Greenville, SC - HDTV - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 10570 Old 02-19-2004, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
foxeng:
Thanks a ton for jumping in with tech help. Hope you continue to monitor for opportunities to assist.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 10570 Old 02-19-2004, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All:
Samsung has suggested I replace the Sam TS 160 with a TS 360. So far, I have not been impressed with user comments. Any of you have first hand knowledge of the 360. My 160 has started to go to the installation screen for no apparent reason...and download data for some 90 seconds. (This would be my fourth unit from Samsung. The 160 also suddenly drops scanned channels from time to time.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #183 of 10570 Old 02-19-2004, 10:36 AM
Senior Member
 
enoree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enoree, SC
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read about the plans for FOX Sports to do NASCAR,MLB,NFL in 720p. It SURE would be nice to AT LEAST get the FOX widescreen from WHNS. Meredith stinks about as bad as Sinclair ,as far as being up front and honest with their intentions and giving a rip about the consumer.
enoree is offline  
post #184 of 10570 Old 02-19-2004, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand your frustration, but messages of that nature won't help. I'll get the corporate address and publish it here for a letter writing campaign.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #185 of 10570 Old 02-19-2004, 01:34 PM
Member
 
mdgaffney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry,

You have mentioned in the past that amps seem to cause more problems than they solve. I have been using a motorola broadband drop amp for some time, and it seems to work very well. I was wondering if you or anyone had tried to use this amp. It claims to have a gain of 15dB. I originally bought this for use on cable for internet, when I did not sign up for the internet I put it away and forgot about it. I bought the amp at Best Buy for around $65. It was sold as a signal booster for TV - Digital Cable -Internet which improves UHF/VHF/FM antenna reception. It also says it is HDTV compatible.
mdgaffney is offline  
post #186 of 10570 Old 02-19-2004, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Apps1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Enoree- Fox WS east & west will be on DirecTv soon. Check to see if you qualify for DNS or if WHNS will give you a waiver.
Apps1 is offline  
post #187 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
mnason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a HD tuner last month and am really enjoying HDTV. WSPA is doing a great job (along with CBS). WLOS/ABC seems to be the weak link in our area. Who do we need to write, call or e mail to get them going? It drives me crazy knowing that ABC has HD prime time shows that I can't get! I am so disappointed that the Oscars are going to be on ABC. I wanted to have a Oscar party like I did with the Super Bowl but without HD it just wouldn't be the same.
mnason is offline  
post #188 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 08:12 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mdgaffney:
Thanks for the info regarding the RF amp. The reasonable gain is a good start. Do you have the noise figure? It appears it is a wide band (VHF-UHF) amp...and I probably could use a bit of boost for the Channel 9 signal from Greenville. (I am not totally against using amplification, but only after achieving the best possible signal from an antenna(s). It is just that over the years I found that most people assume more is better and end up overloading their receiver front ends. Many HD receivers have a relatively low tolerance for excessive RF.)

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #189 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 08:15 AM
Senior Member
 
enoree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Enoree, SC
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WLOS is owned by Sinclair, this outfit is about the worst owner as far as HD goes. If you live in the right area you can get WOLO-DT from Columbia as it is on a VHF channel.A good deep fringe VHF-UHF antenna and a pre-amp can do the trick.ABC does pretty good HD , and WOLO does a great job of passing it thru. They have great engineering staff there.
enoree is offline  
post #190 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 09:30 AM
Member
 
mdgaffney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry,

The spec for the motorola amp are:

Forward Specifications(52-1000MHz) Nominal
Gain 15dB
Input Return Loss 25dB
Output Return Loss 25dB
Noise Figure 2.5dB max.
RFI Shielding 100dB min.

Return Specifations (5-40MHz) Nominal
Insertion Loss 1dB
Input Return Loss 25dB
Output Return Loss 25dB

More info can be found at www.motorola.com/broadband
mdgaffney is offline  
post #191 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re WLOS:

I suggest a letter campaign to General Manager Les Vann, WLOS, 110 Technology Drive, Asheville, NC 28804, expressing your interest in ABC's HD programming would help. I have asked for the name of the CEO of broadcast at Sinclair, but have not yet received it. Meanwhile, watch for a posting here. I will also include ABC's affiliate relations address...so save a copies of your letters for later posting.

ps--It is interesting to note that Sinclair has a DT division!

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #192 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a note on Sinclair's DTV website. I find it interesting.

Welcome to Sinclair DTV.com. Sinclair Broadcast Group, Inc. is working hard to bring digital television to viewers accross the country. This site will provide you with valuable information about this new and exciting standard in television broadcasting. We hope that you will come to this site when you have questions about digital television and the technology behind it. If you cannot find the answer to your question, feel free to submit it to " Mr. DTV."


Send copies of your correspondence with WLOS to:
Sinclair Broadcast Group
Attention Brodcast CEO
10706 Beaver Dam Road
Hunt Valley, MD 21030

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #193 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
mnason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry,

Thanks for the addresses. I will send a letter to both General Manager Les Vann at WLOS and to the Sinclair Broadcast Group in MD. I encourage everyone to do the same. The more noise that we make the better!
mnason is offline  
post #194 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re WLOS

Mark Aitken, "MisterDTV", is a member of AVS and posts over on the Programming forum.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #195 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re WLOS:

I may have new information that I can post very soon. Mark Aitken, "MisterDTV", is a member of AVS and posts over on the Programming forum. I have invited him to monitor our forum and keep us informed.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #196 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 02:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inman, SC & Melbourne Beach, FL
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry Birdwell-
As a newbie, I have only limited experience in HDTV. I bought a Samsung 360 which I use with a 65" Mitsu RPTV. I am perfectly satisfied. In addition to the Directv channels, I get a lot of OTA HDTV (alas, not WLOS yet). I like the way the receiver interleaves the channels in the menu. I have had zero problems EXCEPT it locked up one time. Since then, I have simply turned it off each time I turn off the TV, and have had no lockups since.

mgtr

Anything worth doing, is worth doing to excess.
mgtr is offline  
post #197 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by mgtr
Jerry Birdwell-
. I bought a Samsung 360 which I use with a 65" Mitsu RPTV. I am perfectly satisfied. In addition to the Directv channels, I get a lot of OTA HDTV (alas, not xxxxxx
mgtr

Thanks. I take it you have no experience with the 160. After some six months use, it has started rebooting (going to the install and downloading guide data) for no reason at all. I must make a decision whether or not to go with the 360. In that I feed all the house a composite video feed, I need to have video out from the composite (RCA plug) while also using the HDTV Component out. (Most people use it for recording on VCR). Have you tried that? Have you ever lost a scanned in Channel for no apparent reason...perhaps when the station went off the air for a while?
Appreciate your help.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #198 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 03:44 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
foxeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Where ever I am is where I am.
Posts: 14,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:


Originally posted by jerry birdwell
Thanks. I take it you have no experience with the 160. After some six months use, it has started rebooting (going to the install and downloading guide data) for no reason at all. I must make a decision whether or not to go with the 360. In that I feed all the house a composit video feed, I need to have video out from the composit (RCA plug) while also using the HDTV Component out. (Most people use it for recording on VCR). Have you tried that? Have you ever lost a scanned in Channel for no apparent reason...perhaps when the station went off the air for a while?
Appreciate your help.

I have had my 160 now almost 18 months and adter the software upgrade in Dec 2002, My 160 hasn't locked up one time, nor have I had any problems with it at all.

All opinions expressed (unless otherwise noted) are the posters and NOT the posters employers. The poster in NO WAY is/will speak for his employers.
foxeng is online now  
post #199 of 10570 Old 02-20-2004, 04:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
mgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Inman, SC & Melbourne Beach, FL
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jerry Birdwell-
I haven't tried to record on a VCR off the system, although I assume it would work. I record on another system in the house. I don't think I have ever lost a scanned in channel, although I have experimented around with a variety of antennas and directions, and don't always recall exactly which channels were in at any given time. Good luck.
mgtr

Anything worth doing, is worth doing to excess.
mgtr is offline  
post #200 of 10570 Old 02-23-2004, 09:09 AM
Member
 
billyrayvalentin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greer
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WLOS 13-1 and 13-2 showed up in my channel guide for the first time yesterday. (Have a Zenith 520) Granted the signal wasn't anywhere close enough to get anytype of picture. Did they recently up the power a little that I'm able to receive the guide data. Or did they just start sending the guide data out?

Mike
billyrayvalentin is offline  
post #201 of 10570 Old 02-23-2004, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re WLOS programming data:

I, too, just started receiving the Programming Data. I sent the station a note acknowledging it...and noting how much easier it is to make a decision to watch the station... Yet it would be much better if we could receive the ABC HD programs. I am awaiting new information from Sinclair that I think will be good news for this area.

(Mike -- WLOS-DT power was increased a fair amount with the installation of new equipment a couple of months back...but it still is not full power. And, I believe the transmission pattern is very directional, almost"D" shape with very little energy going west). I have noted very little signal increase reaching my location, although the signal for me contues to be very stable.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #202 of 10570 Old 02-25-2004, 09:38 PM
Senior Member
 
IfixitBIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Just wanted to give you folks a heads up with Charter cable HDTV in the Greenville, SC area. We've been told the roll out will begin at the end of March. Now I know you have heard dates from Charter before, but I can assure you this is a very high priority for us. When I hear something more, I will let you know in this forum.

John B.

John Burton

IfixitBIG is offline  
post #203 of 10570 Old 02-26-2004, 05:38 AM
Member
 
mdgaffney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
John B,

Glad to hear that hope you will let us know what is being offered and what the cost will be.

thanks,
Mike G
mdgaffney is offline  
post #204 of 10570 Old 02-26-2004, 07:57 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IfixitBIG

Welcome to our thread.

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #205 of 10570 Old 02-26-2004, 12:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jerry birdwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Re: Receiver Problems:
My Samsung TS 160 has suddenly gone into the "Installation" mode many times in the past month or so, and downloads program data for about 90 seconds. I never associated it any particular channel until today. After receiving a replacement receiver, it did the same thing three times within the first 20 minutes of operation. I was using 33-1 (WUNF-DT) for setup. It was then I realized that while recording 33-1 a couple of weeks ago the recording was interrupted with the "installation" mode.
Today, Wayne Estabrooks confirmed he has had problems not receiving data on his TS-165, but has never experienced the "installation" interruption. He has sent an email to the engineers responsible for the PSIP programming and is checking on the possibility of a problem.
(Samsung also reports that other stations has had problems with the PSIP causing reception problems with Samsung receivers.)

Any other similar experience?

JB - Asheville

jerry birdwell is offline  
post #206 of 10570 Old 03-01-2004, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
IfixitBIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Update on HD coming to Charter customers in the upstate. I've been told the HD launch date will be March 28th. No word on pricing yet, but I will let you know as soon as I hear. They are offering a cool package to new customers, but is not related to the HD package. If you have any questions, let me know.

John Burton

IfixitBIG is offline  
post #207 of 10570 Old 03-01-2004, 02:19 PM
Member
 
mdgaffney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenville, South Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ifixitbig,

I checked with Charter Friday Feb 27, here is what I was told:
Did not know when rollout would be, but went on to say box rental for HDTV would be $6.99 he even listed the output connections (compontent, S-VHS, composite. Initally the following would be offered:
HBO-HD with sub to HBO
SHO-HD with sub to SHO
HdNet
NdNet Movies
NBC
FOX(I did not question this)
CBS
He said more would be added later but they might cost extra. He mentioned ESPN-HD.
The HD channels would be free except you must subscribe to HBO or SHO to receive their HD broadcasts. A check of the Atalanta area Charter service(Smyrna, Ga.) shows their HD-Tier to be the above mentioned stations.

I hope the March 28 rollout happens but I still dont trust Charter.
mdgaffney is offline  
post #208 of 10570 Old 03-01-2004, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Apps1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am glad Charter appears to be finally getting on board with HD. They are too late to get my business, but more choice is good for everyone.
Apps1 is offline  
post #209 of 10570 Old 03-01-2004, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
IfixitBIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Simpsonville, SC
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Apps1, mdgaffney,
I understand your concern. I work with Charter Media, the advertising side of Charter Communications. I will tell you on the inside, they are getting information to us, hoping we will pass it around. I will keep you folks informed as I get information. Maybe one day, we can win back that trust.

John Burton

IfixitBIG is offline  
post #210 of 10570 Old 03-01-2004, 04:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Apps1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IfixitBIG- Does Charter have a set top box with the ability to record HD programming (HD PVR)?
Apps1 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List
tylerSC

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off