Portland, OR - Comcast - Page 19 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 4859 Old 11-19-2004, 02:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
mismatched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.O., OR
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Moorebid
'

The 6412 has firewire out, Moxi's do not. The 6412 has a 120 gig hard drive, the Moxi's still appear to have an 80 gigger, though there's nothing restricting them from putting in bigger drives (except cost). And no, there should be no problem swapping out boxes if one so chooses, just like any other receiver. For that matter, you could probably choose to keep both, if you so choose.

What types of audio and video out does the 6412 have. from the Moto websiite it was kinda hard to tell..
mismatched is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 4859 Old 11-19-2004, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
mismatched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.O., OR
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moorebid

I found the output info for the 6412 . looks like it has most everything you would want....

sorry for the previous post

M
mismatched is offline  
post #543 of 4859 Old 11-19-2004, 04:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Moorebid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lake Oswego, OR, USA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by lewlew
I suppose I overlooked the simplest KATU solution - Watch it in HD

But for those of us who want to record an SD program, and don't want to waste 18.7mbps on it, the analog channel still matters.

Quote:


Originally posted by ZXTT
The Moto page says the Moxi boxes may use their USB 2.0 ports for adding hard drives. This should be functionally equivalent to a firewire drive, but is probably dependent on Comcast enabling the option.

Which I'm not really counting on I've seen far too many products with "for future use" features that never get activated. I'd count on DirecTV activating their TiVo's USB ports before Comcast activates these ie, when pigs fly.

Quote:


Haha, this is a real problem. I want to replace my ReplayTV's ball-bearing whine, skipping drive (installed by me) with a new, bigger one. But I can't get caught up...

Get an external drive cage and swap out drives as necessary. But as I've learned in the not-so-recent past, I'll likely never get caught up I still have the entire 3rd season of Andromeda that I'm probably never going to get around to watching.

Quote:


Originally posted by lewlew
I wonder if the 6412 remote without a setup button is our local comcast's answer to no more 30 second skip?

They could just as easily disable it in software (as Microsoft has done), make the command non-existant. Would solve the problem everywhere.
Moorebid is offline  
post #544 of 4859 Old 11-22-2004, 02:52 PM
Member
 
LHMPDX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone tried to record via firewire from the 6412 to a DVHS tape on a JVC DH-30000 or similar video recorder?

Thanks,

Larry M
LHMPDX is online now  
post #545 of 4859 Old 11-24-2004, 09:37 AM
Member
 
doretta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of you who know you would rather have the Moxi over the vanilla software 6412, what features of the Moxi make you lean that way?

Re: expanding hard drive capability: it would be trivial technically to use firewire/USB 2.0 ports on these boxes to add additional HD capacity. Why would Comcast not want to eventually provide that feature? That would keep people like me from wanting to upgrade the box every time a new model with a bigger HD came out. Since they are renting the boxes it seems like that would save them money.
doretta is offline  
post #546 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 08:43 AM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Comcast and Moxi in today's Oregonian. In the public notice for Comcast's rate increase, their fee schedule lists various items and cost, one of those items is Moxi, as well as the 6412.
markemery is offline  
post #547 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I couldn't find the article in my Oregonian. What section was it in? Perhaps I'm just blind. (Couldn't find it in OregonLive either, but maybe they don't post til tomorrow).
crossbeaux is offline  
post #548 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 09:04 AM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not an article per se. I think it was at the beginning of the classified ads. I don't have my paper with me, otherwise I'd tell you the page.
markemery is offline  
post #549 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 09:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't find it either. Please let us know where it is when you find it.

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #550 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 10:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It is right at the front of where the Classified ads start - this is where Public announcements are often placed. I see my package, digital Silver, is going from $67.99 to $70.99. I will no doubt be returning to Satellite next June when my "Leave Dish" promo deal runs out. Getting WAY to RICH for my blood.
cyberized is offline  
post #551 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 10:41 AM
Member
 
devwild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those of us who don't get the oregonian, could someone please post an overview of the announcement?

Thanks
devwild is offline  
post #552 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 05:46 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's on pages E14 - E15 of today's Oregonian.
markemery is offline  
post #553 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 06:04 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's basically a spreadsheet listing current pricing and proposed pricing. It's not real exciting other than the Moxi mention.

The new converters listed are:

DCT 700 - $120
DCT 6412 - $470
DCT Moxi - $560

Cable Card price goes from $115 to $97.

Cable TV prices going up for the most part effective January 1, 2005.
markemery is offline  
post #554 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are a few scans from the paper. Check at the top for your area and the correct prices are below...

 

comcast oregon 2.pdf 352.6875k . file

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #555 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
final page... Sorry it's not very clear but I had to lower the resolution so the file would fit under the limits of the forum.

 

comcast oregon 1.pdf 490.9404296875k . file

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #556 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 08:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
mismatched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.O., OR
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by markemery
It's basically a spreadsheet listing current pricing and proposed pricing. It's not real exciting other than the Moxi mention.

The new converters listed are:

DCT 700 - $120
DCT 6412 - $470
DCT Moxi - $560

Cable Card price goes from $115 to $97.

Cable TV prices going up for the most part effective January 1, 2005.

The prices on the new converters are "unreturned" prices, correct? I assume this means that as long as you return it as some point you don't pay the $470 for the DCT 6412??

So do people recommend the Moxi unit over the motorola 6412? And if so why??

Mike
mismatched is offline  
post #557 of 4859 Old 11-29-2004, 09:43 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know much about the two, but the Moxi interface just seems cooler. I suppose it depends on what Moxi options Comcast offers. The media center and Moxi mate look cool, as does the ability to connect wirelessly to the computer (assuming they support Mac OS X).

http://www.digeo.com/prodserv/moxi_menu.jsp
markemery is offline  
post #558 of 4859 Old 11-30-2004, 10:47 AM
Member
 
DevlinNulland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update on DVR rollout:


Since I was in the area, I stopped by the Nimbus office today and asked what the status was for the DVR's. The rep told me that there was no definite date for the rollout, and that Dec 1st was not to be depended on. She said that the sign-up list was more to gauge consumer interest than to set up appts for firm dates.

Bummer!
DevlinNulland is offline  
post #559 of 4859 Old 11-30-2004, 11:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DevlinNulland -- Thanks for the update. I know we're all getting antsy about these. I don't really watch much TV in real time, so it would be nice to actually see something in HD.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #560 of 4859 Old 11-30-2004, 12:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
cyberized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 619
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Crossbow - you can already SEE HDTV via Comcast with a 6200 Receiver.

Devlin - A Tech Support fella at the Nimbus outlet told me about 2 months ago that they hope to have the 6412 unit to us before Xmas and then this would be replaced by the Moxi units.
cyberized is offline  
post #561 of 4859 Old 11-30-2004, 12:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by cyberized
Crossbow - you can already SEE HDTV via Comcast with a 6200 Receiver.

Sorry, I wasn't clear enough. I certainly can watch HDTV now. It's just that I usually time-shift almost everything to fit my schedule (early to rise and early to bed). With my current ReplayTV setup, that means I don't see it in HD. When the new DVR comes out, I'll get to see a lot more HD.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #562 of 4859 Old 11-30-2004, 10:40 PM
Member
 
Bill Briare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a new DLP last week and installed DirecTV with their HD package. I was hoping to get the local HD OTA but alas, I live in Happy Valley and Mt. Scott rears its height and prevents OTA. So I dutifully marched down to Sandy Comcast to add thd $6.75 box for HD locals. After plugging in I found my way to the HD channels. I was surprised to see I got Discovery, ESPNHD and a host of others besides the locals.

My big question is picture quality and size. The output seems to be a small 16:9 in the center of the screen. Proportions seem right but its only about 2/3. I've tried every setup possible on the TV (no luck) and tried to change output from box (no luck). Its a Motorola box. Can't see the number. I am running coax into Monster 800, into Comcast box and into Samsung HLP5674. Any ideas how to get the picture large enough to fill the screen without using Zoom settings?

Any suggestions?
Bill
Bill Briare is offline  
post #563 of 4859 Old 11-30-2004, 11:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bill,
To setup the Moto 6200 cable box (standard issue) turn it off then push the menu button on the remote. You will get a setup menu that you can change the setting on by using the nav buttons on the remote... This should fix your size problem...

The extra channels you are getting with Comcast will go away in a few days unless you are subscribing to one of there digital packages that includes those channels. If you have the limited basic or basic service you will only get a had full of channels in HD (NO CBS in the portland market)...

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #564 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 12:15 AM
Member
 
Bill Briare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by glz
Bill,
To setup the Moto 6200 cable box (standard issue) turn it off then push the menu button on the remote. You will get a setup menu that you can change the setting on by using the nav buttons on the remote... This should fix your size problem...


Thanks, that did the trick. Heaven forbid I should actually try hitting the menu button with the unit OFF!

Will Fox go away too?
Bill Briare is offline  
post #565 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Talking Rain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon 97035
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fox will stay but Discovery theater, ESPN, INHD, INHD2 and the movie channels will all go away.

Glad you got it working... Now get ready for the Comcast rate increase...

Technoholic
Talking Rain is offline  
post #566 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 12:42 PM
Member
 
doretta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Called Comcast today and they set me up for an appointment for DVR installation on Monday. I'd guess that's sooner than I'd have gotten one if I had waited for them to call me after having "put me on the list " a few weeks ago.

$15.99 installation fee, which they would waive if I'd upgrade my digital cable package. Like the bill's not already making me seriously consider dumping digital cable. I asked but they said no self installation allowed.
doretta is offline  
post #567 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 01:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
doretta -- thanks! I called and also got an installation time for Monday. They also told me no self-installation.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #568 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 01:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
mismatched's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: L.O., OR
Posts: 664
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD DVR from Comcast is now available?? Since when?? I was supposed to be emailed when they were becoming available!!

Is this the mot 6412 or the Moxi box?

thanks

M
mismatched is offline  
post #569 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
michael goldman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: portland or
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's the 6412. Just called and set up a time for Fri
Doretta, thanks for the heads up

michael
michael goldman is offline  
post #570 of 4859 Old 12-01-2004, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
JimProuty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by michael goldman
It's the 6412. Just called and set up a time for Fri
Doretta, thanks for the heads up

I'll get one Friday morning.

The setup fee is $15.99.

The additional cost is $5.00/month more than the original HDTV digital box.

The total per month cost to me to upgrade from analog cable classic to digital cable classic + HDTV + HD DVR is about $15/month.

Contact Number is 888-824-8264

My RPTV-based "Narnia Theater"
JimProuty is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off