Jacksonville, FL - HDTV - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 4507 Old 04-16-2004, 03:21 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Gator99
Antonio - according to Jerry back in january/february - they are ready to go..


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...31#post3391931

Thanks.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 4507 Old 04-16-2004, 03:22 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by grittree
But the two Jags games will be blackouts.

Hey, such is life. As long as we get the other hd games on Fox I don't care if we ever see the Jags on tv.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #543 of 4507 Old 04-18-2004, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pspun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry, the clock is still 46 minutes too fast. This presents some difficulty for timed recording for my DVCR. Please set the clock, thanks.

pspun
pspun is offline  
post #544 of 4507 Old 04-18-2004, 11:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received my Hitachi 57S500 over the weekend and have DirecTV coming on Wednesday to hook up DTV HDTV and OTA HDTV. Can't wait to join the Jacksonville HDTV group

Just wish it was football season. Gonna be a long wait.
Phod is offline  
post #545 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 06:18 AM
Member
 
WTEV-JD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by AFH
Jerry, has Fox corporate sent you guys the equipment yet, and if so how long before you are up and running with hd and 5.1? Btw, we will also get 5.1 from the Fox programs b/c the splicer tech used for hd transmission be send allow the 5.1 signal without the station needing a 5.1 decoder.

Can't wait for this.

We have the equipment we need to broadcast 720p when it comes available from Fox, however we will not be able to rebroadcast the 5.1 due to equipment limitations at our studios.

Jerry
WTEV-JD is offline  
post #546 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 06:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pspun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by WTEV-JD
We have the equipment we need to broadcast 720p when it comes available from Fox, however we will not be able to rebroadcast the 5.1 due to equipment limitations at our studios.

Jerry

Jerry, welcome back. Please adjust the clock on 19-1, thanks.

PS
pspun is offline  
post #547 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry, I am confused, why will we not be able to receive the 5.1 DD signal here in JAX. From everything I have read on the the new "bit splicing" technology the local affiliates will have nothing to do with the original HD/5.1 signal, except to add local information - thus we should receive the HD/5.1 signal??


http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...22#post3668922

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #548 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 02:39 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeh, Jerry! Why won't be able to get the 5.1 signal if the affils do not need any additional equipment?

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #549 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 05:06 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone noticed problems with 25-1 (ABC) over the last week or so? Sometimes the picture will pixelate with some of the pixels being green. No other channel does this. Maybe something on their end. I would like to hear from someone else who sees this before I communicate with the engineer over there.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #550 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pspun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, Wee-Bey, I noticed it last night watching Alias. At first I thought it was my reception, but the meter stayed constant with the pixelation and sound dropoff.

PS
pspun is offline  
post #551 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pspun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by pspun
Jerry, welcome back. Please adjust the clock on 19-1, thanks.

PS

Thank you, Jerry. CBS is back to 47-1 (instead of 19-1), and the clock is accurate.
pspun is offline  
post #552 of 4507 Old 04-19-2004, 07:51 PM
Member
 
HD_Hobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I too have seen artifacts for the last few days in the OTA ABC signal.
Both in SD & HD programming. Thought maybe it was my equipment but no other channel has the problem.


HD_Hobbit
HD_Hobbit is offline  
post #553 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Same here--25-1 has been tearing and pixellating since Sunday.
petergaryr is offline  
post #554 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 05:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Ross Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC-Pixelation

I have noticed it on Comcast cable also.

Hokie56

Ross Moody is offline  
post #555 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone use the Zenith Silver Sensor for an antenna? I heard it's a great antenna but it only indicates UHF on the box (though I've read it will pick up VHF signals). Given Jax's VHF and UHF signals, this makes me nervous. Should I try it or avoid it?

Let me know thanks.
Phod is offline  
post #556 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 02:19 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Okay, now that everyone has chimed in, I think it's time to contact the engineer over at WJXX-DT. I'm going to put in an email to him as soon as I finish here. So we now have confirmation that the problem isn't just OTA but also cable. BTW, anyone know the email address for Bill (engineer) over at WJXX. I'm looking at their website and there isn't an email address there for him. If you know it you can PM it to me if you don't want put it on the board.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #557 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 02:21 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Phod
Does anyone use the Zenith Silver Sensor for an antenna? I heard it's a great antenna but it only indicates UHF on the box (though I've read it will pick up VHF signals). Given Jax's VHF and UHF signals, this makes me nervous. Should I try it or avoid it?

Let me know thanks.

I would advise that you check over in the hardware forum and do a search for Silver Sensor. As far as any experience from people on "our" (Jax) board, I am not aware of any posts pertaining to an experience with that antenna, but I could be wrong.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #558 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
biellison@wtlv.gannett.com -- Bishop Ellison - Engineer

Ktonning@firstcoastnews.com - Ken Tonning - Station manager

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #559 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 03:17 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Gator99
biellison@wtlv.gannett.com -- Bishop Ellison - Engineer

Ktonning@firstcoastnews.com - Ken Tonning - Station manager

Thanks Jeff. I will email Bishop right now.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #560 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 03:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Does anyone use the Zenith Silver Sensor for an antenna? I heard it's a great antenna but it only indicates UHF on the box (though I've read it will pick up VHF signals). Given Jax's VHF and UHF signals, this makes me nervous. Should I try it or avoid it?

I tried mine a couple months ago when I first moved here. It really did not work anywhere near as well as my outdoor UHF only antenna currently mounted on a pole in my living room. (still procrastinatiing ) However the Silver Sensor did work fine on ABC which is (IIRC) the only non-UHF digital station.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #561 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 03:43 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Email has been sent to Bishop over at WJXX.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #562 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 05:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, I tested out my antenna tonight in preparation for DirecTv coming tomorrow. CBS (47.1) and PBS (7.1) are rock solid gorgeous. But I get no signal from NBC, ABC, and WB so far. These should be set to 12.1, 25.1 and 17.1 respectively right?

Shouldn't I receive at least something, no signal is kinda scary Any help with setup would be appreciative.
Phod is offline  
post #563 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 05:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay update, 13.1 NBC comes in gorgeous too

25.1 and 17.1 to go. Are these the right digital channels?
Phod is offline  
post #564 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 06:03 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Phod
Okay update, 13.1 NBC comes in gorgeous too

25.1 and 17.1 to go. Are these the right digital channels?

Yeh, those are the right channels. Now you just need to get 25-1 ABC, 30-1 Fox and 17-1 WB. The other channels are 4-1 and 59-1. Don't worry about them b/c they are not broadcasting an hd signal.

OT, just got done watching the Gilmore Girls in hd on the WB 17-1. Good episode tonight. Now I'm watching the hd playoff basketball game on the special events channel on Directv channel 84. Good night for hd.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #565 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 06:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay 30-1 comes in great. I also do get 4-1 though as you say, I doubt I'll be watching channel 4 a bunch

Now just ABC and WB. Hope I can get WB in before tomorrow night's Angel
Phod is offline  
post #566 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are 25-1 and 17-1 know to be tougher to get in? I mean everything is simply flawless with the antenna in the same exact position. 13-1, 47-1, 7.1, 30.1, etc. But absolutely zero from 25-1 and 17-1.

According to antennaweb I'm 8.5 to 8.9 miles away.

Any thoughts? Granted, I cant move the antenna much cause of the short cable I have so I may have better luck moving it around more.
Phod is offline  
post #567 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 06:48 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Phod
Are 25-1 and 17-1 know to be tougher to get in? I mean everything is simply flawless with the antenna in the same exact position. 13-1, 47-1, 7.1, 30.1, etc. But absolutely zero from 25-1 and 17-1.

According to antennaweb I'm 8.5 to 8.9 miles away.

Any thoughts? Granted, I cant move the antenna much cause of the short cable I have so I may have better luck moving it around more.

The only thing I have seen about someone having a probleming trying to get 17-1 is from a couple of individuals who lived near NAS. I think that was Jeff, but I think he resolved the issue with 17-1, by moving. 25-1 and 12-1 seem to be the easiest stations to pull in. I remember when I first setup my outdoor antenna back in Nov of 02, 12-1 and 25-1 were the first ones to come in without any trouble.

I bet you'll get those channels you are missing by rotating that antenna some more. The trade-off is that you'll probably lose some of the channels you are getting now and if that is the case you will have to continually rotate the antenna to get the channels you would like to watch. Tradeoffs.

Enjoy,

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #568 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. Yeah, weird how the others are dead on perfect without any antenna movement but these two are troublesome.

I bought the Radio Shack 15-1880. I probably should have gone with my gut and got the Zenith Silver Sensor which seems to get high marks. May pick it up tomorrow to test it out also then return whichever one I don't use.

What is FOX 30.1 broadcasting? I thought Fox didn't have any programming in HDTV? So what's on isn't in HDTV just "better"? Cause it looks great, heh.

BTW I live off of Greenland Rd. on the Southside in 32258.
Phod is offline  
post #569 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 06:59 PM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Phod
Thanks for the help. Yeah, weird how the others are dead on perfect without any antenna movement but these two are troublesome.

I bought the Radio Shack 15-1880. I probably should have gone with my gut and got the Zenith Silver Sensor which seems to get high marks. May pick it up tomorrow to test it out also then return whichever one I don't use.

What is FOX 30.1 broadcasting? I thought Fox didn't have any programming in HDTV? So what's on isn't in HDTV just "better"? Cause it looks great, heh.

BTW I live off of Greenland Rd. on the Southside in 32258.

On FOX, they broadcast in 480p widescreen which is the what DVD is, that is why it looks better than normal tv but not as good as hd. In August, FOX will broadcast their programming in hd.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #570 of 4507 Old 04-20-2004, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Phod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any correlation between analog antenna signal strength and the corresponding digital station signal strength?

For example, I don't get in 25 analog very well with the antenna and get nothing in for the digital station. But I do get 17 in decent analog but then nothing digital. Just curious if there's any correlation.

Why is football season so far away
Phod is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off