Austin, TX - HDTV - Page 242 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 38Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7231 of 7254 Old 08-07-2017, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsho View Post
I'd go for an outside antenna and either a TiVo or a Philips/Magnavox DVR.
Thanks for the input. My Mohu leaf seems to be doing fine (even with KTBC) and I want integration with AndroidTV/FireTV - so will try out the SiliconDust.

xnappo
xnappo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7232 of 7254 Old 08-27-2017, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 186
I wonder why KEYE OTA has been bad all weekend. Lots of dropouts. No problems on the other major locals.

Their DirecTV signal is good. Do they get a direct feed?
grittree is online now  
post #7233 of 7254 Old 08-27-2017, 03:52 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7732 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by grittree View Post
I wonder why KEYE OTA has been bad all weekend. Lots of dropouts. No problems on the other major locals.

Their DirecTV signal is good. Do they get a direct feed?
I have not been watching the KEYE OTA feed, but I tuned in when I saw your post. The signal is solid on my system.
AustinJerry is online now  
 
post #7234 of 7254 Old 09-18-2017, 02:49 PM
Member
 
bc022372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question regarding KTBC OTA reception.

I'm looking into becoming a cord-cutter so recently I got an antenna to see how my reception was of Austin OTA channels. I am in the 78728 zipcode so I should be able to get all the Austin channels. I could get all the channels except for KTBC. What was really odd about not getting KTBC is that my TV said my signal strength for KTBC (when I manually tuned the channel) was zero.

My first thought was maybe I bought a UHF only antenna. The box wasn't marked with what bands the antenna covered so I took it back to Fry's and got a different antenna that was explicitly marked "UHF/VHF". But even with the new antenna I got the same results on my TV...zero signal strength for KTBC.

Any body know what's going on here?
bc022372 is offline  
post #7235 of 7254 Old 09-18-2017, 02:53 PM
Senior Member
 
WSZsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 241
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc022372 View Post
Question regarding KTBC OTA reception.

I'm looking into becoming a cord-cutter so recently I got an antenna to see how my reception was of Austin OTA channels. I am in the 78728 zipcode so I should be able to get all the Austin channels. I could get all the channels except for KTBC. What was really odd about not getting KTBC is that my TV said my signal strength for KTBC (when I manually tuned the channel) was zero.

My first thought was maybe I bought a UHF only antenna. The box wasn't marked with what bands the antenna covered so I took it back to Fry's and got a different antenna that was explicitly marked "UHF/VHF". But even with the new antenna I got the same results on my TV...zero signal strength for KTBC.

Any body know what's going on here?
Did you buy a VHF or VHF/UHF antenna? Fox requires UHF

Onkyo TX-RZ810 Receiver
Polk Audio RTI A3 Bookshelf Speakers
Polk Audio RTI A1 Bookshelf Speakers
Boston Acoustic VR10 Center
Energy ESW-310 Subwoofer
Samsung UN65ES6500 TV
WSZsr is offline  
post #7236 of 7254 Old 09-18-2017, 04:15 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7732 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSZsr View Post
Did you buy a VHF or VHF/UHF antenna? Fox requires UHF
?? According to this link, KTBC is VHF.


https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/KTBC_(TV)
AustinJerry is online now  
post #7237 of 7254 Old 09-18-2017, 04:21 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7732 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc022372 View Post
Question regarding KTBC OTA reception.

Any body know what's going on here?
Very strange. My OTA antenna (Zip 78750, just north of the Pennybacker bridge with a clear line-of-sight to Davenport Ranch antennas) receives KTBC just fine. According to the signal diagnostics on the TV, the signal is 44/100.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #7238 of 7254 Old 09-18-2017, 08:25 PM
Member
 
bc022372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WSZsr View Post
Did you buy a VHF or VHF/UHF antenna? Fox requires UHF
Like I said, I bought a VHF/UHF antenna so I had both bands covered.
bc022372 is offline  
post #7239 of 7254 Old 09-18-2017, 08:29 PM
Member
 
bc022372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Very strange. My OTA antenna (Zip 78750, just north of the Pennybacker bridge with a clear line-of-sight to Davenport Ranch antennas) receives KTBC just fine. According to the signal diagnostics on the TV, the signal is 44/100.
Thanks...glad to know it's not just me that finds this strange. It's also very frustrating.
bc022372 is offline  
post #7240 of 7254 Old 09-19-2017, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 108
For KTBC you need to point the antenna quite carefully. VHF is a lot lower power than UHF. You might have to go as far as moving to an attic antenna.
xnappo is offline  
post #7241 of 7254 Old 09-19-2017, 08:51 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7732 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
For KTBC you need to point the antenna quite carefully. VHF is a lot lower power than UHF. You might have to go as far as moving to an attic antenna.
I don't think the OP specified the location of the antenna. To clarify, the signal strength I reported earlier is from an outside antenna mounted on the top of my chimney. I have no experience with indoor antennas of any kind.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #7242 of 7254 Old 09-19-2017, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I don't think the OP specified the location of the antenna. To clarify, the signal strength I reported earlier is from an outside antenna mounted on the top of my chimney. I have no experience with indoor antennas of any kind.
Yes - the type of antenna is pretty important here
xnappo is offline  
post #7243 of 7254 Old 09-21-2017, 03:49 PM
Member
 
bc022372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xnappo View Post
For KTBC you need to point the antenna quite carefully. VHF is a lot lower power than UHF. You might have to go as far as moving to an attic antenna.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I don't think the OP specified the location of the antenna. To clarify, the signal strength I reported earlier is from an outside antenna mounted on the top of my chimney. I have no experience with indoor antennas of any kind.
I bought an RCA SLIVR Amplified Indoor Flat HDTV Antenna Multi Directional.

I can understand how pointing a directional antenna in a better direction will improve the signal. But would does having an antenna point in the wrong direction really result in zero signal strength?
bc022372 is offline  
post #7244 of 7254 Old 09-21-2017, 04:08 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7732 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Even with my outside antenna, FOX measures 43/100 compared with ABC, which measures 79/100. This demonstrates that the KTBC signal is not as strong. As I said in my previous post, I have no experience with indoor antennas, but it would surprise me if that antenna were very efficient. If you are serious about getting OTA signals, you should consider an outside antenna.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #7245 of 7254 Old 09-22-2017, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc022372 View Post
I can understand how pointing a directional antenna in a better direction will improve the signal. But would does having an antenna point in the wrong direction really result in zero signal strength?
Yes - it really can. If it gets below ~35, the tuner will usually just report 0 because it can't tell the signal from the noise.

That antenna isn't going to cut it, unfortunately. Those flat antennas are not really built to receive VHF - them claiming it does is no good... Sure it will receive VHF, but at a much shorter range than UHF.
xnappo is offline  
post #7246 of 7254 Old 09-23-2017, 12:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Even with my attic mounted (non-flat outdoor antenna) in 78664 I needed to carefully align the antenna to get a solid single for KTBC. Once I did that I was still able to receive all of the other Austin channels. A flat antenna probably won't work unless you can mount on it on the roof pointing toward the towers

My brother has this antenna mounted inside his apartment (3rd floor) near 130/Gattis School Road and he can receive KTBC without any issues.

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
post #7247 of 7254 Old 09-24-2017, 01:01 PM
Member
 
bc022372's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post
Even with my attic mounted (non-flat outdoor antenna) in 78664 I needed to carefully align the antenna to get a solid single for KTBC. Once I did that I was still able to receive all of the other Austin channels. A flat antenna probably won't work unless you can mount on it on the roof pointing toward the towers

My brother has this antenna mounted inside his apartment (3rd floor) near 130/Gattis School Road and he can receive KTBC without any issues.
Thanks for all of the responses. I was hoping that the switch to OTA would be a relative inexpensive one. I now have to decide if I'm willing to spend extra on a directional antenna. My main concern is that I buy this directional antenna, spend money getting it installed, and then it still doesn't work.

Question...do you think if I buy the antenna at Fry's and then just hook it up at my house without installing it I would get as a good a signal versus trying with it installed? I really don't want to spend money on getting the antenna installed if it's not going to work in the long run.
bc022372 is offline  
post #7248 of 7254 Old 09-24-2017, 01:13 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 16,442
Mentioned: 214 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7732 Post(s)
Liked: 4329
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc022372 View Post
Thanks for all of the responses. I was hoping that the switch to OTA would be a relative inexpensive one. I now have to decide if I'm willing to spend extra on a directional antenna. My main concern is that I buy this directional antenna, spend money getting it installed, and then it still doesn't work.

Question...do you think if I buy the antenna at Fry's and then just hook it up at my house without installing it I would get as a good a signal versus trying with it installed? I really don't want to spend money on getting the antenna installed if it's not going to work in the long run.
Hard to say whether you will be able to get an idea of how well the antenna will work unless it is positioned where it will ultimately be installed. Of course, whatever you do, you will need to run coax between the antenna and your TV. Here is a picture of my antenna. I have a direct line-of-sight to the broadcast antennas in Westlake Hills (~5 miles away).



Installation was not that difficult. There are two mounting brackets to hold the pole, and then a coax run to my equipment rack downstairs. I also have a grounding wire going to a copper water pipe. I don't know how handy you are, but you could install the antenna yourself. Otherwise, I don't think a professional installation would cost that much.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #7249 of 7254 Old 09-24-2017, 04:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc022372 View Post
Thanks for all of the responses. I was hoping that the switch to OTA would be a relative inexpensive one. I now have to decide if I'm willing to spend extra on a directional antenna. My main concern is that I buy this directional antenna, spend money getting it installed, and then it still doesn't work.

Question...do you think if I buy the antenna at Fry's and then just hook it up at my house without installing it I would get as a good a signal versus trying with it installed? I really don't want to spend money on getting the antenna installed if it's not going to work in the long run.
No harm in trying.
xnappo is offline  
post #7250 of 7254 Old 10-07-2017, 08:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,119
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I'm disappointed with the quality and lack of consistency of HD via streaming services and want to go back to Cable TV.
But the few channels I want are only available on the expensive Gold package.

I'll be using a CableCard + HDHomeRun + HTPC to do my watching and DVR'ing.

Does anyone know how to get Spectrum to give me a discount for the CableBox that I won't be using?
Or am I stuck paying for the Cable Box even though I won't be needing it?

Channels I want:
BeIN Sports, Spike, ESPN, Fox Sports, NBA TV.
It sucks I have to pay so much $$$ just for these few channels.

I had all this + 200Mb download Internet for just $90/month a couple years ago with Time Warner.
I should have never cancelled it.
Spectrum wants $130 and only gives 100Mb download Internet. ugh

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #7251 of 7254 Old 10-09-2017, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
xnappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2,874
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 116 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by CZ Eddie View Post
I'm disappointed with the quality and lack of consistency of HD via streaming services and want to go back to Cable TV.
But the few channels I want are only available on the expensive Gold package.

I'll be using a CableCard + HDHomeRun + HTPC to do my watching and DVR'ing.

Does anyone know how to get Spectrum to give me a discount for the CableBox that I won't be using?
Or am I stuck paying for the Cable Box even though I won't be needing it?

Channels I want:
BeIN Sports, Spike, ESPN, Fox Sports, NBA TV.
It sucks I have to pay so much $$$ just for these few channels.

I had all this + 200Mb download Internet for just $90/month a couple years ago with Time Warner.
I should have never cancelled it.
Spectrum wants $130 and only gives 100Mb download Internet. ugh
Yep - it sucks. So glad I am getting Google Fiber soon.

Even though they are supposed to give you a discount for using your own box, they get around the rule by only offering 'bundle discounts' if you take a box. You are not likely to get a discount out of them.

I got so sick of the cable card stuff(largely the CCI byte!!) - I recently switched to HDHomeRun OTA+Hulu Live ad free and Shield TVs all 'round. I have been happy enough with this - works better than my old WMC setup.. I will be switching the Philo TV once it is available - current setup isn't any cheaper than your $130 but I do not want to give my $$ to Spectrum. I pay $95 for 300mbps +$45 for Hulu. I pay for the 300mbps just to annoy Spectrum who is trying to price it so no one buys it so they can show the FCC no one wants it.

Can you tell I don't like Spectrum? I pine for TWC actually

xnappo

Last edited by xnappo; 10-09-2017 at 07:44 AM.
xnappo is offline  
post #7252 of 7254 Old 10-13-2017, 11:49 AM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
A couple new channels in the Austin OTA market:

http://kxan.com/2017/10/13/kxan-laun...g-programming/

I put in a request for a lineup update with Schedules Direct.
Cabal0 is offline  
post #7253 of 7254 Old 10-13-2017, 07:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sivartk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 5,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cabal0 View Post
A couple new channels in the Austin OTA market:

http://kxan.com/2017/10/13/kxan-laun...g-programming/

I put in a request for a lineup update with Schedules Direct.
Escape is already on 62.4, why do we need it again on 54.4?

At no point in your rambling, incoherent post were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this forum is now dumber for having read it.

My Little Theater
sivartk is online now  
post #7254 of 7254 Old 10-13-2017, 08:00 PM
Member
 
Cabal0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by sivartk View Post
Escape is already on 62.4, why do we need it again on 54.4?
IIRC, isn't 62 in a different direction from the Austin antenna farm? I don't get it reliably in the direction I'm pointed.
Cabal0 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off