Jacksonville, FL - HDTV - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 4507 Old 08-21-2004, 08:59 AM
Member
 
HD_Hobbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don,

I can confirm that Jax NBC and ABC stations now both record and play back fine.

I didn't need to change anything - just get a correct signal / transport stream from the stations.

Thanks for all your help and congrats to the engineeres at Gannett/ABC/NBC for listening and responding so quickly.

Gives one the feeling that we are all beta testing this HDTV stuff - but hey if it gets me a stable/better signal and a quality picture I'm all for it.



HD_Hobbit

"HDTV, My Precious, yes my press-ious it is, yes"
HD_Hobbit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 4507 Old 08-21-2004, 10:54 AM
Member
 
fsunoles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone recommend an ISF calibrator in Jax? I looked on the ISF website and found two places here, but one would only calibrate equipment that you purchased from them and the other was in the middle of upgrading his equipment, so it may be a while before he can come out. I'm looking to have my new DLP TV calibrated.

Thanks in advance!

<------------------------<<<<
fsunoles1 is offline  
post #993 of 4507 Old 08-22-2004, 07:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pspun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wasn't the CBS golf (WGC-NEC Invitational) supposed to be in HD? It wasn't yesterday. I hope it is today. Jerry, please check, thanks.
pspun is offline  
post #994 of 4507 Old 08-22-2004, 07:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


can confirm that Jax NBC and ABC stations now both record and play back fine.

Is anyone around here using one of those Walmart USDTV OTA receivers? I had one for a couple days but it would hang on channel scan on 2 of the local network stations, due I think to local PSIP problems. Sorry I forget which 2 stations. I returned the box.

But if there are 2 stations suddenly with fixed PSIP then maybe the USDTV boxes now would work also.

Anybody know?

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #995 of 4507 Old 08-22-2004, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fsunoles1, I think there are only a few local ISF people here in town, I decided on one of the calibrators over at the *************** - Gregg Loewan, but there are many very reputable ISF calibrators over there - my vote is to check that site out and ask questions in the section for ISF calibrations/ors

pspun, the NEC was taken off the HD list by CBS, I believe, I did a search in the HDTV programming section where I thought I read this and foud this post by Ken H:

Ken H
AVS HDTV Moderator

Registered: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 16539


quote:Originally posted by ridgefamus


Also, our local CBS affilate says: "... the two golf matches those weekends (Aug. 19 - 20 NEC Invitational from Firestone Country Club and the Aug. 28 - 29 Buick Championship Tournament Players Club) that were originally supposed to be in HDTV will NOT be." So we lose some and win some.

See my recent topic about this.

__________________
"Better living thru modern, expensive electronics devices"
tm



Tom, I can't help you on this, but it sure does sound like your issue might have been resolved when Don, HD_Hobbit and grittree solved some issues with PSIP at NBC/ABC

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #996 of 4507 Old 08-23-2004, 08:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
pspun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 851
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jeff, thanks for the info.

PS
pspun is offline  
post #997 of 4507 Old 08-25-2004, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
comcast came through and gave us discovery HD!!!!! ch167.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #998 of 4507 Old 08-26-2004, 08:43 AM
Senior Member
 
Ross Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by sikoniko
comcast came through and gave us discovery HD!!!!! ch167.

Great! Just checked it out and it looks good. Now if 168 turns out to be FOX, things are looking up.

Hokie56

Ross Moody is offline  
post #999 of 4507 Old 08-26-2004, 09:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Unrelated to HDTV but Comcast also came through, finally, and upgraded my cable modem connection so I now get a full 3.8-4.0 Mbs connect speed. No additional charge and now I don't ever see a speed hit when others on the LAN surf while I do.
I think the only way to do better than that is to put in a T-3.

Upload is still throttled back but it is double what I had before and now does a half Mbs.
Don Landis is online now  
post #1000 of 4507 Old 08-26-2004, 12:21 PM
Senior Member
 
ghjaxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Jacksonville
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don, how did you upgrade the cable modem, just a call to comcast. Can the CSR on the phone tell if your service has been upgraded?

Tomorrow is another Day
ghjaxman is offline  
post #1001 of 4507 Old 08-26-2004, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
scolumbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:


Originally posted by sikoniko
comcast came through and gave us discovery HD!!!!! ch167.


Thanks sikoniko-
I don't know how long I would have gone before realizing it was there.
scolumbo is online now  
post #1002 of 4507 Old 08-27-2004, 08:29 AM
Member
 
RowdyReptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where's the best place to pick up an OTA Antenna in Jacksonville? What brands/models should I be looking at? Appreciate your help!

Jeff
RowdyReptile is offline  
post #1003 of 4507 Old 08-27-2004, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Jeff,

Because we have a couple of VHF stations, you will need something along the order of the Radio Shack $36.99 VU-75 XR (which I am using). I am down in Fruit Cove, have the darn thing stuck up in my attic and receive all the local OTA. Signal strength is in the 90-100 range using a Hughes e86.

Having said that, I am not necessarily recommending this model or arrangement for you. A lot depends on where you are located, how far from the antenna farm, how much flexiblility you have in playing with different mounting places, the direction of the wind, phase of the moon (just kidding!) etc. If you are planning on doing this yourself, be prepared to experiment. For example, if I move my antenna more than two inches one way or the other, I lose either Fox or CBS. It took me a while to find just the right spot to get both of them.
petergaryr is offline  
post #1004 of 4507 Old 08-27-2004, 09:57 AM
Member
 
RowdyReptile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply. I did some research and went ahead and got something similar to the one you mentioned. I've been experimenting with a couple of indoor antennas and none of them panned out. Looking forward to experimenting with this....

I'm going to attempt to put it up on the roof on Sunday afternoon. Will let you know how it goes.

I sure wish they'd make it easy on us and allow the satellite companies to broadcast local stuff in HD.
RowdyReptile is offline  
post #1005 of 4507 Old 08-27-2004, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
petergaryr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St Johns, FL
Posts: 6,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
If you haven't already, go to http://www.antennaweb.org Click the "choose an antenna" button and fill out the information requested. It will give you the compass orientation of the antenna farm from your location. I found it useful.

When installing your antenna, make the attachments tight, but not permanent. You may need to raise or lower it until you find the best compromise for signals, then make a record of it and store it somewhere in case wind, age, etc changes it on you. I am sure you will be happier than with the indoor type. I was constantly adjusting and re-adjusting with them.
petergaryr is offline  
post #1006 of 4507 Old 08-27-2004, 07:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI -- It's OFFICIAL - FOX HD Testing Complete - Splicers go Online 8/30!

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=439520

Pretty cool, I am assuming that Jerry is ready to go, but I guess we will see, what will be the first primetime show that is going to be HD??

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
post #1007 of 4507 Old 08-27-2004, 10:10 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Jeff- Did Jerry ever say he was installing the "splicer" equipment? I know he said he was able to do HDTV with similar or same equipment as they use on WTEV but I was unclear as to what the WAWS splicer status was.

I'll be monitoring the forum but won't be able to check out the channel until next weekend.
Don Landis is online now  
post #1008 of 4507 Old 08-28-2004, 04:28 AM
AFH
AVS Special Member
 
AFH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by Don Landis
Jeff- Did Jerry ever say he was installing the "splicer" equipment? I know he said he was able to do HDTV with similar or same equipment as they use on WTEV but I was unclear as to what the WAWS splicer status was.

I'll be monitoring the forum but won't be able to check out the channel until next weekend.

Don, according to one of the mods for this forum (CPanther95), the install company has installed the splicer for WAWS. There is even a thread over in the programming forum that shows what cities have the splicer installed and I linked someone to it in our Jacksonville thread a couple of weeks ago. The first step we saw in that process was WAWS going to 720p. After that Thompson GLV installed the splicer. The affil has to do 720p before the splicer can be installed and WAWS had the 720p euipment waiting to install it.

If any saw the preseason game between the Panthers and Giants last week you could diff see that some 720p upconversion was being done. Not actual 720p, but Fox network was sending out 720p upconverted for the affils who had the splicer installed.

"I'm going to call them scallywags" - Ollie

Xbox Live: Stunt1on1
AFH is offline  
post #1009 of 4507 Old 08-28-2004, 05:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
for fellow comcast hd members, notice that our PPVHD dissapeared last night? no more 168. Hope it becomes foxhd.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #1010 of 4507 Old 08-28-2004, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Ross Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by sikoniko
for fellow comcast hd members, notice that our PPVHD dissapeared last night? no more 168. Hope it becomes foxhd.

Yes, and if I had a vote(which I do not) 178 would be my choice for FOX. Then we could surf CBS(175)NBC(176)ABC(177)FOX(178).

Hokie56

Ross Moody is offline  
post #1011 of 4507 Old 08-28-2004, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ross Moody
Yes, and if I had a vote(which I do not) 178 would be my choice for FOX. Then we could surf CBS(175)NBC(176)ABC(177)FOX(178).

They probably should put all of the basic ones together and all of the movie (premium channels) together. That way you don't have to skip a channel or 2 (like discovery now)

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #1012 of 4507 Old 08-29-2004, 06:00 PM
Member
 
taichinanda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you guys checked out the new Best Buy on Southside blvd ?
They have the new 52" JVC D-ILA RPTV which looks pretty good.
They are also selling Tivo 40GB for $99.99 - $100 rebate = free. (I did not see this offer in other BB stores).

taichinanda
taichinanda is offline  
post #1013 of 4507 Old 08-29-2004, 07:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Don Landis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 10,743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 101
"They are also selling Tivo 40GB for $99.99 - $100 rebate = free. "

Very Funny- If any are still in stock, it means they can't even pay people a penny to take them away.

What we need is an HDTIVO for $999.99 and a $1000 rebate.
Don Landis is online now  
post #1014 of 4507 Old 08-29-2004, 07:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by taichinanda
Have you guys checked out the new Best Buy on Southside blvd ?
They have the new 52" JVC D-ILA RPTV which looks pretty good.
They are also selling Tivo 40GB for $99.99 - $100 rebate = free. (I did not see this offer in other BB stores).

I saw that. I havent heard of that technology. wanted to look into it.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #1015 of 4507 Old 08-30-2004, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
found it. looks like it is what JVS calls LCoS.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #1016 of 4507 Old 08-30-2004, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
found it. looks like it is what JVS calls LCoS.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #1017 of 4507 Old 08-30-2004, 12:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Ross Moody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by sikoniko
found it. looks like it is what JVS calls LCoS.

I believe Phillips came out a year ago with a LCoS and either temporarily or permanently pulled it off the market.

Hokie56

Ross Moody is offline  
post #1018 of 4507 Old 08-30-2004, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikoniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
read briefly on it, and it appears to be a better technology than dlp or lcd. I figure it will take a couple more years for them to figure all of this stuff out.

I think it would be neat to have a tv hanging on the wall for everyday use, then when you want to watch a movie click a button and a projection screen comes down in front of the tv. I know that is possible now, but prices are still dropping. I remember the first plasma I saw was in sound advice back in '97 and it cost 22k$. in comparison, 5k$ isn't so much, but it is still too much for me.

ask not what you can do for your country, but what your country can do for you.
sikoniko is offline  
post #1019 of 4507 Old 08-30-2004, 01:31 PM
Member
 
fsunoles1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if ABC is going to show the FSU/Miami game in HD? I have not been able to confirm this? I contacted ABC 25, but they only said that it would be in HD if ABC sent it that way.

<------------------------<<<<
fsunoles1 is offline  
post #1020 of 4507 Old 08-30-2004, 03:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Gator99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Jax,FL - Doctor's Lake
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AFH is more informed than I, but it looks like it will not, but then again I stop reading the thread when it got into all the people were bickering over who has the most deliquents.... (Let's face it we all do or have)

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=434013

Jeff
Gator99 is online now  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off