Greenville, SC - HDTV - Page 382 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 19Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11431 of 11453 Old 11-27-2016, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnakeDoctor View Post
Over the past several weeks, I have had a lot of intermittent trouble with OTA reception for WSPA (Channel 7). Normally the reception is excellent. On only some evenings over the past few weeks, I get very frequent (5 to 10 per minute) video glitches. The audio seems OK. This past Tuesday from 8:00 to about 9:30 PM was particularly bad, then the problem went away almost completely around 9:30. Wednesday evening was fine.

Does anyone know if this is a WSPA transmission issue? I am going on the theory that it is not a problem with my reception since some of the time WSPA is fine along with the other channels I receive are also fine as usual. Also since Tuesday around 9:30 the problem went from very bad to nearly no problem at all makes it seem like a transmission issue and not a reception issue.

Thanks,
Bill
I've been having the same issues on Charter with WSPADT. I rarely watch it live, but my recordings from this past tuesday all had issues from WSPA. In fact, I've seen it on several recordings from that channel in the last few weeks.
rrainwater is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11432 of 11453 Old 11-28-2016, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Although VHF is more subject to noise and interference, WSPA has a good strong signal in the local Upstate SC area. Unlike WLOS which is a bit more problematic. So there could have been some temporary transmission issue with Channel 7. Hopefully it has been corrected.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11433 of 11453 Old 11-28-2016, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
SnakeDoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all of the replies. I have not noticed any problems over the last few days but I have not been watching much TV lately either. And, what I have seen has been strictly WSPA and has been intermittent so I am discounting any problems on my end for now.
SnakeDoctor is offline  
post #11434 of 11453 Old 12-02-2016, 09:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Has anyone noticed for the last few weeks WHNS (Fox) 712 on Charter is constantly switching between blurry and sharp every second? I am seeing this on all primetime programming. It is especially annoying during football as the grass is constantly changing and graphics on the screen keep flashing from blurry to sharp. I don't have an OTA setup to test if this is a Charter encoding issue or not but I can't believe no one has noticed.
rrainwater is online now  
post #11435 of 11453 Old 12-03-2016, 07:12 PM
Member
 
Valkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Preamp signal booster


Hi, I have finally cut the cord and am using my old 40 year old antenna, after trying two new ones. I have it 30' up and can't pull in 40, 62 and especially 13. 62 and 40 comes in obsessionally with the weather.

I know very little about pre amps and boosters, but I did read if I buy one too strong it could weaken the signal coming from a strong station like channel 4 or 7. Any suggestions on a good one that will work for me is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks in advance!
Valkster is offline  
post #11436 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 01:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkster View Post
Preamp signal booster


Hi, I have finally cut the cord and am using my old 40 year old antenna, after trying two new ones. I have it 30' up and can't pull in 40, 62 and especially 13. 62 and 40 comes in obsessionally with the weather.

I know very little about pre amps and boosters, but I did read if I buy one too strong it could weaken the signal coming from a strong station like channel 4 or 7. Any suggestions on a good one that will work for me is greatly appreciated!!

Thanks in advance!
After 40 years you may need to change the cable and the connectors. Meaning replace the coax cable and the matching transformer, as well as any splitters. Also, does the antenna have a good UHF section? And all of the VHF elements? What type of antenna?

As for a preamp, it may be necessary for 13, but you have to be careful of overload issues from other strong signals. And you may need an FM trap or variable attenuator. You can try a Winegard LNA200 preamp sold at Home Depot. If that is problematic, then a Channel Master 3414 distribution amp may be a better choice, or an Antennas Direct Clearstream Juice preamp.

For an an antenna, you may consider a Winegard 7694 or 7697 combo version for High VHF and UHF, or a Clearstream 4V sold at Best Buy. Among other possibilities.
Valkster likes this.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11437 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ybsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,326
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Tyler, For pre-amps I use the Winegard HDA-200 which has a variable attenuator and FM trap. I am in the very north of Mecklenburg and this allows me to get all of Charlotte plus Greensboro stations.
Valkster likes this.

All Comments made are my own and not of my employer.
ybsane is offline  
post #11438 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 08:11 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
You've probably already done this but. Be sure and check tvfool.com and find out where the towers are in relation to your house.

Channel 40's tower is not located anywhere near the others, making it a bit of a problem. 13 is between Cherokee and Asheville. 62 is near Hendersonville, they share a tower with MY102.5.

Channels 7, 13 & 29 are high VHF (29 is really on channel 9 now, not sure what channels their Spartanburg and Greenwood channel are on, but they're UHF). Channel 4 is UHF and is on channel 36.
16 & 21 are on 16 & 21. 40 is on 14. UNC TV is on channels 25 & 27. 62 is on 45. And if can get it channel 32 from Toccoa it is on 24.

Here in Oconee county 62 is the problem child.
Valkster likes this.
rtripboy is offline  
post #11439 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 11:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,352
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2068 Post(s)
Liked: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
Has anyone noticed for the last few weeks WHNS (Fox) 712 on Charter is constantly switching between blurry and sharp every second? I am seeing this on all primetime programming. It is especially annoying during football as the grass is constantly changing and graphics on the screen keep flashing from blurry to sharp. I don't have an OTA setup to test if this is a Charter encoding issue or not but I can't believe no one has noticed.
I'm seeing exactly the same thing on Charter. I was able to check OTA as well, and it looks perfectly fine. So I thought maybe since Fox broadcasts 720p, maybe Tivo converting to 1080i was the culprit. But when I changed resolution to 720p, it was even worse. So it appears that Charter is simply compressing the heck out of Fox. I guess our only option is to call and complain. If they're short on bandwidth, they could just put some more channels on SDV.
mdavej is online now  
post #11440 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I'm seeing exactly the same thing on Charter. I was able to check OTA as well, and it looks perfectly fine. So I thought maybe since Fox broadcasts 720p, maybe Tivo converting to 1080i was the culprit. But when I changed resolution to 720p, it was even worse. So it appears that Charter is simply compressing the heck out of Fox. I guess our only option is to call and complain. If they're short on bandwidth, they could just put some more channels on SDV.


It appears to be an issue with Fox channels in general. I've been watching FXX's Simpsons marathon on Charter and it has the same issues
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #11441 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by ybsane View Post
Tyler, For pre-amps I use the Winegard HDA-200 which has a variable attenuator and FM trap. I am in the very north of Mecklenburg and this allows me to get all of Charlotte plus Greensboro stations.
Sounds like that is a good amp with the adjustable gain and the FM trap. Sometimes that one gets overlooked.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11442 of 11453 Old 12-04-2016, 05:25 PM
Member
 
Valkster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
After 40 years you may need to change the cable and the connectors. Meaning replace the coax cable and the matching transformer, as well as any splitters. Also, does the antenna have a good UHF section? And all of the VHF elements? What type of antenna?

As for a preamp, it may be necessary for 13, but you have to be careful of overload issues from other strong signals. And you may need an FM trap or variable attenuator. You can try a Winegard LNA200 preamp sold at Home Depot. If that is problematic, then a Channel Master 3414 distribution amp may be a better choice, or an Antennas Direct Clearstream Juice preamp.

For an an antenna, you may consider a Winegard 7694 or 7697 combo version for High VHF and UHF, or a Clearstream 4V sold at Best Buy. Among other possibilities.
Tyler It has always been a good antenna and better than the 2 new ones I returned. Yes I have all new RG6 cable, connector. When 62 and 40 comes in it is great and all seems dependent upon the weather. Now 13 I can't get at all where I used to get on 5 but it doesn't come in now and I even went up 10 more feet. Yes I guess I need a weak one since I get strong 4,7 16, 21, 29..just missing 3. Should i get like a 10dbs preamp? All my station are with in 60 miles of Pickens 29671. Thank for the help Tyler!
Valkster is offline  
post #11443 of 11453 Old 12-05-2016, 10:44 AM
Member
 
harrys11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
Has anyone noticed for the last few weeks WHNS (Fox) 712 on Charter is constantly switching between blurry and sharp every second? I am seeing this on all primetime programming. It is especially annoying during football as the grass is constantly changing and graphics on the screen keep flashing from blurry to sharp. I don't have an OTA setup to test if this is a Charter encoding issue or not but I can't believe no one has noticed.
I noticed the same issue Saturday night while watching the Big 10 football game. It looked really bad.

I have had numerous problems with local stations on Charter recently. AT&T is running fiber in my neighborhood. Maybe time to consider switching if this continues.
harrys11 is online now  
post #11444 of 11453 Old 12-05-2016, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkster View Post
Tyler It has always been a good antenna and better than the 2 new ones I returned. Yes I have all new RG6 cable, connector. When 62 and 40 comes in it is great and all seems dependent upon the weather. Now 13 I can't get at all where I used to get on 5 but it doesn't come in now and I even went up 10 more feet. Yes I guess I need a weak one since I get strong 4,7 16, 21, 29..just missing 3. Should i get like a 10dbs preamp? All my station are with in 60 miles of Pickens 29671. Thank for the help Tyler!
Those old antennas by Winegard and Channel Master were very well made and constructed. Today's versions by Channel Master are now Chinese made versions which may not perform as well. Although their newer 8 bay model 4228HD seems to work well. But most Winegard antennas are still Made in the USA. So for a combo antenna for High VHF and UHF you may consider the Winegard 7698. Since you have mountains and trees nearby, this larger version may not be overkill rather than the 7694 which is smaller.

But as long as you old antenna seems to work, you can continue making adjustments. You can try a preamp but be careful of overload by strong signals which will cause problems. The Home Depot sells the Winegard LNA200 and Lowe's carries the RCA preamp.

When aiming the antenna you may need to find a sweet spot, but 40 may be the problem because it is in a different general location from the others.
Valkster likes this.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11445 of 11453 Old 12-06-2016, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Why does WHNS for next week's late NFL game have New Orleans at Tampa Bay instead of Seattle at Green Bay? Is it because the former game was flexed to 4:25? or is it because of how close the NFC South race is?
danderson400 is offline  
post #11446 of 11453 Old 12-06-2016, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
LMckin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Is anybody else having problem with channel 174 Logo as it been showing one Moment please this channel be available shortly it been showing that message all morning.
LMckin is offline  
post #11447 of 11453 Old Yesterday, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Based on my WHNS recordings, it seems Charter has dropped the quality almost 20% based on the file sizes I am seeing. Not only that, but what ever they are using to re-encode the files is garbage. It is basically unwatchable now. If it lasts much longer, I will definitely switch back to Directv. Watching sitcoms or dramas are hard enough but watching football is a nightmare. Why Charter is only compressing Fox and not other networks makes no sense. It is possible they don't even know they are doing it given their general lack of competence. If they really wanted to save room, they should be switching to MPEG-4, not compressing channels into a unwatchable state.
rrainwater is online now  
post #11448 of 11453 Old Yesterday, 04:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Speaking of Charter and video quality levels. I watch Dancing with the Stars (yes I just admitted I watch DWTS).

Anyway if I record it on my Charter supplied DVR from WLOS it looks much sharper than if I watch it from Charter's On Demand. So I checked some other ABC shows. All of them looked better recorded from WLOS.

Not important. Just backwards of what you might expect.
rtripboy is offline  
post #11449 of 11453 Old Yesterday, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tylerSC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mauldin SC, 29607
Posts: 5,349
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
Based on my WHNS recordings, it seems Charter has dropped the quality almost 20% based on the file sizes I am seeing. Not only that, but what ever they are using to re-encode the files is garbage. It is basically unwatchable now. If it lasts much longer, I will definitely switch back to Directv. Watching sitcoms or dramas are hard enough but watching football is a nightmare. Why Charter is only compressing Fox and not other networks makes no sense. It is possible they don't even know they are doing it given their general lack of competence. If they really wanted to save room, they should be switching to MPEG-4, not compressing channels into a unwatchable state.
So WHNS is the only local channel effected? I wonder if this is a Charter issue or it is also over the air from WHNS? Their local news doesn't appear HD like the other local stations. if it is a Charter problem, you could always add an antenna.
tylerSC is offline  
post #11450 of 11453 Old Yesterday, 05:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
Based on my WHNS recordings, it seems Charter has dropped the quality almost 20% based on the file sizes I am seeing. Not only that, but what ever they are using to re-encode the files is garbage. It is basically unwatchable now. If it lasts much longer, I will definitely switch back to Directv. Watching sitcoms or dramas are hard enough but watching football is a nightmare. Why Charter is only compressing Fox and not other networks makes no sense. It is possible they don't even know they are doing it given their general lack of competence. If they really wanted to save room, they should be switching to MPEG-4, not compressing channels into a unwatchable state.
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
So WHNS is the only local channel effected? I wonder if this is a Charter issue or it is also over the air from WHNS? Their local news doesn't appear HD like the other local stations. if it is a Charter problem, you could always add an antenna.
Charter has made some changes over the past few months that I've noticed as well. It almost seems like they're using some sort of variable modulation now as opposed to fixed modulation. I use to be able to record any 720p channel and author it to Blu-Ray without any re-encoding. Now nothing I record from WLOS via Charter will burn at all without a 5-6 hour re-encoding process. WSOC's recordings OTA are fine.

I've also been recording the FXX "Simpsons" marathon. Even though every episode recording ran 32 minutes (1 minute early, 1 late) the file sizes fluctuate considerably from episode to episode. What is even stranger is that episode 1 recorded at 9:00pm will burn to disc fine with no re-encoding, then episodes 2 & 3 want re-encoding, then 4-6 will burn fine, etc. There is no pattern or explanation to it.
cpalmer2k is online now  
post #11451 of 11453 Old Yesterday, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
rrainwater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by tylerSC View Post
So WHNS is the only local channel effected? I wonder if this is a Charter issue or it is also over the air from WHNS? Their local news doesn't appear HD like the other local stations. if it is a Charter problem, you could always add an antenna.
It is a Charter problem only apparently. For instance, a typical 30 minute show use to take about 3GB of space. Now it takes about 2.5. But the worst part is the compression is broken. It has a focus problem where it will blur certain parts of the screen for one second, then sharpen it. This happens at a constant rate every second. Watching football with green grass will make you nauseated.

Unfortunately an antenna doesn't work very well at my current location being in a valley surrounded by massive trees.
rrainwater is online now  
post #11452 of 11453 Old Today, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,352
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2068 Post(s)
Liked: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrainwater View Post
Based on my WHNS recordings, it seems Charter has dropped the quality almost 20% based on the file sizes I am seeing. Not only that, but what ever they are using to re-encode the files is garbage. It is basically unwatchable now. If it lasts much longer, I will definitely switch back to Directv. Watching sitcoms or dramas are hard enough but watching football is a nightmare. Why Charter is only compressing Fox and not other networks makes no sense. It is possible they don't even know they are doing it given their general lack of competence. If they really wanted to save room, they should be switching to MPEG-4, not compressing channels into a unwatchable state.
Yep, looks like total crap. Charter is starting to look like it did several years ago, HD in name only. I'm pretty fed up too. Will be switching to PS Vue or DirecTV Now in the very near future and keeping Tivo for OTA to supplement.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpalmer2k View Post
Charter has made some changes over the past few months that I've noticed as well. It almost seems like they're using some sort of variable modulation now as opposed to fixed modulation. I use to be able to record any 720p channel and author it to Blu-Ray without any re-encoding. Now nothing I record from WLOS via Charter will burn at all without a 5-6 hour re-encoding process. WSOC's recordings OTA are fine.

I've also been recording the FXX "Simpsons" marathon. Even though every episode recording ran 32 minutes (1 minute early, 1 late) the file sizes fluctuate considerably from episode to episode. What is even stranger is that episode 1 recorded at 9:00pm will burn to disc fine with no re-encoding, then episodes 2 & 3 want re-encoding, then 4-6 will burn fine, etc. There is no pattern or explanation to it.
Simpsons looks terrible on FXX, way over-compressed.
mdavej is online now  
post #11453 of 11453 Old Today, 09:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
cpalmer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 877
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 203 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The thing I don't understand is they've moved a large number of channels to SDV, and haven't actually added any channels. They shouldn't be bandwidth starved when they aren't adding anything in the bandwidth they've freed up. If they were adding the Time Warner owned channels it would be different, but so far nothing new has been added.
cpalmer2k is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off