Portland, OR - Comcast - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 06:15 PM
Senior Member
 
mmihalik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Ron97015
Why can't Comcast simply broadcast Eugene's CBS feed in the Portland area? Sure, we'd be seeing Eugene local commercials, but that's okay with me.

CBS Hi-def is the only reason I'm using an OTA HD receiver along side the Comcast 6412.

Too bad, but KOIN has exclusive rights to CBS content in the Portland market.

KOIN and/or Emmis simply does not want any of the Comcast subscribers to view the CBS programming. They are not worthy...

Mike

M2 in OR
-----------------------------------
we live in interesting times
-----------------------------------
mmihalik is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 06:17 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ron97015,

Do you know how the LG unit compares to the Samsung 451?


Others,

I've posed the ? re: multicasts and CBS Eugene HD feed.

I'll let you know what I find out.

--Mark
markemery is offline  
post #993 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 06:20 PM
Member
 
Ron97015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The LG outperforms 451, except that the LG can't be controlled by ReplayTV (and perhaps Tivo as well), while the Samsung can.

The LG is QAM capable and allows for simultaneous SD and HD outputs.

Apathy is on the rise... but nobody seems to care
Ron97015 is offline  
post #994 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 06:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
scowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 10,437
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:


Originally posted by mmihalik
KOIN and/or Emmis simply does not want any of the Comcast subscribers to view the CBS programming. They are not worthy...

I am a Comcast subscriber. KOIN does not hold this against me. They encourage me to watch their programming in HD by giving it to me for free.

NOW: my post on AVS Forum.
NEXT: someone else's post on AVS Forum.
scowl is offline  
post #995 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mmihalik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Beaverton, OR, USA
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
scowl,

Good point, but it does not help those who cannot get OTA, due to location or other limitations.

Yes, I too get KOIN HD OTA, for free.

Just try explaining lack of KOIN HD to Comcast subscribers...

KOIN/Emmis would rather have potential viewers jump thru hoops to get the OTA HD broadcasts.

Mike

M2 in OR
-----------------------------------
we live in interesting times
-----------------------------------
mmihalik is offline  
post #996 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 07:49 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the response I got:


Mark...

No...We can't import another CBS affiliate into the Portland DMA. KOIN has
exclusivity and protection in their licenses market.

Right now our digital carriage agreements with most broadcasters are for HD
signals. Most broadcasters are not doing a lot of multi-casting right now.
(Ironically, KOIN is the occasional exception). Although we are not
particularly interested carrying standard definition multi-casts, as things
progress, that might change in the future. But, once again, bandwidth will
continue to be a near-term limitation.
markemery is offline  
post #997 of 4859 Old 04-10-2005, 08:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ridgefamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by markemery
Here's the response I got:


Mark...

No...We can't import another CBS affiliate into the Portland DMA. KOIN has
exclusivity and protection in their licenses market.

Right now our digital carriage agreements with most broadcasters are for HD
signals. Most broadcasters are not doing a lot of multi-casting right now.
(Ironically, KOIN is the occasional exception). Although we are not
particularly interested carrying standard definition multi-casts, as things
progress, that might change in the future. But, once again, bandwidth will
continue to be a near-term limitation.

Mark: Wow! Does this Comcast source live next door to you? Thanks for the speedy replies and for keeping us posted. But I think he may have misunderstood what was being asked about digital conversions.

As I understand it Comcast is providing feeds for analog broadcasts in digital form in some areas with the goal to be able to provide digital only in all their service areas. This saves them bandwidth as analog uses more than digital, something like 7:1. So the question was not about multicasting but going thru the switchover from analog to digital feed which includes a timeframe during which a show will be presented in analog as well as digital form until the analog is shut down.

I don't think anyone here (well, I can't speak for everyone) is asking Comcast to give us the 4 channels of PAX, nor the multicasts that are replicas of the analog programming, e.g. 6-2 or 10-2 (except, of course, when KOIN gives us different basketball games on the sub channel). But that's moot, too, since KOIN and Comcast will never come to terms.

Bob
ridgefamus is offline  
post #998 of 4859 Old 04-11-2005, 09:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that VOOM shutdown is official, I'm getting ready to return to Comcast. I'll be ordering the HD pack and HD DVR.
Should I ordered it on-line, phone or local dealer? Any suggestions on how to get the best "deal" in our area? If posting here is not appropiated it, please PM me.

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #999 of 4859 Old 04-11-2005, 11:33 AM
Member
 
baloo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Vancouver/Camas, WA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by ridgefamus
Mark: Wow! Does this Comcast source live next door to you? Thanks for the speedy replies and for keeping us posted. But I think he may have misunderstood what was being asked about digital conversions.

As I understand it Comcast is providing feeds for analog broadcasts in digital form in some areas with the goal to be able to provide digital only in all their service areas. This saves them bandwidth as analog uses more than digital, something like 7:1. So the question was not about multicasting but going thru the switchover from analog to digital feed which includes a timeframe during which a show will be presented in analog as well as digital form until the analog is shut down.

I don't think anyone here (well, I can't speak for everyone) is asking Comcast to give us the 4 channels of PAX, nor the multicasts that are replicas of the analog programming, e.g. 6-2 or 10-2 (except, of course, when KOIN gives us different basketball games on the sub channel). But that's moot, too, since KOIN and Comcast will never come to terms.

Bob

Yes ditto what ridgefamus said. That is't what was meant by the digital multicast question.
baloo75 is offline  
post #1000 of 4859 Old 04-12-2005, 03:04 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I don't know this guy, but he sure does respond fast, and at all hours. Here's the latest:

Mark...

While we will be offering all services (including Basic and Standard Cable
service) in digital sometime this summer to folks with a digital box, we
will continue to also deliver our Basic and Standard Cable services in
analog to anyone without a box for some time to come. (Eliminating all
analog delivery requires that every customer have a digital box on every
outlet, and that will take some time).
markemery is offline  
post #1001 of 4859 Old 04-12-2005, 03:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure you all seen this rumor about TNT-HD coming to Comcast. I give Ken H a lot of credibility, especially when he posts with his "Magic 8 Ball" trademark. Now, the BIG question: are we going to get it here in Portland on time for the NBA-playoffs (starting April 24th)?

Anybody remember the deployment of Discovery HD? How long it took from the official Comcast announcement to the first market deployment and then to Portland?

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #1002 of 4859 Old 04-12-2005, 03:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Walter L.
I'm sure you all seen this rumor about TNT-HD coming to Comcast. I give Ken H a lot of credibility, especially when he posts with his "Magic 8 Ball" trademark. Now, the BIG question: are we going to get it here in Portland on time for the NBA-playoffs (starting April 24th)?

Anybody remember the deployment of Discovery HD? How long it took from the official Comcast announcement to the first market deployment and then to Portland?

After doing some search, I think I answered my own question:

6/10 - Ken H posted "Magic 8 Ball" rumor about DiscoveryHD coming to Comcast
6/16 - 1st markets added it (Baltimore)
6/30 - Portland added it
7/1 - official announcement by Comcast

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #1003 of 4859 Old 04-12-2005, 03:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ridgefamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by markemery
Yeah, I don't know this guy, but he sure does respond fast, and at all hours. Here's the latest:

Mark...

While we will be offering all services (including Basic and Standard Cable
service) in digital sometime this summer to folks with a digital box, we
will continue to also deliver our Basic and Standard Cable services in
analog to anyone without a box for some time to come. (Eliminating all
analog delivery requires that every customer have a digital box on every
outlet, and that will take some time).

Ahh, that's the ticket! I forget who originally asked the question for you to pose but this is what at least answers the one I had, based on what I was reading in the 6412 iGuide thread. Some people in other parts of the country are already able to experience better picture quality from the digital feed that Comcast is giving them over their digital stb like the 6412.

FWIW, I think I am seeing better quality now, since the firmware update to 9.15, on channels 1 - 99. Digital this summer should make that even better. But, really, who cares? It's all about HD, folks!

Thanks for providing the pipeline, Mark.
ridgefamus is offline  
post #1004 of 4859 Old 04-12-2005, 09:51 PM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ridgefamus,

Re: the firmware update 9.15...does that happen automatically, or do I need to do it manually? If so, how?

Thanks,

Mark
markemery is offline  
post #1005 of 4859 Old 04-12-2005, 10:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ridgefamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Comcast sends it downline automatically, usually in the wee hours of the morning. There is no notice; you just have to go to the setup menu perioodically to see if it's there. Maybe your contact can tell you their plan for distribution. I am in their Tualatin region which has a different rate base than say Portland and we may have received the upgrade before others. I don't know. I have no idea which or how many digital subscribers have been updated with the 9.15 in our area.

Bob
ridgefamus is offline  
post #1006 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 10:59 AM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I posed the TNT HD question, and here's what I got back:

Bummer.

Mark...

No. Unfortunately, we are not planning to add it here in Oregon anytime
soon. The same bandwidth issue I have mentioned before will continue to
limit our ability to add things (without dropping others) in the near-term.

I am curious as to where you heard that we were adding it.
markemery is offline  
post #1007 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by markemery
I posed the TNT HD question, and here's what I got back:

Bummer.

Mark...

No. Unfortunately, we are not planning to add it here in Oregon anytime
soon. The same bandwidth issue I have mentioned before will continue to
limit our ability to add things (without dropping others) in the near-term.

I am curious as to where you heard that we were adding it.

The rumor is coming from Ken H (HDTV Mod):
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=526649

When did you get that "No"?

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #1008 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 11:09 AM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Walter,

I got the "no" about 10 minutes ago. I take his response to mean that there is no bandwidith locally, which doesn't rule out the possibility of TNT HD being added nationally. So, the 8 Ball could still be accurate.

Just my 2 cents,

Mark
markemery is offline  
post #1009 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 11:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree. It will suck to hear about other markets getting it and nothing here...

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #1010 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 11:24 AM
Member
 
markemery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's another follow up:

I have heard that Corporate may sing a carriage deal for TNT HD soon...but
locally, we won't be adding it right away...
markemery is offline  
post #1011 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 03:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vince2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I switched over from Voom, they credited me something like $400 for the Voom equipment (less the dish of course...wink, wink). Was a great deal since Voom was failing me anyways. Maybe they still have the deal going for you....be sure to ask. The downside is limited HD programming (I still crave WorldsportHD) but you will LOVE the DVR. Welcome back!
vince2 is offline  
post #1012 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi vince,
Yes, I got the same deal ($25 off per month up to $400). I asked for an installation on the 28th (since VOOM goes dark on the 30th).
Now, I'm really disappointed that everything seems to indicate that we won't get TNT-HD on time for the NBA playoffs (Apr 24th). I'm a huge NBA fan and that's almost a deal breaker for me. I'm even having 2nd thoughts about canceling my installation and getting E* with the new 942 DVR instead

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #1013 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
vince2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, you can always catch the highlights on ESPN-HD. Sorry, that wasn't funny to an NBA fan, I know. I bought a small 20" LCD display to view SD games, they look like crap when projected to 100". Still very happy with Comcast since returning.
vince2 is offline  
post #1014 of 4859 Old 04-13-2005, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Walter L.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by vince2
Well, you can always catch the highlights on ESPN-HD.

Actually, I can still watch the full games with Comcast, but it would be on analog/SD TNT

Walter
Walter L. is offline  
post #1015 of 4859 Old 04-17-2005, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone else noticed that the INHD schedule has been fairly screwed up the last few days. This usually wouldn't be of much concern, but today (Sunday) they show a baseball game (yankees vs. orioles) this morning followed by an NBA game this afternoon. No such luck however. Instead, the actual schedule has baseball game this afternoon (Padres vs Dodgers) and the NBA game is already over.

Irritated, I called Comcast to complain. They said it's INHD's fault for changing schedules at the last minute. I said the INHD email schedule I got on Friday was correct (I just hadn't bothered looking at it until now), so how last minute could it really be?

I dropped a line to INHD to complain too. But if you're looking for sports on INHD, you should check online with INHD and not depend on the iGuide for now.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #1016 of 4859 Old 04-17-2005, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ridgefamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I noticed that, too. I think the iGuide is screwed up generally. Last week the guide had KGW's events messed up starting with the Blazer game on Wed.(?). Then the next 2 nights the Blazer pregame show and game were in the iGuide instead of the KGW news programming in the 5:30 -
7:00 slot. This was for Ch 708, I don't know how Ch 8 (analog) showed in the guide.

BTW, did you get INHD's email program guide for this past week? I never did but did get the one for this week. The OPB email schedule has also been missing off and on. Ya just never know ...
ridgefamus is offline  
post #1017 of 4859 Old 04-18-2005, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mpsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 3,109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have noticed that INHD and INHD2 both have had bad guides. Online is no better.


Quote:


Originally posted by crossbeaux
Has anyone else noticed that the INHD schedule has been fairly screwed up the last few days. This usually wouldn't be of much concern, but today (Sunday) they show a baseball game (yankees vs. orioles) this morning followed by an NBA game this afternoon. No such luck however. Instead, the actual schedule has baseball game this afternoon (Padres vs Dodgers) and the NBA game is already over.

Irritated, I called Comcast to complain. They said it's INHD's fault for changing schedules at the last minute. I said the INHD email schedule I got on Friday was correct (I just hadn't bothered looking at it until now), so how last minute could it really be?

I dropped a line to INHD to complain too. But if you're looking for sports on INHD, you should check online with INHD and not depend on the iGuide for now.

mpsan is offline  
post #1018 of 4859 Old 04-18-2005, 03:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
crossbeaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 956
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by ridgefamus

BTW, did you get INHD's email program guide for this past week? I never did but did get the one for this week. The OPB email schedule has also been missing off and on. Ya just never know ...

Yes, I did get the email guide for last week and this. I don't subscribe to the OPB guide.
crossbeaux is offline  
post #1019 of 4859 Old 04-18-2005, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
Steve McD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OPB has E-Mailed me their weekly digital program schedule only 3 times during 5 months. This week, my link to their online digital schedule came up, "Page Not Found". There doesn't seem to be anything currently on their website that gives information about which programs are HD or otherwise. Actually, the information was never dependable, as many HD programs were listed as being in SD, although the onscreen logos and the obvious level of resolution indicated they were HD. My local newspaper includes no information in its TV Weekly about HD programming. They ignored my inquiry about this. I wonder if OPB-Digital will ever stop airing those short and increasing annoying features between programs. There's a boy who wants to build bridges, women victimized by drugs, etc. Someday, OPB may realize that after they've been shown a thousand times, they lose all interest any viewers may have in them. Will OPB and PBS start presenting their regular programming in HD, in the foreseeable future? Only rarely, are the programs the same on the SD and HD channels. If Comcast didn't have that Guide button, there'd be no OPB-Digital schedule information. How about the Oregonian, does it have HD programming listed? I'd buy it once a week, if it did.

On Saturday, Comcast had a completely garbled signal on Fox, channel 705.
NBC, channel 703, had frequent pixellization on moving objects. I've never seen this before on Comcast, but it was back to normal next day.

My 6208 HD tuner box has started showing a split picture again, after I turn off the TV during recording on my separate HDD or digital VCR. I now routinely flick the tuner channel buttons up and back, to restore the single image, after I've tuned off the TV. For people who do timed recordings with the DVR, I don't know how they would reset the image, as the tuner can't be changed during internal timed recording. I thought this glitch had been eliminated by a software download.
Steve McD is offline  
post #1020 of 4859 Old 04-18-2005, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ridgefamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tigard, OR
Posts: 1,660
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Steve: I have never come across any listings in the Oregonian that even hint that a program may be in HD. Although it has been regarded as generally undependable, TitanTV is the place the local station program departments point to for current listings that carry HD indicators. That may be your best bet.

I also get the dual picture on my 6412 box when I turn on the TV (I keep the box always on) and the box is already tuned to a digital channel. I only started getting this after I hooked the box to the TV with a DVI cable. It didn't do that with a component connection. Since recording goes right to the hard drive that dual pic has never been a problem for recordings. It's only output to the TV that's affected by this annoying glitch. Easy enough to live with, though.

Bob
ridgefamus is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off