Fresno, CA - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1764 Old 04-23-2004, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Mike Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Drew,

We're dealing with that one. It's a concern because Y&R is one of the higher rated daytime shows. Thanks for letting me know.

Mike Snyder
Manager, Broadcast Technical Services
KNME-TV/KNMD-TV
Mike Snyder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1764 Old 04-23-2004, 04:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Having read the recent announcements that Fox will start doing true HD on Sept. 12, including up to 6 NFL games a week, I was wondering if anyone knows if KMPH has any plans to start broadcasting in HD. They never did step up to the plate and pass Fox's 480p widescreen and Pappas is kinda thought to be anti-HD, so I don't want to get my hopes up.

I e-mailed the station (lost the engineer's e-mail address unfortunately) and they haven't replied yet.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #183 of 1764 Old 04-26-2004, 08:10 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Copy of e-mail received from their engineer:



On Wed, 10 Dec 2003 11:36:35 -0800 "Dresser, Steve" writes:
> The plan is to begin broadcast of FOX Widescreen HD in the Fall of
> 2004,
> when FOX begins sending High Definition programming to affiliate
> stations.
>
> Steve Dresser-Chief Engineer
> KMPH TV
>
DrewM is offline  
post #184 of 1764 Old 04-26-2004, 09:33 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #185 of 1764 Old 04-26-2004, 04:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Thanks Drew! That is indeed good news. Soon we'll have 4 ota HD channels to choose from, all that's left is WB and UPN, and PBS, but I'm not holding my breath for them.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #186 of 1764 Old 05-02-2004, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed a problem with the audio on KGPE Sunday night May 2. The commercial breaks seemed fine, but the HD had garbled audio for Cold Case and the movie afterward. I checked the OTA signal and Comcast and the problem is on both. I thought my new TiVo unit had a glitch.

Channel 7 looks really weird on the TiVo though.
David Ortiz is offline  
post #187 of 1764 Old 05-03-2004, 08:28 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Cold case was messed up for me also - bad audio via OTA signal.
DrewM is offline  
post #188 of 1764 Old 06-28-2004, 09:36 PM
Member
 
tivoyahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the local fresno CBS grant a waiver for the HD CBS from LA on DirecTV?

Did all of the 11 planned local channels come online Thursday for Dtv? How is the picture quality? Don't have a 119 dish to test and am wondering.

Are all on transponder 31 from Sat 119? It's simple to check, just tune to one of the local channels, and then goto check signal strength screen to see what transponder it is on. Doing this for each local channel would show if each one is on transponder 31. Hopefully someone can check this for me and post. thanks.
tivoyahoo is offline  
post #189 of 1764 Old 06-29-2004, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Look for channel 40 KVPT-DT on Thursday! (7-1-04)
David Ortiz is offline  
post #190 of 1764 Old 07-02-2004, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
baduela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: clovis,ca
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did I miss somthing? How long has comcast done discovery HD? I havent watched much tv lately but last night I clicked over to HD and right after INHD2 was DHDTV. =)
baduela is offline  
post #191 of 1764 Old 07-02-2004, 03:35 PM
Member
 
tivoyahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by baduela
Did I miss somthing? How long has comcast done discovery HD? I havent watched much tv lately but last night I clicked over to HD and right after INHD2 was DHDTV. =)

Just started in the last few days (I think across the nation for comcast)
tivoyahoo is offline  
post #192 of 1764 Old 07-02-2004, 05:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Is KVPT up yet, tried a scan last night and got nada. Any word on what the delay is?

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #193 of 1764 Old 07-03-2004, 08:56 AM
Newbie
 
mbfb93614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coarsegold, Ca.
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I live in Coarsegold, and it comes in like gangbusters.

Mike B.
mbfb93614 is offline  
post #194 of 1764 Old 07-03-2004, 05:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
got it this morning! thanks Mike!

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #195 of 1764 Old 07-05-2004, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rodneyremington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, for Comcast subscribers channel 193 is now Discovery channel theater in stunning HD

Is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?
rodneyremington is offline  
post #196 of 1764 Old 07-07-2004, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Any word on PBS going HD? I was expecting it to be HD not just digital. The picture is better no longer have the scanning line from left to right as on analog.
DrewM is offline  
post #197 of 1764 Old 07-26-2004, 09:43 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone with Comcast HD package get HD NBC & ABC?

I have a set with an intigrated QAM tuner and last year I was able to get these. (I only get cable in the fall for the football season). This year I am only able to get CBS (station 1-2 on Comcast).

It's not a big deal because I can use ANT2 OTA to get these two stations other than the pain of switching inputs. FWIW I also get the INHD's & ESPNHD as I did last year.
DrewM is offline  
post #198 of 1764 Old 07-26-2004, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rodneyremington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, Comcast HD package includes NBC, CBS, and ABC (channels 185, 186, 184) as well as ESPN, INHD1&2, Discovery, HBO, SHowtime, and Starz.

Is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?
rodneyremington is offline  
post #199 of 1764 Old 07-26-2004, 11:16 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's odd that Comcast passes through to QAM tuners the INHD's & ESPNHD but not all the locals HD's.

Well I guess I can't complain since all I subscribed to was basic analog cable (no converter box) and I am getting these HD channels as a bonus.
DrewM is offline  
post #200 of 1764 Old 08-03-2004, 10:53 AM
Member
 
ToadMazter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Clovis, CA USA
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the status of Comcast offering an HD-DVR in Fresno/Clovis? I've been off the forum for a while, so I'm sorry if this has already been answered.

Thanks!
Adam
ToadMazter is offline  
post #201 of 1764 Old 08-06-2004, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spoke with the engineer at KMPH and was told that they probably won't be online for the start of the football season. Definitely by the Superbowl.

Instead of accepting the FOX owned equipment, they will purchase their own, allowing them to have more control over things like subchannels.

I voiced my preference to have no subchannels when special events are on, but I was told that full bandwidth is not necessary. I didn't ask about DD 5.1, but if they don't use FOX's splicer, they will have to buy additional Dolby decoders and encoders to pass along the 5.1 stream. My fear is that the extra equipment for DD5.1 will be deemed unnecessary.

This is definitely a sad turn of events in my opinion. I was looking forward to FOX programming in 720p with DD5.1.

As far as KFRE is concerned, (also owned by Pappas Telecasting) the recent ruling will affect its power output, in a couple of years. At least the engineer now knows that the WB is indeed broadcasting HD. I knew that it was at least the second year, but after checking, it is the third year for them.

To be fair, there's hardly a ROI for the digital switchover. I guess I should be happy with what's out there.

David Ortiz
David Ortiz is offline  
post #202 of 1764 Old 08-09-2004, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump.
David Ortiz is offline  
post #203 of 1764 Old 08-09-2004, 01:26 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Well, David, if you have Sunday Ticket, you can still get all of the FOX football games. I don't think we are in a blackout area. Being a 49er fan, I am really wanting to get my team in HD.

What about UPN and PBS? Any word on when they will be sending out HDTV?
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #204 of 1764 Old 08-10-2004, 10:33 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Right after PBS went Digital I called and asked them about HD time frame. They said it was in their plans but could not say when. I asked if it would happen before the years end, they could not answer.

So I don't look for it any time soon
DrewM is offline  
post #205 of 1764 Old 08-10-2004, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
David,

If KMPH does the Fox Hd stuff in 720p there should be no problem with subchannels. KFSN (ABC) does 720p hd and 2 subchannels with no degradation of the HD signal. Apparently 720p requires less bandwidth than 1080i so the probablitity of HD picture degradation due to subchannels sapping bandwidth is a bit less.

I just wish Pappas would get their act together regarding the wierdly high audio levels on their digital channels.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #206 of 1764 Old 08-12-2004, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
DrewM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Speaking of "wierdly high audio" CBS audio is way low on their digital channel until the commercials come on and then they blast you out of the room. Yet on their analog station the volume is consistent.

After switching back and forth between the two it appears that the digital channels commercials are at the same level as the analog, but for some reason on the digital the program source audio is too low.
DrewM is offline  
post #207 of 1764 Old 08-12-2004, 08:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Mr.Poindexter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Clovis, California
Posts: 7,381
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The problem we are running into is the same we had with analog - the commercials would run the volume higher than the shows would. With digital audio, we have increased dynamic range and the commercials can blast you even more. I think an excellent solution would be for the stations to normalize the audio levels of all commercials to be the same as the program they are showing.
Mr.Poindexter is offline  
post #208 of 1764 Old 08-12-2004, 09:13 AM
Senior Member
 
David Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Who watches commercials?

oops... wrong forum
David Ortiz is offline  
post #209 of 1764 Old 08-13-2004, 10:11 AM
Member
 
Mike Snyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Albuquerque, New Mexico
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

We lost our HD encoder this morning, which means we're off the air with HD until we get a replacement in house. At this writing, we're trying to get a loaner in house, but I can't guarantee the time frame.

I'm real sorry for the inconvenience. We apologize for the loss of signal. We are working on it and will get the signal restored as quickly as possible.

Thanks for your patience.

Mike Snyder
Manager, Broadcast Technical Services
KNME-TV/KNMD-TV
Mike Snyder is offline  
post #210 of 1764 Old 08-14-2004, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Thanks for taking the time to post that here, Mike. I don't watch golf but think I got some in HD on KGPE-DT this afternoon while channel surfing?

On another topic, anyone else notice that KSEE-DT has started simulcasting the analog feed on 24-2? I took that subchannel off my custom list a few months ago as they were only showing a test pattern so I may have been the last to notice the subchannel was active.

They had this up this afternoon while running the Olympic opening ceremony feed on 24-1, I didn't notice any degradation in the HD feed due to the subchannel being active, at least it looked exactly the same as channel 84 on D* which was running the same HD feed.

There was a crawl on 24-2 stating the HD feed and the digital simulcast of the analog feed were sponsored by Table Mountain Casino.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off