Duluth, MN - HDTV - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 219 Old 09-28-2005, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Fireslug,

I have my OTA tuner connected to my TV via component video. DVI/HDMI is not necessary. Heck, I believe you could use S-cable if you wanted to.

Are we supposed to be getting 5.1 on channnel 3.1?

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 219 Old 10-03-2005, 06:37 PM
Newbie
 
Fireslug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am getting 5.1. I just got a letter from Charter today saying they are adding Discovery HD, WDSE-DT, and Cinamax HD to the HD Package begining 11/1/2005.
Fireslug is offline  
post #33 of 219 Old 10-12-2005, 01:56 PM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received that letter as well, a year later and they add 3 new channels, raise the cost of the HD tier, and the only local is PBS? Well I am moving to Carlton, MN and will have to deal with MediaCom, whcih does not have HD capability yet. Hopefully I will be able to pick up locals with an outdoor antenna.....
coronaMinn is offline  
post #34 of 219 Old 11-22-2005, 07:21 AM
Newbie
 
QuieroFU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the Terk HDTVa indoor antenna yesterday to watch the vikings game with the packs. it was great.. and i am able to recieve 3.1 6.1 8.1 10.1 and also 17.3 which I think is the DTV version of Fox. During the game i occastionally landed at 17.3 and saw prision break was presented in 480i. It's not the highest quality but it's DVD quailty...
QuieroFU is offline  
post #35 of 219 Old 11-22-2005, 11:30 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 51
17.3? Hmmm, I'll have to try it.

You should also be getting 3.2, 6.2, 8.2, 8.3, 8.4 as well as crappy (Non HDTV) fox21.

HD football is pretty good eh.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #36 of 219 Old 01-04-2006, 03:56 PM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
update: I don't get 17.3 (or even 21.1) 20 miles away in Carlton. However, I do get all the other locals in HD. The only channel that says it is 5.1 is CBS, however it only comes out of 2 speakers.

I switched over to DirectTV and boy am I glad. I was able to get a waiver from KQDS-21 (Fox) and now I have the FOXHD feed from New York for prime time shows such as OC, House, and 24.

The only drawbacks were that the Sunday Ticket blackout prevented me from watching the Vikings in HD, unless they were on in the New York area. Also, the equipment is a little pricey. However, I will get all NFL playoffs (Fox, ESPN, CBS, and ABC) in HD.

The guy at KQDS Fox-21 told me that they will be in HD Spring '06, with a stronger signal as well. So next year all Vikings games in HD. (I also heard a rumor that Sunday Ticket will not blackout games next year.)
coronaMinn is offline  
post #37 of 219 Old 02-13-2006, 05:02 PM
Newbie
 
QuieroFU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well guys charter is offically broadcasting all local channels with their hd package, well except those dang fox guys. Anyways, it's definately a whole new way of watching tv with Moxi. Now i can record, pause, rewind, etc.. primetime shows in high def! I know people with directv hd dvr probably had this for a while; however, i bet those programing packages are expensive as heck. Anyways there are 12 hd channels, including local chaneles, with charter right now. Now they just need to add tnt hd and espn2 hd into their lineup.
QuieroFU is offline  
post #38 of 219 Old 02-15-2006, 06:36 PM
Member
 
Festo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My sentiments exactly. I got a Sony SXRD 50" three weeks ago and love it. And the Charter package is great. Like you i'm only wanting TNT and ESPN2. Having all the locals is a huge addition though. Now i don't have to use the stupid antenna. I just got the MOXI 2 days ago...still playing with but love it so far.
Festo is offline  
post #39 of 219 Old 03-22-2006, 09:18 AM
Newbie
 
eriksat1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: N.W. Wisconsin
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I live in Hayward, WI anyone know if that is possible to pick up Duluth HD signal that far away?
eriksat1 is offline  
post #40 of 219 Old 04-16-2006, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sinastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Superior Wi.
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by eriksat1 View Post

I live in Hayward, WI anyone know if that is possible to pick up Duluth HD signal that far away?

I don't think you'll be able to recieve from that far away.
Take a look at this site though.

http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/welcome.aspx

Are you or anyone in your are able to recieve OTA regular channels from Duluth?
Sinastar is offline  
post #41 of 219 Old 04-17-2006, 09:56 AM
Member
 
Shakesa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys i am in Superior and just got my first HD tv (sony 42"a10 lcd). I'm getting all the channels with my $12 rca antenna. So is fox still going to HD this spring? Is there any set date or anything? Fox carries Nascar and i am pretty sure it's in HD... would like to check that out.
Shakesa7 is offline  
post #42 of 219 Old 04-22-2006, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sinastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Superior Wi.
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've also heard rumors that fox is updating right now. Don't know how true that is.
Nascar in HD is Fantastic. Watched the Daytona 500 this year and two years ago
in HD. Not able to watch a lot of nascar...usually traveling on Sunday.
Sinastar is offline  
post #43 of 219 Old 04-29-2006, 08:31 PM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuieroFU View Post

Well guys charter is offically broadcasting all local channels with their hd package, well except those dang fox guys. Anyways, it's definately a whole new way of watching tv with Moxi. Now i can record, pause, rewind, etc.. primetime shows in high def! I know people with directv hd dvr probably had this for a while; however, i bet those programing packages are expensive as heck. Anyways there are 12 hd channels, including local chaneles, with charter right now. Now they just need to add tnt hd and espn2 hd into their lineup.

I think the programming packages are compatible $90?, however you have to buy your equipment from DirecTV- $400 HD-DVR. I still would pick DirecTV in Duluth, because you get Fox-HD (with a waiver), TNT-HD, and ESPN2-HD.

Still no 21.1 FOx HD, anybody getting a KQDS HD signal? Vikings only 4 months away!
coronaMinn is offline  
post #44 of 219 Old 07-03-2006, 08:34 AM
Newbie
 
quirtep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings. I am new to HDTV and am trying to figure out how I can most easily experience HD content at a low cost. I would like to get PBS, the local networks, perhaps ESPN - but I don't need premium channels. I just scheduled an appointment with Charter to install basic cable (not digital - just the basic $16.95 per month package). I also added the $3 per month HD option and $1.50 for a CableCARD for use with my DVR. However, upon further research, it seems that analog cable can only transfer non-HD content. How, then, can Charter be offering me HD content with an analog cable package? I guess I'm just confused. My basic question is will the quality of HD content with what I described above be as good as it would be if I were to subscribe to a more expensive digitial cable package? Should I forget all about this and just use over-the-air? Any help you guys could offer in terms of helping me get set up to receive basic HD content would be very much appreciated.
quirtep is offline  
post #45 of 219 Old 07-10-2006, 08:59 AM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update ( for the 10 people who read this thread) - as of the 4th of July -I am now receiving Fox-21 HD OTA on channel 21-1 (17). Just in time for the NFL season. Unfortunately, if the Vikes play any late afternoon games, I doubt they will switch over to the Vikings kickoff ( I swear this happens once a year).

I live in Carlton, MN (20 miles away) and receive all the OTA HD channels (CBS,ABC, NBC, Fox, and PBS). However, I do have a pretty big outdoor antenna on the roof. Hayward seems a little far, what can you get with your current anttenna? My father stays in a campground over the summer in Hayward and the only OTA SD channel he gets is FOX. Antennaweb.org is a great site.

Quiertep- depending where you live, all you need is a HD capable TV, (set top box if it does not include an HD tuner) and anything from Rabbit ears to a $40 Terk antenna from Best Buy. Good Luck!
coronaMinn is offline  
post #46 of 219 Old 07-21-2006, 12:07 PM
Member
 
kc0ltv's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are my results, in case anybody is interested.

From the SW corner of Hermantown, by Midway, Solway, and Thomson townships, around 9 miles from the transmitter, using a CM 4228 on a rotator, about 25' above ground level on a hill, and a not-so-nice WinTV-D computer card:

Channel 17: KQDS-DT
SN/R (20 sec avg) 21.2
21.1 - KQDS-DT - VPID 0x0031 APID 0x0034 - 1280 x 720 60 fps

Channel 19: KBJR-DT
SN/R (20 sec avg) 21.2
6.1 - KBJRDT - VPID 0x0031 APID 0x0034 - 1920 x 1088 30 fps - NBC
6.2 - KBJRDT2 - VPID 0x0041 APID 0x0044 - 704 x 480 30 fps - "Northland UPN"
6.3 - KBJRDT3 - VPID 0x0051 APID 0x0054 - 704 x 480 30 fps - WeatherPlus+ (not localized)

Channel 33: KDLH-DT
SN/R (20 sec avg) 20.5-20.6
3.1 - KDLHDT1 - VPID 0x0031 APID 0x0034 - 1920 x 1088 30 fps - CBS
3.2 - KDLHDT2 - VPID 0x0041 APID 0x0044 - 704 x 480 30 fps - Live Camera, currently focused on a road sign somewhere ?

Channel 38: WDSE-DT
SN/R (20 sec avg) 22.1 - 23.2 (now THAT's strong)
8.1 - WDSE-1 - VPID 0x0031 APID 0x0034 - 704 x 480 30 fps - WDSE
8.2 - WDSE-2 - VPID 0x0041 APID 0x0044 - 1280 x 720 60 fps (?!) - PBS HD
8.3 - WDSE-3 - VPID 0x0051 APID 0x0054 - 704 x 480 30 fps - PBS Create
8.4 - WDSE-4 - VPID 0x0061 APID 0x0064 - 640 x 480 30 fps - Second Chance

Channel 43: WDIO-DT
10.1 - WDIO-DT - VPID 0x0031 APID 0x0034 - 1280 x 720 60 fps - ABC HD (nice full channel)





I mainly use the antenna for DXing (have received DTV's as far as Chicago, Indianapolis, and Omaha during the amazing tropo some days ago), so it's a bit overkill - a pair of cheap (unamplified) rabbit ears connected to our Dish receiver downstairs does the job too.
kc0ltv is offline  
post #47 of 219 Old 07-26-2006, 09:53 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Yes, fox is finally broadcasting in Hi-Def. About time. I stumbled upon it about a week ago when watching some sporting event on Fox. They must not have much in the way of of Hi-Def in their regualr programming because I think that's the first and last broadcast of Hi-Def I've seen from them.

Didn't know you could get 6.3 I'll have to go home and program it in.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #48 of 219 Old 08-19-2006, 08:18 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just an FYI i read where once the CW network launches itll be on 3.2, not sure if itll be HD though, guess well have to wait and see.
slinger45 is offline  
post #49 of 219 Old 08-30-2006, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Sir_Vival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys..moving up to Duluth in a few days. I was wondering if it's possible to get KARE-11 up there somehow. I don't like the local NBC affiliate at all.

I'm going to get OTA channels, and I'll be subscribing to basic charter cable.
Sir_Vival is offline  
post #50 of 219 Old 12-09-2006, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
TL79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. I'd like to get some OTA channels in HD if possible. I live in Grand Rapids, MN.

i went to AntennaWeb and based onthe results I'm not sure if HD signals are available to me. I guess I just don't know what I'm looking at. Here's the results from antennaweb.org based on my address.


red - uhf K29EB 29 FOX GRAND RAPIDS MN 39° 9.5 29
blue - uhf K59BQ 59 CBS DEER RIVER MN 306° 13.5 59
* blue - uhf WRPT-DT 31 PBS HIBBING MN Now Available 68° 28.7 31
blue - vhf WIRT 13 ABC HIBBING MN 68° 28.7 13
blue - uhf K61BH 61 NBC DEER RIVER MN 307° 13.5 61
violet - vhf KCCW 12 CBS WALKER MN 243° 48.3 12
violet - vhf KAWE 9 PBS BEMIDJI MN 304° 55.1 9

If I'm interpreting it right there aren't any hd signals in my area? is this correct? I have a hdtv with built in tuner so all i would need is the antenna, but obviously don;t want to buy one if it will do me no good. Thanks.
TL79 is offline  
post #51 of 219 Old 12-27-2006, 01:57 PM
Newbie
 
AngelusQuest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys, just wondering if anyone knows if the CW channel is broadcasting in HD. I believe it is 3.2. I'm using D* HR20-700s. So far it's been a great box. Don't believe the bad press.
AngelusQuest is offline  
post #52 of 219 Old 12-27-2006, 06:41 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Its on 3.2 but its not HD
slinger45 is offline  
post #53 of 219 Old 06-12-2007, 02:36 PM
Newbie
 
CGBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't pick up NBC in HD anymore.

My TV can find all the other digital stations but none on NBC stations (6.1, 6.2, or 6.3), only 6.0..

Anyone know what's going on?
CGBS is offline  
post #54 of 219 Old 06-12-2007, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I just called NBC. Said they were installing some new equipment and will be down for another week or so.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #55 of 219 Old 06-12-2007, 05:42 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ya beat me to it, haha
slinger45 is offline  
post #56 of 219 Old 06-14-2007, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
CGBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, thank you much.
CGBS is offline  
post #57 of 219 Old 06-30-2007, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Shakesa7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had NBC back for a few days but now it seems to be gone again, and now i dont think i am getting CBS either.

Anyone else having trouble with CBS 3.1?
Shakesa7 is offline  
post #58 of 219 Old 06-30-2007, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Dr. Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CBS and NBC (3 and 6) are back again. Their signals faltered for a while, but now they appear to be stronger than before and working fine. Nice, all channels are now showing signals above 90 in a 100 scale!
Dr. Cool is offline  
post #59 of 219 Old 07-03-2007, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Dr. Cool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks, I'm having intermittent signal loss with NBC/My9 (6.1 and 6.2). I rarely have it with other channels. I can rule out problems with the antenna (signal is steady for other channels and sources, such as FM radio), and I can also rule out problems with the signal strength (consistently 100 according to my ViP622, dropping to 0 during the signal loss periods). The signal loss periods are usually short lived, mostly producing skips and pixelization, although sometimes there's total loss of image and sound. Anyone else having the same problem?
Dr. Cool is offline  
post #60 of 219 Old 07-10-2007, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
pinkos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reception has been pretty good for me lately but 21.1 had their clock set off an hour and it messes with my channel guide. Anyone else annoyed by this?
pinkos is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off