Traverse City, MI - HDTV - Page 11 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 1760 Old 08-09-2006, 04:38 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well there not raising the height of there tower but raising there antenna and power, currently the antenna fo HD is not as high as analog, but sometime around October that should change, and they should be boosting power as well, how much? I forgot to ask.
tvb6171 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 1760 Old 08-09-2006, 04:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mike52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I looked into Charter HD. The first time I talked to someone at Charter, they told me that to get HD with my expanded basic, it would be about $10.00/month. The second time, the person told me to get HD, you have to purchase the service AND rent the receiver. A total of about $17.00/month. Am afraid to go back and talk to them a third time.

I sure wish I lived up on a hill.

"Common Practice Does Not Necessarily Mean Common Sense."
Mike52 is offline  
post #303 of 1760 Old 08-10-2006, 11:20 AM
Member
 
budone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West MI
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike52 View Post

Well, I looked into Charter HD. The first time I talked to someone at Charter, they told me that to get HD with my expanded basic, it would be about $10.00/month. The second time, the person told me to get HD, you have to purchase the service AND rent the receiver. A total of about $17.00/month. Am afraid to go back and talk to them a third time.

I sure wish I lived up on a hill.

Based on the comment, "I wish I lived up the hill" are you wanting just the locals??? If so, Locals are 'free', but you do need an HD Box or a Moxi. Although, I think only two channels are available in HD.

If you want to subscribe to the HD channels, then it is the box rental, $3 for the service, then around $11.99 for the channels.

*edit* added word to complete sentence
budone is offline  
post #304 of 1760 Old 08-16-2006, 12:02 PM
Member
 
Chimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might be old news to some, but I guess FOX 33 is actually going high-definition this fall--hopefully in time for Lions football. Good news for us without cable.
Chimpy is offline  
post #305 of 1760 Old 08-16-2006, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chimpy View Post

This might be old news to some, but I guess FOX 33 is actually going high-definition this fall--hopefully in time for Lions football. Good news for us without cable.

Its brand new news to me..Where can this info be verified please?
guffy1 is offline  
post #306 of 1760 Old 08-16-2006, 12:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post

Its brand new news to me..Where can this info be verified please?

OK, heres his source everyone: http://www.fox33.com/

Scroll to the bottom of the page and youll see the announcement..

Does anyone know if their digital (non hd) signal is currently up and running?
guffy1 is offline  
post #307 of 1760 Old 08-17-2006, 05:52 AM
Member
 
SonyLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is awesome news about Fox 33. I wonder when it will happen. Not only would we have Lions in HD ... but also some of the Tigers playoff games. If they're really going to do it ... do it soon!
SonyLCD is offline  
post #308 of 1760 Old 08-17-2006, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully it will be a full power transmission..

If not we'll be bumming here in TC..Because the tower is in Kalakaska...
guffy1 is offline  
post #309 of 1760 Old 08-17-2006, 08:05 AM
Member
 
SonyLCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The FCC rule is that stations are supposed to be able to cover 80% of the population of their viewing area with a DTV signal, according to the 2000 census. The deadline for that was this summer, but stations could file an extension. So, if they are going to make the switch to their Kalkaska tower, they would likely have to have enough height and power to reach the major cities like TC, Cadillac and Gaylord in order to hit the 80% mark. I've been asking around, and apparently FOX plans to be on the air with the new DTV signal (and hopefully HD on that DTV) in November. Too late for the Tigers, but in time to hit a few Lions games. I don't know about a timetable for ABC.
SonyLCD is offline  
post #310 of 1760 Old 08-17-2006, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Chimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oops--sorry about forgetting the source!

Dang it...November is kind of late. I was hoping for most of the Lions' games. At least "24" and the NFL playoffs will be in HD.

Does anybody know anything about ABC going HD (without cable)? I was hoping for "Lost" HD this year.

"The FCC rule is that stations are supposed to be able to cover 80% of the population of their viewing area with a DTV signal, according to the 2000 census."

I'm about 60 miles from Cadillac, and I can't get WWTV's (CBS) HD signal. I thought someone said something about them boosting power--anybody hear more about it?
Chimpy is offline  
post #311 of 1760 Old 08-18-2006, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I spoke with someone at WWTV and he said that sometime around October they will raise the heigth of the antenna and boost power, looking this fall, really good news about FOX. Guy at PBS said they will be in HD this Fall also, if anyone cares?
tvb6171 is offline  
post #312 of 1760 Old 08-21-2006, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Chimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

Yes I spoke with someone at WWTV and he said that sometime around October they will raise the heigth of the antenna and boost power, looking this fall, really good news about FOX. Guy at PBS said they will be in HD this Fall also, if anyone cares?

Great news about WWTV--here's hoping I can pick up the reception from 49.7 miles away

Anybody hear anything about ABC going to HD up here? I haven't heard a peep. They don't seem to have much of a budget for moving to HD, but I didn't really think FOX did either and they're switching in November.
Chimpy is offline  
post #313 of 1760 Old 08-21-2006, 11:31 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I talked to ABC not long ago, and it sounded like they were this fall, guess will wait and see. the lady I spoke with didnt know if they were bumping up power tho.
tvb6171 is offline  
post #314 of 1760 Old 08-21-2006, 12:18 PM
Member
 
Chimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

I talked to ABC not long ago, and it sounded like they were this fall, guess will wait and see. the lady I spoke with didnt know if they were bumping up power tho.

That's good news if they plan to go ahead with it. I just contacted them through their website and asked them about it, so I'll post any reply I get from them (if any). I'm only 15 miles from Kalkaska, so I'll get that one in nice and strong.
Chimpy is offline  
post #315 of 1760 Old 08-21-2006, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good luck with getting a hold of them through their web site,Ive tried several times, best to just call them, if you do ask about if they are planning on boosting power also and keep us posted, thanks
tvb6171 is offline  
post #316 of 1760 Old 08-23-2006, 06:05 PM
Member
 
kmarshal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I'm new here so I have a quick question. I see the info on Fox 33 going HD, will this be available through Charter? I live in Manistee and I think the HD channels through Charter are the same in TC as Manistee.
kmarshal is offline  
post #317 of 1760 Old 08-26-2006, 06:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmarshal View Post

Hi all, I'm new here so I have a quick question. I see the info on Fox 33 going HD, will this be available through Charter? I live in Manistee and I think the HD channels through Charter are the same in TC as Manistee.

Im sure chances are real good that it will end up on Charter eventually..I think the question is more when, not if..

At this point I dont think anyone really knows when it will become available on Charter..Hopefully right around the time it launches, but thats probably wishful thinking
guffy1 is offline  
post #318 of 1760 Old 08-26-2006, 06:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone else been seeing TNTHD (784) ,and Universal HD (793) having constant problems on Charter?

I have had bad macroblocking/pixelation for a good 3 days on both channels.. Anyone else?
guffy1 is offline  
post #319 of 1760 Old 08-27-2006, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guffy. I just got the HD service from Charter, but have not had much time to check out the PQ on my plasma...my sons' wedding, etc. keeping me busy. But I will check it out this week and get back to you.
Mike

"Common Practice Does Not Necessarily Mean Common Sense."
Mike52 is offline  
post #320 of 1760 Old 08-27-2006, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike52 View Post

Guffy. I just got the HD service from Charter, but have not had much time to check out the PQ on my plasma...my sons' wedding, etc. keeping me busy. But I will check it out this week and get back to you.
Mike

Tx Mike..The problem seems to have slowed down a bit, but its still going on..At least every couple minutes the picture has some slight breakups..
guffy1 is offline  
post #321 of 1760 Old 08-28-2006, 11:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mike52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Traverse City, Michigan
Posts: 697
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post

Tx Mike..The problem seems to have slowed down a bit, but its still going on..At least every couple minutes the picture has some slight breakups..

Well, as I watch tennis on Universal HD, I see no evidence of the problems you mention. I will keep an eye on things and keep in touch with you.

On to another problem. I have the Charter Motorola HD receiver. I just tried to connect my plasma to this receiver via an DVI to HDMI cable. No signal. At one time, I was able to get a picture, but no sound. Now, I get nothing. So its back to the component cables. I am using the provided RGB/RW cables from Charter. I have tried calling Charter, but all they said to do was to unplug the receiver and then plug it in again and let it reprogram. Done this, twice, to no avail.
Is it the cable I bought? Is it the receiver? Is it the plasma TV? Charter?
I want the best picture possible and was hoping the DVI/HDMI cable would improve things over the componant cables.

As a side note, I got this HD package for 12 months and am saving around $9/month from what I was previously paying for just expanded basic/cable modum. My first call got me to a representitive in Grand Rapids who quoted me a price that would have been 50 cents/month more expensive than my expanded basic. My second call got me to a representative in California that quoted me my current price of saving around $9/month. Same package!!! Different prices and taxes. How can this be? Now, I'm not complaining, but if I had not called a second time, I would have been paying around $9.50 more per month for the same package. Makes me wonder what might have happened if I had called a third time.

"Common Practice Does Not Necessarily Mean Common Sense."
Mike52 is offline  
post #322 of 1760 Old 09-04-2006, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
JHuibregtse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the Wikipedia entry for CW Network affiliates, WGTU is going to be broadcasting the CW channel (WBVC) on 31.2. Hopefully with ABC sending 720p, the bandwidth hit won't be too terrible.

"I've been ruminating. And by ruminating, I mean pondering. Not chewing my cud."
JHuibregtse is offline  
post #323 of 1760 Old 09-05-2006, 04:25 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if they would do that or not, seen other stations doing that, also was a good night for DXING last night, got all kinds of HD from Green Bay, and their side channels and hd channels looked much better than here. Their Tube and Weather Plus looked more clear, compared to ours which looks like a webcast over dial up. Wonder if they will ever fix that.
tvb6171 is offline  
post #324 of 1760 Old 09-05-2006, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

I was wondering if they would do that or not, seen other stations doing that, also was a good night for DXING last night, got all kinds of HD from Green Bay, and their side channels and hd channels looked much better than here. Their Tube and Weather Plus looked more clear, compared to ours which looks like a webcast over dial up. Wonder if they will ever fix that.

Fixing it would most likely mean giving it more bandwith..So lets hope they never fix it. Instead lets hope it gets worse. Or better yet, lets hope it goes away completely
guffy1 is offline  
post #325 of 1760 Old 09-06-2006, 05:30 AM
Member
 
Chimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHuibregtse View Post

According to the Wikipedia entry for CW Network affiliates, WGTU is going to be broadcasting the CW channel (WBVC) on 31.2. Hopefully with ABC sending 720p, the bandwidth hit won't be too terrible.

Does this mean WGTU will be transmitting High-definition sometime soon? Did somebody hear something definite out of them recently?
Chimpy is offline  
post #326 of 1760 Old 09-08-2006, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boy the game looked bad over the air and through charter last night, looked like sharp analog, lots of macroblocking, and on a side note, charters other HD channels are getting worse, or ami I spoiled by my HD DVD player?
tvb6171 is offline  
post #327 of 1760 Old 09-08-2006, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
guffy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 1,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

Boy the game looked bad over the air and through charter last night, looked like sharp analog, lots of macroblocking, and on a side note, charters other HD channels are getting worse, or ami I spoiled by my HD DVD player?

Can anyone say Tube TV? How about Weather Plus?

And yes, Charters other HD channels are getting worse.. Definately..

Still no one sees the constant macroblocking and breaking up of the picture on TNTHD and Universal HD?

I see it at my house and my Moms house..My Mom lives in Williamsburg, I live all the way across town on the West side..I cant believe no one else is seeing this still..
guffy1 is offline  
post #328 of 1760 Old 09-08-2006, 07:02 AM
Member
 
budone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: West MI
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvb6171 View Post

Boy the game looked bad over the air and through charter last night, looked like sharp analog, lots of macroblocking, and on a side note, charters other HD channels are getting worse, or ami I spoiled by my HD DVD player?

NBC's HD sports content has always stunk. Not just here in the TC area, but downstate also.
budone is offline  
post #329 of 1760 Old 09-08-2006, 07:30 AM
Senior Member
 
tvb6171's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Interlochen
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if Charter compresses the local HD, trying to decide whether to just get locals over the air or through Charter, assuming that all locals will on air here soon. Still cant pick up CBS, hope I will Oct 1st. I was picking up Milwulke the other day when it was foggy out, and their staions looked awesome compared to charters, even when muliticasting.
tvb6171 is offline  
post #330 of 1760 Old 09-13-2006, 08:28 AM
Member
 
knightc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Lower Michigan
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't been here in a while but I do check back every now and then. Just inquiring if anyone has had any luck getting HD channels in the Boyne City area? I noticed that channel WFUP DT 59 in Vanderbilt is supposedly operational but I have heard no first hand knowledge of anyone that has picked this up. Is anyone receiving this channel? Is it HD? I sthe programming the same as Fox 33?

Thanks in advance.
knightc2 is offline  
Reply Local HDTV Info and Reception

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off