Austin, TX - HDTV - Page 231 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6901 of 6914 Old 07-21-2014, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
Yes, if you're speaking about smeary picture during sporting events, that's just KVUE and the idiotic way it's set up, converting ABC's nice 720p signal to 1080i. But if you're getting a signal dropout, that's another thing entirely.
ABC owns ESPN, and ABC airs a lot of ESPN sports programming. So when you see an ESPN show on ABC, it will be in 1080i, which is the native broadcast resolution of ESPN. It was like that for the World Cup, for example.

I watch a lot of ESPN sports, and have never had a complaint about their picture quality. Same goes for when ABC airs ESPN content. I'm not sure what you mean by "the idiotic way it is set up".
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6902 of 6914 Old 07-21-2014, 07:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Well, the last time I looked, the ABC feed coming into KVUE was 720p, regardless of program content. The previous owners, Belo, had decided that all their stations would be 1080i, regardless of network. Hence, the "side" conversion with, an unfortunate introduction of artifacts.

The ESPN website confirms that it produces in 720p

http://sports.espn.go.com/sports/tvl...ory?id=1614556

It's a very old link, but still applicable IIRC. Frankly, I haven't watched a lot of sports on KVUE for a number of years due to the 720p/1080i issue in that any time you do a conversion like this, something is usually lost. I'm hoping this has changed since 720p first entered that building. But I haven't seen the documentation of it yet. If you have it, please point me in that direction.


thanks!

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://austindogalliance.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national

Last edited by austinsho; 07-21-2014 at 07:51 PM.
austinsho is offline  
post #6903 of 6914 Old 07-21-2014, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 650
My apologies, I just checked, and ABC is indeed sending out a 1080i signal. But I don't see a degraded picture quality from what it was when it was 720p.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #6904 of 6914 Old 07-21-2014, 07:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
No worries at all, sir! <grin> My issues with the 720p/1080i local conversion is that football tends to lose a lot during fast motion. Normal programming, I don't think anyone could ever tell the difference.

If you compare the NASCAR broadcasts on KTBC in their native 720p with football on KVUE, I personally think the difference is almost painful.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://austindogalliance.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6905 of 6914 Old 07-21-2014, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 6,831
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Liked: 650
You are correct, I am watching normal programming right now. I will pay close attention next time I tune in a sports show on ABC.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #6906 of 6914 Old 07-22-2014, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
For those of you who are considering Dish with an OTA module, I'd like to report here that there is indeed guide data available for most OTA channels in the Hopper. Here's what my new setup has found:

KTBC 7.1 / Fox - all program data
KTBC 7.2 / Movies! - no guide data

KLRU 18.1 / PBS - all program data
KLRU 18.2 / PBS Create - all program data
KLRU 18.3 / PBS Q - all program data
KLRU 18.4 / PBS VMe - all program data

KVUE 24.1 / ABC - all program data
KVUE 24.2 / TV Estrella - all program data
KVUE 24.3 / radar - no program data

KXAN 36.1 / NBC - all program data

KEYE 42.1 / CBS - all program data
KEYE 42.2 / Telemundo - all program data

KNVA / 54.1 / CW - all program data

So the only holdout is Fox with its Movies! Channel. The all-important PBS data is there, and I'm one happy camper. Please note: I don't get the low power KAKW/KTFO feed where I am with my modest antenna, so I can't report on that.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://austindogalliance.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6907 of 6914 Old 07-22-2014, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
For those of you who are considering Dish with an OTA module, I'd like to report here that there is indeed guide data available for most OTA channels in the Hopper.
Thanks for posting. Once the OTA module is added to the Hopper, how does it show up in the guide? Can you post a screenshot?

I guess Prime Time Anytime records the 4 major networks on one tuner and then each OTA channel is considered a tuner and then there are still 3 tuners available for any satellite channels? Can you also post a picture of the "TV Activity" screen (when you push the red button on the remote)?

Thanks!

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #6908 of 6914 Old 07-22-2014, 09:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
The channels and subchannels that the OTA module finds appear in the guide just as the satellite-delivered locals do, right beside them. Their logos are in yellow, but that's the only difference. It does take a day for the information to populate, so for the first 24 hours there's no data. If you're familiar with the DirecTV guide, it looks very similar. But unlike DirecTV, you get a real scan, not just the sub-channels that the provider allows you to have.

As to the rest, I'm really a noob at Dish, having last fooled with it back in 1999, and having been with DirecTV ever since. But I'll try to contribute what I can. When I push the red button to record a show currently in progress, a little box pops up saying I'm about to record, and do I want to record just this episode or the entire series.

Having little interest in prime time network programming, I've turned PTA off, so I can't help much there.

I mainly went to Dish for the international English news channels, such as France 24, Euronews, and others.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://austindogalliance.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6909 of 6914 Old 07-23-2014, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
The channels and subchannels that the OTA module finds appear in the guide just as the satellite-delivered locals do, right beside them. Their logos are in yellow, but that's the only difference. It does take a day for the information to populate, so for the first 24 hours there's no data. If you're familiar with the DirecTV guide, it looks very similar. But unlike DirecTV, you get a real scan, not just the sub-channels that the provider allows you to have.
This makes perfect sense.

Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
As to the rest, I'm really a noob at Dish, having last fooled with it back in 1999, and having been with DirecTV ever since. But I'll try to contribute what I can. When I push the red button to record a show currently in progress, a little box pops up saying I'm about to record, and do I want to record just this episode or the entire series.
I should have been clearer. I meant the red button all the way on the left of the remote (grouped with the Blue, Green and Yellow buttons). Not the record button. In any case, it doesn't matter since you don't have Prime Time Any Time turned on. I just wasn't sure if adding an OTA card actually counted as an additional tuner for simultaneous recording. I am sure it does, but I was looking for confirmation.

Chet
ckenisell is offline  
post #6910 of 6914 Old 07-29-2014, 08:29 PM
Member
 
zync's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TWC compression

Does anyone know who to yell at over at TWC about the horrible video quality that their compression is causing? Tonight AGT is nearly unwatchable due to fast movement (dancing), lighting effects (strobing, etc.), and quick camera movements. The image just goes to crap. I also think it has gotten worse lately.
zync is offline  
post #6911 of 6914 Old Yesterday, 05:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ckenisell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by zync View Post
Does anyone know who to yell at over at TWC about the horrible video quality that their compression is causing? Tonight AGT is nearly unwatchable due to fast movement (dancing), lighting effects (strobing, etc.), and quick camera movements. The image just goes to crap. I also think it has gotten worse lately.
It was the same over Dish. Video compressors have a REALLY hard time with strobe lights, confetti or anything that contains a LOT of fast motion going in different directions. HD, all of a sudden, turns into a bad Internet video from the 90s. The producers of the show should be aware of these issues and not do all of that lighting. Those tap dancers needed SOMETHING to make their act watchable. lol
ckenisell is offline  
post #6912 of 6914 Old Yesterday, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
LHN on Time Warner was today replaying the 2006 Rose Bowl. When it got to the shot where Vince Young was surrounded by confetti, the video just went all to Hell. I can tell you that even with KVUE's 720p to 1080i issues, it did NOT look that bad the first time around!

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://austindogalliance.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6913 of 6914 Old Yesterday, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
LHN on Time Warner was today replaying the 2006 Rose Bowl. When it got to the shot where Vince Young was surrounded by confetti, the video just went all to Hell. I can tell you that even with KVUE's 720p to 1080i issues, it did NOT look that bad the first time around!
Now you are going to make me watch that section again. I have the original HD recording on my computer.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is offline  
post #6914 of 6914 Old Yesterday, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There are many worse ways to spend an evening, sir!

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://austindogalliance.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off