Duluth, MN - HDTV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 219 Old 12-16-2003, 05:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sinastar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Superior Wi.
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone here able to pick up dolby 5.1 on the local hdtv channels.
All i seem to be able to get is Digital 2.0 .. not even sure what that is.
IT just gives me the center channel and front speakers. I'm able to play DVD's
in Dolby 5.1. Had my SIR-151 hooked up to my Sony Home theatre in a box with coaxial cables then switched it to the optical cable. Still nothing.
Just like to know if its me or maybe the locals aren't sending out dolby 5.1
Sinastar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 219 Old 01-09-2004, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You are correct as far as I know. None of the local stations seem to broadcasting Dolby Digitalk 5.1.
Let's call the stations and complain.
While you're at it, be sure and call channel 21 and complain about them not passing the FOX widescreen feed.

P.S. I live in Superior also. I guess that makes two of us!

Frank

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #3 of 219 Old 01-09-2004, 08:21 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by Frank
You are correct as far as I know. None of the local stations seem to broadcasting Dolby Digitalk 5.1.
Let's call the stations and complain.
While you're at it, be sure and call channel 21 and complain about them not passing the FOX widescreen feed.

P.S. I live in Superior also. I guess that makes two of us!

Frank

Good to hear from you Frank. I wondered where you've been.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #4 of 219 Old 09-29-2004, 08:14 AM
Moderator
 
CPanther95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 23,797
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Official Duluth, MN thread
CPanther95 is offline  
post #5 of 219 Old 04-30-2005, 10:43 AM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Superiorite here too. Still no DD 5.1 and Fox still not doing HD yet....anyone know if they have a schedule in place for when theyre switching over or if anyone has had any success getting a HD DNS waiver for FOX approved by KQDS ?
slinger45 is offline  
post #6 of 219 Old 05-03-2005, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Dept. of Offense
Posts: 5,194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I called channel 21 a couple of times and was told that their viewers are morons and they doubt they will ever carry HDTV!

Give them a call. Their number is in the phone book.

Good luck!

P.S. There are three of us in Superior? Who would have thought!

Did IQ's suddenly drop sharply while I was away?
I enjoy 3D in spite of HDMI 1.4!
Full screen only 3D doesn't cut it!
Frank is offline  
post #7 of 219 Old 05-03-2005, 09:40 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Either of you mad at KBJR for screwing up the Conan feed the last few nights ? I shot them an email the first night and they fixed it but now there just broadcasting in SD again...dont they watch these things ?
slinger45 is offline  
post #8 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 02:59 PM
Member
 
Antonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Bernardino
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please get me up to date on which stations are currently carrying HDTV in Duluth and what the channel numbers and corresponding networks are?

Thanks,

Antonio
Antonio is offline  
post #9 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 03:04 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3 - KDLH - CBS Digital channel 3.1
6 - KBJR - NBC Digital channel 6.1
8 - WDSE - PBS Digital channel 8.2
10 - WDIO - ABC Digital channel 10.1
ALL HDTV
slinger45 is offline  
post #10 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Antonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Bernardino
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, slinger. I hate to be a PITA but those are the analog channel numbers. What are the corresponding digital UHF channel numbers?
I'm in California and needing to ascertain this info for a friend.
Antonio is offline  
post #11 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 03:10 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the only digital numbers ive been able to find are the same as the analog ones, try a google search and u could find if thats right or not ?
slinger45 is offline  
post #12 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 03:25 PM
Member
 
Antonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Bernardino
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks
Antonio is offline  
post #13 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 03:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa (We'll be back)
Posts: 2,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All the DTs in Duluth-Superior are currently using UHF, according to the FCC TV Query, but two of them won't be UHF forever:

- KDLH-DT 3.1 is actually using UHF channel 33.

- KBJR-DT 6.1 is using UHF channel 19.

- WDSE-DT 8.1 is using UHF channel 38.

- WDIO-DT 10.1 is using UHF channel 43. (Its satellite, WIRT-DT 13.1 in Hibbing, uses UHF channel 36.)

- KQDS-DT 21.1 is using UHF channel 17.

After the transition is over and all the analogs are shut off, KDLH plans to continue using channel 33, KBJR plans to stay on 19, and KQDS has filed to stay on 17. But WDSE plans to return to their current analog channel 8, and WDIO and WIRT plan to return to their current analog 10 and 13, respectively. So ultimately you will have to deal with VHF, but at least it'll be high VHF.

Source: www.fcc.gov

Views are strictly my own unless otherwise noted.
"ItÂs looking more like Y2K than the Bay of Pigs." - FCC Commissioner Adelstein, 6-13-09, on the DTV switch
dline is offline  
post #14 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
hdtimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Antonio
Thanks, slinger. I hate to be a PITA but those are the analog channel numbers. What are the corresponding digital UHF channel numbers?
I'm in California and needing to ascertain this info for a friend.

KDLH - CBS - Analog 3 - Digital 33 @ 66.1 kW - HD
KBJR - NBC - Analog 6 - Digital 19 @ 433 kW - HD
WDSE - PBS - Analog 8 - Digital 38 @ 600 kW - HD
WDIO - ABC - Analog 10 - Digital 43 @ 54 kW - HD
KQDS - FOX - Analog 21 - Digital 17 @ 3.14 kW - SD

I don't find any WB, UPN, or Pax stations in this area. They must be on cable only.
hdtimmy is offline  
post #15 of 219 Old 05-14-2005, 04:46 PM
Member
 
Antonio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Bernardino
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
much obliged
Antonio is offline  
post #16 of 219 Old 08-25-2005, 10:18 AM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been with Charter for years, I was sick of waiting for locals in HD and bought a STB Sylvania at BB. I ended up returning it because I could not get Fox (21.1). And the channels I did receive only two were true HD NBC 6.1, and PBS 8.2. "Lost" was on ABCHD but not in HD. Same with CBS "Still Standing".

My question is if I were to go with Direct TV get the Superfan package of NFL sunday ticket, would they blackout the HD feed of the Minnesota Vikings? Or is there any "secret" timeline of when either Sattelite companies and/or Charter will offer locals in HD?

Thanks for any and all your help!
coronaMinn is offline  
post #17 of 219 Old 08-25-2005, 10:22 AM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you just recently try this ? Because the local CBS and ABC HD feeds are both currently down, they will both be back somettime this week in true HD...no DD 5.1 though. FOX 21 doesnt broadcast in HD, the signal is bad and hard to receive so your basically SOL with them. Previous to last year no games were ever blacked out to me in Superior but last year SD and HD games that were currently on the local stations were blacked out in Sunday Ticket.

Hope that helps, any other questions ?
slinger45 is offline  
post #18 of 219 Old 08-25-2005, 11:20 AM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks slinger-
Yeah I tried last night(Wednesday) and returned the box today(Thursday). I did get part of "Still Standing" on CBS in HD but no sound. I even had to buy the Terk directional attenna to receive 10.1 and the 8's. So when they are working do you get NFL -CBS and ABC (Monday night) in HD? If so I could go back and buy that setup since 4 Vikings games in HD(1 ABC, 2 CBS, and 1 ESPN) are better than none. Thanks for the info and your response.

I actually did talk to a guy at Fox 21 who said they are upgrading and will be HD in spring. I asked for a waiver for the Sunday Ticket, he said he would get back to me... I am not holding my breath.
coronaMinn is offline  
post #19 of 219 Old 08-25-2005, 12:47 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah CBS and ABC games are HD, glad to hear FOX is finally getting on the ball too bad its after football is done.
slinger45 is offline  
post #20 of 219 Old 08-25-2005, 02:23 PM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Slinger-
So how long have CBS and ABC had their HD "down"? (of course it happens the week when I buy a set top box/ antenna)
Any other hints, tips, and or tricks for our so called market? I actually had to buy a TErk HDTVi antenna instead of the amplified antenna that came with the set top box. Do you know if the TERK TV5 is better? Thanks for answering any and all my questions.
You really have no idea how long I have waited to talk to someone you actually has Locals in HD. Do you know if Charter has plans to start carry locals in HD?

Would you suggest to just wait until November (Vikes-Pack Monday night ABC) to get the set top box, or are is there other programming that makes CBS, NBC, ABC HD worth to get it now?

Again thanks in advance.....
coronaMinn is offline  
post #21 of 219 Old 08-26-2005, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Grandude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Santa Rosa CA
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtimmy View Post

KDLH - CBS - Analog 3 - Digital 33 @ 66.1 kW - HD
KBJR - NBC - Analog 6 - Digital 19 @ 433 kW - HD
WDSE - PBS - Analog 8 - Digital 38 @ 600 kW - HD
WDIO - ABC - Analog 10 - Digital 43 @ 54 kW - HD
KQDS - FOX - Analog 21 - Digital 17 @ 3.14 kW - SD

Thanks for posting this info. I'll be visiting my old hometown, Duluth, next month and plan on bringing my LG STB along to see if my Sis can get the locals OTA in HD.
Maybe I can bring them into the 21st century.

Brian E. AKA Grandude

Brian...reporting from the left coast...
Grandude is offline  
post #22 of 219 Old 08-26-2005, 09:25 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well being that its repeat season I havent really been watching the local channels much lately, I noticed that CBS was down when the Vikings were playing the Jets, which was supposed to be in HD but it wasnt, shot kdlh an email and they said that hd was down and would be back soon, havent checked to see if its back up. As for ABC I think their upgrading some stuff nationwide because ABCHD is down for everyone until monday.

I actually have a crappy little indoor antenna and I dont remember off hand what brand it is, it doesnt really work the best as I have to move it around to get certain channels, seems like I can always get 3 out of 4 but not all of them.

As for Charter I have Directv so Im not certain there timetable for getting HD.

If it was me I would get the STB right away, CBS has 1-2 HD games each week. ABC has MNF and some college football games. Notre Dame will be in HD this year on NBC and of course the network shows you may like to watch always look better in HD. Since you already bought it and were willing to then I see no reason not to get it again.
slinger45 is offline  
post #23 of 219 Old 08-27-2005, 06:21 AM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks slinger- I actually just ordered a different STB (pro brand) form circuit city. Not that I needed convincing, but your insight and experience is very helpful.

I actually did watch every game on Sunday night ESPNHD (since November), so being able to watch CBS and ABC games will be a bonus. I will just tell the wife I bought it for her so she can watch Desperate Chicks in HD!
coronaMinn is offline  
post #24 of 219 Old 09-12-2005, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hi, Dan from Hermantown here. I'm new to the HD game and am not sure if I'm picking up all the available stations.

Using a OTA tuner and a cheap indoor powered antenna I'm getting the following stations:

3
3.1
6
6.1
8.1
8.2
8.3
8.4
10
10.1
21

A few threads up, UHF stations were mentioned, but my automatic channel scan does not seem to be picking these up. Do I need a better antenna?

I too was disapointed to see that FOX did broadcast my beloved Packers on HD this past Sunday. Absolutely no excuse for that, they will be receiving a phone call shortly.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #25 of 219 Old 09-12-2005, 10:04 AM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those are basically all that you get, the FOX signal is really tough to pick up and its basically not even worth watching if you get it, no HD and it looks worse than it would through cable.
slinger45 is offline  
post #26 of 219 Old 09-13-2005, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
weekendtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern MN
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Thanks slinger. I don't have cable, so wiith HD I went from 4 channels to 12, weee. I only live 3.2 miles from the towers so I haven't had any problems picking up the channels.

I reject your reality and substitute my own.

weekendtoy is offline  
post #27 of 219 Old 09-25-2005, 08:44 AM
Newbie
 
Fireslug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All. I live in Duluth and am using Charter Communications for HD. I have ther new HD DVR and love it. Has anyone heard when Charter will start broadcasting the local channels in HD on their system? I am also interested when they will add the Discovery channel.

John from Duluth
Fireslug is offline  
post #28 of 219 Old 09-25-2005, 05:56 PM
Member
 
coronaMinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Carlton, MN
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireslug View Post

Hello All. I live in Duluth and am using Charter Communications for HD. I have ther new HD DVR and love it. Has anyone heard when Charter will start broadcasting the local channels in HD on their system? I am also interested when they will add the Discovery channel.

John from Duluth

Don't hold your breath, Do what I did and buy a HD set top box for $230, (probrand at Best Buy) and an Antenna for $50 HDTVi or Terk TV5. Or if you have and HD Tuner in a newer TV, just get the antenna.

Moxi From Charter is a Joke-3 HD channels (5 including-Showtime and HBO, if you subscribe). I asked Charter and they blamed local stations for not provdidng HD feed yet and are currently in negotiations. (LOL)

I held out for the longest time, but now I have HD locals, I could not imagine life without it. Having ABC, CBS, and NBC in HD rules. Fox 21 states that they will be HD spring 2006.

on a side note- Anyone else getting 5.1 on CBS 3.1?
coronaMinn is offline  
post #29 of 219 Old 09-25-2005, 07:18 PM
Member
 
slinger45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Superior, WI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
when i was home last weekend it was showing DD 5.1 on my receiver but i wasnt getting anything out of the rear speakers
slinger45 is offline  
post #30 of 219 Old 09-27-2005, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
Fireslug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agreeCharter is the king of it will be here soon. There is no reason they can't have at least the Discovery channel. Other Charter systems have it. I would buy an antenna, but I only have one DVI input for high definition and my Charter connection goes into that. Will the high definition work in any other component video connections?
Fireslug is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off