Greenville, SC - HDTV - Page 352 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10531 of 10850 Old 08-22-2014, 06:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Have not heard about 36.2 channel. Would be nice if they add Cozi TV, but some Gannett stations have Weather Nation.
tylerSC is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10532 of 10850 Old 08-25-2014, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
From the zap2it.com tv schedule from Yahoo on Sept 8 it also shows Dr Phil on at 9am and again at 4pm on WLOS

so look like WLOS is taking Katie off at 9am and WSPA listing still shows Dr Phil at 3pm on Sept 8 also.
LMckin is offline  
post #10533 of 10850 Old 08-28-2014, 04:54 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Those who have charter cable silver package FamilyNetwork is adding alot Classic TV shows beginning september 1

here is schedule http://schedule.familynet.com/default.asp?i=7&tz=0
LMckin is offline  
post #10534 of 10850 Old 08-29-2014, 06:51 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Wyff 4 bump the Carolina Panther football to the 4.2 channel. tonight.
LMckin is offline  
post #10535 of 10850 Old 08-29-2014, 09:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
Wyff 4 bump the Carolina Panther football to the 4.2 channel. tonight.
What do you mean? The Panthers game was on 4.1. At least I recorded it off of 704 on Charter (same as 4.1) and the whole game was recorded.
rrainwater is offline  
post #10536 of 10850 Old 08-30-2014, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
What do you mean? The Panthers game was on 4.1. At least I recorded it off of 704 on Charter (same as 4.1) and the whole game was recorded.

when i was going through the channels when i stop on the THIS TV 4.2 charter channel 194 it had the Panther Game on then i flip it to channel 4 they was showing Dateline on the main channel.
LMckin is offline  
post #10537 of 10850 Old 08-30-2014, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 16
They must've decided to replay it since it aired on Thursday. Likewise WSOC aired the Redskins game on a Friday instead of Thursday since thePanthers were on that night


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
cpalmer2k is offline  
post #10538 of 10850 Old 08-30-2014, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 940
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
when i was going through the channels when i stop on the THIS TV 4.2 charter channel 194 it had the Panther Game on then i flip it to channel 4 they was showing Dateline on the main channel.
That is strange as it was shown live on 704 in HD Thursday night.
rrainwater is offline  
post #10539 of 10850 Old 08-30-2014, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
That is strange as it was shown live on 704 in HD Thursday night.
This was Last Night (Friday) not Thursday. when i saw it on 4.2 ( channel 194)
LMckin is offline  
post #10540 of 10850 Old 08-30-2014, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
This was Last Night (Friday) not Thursday. when i saw it on 4.2 ( channel 194)
What we're all saying is the Panthers game actually was played on Thursday night, and aired Live Thursday night on WYFF 4.1 (and WCCB in Charlotte). If you saw it on 4.2 last night (Friday) it obviously was a replay of Thursday night's game.

All the NFL games were played on Thursday night this week, there were no live games on Friday. WSOC in Charlotte chose to tape delay their Redskins broadcast from Thursday to Friday night, so possibly WYFF decided to re-air Thursday's Panther game on 4.2 for people who missed it?

EDIT: Apparently they've been doing this all pre-season. A post on their Facebook page indicates that last weeks' Carolina/New England game was re-aired on 4.2 as well.

Last edited by cpalmer2k; 08-30-2014 at 05:44 PM.
cpalmer2k is offline  
post #10541 of 10850 Old 09-01-2014, 02:40 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Look like on September 15

channel 7 is moving Wendy Williams show from 10am on wycw to 3pm on WSPA

also on sept 12 Wycw channel 62 is adding the The Beverly Hillbillies at 5pm to 6pm

and The People court at 10am on WYCW on sept 15

and Judge Judy at 5am and 6am on WYCW on sept 13

and another court show on wycw at 1pm Justice With Judge Mablean

from tvlisting at yahoo.

Last edited by LMckin; 09-01-2014 at 05:00 PM.
LMckin is offline  
post #10542 of 10850 Old 09-01-2014, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
^^Spencer Karter should be happy to see Wendy Williams on Channel 7. That was a major issue a year or so ago, when it was not aired locally at all.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10543 of 10850 Old 09-01-2014, 07:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I just notice Jimmy Swaggart SBN programming is now being carried on WGGS-16.3. Expanding the coverage from 55.3 from Charlotte. Good gospel music.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10544 of 10850 Old 09-01-2014, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
I just notice Jimmy Swaggart SBN programming is now being carried on WGGS-16.3. Expanding the coverage from 55.3 from Charlotte. Good gospel music.
I wonder if Fox is fixing cut the 55.3 channel off and Jimmy swaggart made a deal with WGGS to used their .3 channel.for his SBN program air on the 16.3
LMckin is offline  
post #10545 of 10850 Old 09-02-2014, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
I wonder if Fox is fixing cut the 55.3 channel off and Jimmy swaggart made a deal with WGGS to used their .3 channel.for his SBN program air on the 16.3
I hope they keep Jimmy Swaggart on 55.3, but I don't know how long that contract will last with FOX. But Charlotte and GSP are considered 2 different markets, although certain areas overlap.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10546 of 10850 Old 09-03-2014, 07:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Glad to see Jimmy Swaggart on 16.3. And was even more pleasantly surprised tonight to see Tammy Faye on 16.1 in a classic Nitleline show with Joanne Thompson. She was preaching, singing, and giving testimony. Very entertaining and inspirational. I hope they show more classic shows with Jimmy and Joanne, and Tammy Faye.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10547 of 10850 Old 09-07-2014, 07:10 PM
Member
 
realoldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: columbus, nc
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 13
whns

I see the sound came back on 21.1 WHNS
realoldman is offline  
post #10548 of 10850 Old 09-11-2014, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
calvinb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Greenville. SC
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Issues with WSPA 7-1?

Anyone else have issues recently with 7-1? I am a DirecTV subscriber but like to use the AM 21 and a Channel Master antenna / pre-amp combo to receive/record the local channels thru my HD DVR. I am in Greer and used to be able to get 4-1, 7-1, 21-1, 13-1, etc. For some reason I don't get 7-1 or 7-2 anymore. Can anyone help? Much thanks in advance.
calvinb is offline  
post #10549 of 10850 Old 09-11-2014, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by calvinb View Post
Issues with WSPA 7-1?

Anyone else have issues recently with 7-1? I am a DirecTV subscriber but like to use the AM 21 and a Channel Master antenna / pre-amp combo to receive/record the local channels thru my HD DVR. I am in Greer and used to be able to get 4-1, 7-1, 21-1, 13-1, etc. For some reason I don't get 7-1 or 7-2 anymore. Can anyone help? Much thanks in advance.
WSPA seems to be coming in strong for me. But possibly some overload issue, as RF7 has a strong signal that may not need to be boosted. That could cause dropouts or loss of signal. Or perhaps some sort of new interference from FM radio or 4G LTE cell phone towers. If your preamp has an FM Trap, then turn it on. Otherwise go to Radioshack and add one. And possibly add an attenuator. Because 7 may not need to be boosted, but 13 will. So it is a balancing act. Or point your antenna towards Charlotte and get CBS from WBTV-3 which also comes in strong.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10550 of 10850 Old 09-14-2014, 08:58 AM
Senior Member
 
SnakeDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a long shot but...


I have a "home brew" DVR that I use daily to record OTA TV shows so that I can watch them later. It consists of a PC running Windows XP and an app called BeyondTV. It has worked flawlessly for years and then on or around Sept 2nd, for no apparent reason, it would no longer successfully record anything on Fox (21). My system has 6 tuners and this problem is the same on all 6 tuners. Also, all other channels (NBC, ABC, CBS, PBS, CW) still record without issue on all 6 tuners. I have done extensive testing and troubleshooting and have not found a solution.


So, my question is: Is it possible that Fox has made some minor change in their transmission that has caused this inability for me to record Fox?
SnakeDoctor is offline  
post #10551 of 10850 Old 09-14-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnakeDoctor View Post
This is a long shot but...


I have a "home brew" DVR that I use daily to record OTA TV shows so that I can watch them later. It consists of a PC running Windows XP and an app called BeyondTV. It has worked flawlessly for years and then on or around Sept 2nd, for no apparent reason, it would no longer successfully record anything on Fox (21). My system has 6 tuners and this problem is the same on all 6 tuners. Also, all other channels (NBC, ABC, CBS, PBS, CW) still record without issue on all 6 tuners. I have done extensive testing and troubleshooting and have not found a solution.


So, my question is: Is it possible that Fox has made some minor change in their transmission that has caused this inability for me to record Fox?
Don't know the answer to that. But have you tried WJZY FOX-46 from Charlotte to see if you can record FOX programming? I get a good signal at my location, but it requires a good UHF antenna and preamp.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10552 of 10850 Old 09-14-2014, 02:13 PM
Senior Member
 
SnakeDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Don't know the answer to that. But have you tried WJZY FOX-46 from Charlotte to see if you can record FOX programming? I get a good signal at my location, but it requires a good UHF antenna and preamp.
I have not tried that and to do so would require a pretty significant change to my antenna arrangement.

For now, I have replaced BeyondTV with Windows Media Center running on Windows 7 and I have no trouble with Fox. I'd prefer to return to BeyondTV due to its feature set but until I can figure out why it won't record Fox, that's not an option.
SnakeDoctor is offline  
post #10553 of 10850 Old 09-24-2014, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Is the tuning adapter necessary to receive all channels from Charter with a Samsung 530 cable box from Walmart? It seems to be working with just the cable card, and the Charter rep said she thought the tuning adapter was only necessary with the TiVo. The tuning adapter we have is no longer working, and she said we could switch it out for another one at the Charter store. Because she could not remotely send a signal to reboot it like they do with the cable box. But she said she did not think the tuning adapter was necessary with the Samsung box. Anyone know anything about this?
tylerSC is online now  
post #10554 of 10850 Old 09-25-2014, 07:25 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,153
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1071 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Is the tuning adapter necessary to receive all channels from Charter with a Samsung 530 cable box from Walmart? It seems to be working with just the cable card, and the Charter rep said she thought the tuning adapter was only necessary with the TiVo. The tuning adapter we have is no longer working, and she said we could switch it out for another one at the Charter store. Because she could not remotely send a signal to reboot it like they do with the cable box. But she said she did not think the tuning adapter was necessary with the Samsung box. Anyone know anything about this?
The Samsung box still needs a tuning adapter to receive any SDV channels, just like Tivo or any other cable card device. This fact is also documented in the Samsung manual.
mdavej is offline  
post #10555 of 10850 Old 09-25-2014, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
The Samsung box still needs a tuning adapter to receive any SDV channels, just like Tivo or any other cable card device. This fact is also documented in the Samsung manual.
Which Charter channels are SDV? We only have expanded basic package, so maybe we don't get any of the SDV channels anyway. And the Samsung box seems to be working with just the cable card. But I am going to have them switch out the tuning adapter that is not working anyhow.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10556 of 10850 Old 09-25-2014, 12:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,153
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1071 Post(s)
Liked: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Which Charter channels are SDV? We only have expanded basic package, so maybe we don't get any of the SDV channels anyway. And the Samsung box seems to be working with just the cable card. But I am going to have them switch out the tuning adapter that is not working anyhow.
I don't remember exactly, but they seemed to be scattered all over the place, even among the expanded basic channels. If you don't miss them, may as well leave it unplugged.
mdavej is offline  
post #10557 of 10850 Old 09-26-2014, 01:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I don't remember exactly, but they seemed to be scattered all over the place, even among the expanded basic channels. If you don't miss them, may as well leave it unplugged.
Went to Charter this morning and exchanged the tuning adapter and all is now well. Upgraded to a Silver Plan which now includes the Expanded Basic plus the Digital 1 tier. And somehow the promo price is $20 cheaper for 12 months at $122, including lowering the internet price. Then it may go up to $142 but they said I could renegotiate at that time. So we now have more HD channels plus the NFL Network as well as HBO, Cinemax, and Showtime. But I am still working on getting them to refund charges for a cable box and a cable card which were supposed to be free for one year after the digital upgrade last year. And since we now have a TiVo and the Samsung box, we returned the Charter cable box. Then went to Home Depot and replaced the coax cable and splitters so much better signal now.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10558 of 10850 Old 09-26-2014, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Also complained to Charter about the planned increase in the Local Broadcast fee from $3.00 a month to $5.00. I asked if they could block the local channels since I have an antenna, but they said the locals were automatically included. And they tried to insist that I could not get the broadcast networks in HD without cable service. So they were either clueless or dishonest on that issue.
tylerSC is online now  
post #10559 of 10850 Old 09-26-2014, 02:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,153
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1071 Post(s)
Liked: 587
I have Silver too. It's a great deal.

I also tried and failed to get a free cable card or cable box. If you manage to get it, please post what you did.
mdavej is offline  
post #10560 of 10850 Old 09-26-2014, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
Went to Charter this morning and exchanged the tuning adapter and all is now well. Upgraded to a Silver Plan which now includes the Expanded Basic plus the Digital 1 tier. And somehow the promo price is $20 cheaper for 12 months at $122, including lowering the internet price. Then it may go up to $142 but they said I could renegotiate at that time. So we now have more HD channels plus the NFL Network as well as HBO, Cinemax, and Showtime. But I am still working on getting them to refund charges for a cable box and a cable card which were supposed to be free for one year after the digital upgrade last year. And since we now have a TiVo and the Samsung box, we returned the Charter cable box. Then went to Home Depot and replaced the coax cable and splitters so much better signal now.
That is same Package i have with Charter since Last December. with my promo price for 12 months.

with silver you get TBN,FamilyNET,Daystar also Familynet is showing classic tv shows from sony

and i seen on my cable bill where locals fee going to $5.00 with next month bill.

Last edited by LMckin; 09-26-2014 at 02:52 PM.
LMckin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off