Austin, TX - HDTV - Page 234 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 7Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6991 of 7015 Old 03-07-2015, 04:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabal0 View Post
Happy to report I'm getting these clearly in Pflugerville (Falcon Pointe), although Retro TV doesn't seem to have listings yet on Schedules Direct (email sent), and Rev'n has aspect ratio issues (horizontal shttp://classic.myretrotv.com/prog_schedules/RTVN.pdfquish) with some content.

Also, 24-3 KVUE-DT3 (as mentioned) has changed from AccuWeather to the Justice Network (murder porn). My wife is happy about that one.
The Retro TV listings that are currently on Schedules Direct are wrong. I sent them an email with a link to a PDF file with the CORRECT schedule (with time in Eastern and not Central) which is http://classic.myretrotv.com/prog_schedules/RTVN.pdf

Last edited by beastman59; 03-07-2015 at 04:13 PM. Reason: add a note
beastman59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6992 of 7015 Old 03-07-2015, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
I've been told that there have been issues getting the new antenna online and that KBVO/51 will be off air in Austin this weekend. Time Warner viewers will not be affected as they have a fiber feed. However, DirecTV and Dish do not have a fiber feed and could be without service unless they can get the old transmitter back up. As of this writing, Dish has service.
Did you get any estimated date / time for KBVO 14-1 virtual channel to be on the air?
beastman59 is offline  
post #6993 of 7015 Old 03-07-2015, 05:47 PM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastman59 View Post
The Retro TV listings that are currently on Schedules Direct are wrong. I sent them an email with a link to a PDF file with the CORRECT schedule (with time in Eastern and not Central) which is http://classic.myretrotv.com/prog_schedules/RTVN.pdf
That link shows MST3K tonight being from 8-10 eastern, and my SD-powered DVR shows it as 7-9 central. I'll set up a recording for their 9 PM movie to verify, but it seems right to me.
Cabal0 is offline  
post #6994 of 7015 Old 03-07-2015, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastman59 View Post
Did you get any estimated date / time for KBVO 14-1 virtual channel to be on the air?
Basically it's "as soon as we can finish this thing." The schedule called for last Friday.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://www.austinpetsalive.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6995 of 7015 Old 03-08-2015, 06:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabal0 View Post
That link shows MST3K tonight being from 8-10 eastern, and my SD-powered DVR shows it as 7-9 central. I'll set up a recording for their 9 PM movie to verify, but it seems right to me.
It was only partly wrong. I mentioned Lassie yesterday to them. I;ve emailed the station, so that should clear the schedule up.

I've noticed that Highway to Heaven airs when the schedule by my DVR says. I have a Tablo.

Last edited by beastman59; 03-08-2015 at 06:39 PM. Reason: correction
beastman59 is offline  
post #6996 of 7015 Old 03-09-2015, 02:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have been told that as of now, 4:15 p.m. Monday, KBVO should be up and running on enough power to cover Austin, on 14-1.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://www.austinpetsalive.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6997 of 7015 Old 03-09-2015, 03:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
KBVO is currently offline on DirecTV (Clemson @ Notre Dame basketball game).
14-1 is LIVE, but of course none of the EPGs have updated yet. I rescanned my Tablo as soon as I heard, but accessing this forum from a phone doesn't work to good. Thought I would update it since no one has yet.

beastman59 is offline  
post #6998 of 7015 Old 03-09-2015, 04:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
austinsho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I scanned it on the OTA tuner in my Dishnetwork Hopper and the program guide immediately loaded. This may be due to the way Dish maps program guides, since it already had it in memory for the satellite-delivered KBVO signal. The OTA tuner in my LG 51" is showing no info. Signal level splits the difference between KTFO and KGBS.

To the world, you are just a person. To a rescue dog, you are the world!
http://www.austinpetsalive.org/ - local in Austin
http://adopt-a-small-dog.adoptapet.com/ - national
austinsho is offline  
post #6999 of 7015 Old 03-09-2015, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
I scanned it on the OTA tuner in my Dishnetwork Hopper and the program guide immediately loaded. This may be due to the way Dish maps program guides, since it already had it in memory for the satellite-delivered KBVO signal. The OTA tuner in my LG 51" is showing no info. Signal level splits the difference between KTFO and KGBS.
I went to www.titantv.com and searched for KBVO and added it to my lineup there. I also learned there is a m.titantv.com version made for mobile devices. You have to already have an account to use the m. version.
You can go to www.myaustintv.com for the schedule.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7000 of 7015 Old 03-09-2015, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
re_nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 475
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
I have been told that as of now, 4:15 p.m. Monday, KBVO should be up and running on enough power to cover Austin, on 14-1.

Just curiously what was the actual coverage on the former 75,000 milliwatt facility? Were there any area of the metro where it came in reliably without a clear shot of the West Austin Antenna Farm? And by clear, I mean the beacons burned brighter than the old not-a-blowtorch on RF-51?
re_nelson is online now  
post #7001 of 7015 Old 03-10-2015, 03:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
From Wikipedia In June 2011, TSTV increased transmitter power to 3400 watts. I can receive the station using a Mohu Leaf 50 at Rundberg and North Lamar. I don't know what 17-5 uses. I was not able to watch KBVO prior to 14-1 going live yesterday.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7002 of 7015 Old 03-10-2015, 04:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone else notice no audio on 14-1? It worked last night. Maybe they are working on it.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7003 of 7015 Old 03-10-2015, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm impressed, KBVO's transmitter warranted its own news article:

http://kxan.com/2015/03/10/kbvo-tv-s...s-communities/

Of course, there's no way that "previous coverage" circle is accurate.

Edit: Also not getting audio on 14-1.

For those on Schedules Direct, I needed to use the listings from 27-1 KBVODT, apparently 51-1 KBVOCD has no listings.

Edit 2: Looks like audio has been restored.

Last edited by Cabal0; 03-10-2015 at 08:41 AM.
Cabal0 is offline  
post #7004 of 7015 Old 03-10-2015, 10:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I learned the audio problem was the paid program and not the station. They are checking the p as I'd program to see what the problem was.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7005 of 7015 Old 03-10-2015, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
KBVO Finally -- 5 years later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post
Received this reply to an email I sent to KXAN about KBVO (Channel 14) from their engineer.

Quote:

KBVO actually has 2 transmitters, a full power in Llano, TX (Channel 14) and a low-power in Austin (Channel 51) ....The Austin low-power (51) is only allocated 75 watts but we are hoping to increase that this year. The FCC allows requests for changes to low-power operations like this only once a year and that is late January [2010]. We will be applying to increase power and hope that might be acted upon within 60 days, so it will be March at the earliest.


Maybe I will be able to pick up this channel after all.
Good to see after 5 years what the engineer told me finally came true. I can now pick up KBVO via OTA.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
post #7006 of 7015 Old 03-11-2015, 03:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post
Good to see after 5 years what the engineer told me finally came true. I can now pick up KBVO via OTA.
What the engineer said did NOT happen. KBVO is no longer on channel 51. They are using virtual channel 14.1. But you are right that the power FINALLY got increased so it covers all of Austin.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7007 of 7015 Old 03-11-2015, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastman59 View Post
What the engineer said did NOT happen. KBVO is no longer on channel 51. They are using virtual channel 14.1. But you are right that the power FINALLY got increased so it covers all of Austin.
So, is there a way for those of us using Windows Media Center (which uses zap2it for guide data) to get KBVO? It says KBVODT is 27.1, and there is no signal there.
grittree is offline  
post #7008 of 7015 Old 03-11-2015, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
So, is there a way for those of us using Windows Media Center (which uses zap2it for guide data) to get KBVO? It says KBVODT is 27.1, and there is no signal there.
KBVO-DT is channel 14-1 and I would think the EPG will all be updated soon. I don't know who Tablo gets their EPG from but it is missing. I used TitanTV and made my own schedule. Can Windows Media Center use TitanTV? If it can, you might want to try it.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7009 of 7015 Old 03-11-2015, 08:19 PM
Member
 
julesism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Little Rock AR
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
So, is there a way for those of us using Windows Media Center (which uses zap2it for guide data) to get KBVO? It says KBVODT is 27.1, and there is no signal there.
I do not live in Austin anymore but I use WMC. Anytime there has been any type of change OTA or on cable, I send an email to contactus@zap2it.com. Include your zip code and a brief explanation on what channel(s) have changed. I always include the proper call signs and RF/VF/CH info. Give it a week and the channel will probably show up
julesism is offline  
post #7010 of 7015 Old 03-12-2015, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Thanks guys.

WMC doesn't let you choose the guide provider. (Windows is not Linux)

julesism, I don't need the channel now, but if it doesn't get fixed, I'll use your suggestion.
grittree is offline  
post #7011 of 7015 Old 03-13-2015, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
Thanks guys.

WMC doesn't let you choose the guide provider. (Windows is not Linux)

julesism, I don't need the channel now, but if it doesn't get fixed, I'll use your suggestion.
I scanned for additional channels in WMC7 and it found 14-1. If the guide doesn't show up soon, I'll use the other channel (51) guide in its place.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
post #7012 of 7015 Old 03-19-2015, 07:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post
I scanned for additional channels in WMC7 and it found 14-1. If the guide doesn't show up soon, I'll use the other channel (51) guide in its place.
I noticed guide data, but it is WRONG. The guide data for 14.1 is the same as 54.1 and NOT 27.1. Also though it is not a station OTA, www.byutv.org is available to stream and there is also a ROKU channel. I created a fake channel on TitanTV and used a BYUTV station as the source of the channel.
beastman59 is offline  
post #7013 of 7015 Old 03-20-2015, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by beastman59 View Post
I noticed guide data, but it is WRONG. The guide data for 14.1 is the same as 54.1 and NOT 27.1. Also though it is not a station OTA, www.byutv.org is available to stream and there is also a ROKU channel. I created a fake channel on TitanTV and used a BYUTV station as the source of the channel.
My WMC still had the old 51 analog channel with the correct program guide, so I just linked that to 14.1 and all seems to be fine. Well, other than the fact both 14.1 and 54.1 studder constantly on any HD feed that they are broadcasting back making the channels unwatchable. HD commercials, SD shows, and their live news is fine, when they play back an HD Show it is horrible. I guess I just don't record anything and just use the TV tuner to watch. 54.1 has been that way with my PC's tuner for the last 3-5 years

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
post #7014 of 7015 Old 03-23-2015, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabal0 View Post
For those on Schedules Direct, I needed to use the listings from 27-1 KBVODT, apparently 51-1 KBVOCD has no listings.
It appears Schedules Direct has shuffled around their numbers again and they now have a 14-1, but as noted 14-1 is duplicating KNVA instead of KBVO, however 27-1 still has correct listings. I emailed them and the data he sent me back verified 14-1 is wrong. Hopefully corrected soon.
Cabal0 is offline  
post #7015 of 7015 Old Today, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Round Rock Texas
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave S Texas View Post
ok thanks.

Equipment I'm using: 42" Vizio, Tivo for OTA/DVR and grid-type antenna in attic with a signal-booster bought from HD. Uverse for 'cable' service.

For the most part, reception on all locals is ok. Strong/clear signals, but lately 36-1 has been dropping out/pixelating to the point it is unwatchable. All the transmitting antennas on Mt Larson are about 20mi and my house is around 680'. My directional antenna is aimed at them using a compass. I even get some channels from Temple
For some time I thought the Oak tree in my yard was the problem, but since all the other channels are ok, just what is going on with KXAN is ?
The Tivo has a signal strength meter and 36-1 shows a 91 peak but the meter goes from the mid-40s to high 50s

My TV Fool report Path indicates a 2Edge for 7.1 while the other locals show 1Edge. What's Edge mean?
I had this pixel problem on 7.1 before but apparently their antenna has moved from S IH35 to nearer Mt Larson? No big problem with 7.1/7.2 now.
I live in an HOA. I have a Omnidirectional antenna I could put up and still be in the good graces of the A, but I'm ok with the attic set-up, except for the kxan problem. Had great reception back in the 'old days' of analog signals.
The tower holding the transmitting antennas 'looks down' on me and I'm fewer than 20mi from them. I don't understand why the pixel problem is happening....
Thanks
Dave
Thought I'd get this post up to date:

I bought an RCA 751 Yagi antenna from Amz. Mounted it in my attic about 8' East of where I'd mounted the other 3 antennas.....voila´! Every local station now comes in strong/steady with no pixelating issues. Antenna set to 207° best I can tell on Compass. Even get some stations in Temple which are about 350°. It's great to record some programs on my Tivo and know they will be watchable!
Dave S Texas is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off