Fresno, CA - HDTV - Page 58 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1711 of 1770 Old 04-19-2013, 04:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I put mine on the side of my home no holes in the roof
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnycanal View Post

Thanks. I think I'll take a look from my roof first and then probably go with a 91XG. I'll post on here how it goes
Smithdoor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1712 of 1770 Old 04-20-2013, 02:33 PM
Member
 
Johnnycanal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mariposa, CA
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithdoor View Post

I put mine on the side of my home no holes in the roof

Yeah, I will probably do that as well, placing it on the gable end of the house as not to puncture the roof.
Johnnycanal is offline  
post #1713 of 1770 Old 07-22-2013, 03:18 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone else here having reception problems with KMPH 26?

I'm seeing occasional video corruption once every few minutes on both the SD feed through Dish Network, and the HD feed through an over-the-air antenna. Both are on different lines and none of the other local channels have this problem. This has been happening in the past few weeks.


OTA channel updates, all SD channels:
7.2 is now COZI-TV, which looks like another classics TV channel.
24.2 is no longer a weather channel. It is now a SD feed of 24.1. The only OTA weather channel is on 7.3.
32.1 is now another Spanish religious channel.
32.2 is now QVC.
47.2 is no longer a country-western music video channel. It is now a SD feed of 47.1
louie826 is offline  
post #1714 of 1770 Old 07-22-2013, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have the same problem you have with ota of channel 26. It comes in with a great picture but every couple of minutes it stutters . I am in Exeter and run a pre-amp. Maybe my signal is too strong.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #1715 of 1770 Old 07-25-2013, 11:45 PM
Member
 
louie826's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Visalia, Central CA
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm only getting 75 out of 100 on the signal strength scale on my LG TV with no amplifier. 50 is the digital signal cliff, and 65 and above is reliable.
I don't think the problem is the signal being too strong. If it were, I wouldn't see problems through the Dish Network feed.
louie826 is offline  
post #1716 of 1770 Old 07-30-2013, 11:02 AM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We experience both 26.1 and 26.2 going black going black from time to time. If I reorient the antenna over to the northeast – it’s on a rotor – and face their transmitter directly it helps but isn’t a complete cure. However, we don’t have line of sight here, snuggled up against Venice Hills, so that may or may not be a useful tidbit.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1717 of 1770 Old 09-11-2013, 01:54 PM
Member
 
richeydog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Fres(YES)no, CA
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by louie826 View Post

Is anyone else here having reception problems with KMPH 26?

I'm seeing occasional video corruption once every few minutes on both the SD feed through Dish Network, and the HD feed through an over-the-air antenna. Both are on different lines and none of the other local channels have this problem. This has been happening in the past few weeks.

6 weeks later and I'm still seeing video breakups with KMPH 26. We're using Dish Network with a 722k HD receiver. Anyone know who's at fault here? Is it Dish or the local affiliate? Who can we contact to get this resolved?
richeydog is offline  
post #1718 of 1770 Old 01-09-2014, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This problem seems to come and go. I have noticed it worsen these last couple of months. And yes, it shows up on OTA not just on Dish. 26 becomes unbearable sometimes. I mainly watch prime time so I don't know if local programming is similarly affected. (Hopper).
videoaddikt is offline  
post #1719 of 1770 Old 01-09-2014, 10:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Smithdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I think it is the smog I use amp and outdoor ant to fix it

Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoaddikt View Post

This problem seems to come and go. I have noticed it worsen these last couple of months. And yes, it shows up on OTA not just on Dish. 26 becomes unbearable sometimes. I mainly watch prime time so I don't know if local programming is similarly affected. (Hopper).
Smithdoor is offline  
post #1720 of 1770 Old 01-09-2014, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smithdoor View Post

I think it is the smog I use amp and outdoor ant to fix it

Dave

Yeah, you're right! Dish needs to put one up!
videoaddikt is offline  
post #1721 of 1770 Old 02-17-2014, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by videoaddikt View Post

This problem seems to come and go. I have noticed it worsen these last couple of months. And yes, it shows up on OTA not just on Dish. 26 becomes unbearable sometimes. I mainly watch prime time so I don't know if local programming is similarly affected. (Hopper).

Does anyone still have the problem? I just found this thread. I get extremely small glitches in KMPH still, both using my TV tuner, the ChannelMaster + DVR in my living room, or the TV tuner or DVR in my garage. I assumed it might be my distance from their broadcast tower (128 miles a the crow flies) but I have varying signal strength (depending on the receiver) between 84-100%. Glad I am not the only person noticing this.

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1722 of 1770 Old 02-17-2014, 05:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
videoaddikt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 2,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not far (Live in Clovis) but having the issue on Dish Locals (not OTA, although I see it there too) is a mystery to me. It does not appear to be the usual pixelation I would expect with a weak signal. But rather a sharp dropout. I've noticed it on occasion on other channels, but no where with the frequency of occurrences on 26.
videoaddikt is offline  
post #1723 of 1770 Old 02-17-2014, 06:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I'm in the Sacramento market, so I have no idea about any means other than OTA. It didn't bother my wife, or really affect viewing, I just find it annoying and wish I could get rid of it.


Now if I could just find a way to stop KMSG-LD (Zuus Country) Ch 39.5 from dropping out in the daytime I would be happy.

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1724 of 1770 Old 02-18-2014, 12:23 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OTA only, we're still having the problem here. It's bad enough that we almost never watch Fox 26 nowadays and instead pull 58 out of Bakersfield. 26.2 is terrible as well. The fly in the ointment is that our TV's tuner is blind to 29.2 (Bakersfield version of 26.2) and I have to kick on the HTPC: the Silicon Dust tuner can 'see' 29.2.

26 used to be such a reliable signal for us, but no longer.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1725 of 1770 Old 02-18-2014, 01:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocobeli View Post

OTA only, we're still having the problem here. It's bad enough that we almost never watch Fox 26 nowadays and instead pull 58 out of Bakersfield. 26.2 is terrible as well. The fly in the ointment is that our TV's tuner is blind to 29.2 (Bakersfield version of 26.2) and I have to kick on the HTPC: the Silicon Dust tuner can 'see' 29.2.

26 used to be such a reliable signal for us, but no longer.

I'm wondering how much of this is a reception issue, and how much is a broadcast signal issue. The same problem reaches from Clovis to Newman. I'm about 128 miles from the broadcast tower, and do experience the problem, but KMPH is still very watchable.

What causes the variance in the level of audio and picture glitches?

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1726 of 1770 Old 02-21-2014, 12:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57

Is anyone else having problems with channel 43 KGMC? I wanted to watch MeTV and it is black, all of 43 is. 66% signal strength with 100% signal quality.


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1727 of 1770 Old 02-21-2014, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am not receiving it also. They must be having problems.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #1728 of 1770 Old 02-21-2014, 11:25 AM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post


I'm wondering how much of this is a reception issue, and how much is a broadcast signal issue. The same problem reaches from Clovis to Newman. I'm about 128 miles from the broadcast tower, and do experience the problem, but KMPH is still very watchable.

What causes the variance in the level of audio and picture glitches?

Earlier this week I thought it might be well to put the reception question to the folks at KMPH. Theirs is an annoying website (heavily script driven) and I needed to establish an account to pose the question but pose I did. I have had no response and it occurs to me that perhaps others of us might also hit them up over the problem and we might learn something.


All I see on 43 today is a black screen with a small ID bug in the top left. I guess they’re still having issues.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1729 of 1770 Old 02-21-2014, 01:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocobeli View Post

Earlier this week I thought it might be well to put the reception question to the folks at KMPH. Theirs is an annoying website (heavily script driven) and I needed to establish an account to pose the question but pose I did. I have had no response and it occurs to me that perhaps others of us might also hit them up over the problem and we might learn something.


All I see on 43 today is a black screen with a small ID bug in the top left. I guess they’re still having issues.

I talked to their head engineer today. He was unaware of any problem. They have a 50" TV hooked up to an antenna they monitor the station with, and don't see any if our issues. The feed makes it look like this problem has been intermittent since Oct. That has him wondering if it is interference from a neighbor at their tower?

He asked if I have a "Ts reader" if I heard right. Does anyone here have one that get get the data from it? Any specifics on the problem that anyone can list here, will be pressed on directly to him, to help Jim get the issue resolved add quickly as possible.

It seems the stutter (audio and visual) stretches from local (Visalia) to distant (Newman, 128 miles from the tower).

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1730 of 1770 Old 02-21-2014, 05:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
DiCecco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Exeter,Ca. 93221 USA
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
43.6 is coming in fine now. Yesterday I could not receive it.

Thomas DiCecco
DiCecco is offline  
post #1731 of 1770 Old 02-21-2014, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quite a few of the Fresno stations were gone last night.

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1732 of 1770 Old 02-25-2014, 01:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desert Hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bakersfield California
Posts: 982
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you receiving 58.1 (RF29) in Visalia? RF29 is a low power station! I wouldn't guess that their signal would be receivable in Visalia. If it is not 58.1 but rather 58.2 that you are receiving, then you are not receiving LP RF29. 58.2 is a subchannel of full power KBAK RF33. The 29.2 subchannel carrying THISTV is on low power RF29.

How can we say "the digital transition is complete" when thousands of low power stations are still broadcasting in analog?
LOW POWER ANALOG NEEDS TO DIE NOW!!!
Desert Hawk is offline  
post #1733 of 1770 Old 02-25-2014, 02:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Desert Hawk View Post

Are you receiving 58.1 (RF29) in Visalia? RF29 is a low power station! I wouldn't guess that their signal would be receivable in Visalia. If it is not 58.1 but rather 58.2 that you are receiving, then you are not receiving LP RF29. 58.2 is a subchannel of full power KBAK RF33. The 29.2 subchannel carrying THISTV is on low power RF29.

I have seen 29.2 This all the way up in Newman on occasion. Often there is a signal on 29, it's just not strong enough to get a picture very often, but occasionally.


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1734 of 1770 Old 02-25-2014, 10:04 AM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't pull up 58-1 here east of Visalia.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1735 of 1770 Old 02-25-2014, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57

I have been watching KMPH 26 (rf 28) and it seeems worse than normal. More of the digital pixilation and auido glitches. However, if i flip over to KMPH-CD 17 (rf49) there are none of the issues at all. 


Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1736 of 1770 Old 02-26-2014, 10:25 AM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theducksfan2010 View Post

...if i flip over to KMPH-CH 17 (rf49) there are none of the issues at all. 

Where the heck is that transmitter located? I find no whiff of a signal.

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1737 of 1770 Old 02-26-2014, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Trip in VA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Alexandria, VA, US | Age: 26
Posts: 14,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Send a message via AIM to Trip in VA Send a message via Yahoo to Trip in VA
Mariposa. http://www.rabbitears.info/contour.php?appid=1413799&map=Y

- Trip

N4MJC

Comments are my own and not that of the FCC (my employer) or anyone else.

RabbitEars

"Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand..." - Rush "Witch Hunt"

Trip in VA is offline  
post #1738 of 1770 Old 02-27-2014, 12:11 PM
Member
 
cocobeli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Visalia, CA 93292
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!

-= Jed =-
cocobeli is offline  
post #1739 of 1770 Old 03-06-2014, 02:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57

KVBC ch 13 (rf26) is getting closer to going live. Black screen now but a 56% signal in Newman (that's covering over co-channel KFTK which is very strong here).

 

Lineup is as follows:

 

13.1 MeTv
13.2 Hartland
13.3 Movies!
13.4 Retro
13.5 Biz
13.6 You Too
13.7 Tuff
13.8 Untamed
13.9 Family
13.10 PBJ

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
post #1740 of 1770 Old 03-06-2014, 11:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Theducksfan2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Newman, Ca.
Posts: 420
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 57

As of right now KVBC 13 (RF 26) is live and on the air with:

 
13.3 (PSIP Movies!) showing MeTV
13.6 youtoo
13.8 Untamed
13.9 Family

Josh
Theducksfan2010 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off