Greenville, SC - HDTV - Page 364 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #10891 of 10920 Old 05-02-2015, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post
Fox 21 reporting outage in SC, NC, GA and TN.
here is the charter twitter feed https://twitter.com/CharterCom/statu...78247964676096 where providing update.

it look like other cable systems of Cox, comcast,Timewarner and Directv is having issue also.
LMckin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10892 of 10920 Old 05-02-2015, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Spurrier Sucks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: On Top
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
here is the charter twitter feed https://twitter.com/CharterCom/statu...78247964676096 where providing update.

it look like other cable systems of Cox, comcast,Timewarner and Directv is having issue also.
Thank God for the Charter app. I got to see the end of the basketball game atleast. If would have bought the fight I would really be pissed!
Spurrier Sucks is online now  
post #10893 of 10920 Old 05-03-2015, 04:02 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spurrier Sucks View Post
Thank God for the Charter app. I got to see the end of the basketball game atleast. If would have bought the fight I would really be pissed!
Yes and Look like the cable service was restore sometime during night. i turn tv on about 6am and it was back on. there was alot upset customers as their facebook fill with complaints

http://www.foxcarolina.com/story/289...-cable-outages
LMckin is online now  
post #10894 of 10920 Old 05-03-2015, 10:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 4,624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
Yes and Look like the cable service was restore sometime during night. i turn tv on about 6am and it was back on. there was alot upset customers as their facebook fill with complaints

http://www.foxcarolina.com/story/289...-cable-outages
The Charter outage occurred last night about 9pm and was restored about 2am. Fortunately we have an antenna so we still had basic TV service. This is why it is good to have an antenna as a back up, and you can also receive some Charlotte channels.
tylerSC is offline  
post #10895 of 10920 Old 05-03-2015, 02:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Can anyone with Charter and a CableCard tell me if Channel 96 (FXX Analog Feed) is working for you? I can receive the HD version, but when I try to tune the analog version I get a "Channel Not Provided by Tuning Adapter" error message. I've restarted my TiVo to no avail. Tried early this morning, and just tried again a few minutes ago.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10896 of 10920 Old 05-03-2015, 05:34 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Can anyone with Charter and a CableCard tell me if Channel 96 (FXX Analog Feed) is working for you? I can receive the HD version, but when I try to tune the analog version I get a "Channel Not Provided by Tuning Adapter" error message. I've restarted my TiVo to no avail. Tried early this morning, and just tried again a few minutes ago.
There is no channel 96 Fxx is on channel 122 and channel 840

also all Charter channels is Digital now and Charter doesn't have analog anymore.

I just check on my TV
LMckin is online now  
post #10897 of 10920 Old 05-03-2015, 05:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
There is no channel 96 Fxx is on channel 122 and channel 840

also all Charter channels is Digital now and Charter doesn't have analog anymore.

I just check on my TV
Thanks, for some reason the channel map on my cable card isn't correct. It has Channel 96 listed as FXX with guide data. I can tune to 122, and it is there... but no guide data. The channel lineup for my area doesn't reflect 122 either. Has that change been recent, or has it been that way for a long time? Does anyone know how to report such an issue to Charter? I'm sure calling Customer Service will get me nowhere.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10898 of 10920 Old 05-03-2015, 06:01 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Thanks, for some reason the channel map on my cable card isn't correct. It has Channel 96 listed as FXX with guide data. I can tune to 122, and it is there... but no guide data. The channel lineup for my area doesn't reflect 122 either. Has that change been recent, or has it been that way for a long time? Does anyone know how to report such an issue to Charter? I'm sure calling Customer Service will get me nowhere.
I think it been like that since FXX was added even the charter channel line up on it website list channel 96 instead of channel 122 and i think the cable card line up is provide by zap2it.com and the charter.net channel guide shows 96 instead of channel 122 and most all other is provide by Rovi TVGOS Support <ce_customer_support at rovicorp.com>

and you can try the charter chat at https://www.myaccount.charter.com/Cu...s/Support.aspx and in the ask charter area just type Live chat you may have to type it couple times before you get a link to the chat
LMckin is online now  
post #10899 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 06:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,326
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 609
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Thanks, for some reason the channel map on my cable card isn't correct. It has Channel 96 listed as FXX with guide data. I can tune to 122, and it is there... but no guide data. The channel lineup for my area doesn't reflect 122 either. Has that change been recent, or has it been that way for a long time? Does anyone know how to report such an issue to Charter? I'm sure calling Customer Service will get me nowhere.
I have issues like this from time to time on my PC based system. It's not really Charter's doing, so no point in reporting to them. Rather report to the guide data provider for Tivo. On my PC I can edit the channel map and fix the errors myself. Not sure what to do on Tivo.

I keep a spreadsheet of all current channels on Charter, and FXX has been on it at 122 for over a year at least.

May I ask why you still watch the SD version of that channel?
mdavej is offline  
post #10900 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
here is link to the TVIO channel line up issue report http://www.tivo.com/lineup.html
LMckin is online now  
post #10901 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I have issues like this from time to time on my PC based system. It's not really Charter's doing, so no point in reporting to them. Rather report to the guide data provider for Tivo. On my PC I can edit the channel map and fix the errors myself. Not sure what to do on Tivo.

I keep a spreadsheet of all current channels on Charter, and FXX has been on it at 122 for over a year at least.

May I ask why you still watch the SD version of that channel?
I never do myself... in this case I was recording a movie for a colleague of mine who wanted the TV edited version on DVD so the bad language would be edited out. He wants to use parts of it in a classroom activity. I just set a manual recording. It was much easier to use the SD channel than have to wait on the HD feed to re-compress to DVD resolution.

I did the TiVo lineup request form last night as well, so hopefully they will correct it.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10902 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 01:53 PM
Member
 
harrys11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you see the article in the paper about the Charter outage. It was terrible. Talked about how all the cable companies had issues with signing up people for PPV for the fight. If you read it, you would think that the only thing that was out for the evening was the fight instead of almost all channels. The Greenville News is right on top of things again.
harrys11 is offline  
post #10903 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 06:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
so whns carries a golf event for the first time since 2004 this june was it because of a telethon?
danderson400 is offline  
post #10904 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by danderson400 View Post
so whns carries a golf event for the first time since 2004 this june was it because of a telethon?

A link would be nice?
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10905 of 10920 Old 05-04-2015, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
A link would be nice?

Lots of links! It's a links-style course in Washington state.

http://www.usopen.com/index.html
veedon is offline  
post #10906 of 10920 Old 05-05-2015, 07:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i think I remember it now.. it was due to the mda telethon?
danderson400 is offline  
post #10907 of 10920 Old 05-05-2015, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 944
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post

I did the TiVo lineup request form last night as well, so hopefully they will correct it.
Usually it takes about 5-7 days when dealing with TiVo using the form. Trying to contact Tribune directly is usually a waste of time and you rarely get any response. Luckily TiVo has a direct contact to work with Tribune.
rrainwater is offline  
post #10908 of 10920 Old 05-05-2015, 06:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
veedon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 1,091
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by danderson400 View Post
i think I remember it now.. it was due to the mda telethon?
What golf tournament are you referring to back in 2004, and why would that have anything to do with golf coverage? Do you mean that WHNS carried golf because the station that would have carried the golf was instead showing a telethon?

The U.S. Open is in June.
The MDA telethon, which has been discontinued, was always on Labor Day weekend.
veedon is offline  
post #10909 of 10920 Old 05-05-2015, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Deutsche Bank Championship. Always held on Labor Day weekend
danderson400 is offline  
post #10910 of 10920 Old 05-08-2015, 02:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just saw Channel 7's live report with their weather guy heading to the beach to cover the storm. I'd love to know the technology behind their "mobile" weather vehicle. The picture quality was great to be rolling along through Camden and be live on the air in HD.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10911 of 10920 Old 05-09-2015, 04:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Just saw Channel 7's live report with their weather guy heading to the beach to cover the storm. I'd love to know the technology behind their "mobile" weather vehicle. The picture quality was great to be rolling along through Camden and be live on the air in HD.
Bonded Cellular. Most stations use it now. Units made by LiveU, TVU, Dejero and others. H264 at around 8 mb/s with a good connection. Uses multiple (4-6 or more) 4G aircards from multiple carriers ganged together to get the bandwidth.

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!

Last edited by bdfox18doe; 05-09-2015 at 05:05 AM.
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #10912 of 10920 Old 05-09-2015, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdfox18doe View Post
Bonded Cellular. Most stations use it now. Units made by LiveU, TVU, Dejero and others. H264 at around 8 mb/s with a good connection. Uses multiple (4-6 or more) 4G aircards from multiple carriers ganged together to get the bandwidth.
Very cool, it sure puts those old videophone setups CNN, NBC, and others ran around with during the Iraq war. It's amazing how far technology has come. I guess that explains why the picture starts breaking up or looking like a bad web stream on liveshots sometimes.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10913 of 10920 Unread 05-10-2015, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bdfox18doe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 6,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 88
yep, they can go from pristine too poo in a heartbeat....

Bob

The views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent those of ABC, CBS, CW, FOX, MeTv, or AntennaTv; my employer; or its parent company.
Nor my wife for that matter!
bdfox18doe is offline  
post #10914 of 10920 Unread 05-11-2015, 09:54 AM
Member
 
Neil Griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of delay do these bonded cellular systems have?
Neil Griffin is offline  
post #10915 of 10920 Unread 05-11-2015, 10:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil Griffin View Post
What kind of delay do these bonded cellular systems have?
I'm sure Bob can give us a technical answer, but it is definitely noticeable. Now that I think about it these super long, awkward pauses that pop up so frequently between the anchors and live shot reporters in newscasts now must be because of these types of devices.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #10916 of 10920 Unread 05-11-2015, 01:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,078
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
I'm sure Bob can give us a technical answer, but it is definitely noticeable. Now that I think about it these super long, awkward pauses that pop up so frequently between the anchors and live shot reporters in newscasts now must be because of these types of devices.
They can run from 1.5 to 5 seconds. Depends on the connection and how much compression you are using. These boxes normally use anywhere from 4 to 6 connections at a time (yep SIX cell numbers! Henceforth the name, "bonded cellular", the six numbers are bonded together by splitting the video into 6 smaller streams and then reassembled at the station) and that is why stations don't really use them in heavy breaking news situations like a plane crash on a busy highway unless they know there is enough bandwidth available in the area for all the "lookie Lou's" using their cells as well. We use 4 Mpbs for H.264 HD and we get around 3 seconds. Slightly longer than a standard sat delay and it seems to be a good trade off of bandwidth and PQ. If it is a weather type vehicle, most stations will mount an external antenna on the vehicle or some companies offer complete mobile units that are hard mounted in the vehicles like the storm chasers in the Mid West.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is offline  
post #10917 of 10920 Unread 05-11-2015, 06:05 PM
Senior Member
 
ckeegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry, hope this hasn't been discussed before, but the new enhanced mobile view on AVS doesn't let me search threads.

Anyway, does anyone else have WYFF surround sound issues? Specifically the rear is extremely high, but really only during commercials. It's only station where it is extremely noticeable. I mean, to the point where I almost always mute commercials when I am watching a show on that station. My setup is DirecTV through an XBOX One through a Denon 3313ci out to a 5.1 Cambridge Audio system.

Prime example: right now watching The Voice which is outputting around 42db out of my left rear at the most. Commercials come on and the spikes hit 58db from the exact same measuring position!
ckeegan is offline  
post #10918 of 10920 Unread 05-12-2015, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMckin View Post
There is no channel 96 Fxx is on channel 122 and channel 840

also all Charter channels is Digital now and Charter doesn't have analog anymore.

I just check on my TV
I emailed Charter Guide data provider about FXX been listed on channel 96 and they check with Charter and they told them that FXX was on 96 on their list and they don't have any listing on channel 122 so i don't know why it on 122 when it propose to be on channel 96


also i chated with a charter support person about a issue and i asked him about the outage other weekend and he people try watch that fight overload the system.
LMckin is online now  
post #10919 of 10920 Unread Today, 09:56 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11,326
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1153 Post(s)
Liked: 609
I contacted Gracenote about FXX. They provide guide data for Tivo and Windows Media Center, among others. They're usually pretty responsive. So this should hopefully be fixed in a few days.
mdavej is offline  
post #10920 of 10920 Unread Today, 10:12 AM
Senior Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I contacted Gracenote about FXX. They provide guide data for Tivo and Windows Media Center, among others. They're usually pretty responsive. So this should hopefully be fixed in a few days.

Good luck hope you have better luck then me.
LMckin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off