AVS Forum banner

Austin, TX - HDTV

910K views 8K replies 728 participants last post by  Cabal0 
#1 ·
#3 ·
Someone go b!tch slap the person in charge over at NBC so they'll give TWC the go. I want my ER in HD damnit!

#5 ·
This is my first post on this forum after several years of lurking and spending too much money base on the advice of other forum members. And money went spent I will add. Now that I finally got an HD display device, I better start following this thread. I tried to read the "2003" many times but never got through. Glad to see a new start.

Anyway, does anyone else here have experience with the Pioneer OTA HD tuner that came with the Pro1110. I keep getting signals from stations in all shape and sized with changes throughout the day. Only CBS seem to consistently fille 16:9 aspect ratio. I am sorry if this is a dumb question. I am very new to all this stuff but very excited to learn from you all.

#6 ·
(I don't have any experience with OTA so this may be completely wrong, but I'm just trying to help
)

A lot of programming is still not HD right now, so I would guess they are transmitting SD 4:3 stuff to you. Use your TVs stretch modes to make it fill the screen.

EDIT:

link to the end of the old thread

#7 ·
"The Young and the Restless" is the only "Big Three" 16:9 HD daytime programming that I'm aware of. Otherwise, it's upconverted 480i and 4:3. Some OTA (like the Zenith) will allow one to set the scaling/ratio. However (as I understand it), the station can determine that the aspect can't be altered. That's why the 24-2 (radar) can be rescaled whereas 24-1 cannot.

#8 ·
Rob,

Here's a couple updates on the HDTV scene here in San Antonio. Our PBS station, KLRN-DT, is multicasting two channels during the day and during the evening. Our local Sinclair-owned Fox and WB affiliates are transmitting 480i upconverts with worse audio and video quality than the traditional analog channels.