.

Small update: a week or 2 after this post, the in-studio video is now HD. Some news stories are still shot in SD widescreen.

Is KNSO Telemundo ever going to go HD? They are the only big Fresno station that is not HD.
louie826 is offline  
post #1664 of 1764 Old 10-15-2010, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know when KGPE (CBS) will upgrade their system to pass Dolby Digital 5.1?
David Ortiz is offline  
post #1665 of 1764 Old 11-03-2010, 01:22 AM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
KSEE over-the-air went down again last night between 9pm and 11pm, during election coverage. It's back up now.
louie826 is offline  
post #1666 of 1764 Old 12-25-2010, 04:24 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here getting audio dropouts on KFSN 30 today?

Addition 12/27:

Channels 24, 26, and 59 went down on late Sunday. They are all back up. I wonder what happened to knock those stations off.
mystery solved: it was a power outage due to a car hitting a power pole.
louie826 is offline  
post #1667 of 1764 Old 12-29-2010, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
Rego559's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anybody notice KFTV 21 (Univision) is now doing news in HD. It seems they have a new set also.
Rego559 is offline  
post #1668 of 1764 Old 01-01-2011, 03:52 AM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another retro TV station appeared in the area today.

43.5 is AntennaTV. Right now it's a Three Stooges marathon. The sound is off-sync, though.
louie826 is offline  
post #1669 of 1764 Old 03-05-2011, 10:56 AM
Member
 
Wolvereen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, completely new to HDTV OTA reception, and my head is about to burst from all the research I have been doing. I have spoken with friends who made the switch, but can't seem to reach consensus on which antenna would best suit my needs.

I live in a 2 story home in the Fresno/Clovis area of CA. There are no large trees or buildings surrounding my home. There is a satellite dish currently mounted to the eve of my home, there is a sat/antenna run to the install location and the house was pre-wired for sat/antenna install.

I have been to TV Fool (link here).

I am hoping that I might get some advice on at least what type/brand is worth investigating. I plan on removing the existing dish and replacing it with the antenna. The community I live in has a HOA, while I know I have the right to receive OTA signals, I would prefer to not create any issues (so 8 foot receivers are not preferred).

Channels that I care about are all UHF. Most are along a compass heading of approximately 33° and are 24 miles away or closer. The only exception is KMPH-DT 26.1 FOX VISALIA, CA which is 92° and 48.8 miles away.

Any thoughts/ideas/suggestions?

Thanks in advance!!
Wolvereen is offline  
post #1670 of 1764 Old 03-05-2011, 03:24 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is going on with KFTV 21!? The sound on this channel has been skipping and cutting out for weeks now. It's happening on both OTA reception and through Dish Network.

add 3/10: 21 still has audio problems but not as much as before.

Local weather on 30-3 is gone. It's now the SD version of Living Well on 30-2.
24-2 is the only local all-weather channel now.
louie826 is offline  
post #1671 of 1764 Old 03-14-2011, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolvereen View Post

Hi all, completely new to HDTV OTA reception, and my head is about to burst from all the research I have been doing. I have spoken with friends who made the switch, but can't seem to reach consensus on which antenna would best suit my needs.

I live in a 2 story home in the Fresno/Clovis area of CA. There are no large trees or buildings surrounding my home. There is a satellite dish currently mounted to the eve of my home, there is a sat/antenna run to the install location and the house was pre-wired for sat/antenna install.

I have been to TV Fool (link here).

I am hoping that I might get some advice on at least what type/brand is worth investigating. I plan on removing the existing dish and replacing it with the antenna. The community I live in has a HOA, while I know I have the right to receive OTA signals, I would prefer to not create any issues (so 8 foot receivers are not preferred).

Channels that I care about are all UHF. Most are along a compass heading of approximately 33° and are 24 miles away or closer. The only exception is KMPH-DT 26.1 FOX VISALIA, CA which is 92° and 48.8 miles away.

Any thoughts/ideas/suggestions?

Thanks in advance!!

I'm getting great reception on all but 7.1 and 7.2 using a $34 amplified indoor RS antenna in an eastward facing window in a 1 story house.

Any halfway decent UHF/VHF antenna on or near your roof should work fine without any amplification. If there are any other antennas in your area just point yours in the same general direction and that should be enough to get all the local digital channels.

In my previous 1 story home I had a basic UHF/VHF antenna mounted about 3 feet above the roof peak and pointed vaguely Eastward (the house was near FAT). There were high tension power lines about 100 yards due East of the antenna and the occasional large airliner flying thru the line of sight--got perfect reception of all but the low power digital channels at all times.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #1672 of 1764 Old 03-15-2011, 12:29 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
edit: It looks like the glitches are gone from KFTV 21, for now. There is still an occasional sound drop, but it happens much less often than before.

This morning it had a blue screen with the text "VIDEO ALARM DETECTED" for a few minutes. Yes, a channel had a BSOD.
louie826 is offline  
post #1673 of 1764 Old 03-18-2011, 02:03 PM
Member
 
mjjckc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm up in the Fresno area for a couple weeks visiting family and I noticed that the picture quality on KFSN during Modern Family looked worse than usual. The Wednesday episode averaged only 7.2 mbps, when ABC shows normally average around 10.5 mbps on KFSN or the other ABC stations that air LiveWell like KABC and KGO. I ran TSReader and it looks like the bandwidth normally allocated to 30.1 has instead been shifted over to LiveWell 30.2. I just emailed KFSN and hopefully they will fix it. But having others contact them too might be helpful.

KFSN 30.1 is in blue on the TSReader output.
mjjckc is offline  
post #1674 of 1764 Old 03-18-2011, 08:56 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone with Uverse or Comcast check if KFTV has any audio drops?

update:
Last week KFTV and KTFF were both glitchy and unstable. On Sunday afternoon, both of them went down.

As of now 3/22, both are up. No glitches, but KFTV still has the audio go mute at random times.



3/26: KSEE 24 has been going down randomly for the last 2 days.



4/6: 47-2 (cable 197) changed from Untamed Sports TV to The Country Network
louie826 is offline  
post #1675 of 1764 Old 06-15-2011, 11:36 AM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
More OTA sub-channels:

There is a 59.3, and is Pegasus TV. It's a channel with programming all about horses. It is in 4:3 SD.

There is a 43.6, and is MeTV. It's yet another channel with old TV shows. It is also in 4:3 SD.
louie826 is offline  
post #1676 of 1764 Old 07-12-2011, 11:06 AM
Member
 
richeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fres(YES)no, CA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody else having a problem with PBS(Standard Def) and Dish Network? I have a 722K HD Receiver and all I see is constant windowboxing(black bars around the entire picture). I swear I used to see black bars only on the sides(pillarboxing) but the last several months have been nothing but windowboxed material.
richeydog is offline  
post #1677 of 1764 Old 07-23-2011, 09:40 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get it as well on my SD Dish boxes; a 322 and a 522.

My guess is KVPT is sending a signal to force letterboxing on everything, 4:3 with sidebars and 16:9 widescreen, for standard-definition digital tuners, including whatever Dish is using. Fox 26 and Telefutura 61 does this as well, but only with 16:9 HD programs.

-----

A new over-the-air HD channel has appeared!
Telemundo 51.1 (RF 11) has finally switched from standard-definition to 1080i HD.
louie826 is offline  
post #1678 of 1764 Old 07-25-2011, 10:51 AM
Member
 
Max AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Central Calif.
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by louie826 View Post

A new over-the-air HD channel has appeared!
Telemundo 51.1 (RF 11) has finally switched from standard-definition to 1080i HD.

I noticed that as well - I happened to catch Descontrol in sparkling HD. If any show on Telemundo needed to be in HD, it was that one.
Max AD is offline  
post #1679 of 1764 Old 07-27-2011, 12:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Bakersfield we still get Telemundo in analog! On channel 11. Simulcast in SD digital on RF 25.3 which maps to 17.3.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #1680 of 1764 Old 10-13-2011, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ortiz View Post

Anyone know when KGPE (CBS) will upgrade their system to pass Dolby Digital 5.1?

An old question that still does not have an answer, does anybody?
videoaddikt is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off