Connecting OTA antenna to house coax cable? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 12-15-2003, 05:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Alan Wong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm new to antennas. Wondering if it's OK to plug an antenna into the coax cable running throughout my house and still have other services on the same coax cable, such as cable modem from CATV company and satellite TV?

I currently have CATV and cable modem from my local cable company. Using an indoor antenna right now going directly into TV's built in HD tuner to get OTA HDTV but it doesn't do a great job. Looking to change out CATV with satellite and install an antenna in the attic instead of using the indoor one.

Can I just cut the coax antenna in the attic and use a splitter to add in the antenna? Is this OK and still receive satellite TV as well as cable modem from the cable company?


Alan
Alan Wong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 12-15-2003, 06:23 PM
Member
 
berniec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
no!

you would inject the off air RF right on top of the same frequencies coming in over your CATV. Not only would that cause you problems, but you also run the risk of screwing things up for others around you depending on how your cable drop is set up.

in short DONT DO IT

just run yourself a new coax for off air
berniec is offline  
Closed Thread Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off